Archived - Backgrounder: How Pooled Registered Pension Plans Will Address Gaps in Canada’s Retirement Income System

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

The Government of Canada has been working with provinces and territories on ways to ensure the ongoing strength of the country’s retirement income system.

Their federal-provincial Research Working Group on Retirement Income Adequacy found that some Canadian households, especially modest- and middle-income households, may be at risk of undersaving for retirement.

There are a number of factors that may be contributing to this risk, including declining participation in employer-sponsored Registered Pension Plans (RPPs). The proportion of working Canadians with such plans has declined from 41 per cent in 1991 to 34 per cent in 2007.

Some Canadians may also be failing to take advantage of the discretionary savings opportunities offered to them through individual structures like Registered Retirement Savings Plans (RRSPs). Participation in RRSPs reached a peak of 45 per cent of the labour force in 1997 before levelling off to 39 per cent in 2008.

While aggregate RPP/RRSP participation rates for middle- and higher-income earners are quite high, the research indicated that a portion of Canadians may not be saving enough.

In December 2010, federal, provincial and territorial Finance Ministers agreed to move forward to introduce a new type of broad-based privately administered pension arrangement—called Pooled Registered Pension Plans, or PRPPs—as an effective and appropriate way to help bridge existing gaps in the retirement system.

PRPPs will address this gap in the retirement income system by providing a new, accessible, large-scale and low-cost defined contribution pension option to employers, employees and the self-employed. They will allow individuals who currently may not participate in an employer-sponsored pension plan, such as the self-employed and employees of companies that do not offer a pension plan, to make use of this new option.

This is especially important for small business owners and their employees, who will now have access to a large-scale, low-cost pension plan for the very first time—with professional administrators working to ensure that funds are invested in the best interests of plan members.

Since these plans will involve large pooled funds, plan members will benefit from the lower investment management costs associated with the scale of these funds. Essentially, they will be buying in bulk.

The design of these plans will also be straightforward. They are intended to be largely harmonized from province to province, which will also facilitate lower administrative costs. 

These features will remove barriers that might have kept some employers in the past from offering pension plans to their employees and that prevented employees and self-employed individuals from participating in large-scale pension plans.

Archivé - Fiche d’information : Comment les régimes de pension agréés collectifs combleront les lacunes du système de revenu de retraite du Canada

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le gouvernement du Canada a collaboré avec les provinces et les territoires afin de s’assurer de renforcer continuellement le système de revenu de retraite du Canada.

Le Groupe de travail fédéral-provincial sur le niveau adéquat du revenu de retraite a constaté que certains ménages canadiens, surtout ceux à revenu faible ou moyen, n’épargnent peut-être pas assez en prévision de la retraite.

Il se peut que certains facteurs, dont la baisse du taux de participation dans des régimes de pension agréés (RPA) parrainés par les employeurs, alimentent ce risque. La proportion de Canadiens qui travaillent et qui participent à ces régimes est passée de 41 % en 1991 à 34 % en 2007.

Un certain nombre de Canadiens négligent peut-être aussi de profiter des occasions d’épargne discrétionnaire qu’offrent les mécanismes individuels comme les régimes enregistrés d’épargne-retraite (REER). Le taux de participation de la population active dans des REER a atteint un sommet de 45 % en 1997 avant de se stabiliser à 39 % en 2008.

Bien que les taux globaux de participation à des RPA ou à des REER chez les travailleurs à revenu moyen ou élevé demeurent très élevés, la recherche du Groupe de travail indique qu’une certaine proportion de Canadiens n’économise peut-être pas suffisamment.

En décembre 2010, le ministre fédéral des Finances et les ministres provinciaux et territoriaux des Finances ont convenu de présenter un nouveau type de régime de pension de portée générale et administré par le secteur privé, les régimes de pension agréés collectifs (RPAC). Selon eux, il s’agit d’une solution efficace et appropriée pour combler les lacunes actuelles du système de revenu de retraite.

Les RPAC combleront ces lacunes en offrant aux employeurs, aux employés et aux travailleurs autonomes un nouveau mécanisme de pension à cotisations déterminées accessible, d’envergure et peu coûteux. Ils permettront aux personnes qui ne participent en ce moment à aucun régime de pension parrainé par un employeur, comme les travailleurs autonomes et les employés des entreprises qui n’offrent pas de régime de pension, de recourir à cette nouvelle option.

Cette option sera particulièrement intéressante pour les petites entreprises et leurs employés qui auront désormais accès à un régime de pension de grande envergure et peu coûteux, une première au pays, sans compter que des administrateurs professionnels veilleront à ce que les fonds soient investis dans l’intérêt des participants des régimes.

Étant donné que ces régimes seront constitués de larges fonds communs, les participants bénéficieront de coûts de gestion des placements moins élevés. Ils feront essentiellement des achats de gros.

De plus, la conception de ces régimes sera simple. Ils devraient faire l’objet d’une harmonisation importante d’une province à l’autre, ce qui contribuera à réduire les frais d’administration.

Ces caractéristiques élimineront les obstacles habituels qui, dans le passé, ont pu faire en sorte que certains employeurs choisissaient de ne pas offrir de régime de pension à leurs employés et qui empêchaient les employés et les travailleurs autonomes de participer à des régimes de retraite d’envergure.