Ottawa / Quebec, September 14, 2011
2011-081

Archived - HST and QST Harmonization: Discussions Proceeding Normally

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Noting the significant progress in the talks between officials from their respective departments, Canada's Finance Minister, the Honourable Jim Flaherty, and Quebec Finance Minister Raymond Bachand agreed today to continue their discussions for a few days longer, with a view to reaching an agreement by the end of September.

"The talks between representatives of our two governments are going well and we are making headway toward harmonizing the Quebec sales tax," stated Minister Flaherty. "We have made a lot of progress and plan to keep working on this issue with an eye to concluding an agreement as soon as possible between the Governments of Canada and Quebec."

"Both our governments have spent a great deal of time and energy on reaching an agreement in this file," said Minister Bachand. "I am confident that continued talks will quickly lead to an agreement."

For further information, media may contact:

Mary Ann Dewey-Plante
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-996-8080

To receive e-mail notification of all news releases, please register.

Ottawa / Québec, le 14 septembre 2011
2011-081

Archivé - Harmonisation de la TPS et de la TVQ : Les discussions se poursuivent normalement

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Constatant les progrès significatifs des discussions entre les fonctionnaires de leurs ministères respectifs, le ministre des Finances du Canada, l'Honorable Jim Flaherty, et le ministre des Finances du Québec, M. Raymond Bachand, sont convenus aujourd'hui de poursuivre les discussions pendant quelques jours encore, avec l’objectif d’en arriver à une entente d’ici la fin de septembre.

« Les discussions entre les représentants de nos deux gouvernements vont bon train et nous faisons des progrès vers l'harmonisation de la taxe de vente du Québec. Nous avons accompli beaucoup de travail et il importe de continuer en ce sens. Nous poursuivons donc nos démarches en vue de la signature d’un accord entre le gouvernement du Canada et le gouvernement du Québec », a déclaré le ministre Flaherty.

« Nos deux gouvernements ont consacré à ce jour énormément de temps et d’efforts pour parvenir à un accord dans ce dossier. La poursuite de nos discussions permettra, j’en suis convaincu, d’en arriver rapidement à une entente », a pour sa part déclaré le ministre Bachand.

Pour plus de renseignements, les médias peuvent communiquer avec :

Mary Ann Dewey-Plante
Attachée de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-996-8080

Pour recevoir un courriel chaque fois qu'un communiqué est publié, inscrivez-vous.