Ottawa, July 20, 2011
2011-058

Archived - Government of Canada Announces Amendments to the Taxation of Specified Investment Flow-Through Entities, Real Estate Investment Trusts and Publicly-Traded Corporations

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Related Document:


The Honourable Jim Flaherty, Minister of Finance, today announced proposed amendments to the provisions in the Income Tax Act concerning the income tax treatment of specified investment flow-through entities (SIFTs), real estate investment trusts (REITs) and publicly-traded corporations.

The SIFT rules, first announced as part of the Government’s Tax Fairness Plan on October 31, 2006, have restored balance and fairness to the income tax system by leveling the playing field between publicly-traded trusts and partnerships and public corporations. Today’s announcement reinforces the Government’s commitment to fairness in the tax system. 

“These proposed measures will ensure that the policy objectives of the Tax Fairness Plan continue to be met,” said Minister Flaherty. “They also reflect our Government’s ongoing commitment to address structures that frustrate those policy objectives.”

The proposed amendments also include adjustments to the SIFT rules that are of a more technical nature.

The proposals include changes in respect of:

The attached backgrounder describes the proposed amendments in detail. The Government will introduce income tax legislation to give effect to today’s announced proposals at the earliest opportunity.

For further information, media may contact:

Mary Ann Dewey-Plante
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-996-8080

To receive e-mail notification of all news releases, please register .

Ottawa, le 20 juillet 2011
2011-058

Archivé - Le gouvernement du Canada annonce des modifications au régime d’imposition des entités intermédiaires de placement déterminées, des fiducies de placement immobilier et des sociétés cotées en bourse

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Document connexe :


L’honorable Jim Flaherty, ministre des Finances, a annoncé aujourd’hui des propositions de modification des dispositions de la Loi de l’impôt sur le revenu concernant le traitement fiscal des entités intermédiaires de placement déterminées (EIPD), des fiducies de placement immobilier (FPI) et des sociétés cotées en bourse.

Les règles concernant les EIPD, annoncées initialement le 31 octobre 2006 dans le cadre du Plan d’équité fiscale du gouvernement, ont permis de rétablir l’équilibre et l’équité au sein du régime fiscal en uniformisant les règles du jeu entre les fiducies et sociétés de personnes cotées en bourse et les sociétés publiques. L’annonce d’aujourd’hui confirme l’engagement du gouvernement à assurer l’équité du régime fiscal.

« Les mesures proposées font en sorte que les objectifs de politique du Plan d’équité fiscale continuent d’être atteints, a déclaré le ministre Flaherty. En outre, elles reflètent l’engagement continu du gouvernement à faire obstacle aux mécanismes qui déjouent ces objectifs. »

Certaines des modifications proposées aux règles concernant les EIPD sont de nature plus technique.

Les propositions portent notamment sur les points suivants :

  • les titres agrafés négociés en bourse d’EIPD, de FPI et de sociétés;
  • les filiales exclues sous le régime des EIPD;
  • les biens hors portefeuille d’une société sous le régime des EIPD;
  • les acomptes provisionnels d’impôt des EIPD.

Les modifications proposées sont exposées en détail dans le document d’information qui figure en annexe. Un projet de loi mettant ces propositions en œuvre sera déposé dès que l’occasion se présentera.

Pour plus de renseignements, les médias peuvent communiquer avec :

Mary Ann Dewey-Plante
Attachée de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-996-8080