Ottawa, November 25, 2010
2010-113

Archived - Statement by the Honourable Jim Flaherty, Minister of Finance, Concerning Eligibility for the Disability Tax Credit and Registered Disability Savings Plan

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

“The Registered Disability Savings Plan (RDSP) is an important initiative that allows tax sheltered savings for individuals eligible for the Disability Tax Credit. Tens of thousands of Canadians with disabilities now have RDSPs and the number of plans continues to grow.

“The Tax Court of Canada has recently held that existing income tax law would not allow an individual to appeal a determination concerning an individual’s eligibility for the Disability Tax Credit unless that determination affected the individual’s tax payable. As a result, individuals whose income is too low to pay tax are effectively barred from establishing an RDSP where their eligibility for the Disability Tax Credit has not been accepted by the Canada Revenue Agency. 

“Procedural issues of this nature should not be an impediment for individuals who wish to establish their right to the Disability Tax Credit and, as a result, also their right to open an RDSP. 

“To promote the fair and equitable treatment of Canadians, I intend to introduce legislative amendments at the earliest opportunity so that individuals can, in every case, appeal a determination concerning their eligibility for the Disability Tax Credit.”

____________________________________
For further information, media may contact:

Annette Robertson
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-996-8080

To receive e-mail notification of all news releases, please register at www.fin.gc.ca/scripts/register-eng.asp

Ottawa, le 25 novembre 2010
2010-113

Archivé - Déclaration de l’honorable Jim Flaherty, ministre des Finances, concernant l’admissibilité au crédit d’impôt pour personnes handicapées et le régime enregistré d’épargne-invalidité

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

« Le Régime enregistré d’épargne-invalidité (REEI) est une initiative importante qui permet de constituer une épargne exonérée d’impôt pour les personnes admissibles au crédit d’impôt pour personnes handicapées. Des dizaines de milliers de Canadiens handicapés ont maintenant un REEI et le nombre de régimes continue de s’accroître.

« La Cour canadienne de l’impôt a récemment statué que la législation fiscale en vigueur ne permettrait pas à un particulier d’en appeler d’une décision concernant l’admissibilité d’un particulier au crédit d’impôt pour personnes handicapées à moins que la décision n’influe sur l’impôt à payer du particulier. Les particuliers dont le revenu est trop faible pour être assujetti à l’impôt se voient ainsi empêchés d’établir un REEI si leur admissibilité au crédit d’impôt pour personnes handicapées n’est pas reconnue par l’Agence du revenu du Canada.

« Des questions de procédure de cette nature ne devraient pas faire obstacle aux particuliers qui souhaitent établir leur droit au crédit d’impôt pour personnes handicapées et, partant, leur droit d’ouvrir un REEI.

« Afin de favoriser le traitement juste et équitable des Canadiens, j’ai l’intention de présenter à la première occasion des modifications législatives pour faire en sorte que les particuliers puissent dans tous les cas en appeler d’une décision concernant leur admissibilité au crédit d’impôt pour personnes handicapées. »

__________________________________________________________
Pour plus de renseignements, les médias peuvent communiquer avec :

Annette Robertson
Attachée de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-996-8080

Pour recevoir un courriel chaque fois qu'un communiqué est publié, inscrivez-vous à www.fin.gc.ca/scripts/register-fra.asp