October 12, 2010
Mississauga, Ontario
2010-098

Archived - Economic Forecast Shows Federal Government Is on the Right Track

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Related documents:


The Honourable Jim Flaherty, Minister of Finance, today released an update of the Government's economic and fiscal projections. The update clearly demonstrates that Canada remains on track to return to a balanced budget over the medium term.

"The fiscal projections set out in today's update show the Government's plan is on track," said Minister Flaherty. "For the first time since the global financial crisis, we are forecasting a balanced budget." 

Canada's Economic Action Plan has underpinned a solid and enviable economic recovery, and Canada has recouped virtually all of the output lost during the recession. As a result of this solid economic performance, nearly 423,000 jobs have been created in Canada since July 2009.

The International Monetary Fund continues to expect that Canada will have the strongest average economic growth among Group of Seven countries over 2010 and 2011. According to the average forecast of private sector economists, real GDP growth is expected to be 1.8 per cent in the third quarter of 2010 followed by growth of about 2.5 per cent over the next three quarters. While economic growth will continue, the private sector forecasters believe the economic recovery remains fragile due to current global challenges, including uncertainty in the United States economy. 

"The uncertainty in the global economy means we must continue to keep our primary focus on jobs and growth," continued Minister Flaherty. "This year, our Government's top priority will continue to be the economy and the implementation of Canada's Economic Action Plan."

For over a decade, the Government's fiscal projections have been based on the average of private sector economic forecasts. The update maintains this approach. However, in light of the uncertainty surrounding the global economic outlook, the average private sector forecast has been adjusted downward for fiscal planning purposes.

____________________________________
For further information, media may contact:

Annette Robertson
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-996-8080

To receive e-mail notification of all news releases, please register at www.fin.gc.ca/scripts/register-eng.asp

Le 12 octobre 2010
Mississauga (Ontario)
2010-098

Archivé - Les prévisions économiques indiquent que le gouvernement fédéral est sur la bonne voie

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Documents connexe :


L'honorable Jim Flaherty, ministre des Finances, a publié aujourd'hui une mise à jour des projections économiques et financières du gouvernement qui montre clairement que le Canada est sur la bonne voie pour rétablir l'équilibre budgétaire à moyen terme.

« La mise à jour des projections financières que nous diffusons aujourd'hui démontre que le plan du gouvernement est sur la bonne voie, a déclaré le ministre Flaherty. Pour la première fois depuis le début de la crise financière mondiale, nous prévoyons le retour à un budget équilibré. »

Le Plan d'action économique du Canada a soutenu une reprise énergique et enviable de l'économie, et le Canada a recouvré la presque totalité de la production perdue pendant la récession. Grâce à cette solide performance économique, près de 423 000 emplois ont été créés au Canada depuis juillet 2009.

Le Fonds monétaire international continue de s'attendre à ce que le Canada affiche la croissance économique moyenne la plus forte parmi les pays du Groupe des Sept pour la période de 2010 à 2011. Selon la moyenne des prévisions des économistes du secteur privé, le taux de croissance du PIB réel devrait s'établir à 1,8 % au troisième trimestre de 2010 puis à environ 2,5 % lors des trois trimestres suivants. Même si la croissance économique se poursuivra, les prévisionnistes du secteur privé croient que la reprise demeure fragile en raison des défis qui se posent au niveau mondial, dont l'incertitude entourant l'économie des États-Unis.

« À cause de l'incertitude à l'égard de l'économie mondiale, nous devons continuer de privilégier l'emploi et la croissance, a expliqué le ministre Flaherty. Cette année, notre gouvernement continuera d'accorder la priorité à l'économie et à la mise en œuvre du Plan d'action économique du Canada. »

Depuis plus d'une décennie, les projections financières du gouvernement sont fondées sur la moyenne des prévisions économiques du secteur privé. Cette approche est maintenue dans la mise à jour. Cependant, vu l'incertitude concernant les perspectives de l'économie mondiale, le gouvernement a ajusté à la baisse la moyenne des prévisions du secteur privé aux fins de planification financière.

________________________________________________________
Pour plus de renseignements, les médias peuvent communiquer avec :

Annette Robertson
Attachée de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-996-8080

Pour recevoir un courriel chaque fois qu'un communiqué est publié, inscrivez-vous  à www.fin.gc.ca/scripts/register-fra.asp.