March 15, 2010
New York

Archived - Speech by the Honourable Jim Flaherty, Minister of Finance, to the Canadian Association of New York

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

It's great to be in New York.

The United States and Canada have the strongest trading relationship in the world and we work well together. There were some challenges with respect to the Buy American issue but we were able to work those out.

First of all, let me say a few words today about the seriousness of the financial crisis. I don't know what it's like in New York, but in Toronto and Vancouver I get the impression that it's all over and we don't need to worry about it anymore, and I think sometimes we lose the context of the seriousness of what we've been through. I also want to talk about the Canadian fiscal situation and about financial sector reform globally and the discussions that have been taking place at Basel and elsewhere.

But just by way of context, in October 2008, we were a minority government and it was decided that we would call an election in September. Now, no one anticipated the recession or that it would be as deep as it was in Canada. But it became increasingly clear in September and early October 2008 that the Canadian economy was suffering some of the effects of the recession that were coming from outside and that we would have to take some action during the course of the election campaign. This is not done in the Parliamentary tradition when the government is at the polls. You don't take government action except ordinary, day-to-day action.

But I had lots of discussions with the Prime Minister during the course of that election campaign, almost every night, until finally it became apparent, given actions by other governments, that we would have to take some action to support the Canadian financial institutions. So on the morning of Friday, October 10, 2008, we said we would buy insured mortgages from the banks, thereby providing more liquidity, and we would guarantee their wholesale debt to make sure that they were not at a disadvantage internationally given that other governments around the world were doing or had done similar things.

It was in the afternoon that day that the G7 Finance Ministers and Central Bank Governors met in the Cash Room of the Treasury. I've been to lots of these meetings over the course of more than four years now, but this was a different kind of meeting.

Hank Paulson opened the meeting by saying that we're in a lot of trouble and the Europeans then went on to say what one would expect them to say at that point in October 2008, and to pass around a chart showing what had happened to credit spreads since Lehman Brothers had happened.

I pointed out, among others, that some of the European banks were not exactly innocent, having leverages of 30 to 1 and 40 to 1 and lots of toxic assets. The German Minister pointed out in a very impassioned way that a woman who had grown up in East Berlin told him that she had witnessed the fall of communism and now she was witnessing the fall of capitalism.

This was a dramatic time in October 2008. British banks had failed, American banks had failed and some of the German regional banks had failed. It was unclear whether the markets would even open on the following Monday. But the end of this story that weekend is promising in terms of what can be accomplished in terms of global cooperation, at least in the G7.

And after the recriminations and a bit of the stridency had abated, we tore up the communiqué. If you go to these international meetings, communiqués are done by officials in advance. They're very dense and very long. So this time we tore it up and we created a five-point plan. I, among others, insisted that we have something simple on one piece of paper in order to restore confidence, and fundamentally what we agreed to do is not let any more banks fail.

Having done that, the next morning at 7 a.m. we met with President Bush in the Roosevelt Room of the White House and he endorsed the plan. The President showed up at the G20 meeting, which was a surprise. We had the IMF meeting and the World Bank meeting. The Finance Ministers of the Americas, North America, South America and Central America met during the day. By that evening everyone had agreed to the five-point plan, which was significant in terms of restoring confidence at that time in the middle of October 2008.

Then I went back to Canada, back to an election campaign. I had to take a G7 Finance Ministers call with Secretary Paulson at which time he told us about how much money was going to go to some of the American financial institutions. I'm standing in front of a furniture store on my cell phone running for office here in Canada, waving at cars. It was a surreal moment, but that weekend was important I think in creating some confidence.

When Canada went into recession it became apparent to us in the late part of the fourth quarter of 2008. We conducted very broad consultations across the country. Listening is good for elected people, and I recall being in Saskatoon in the middle of December 2008 and listening to a group of business people from different parts of Canada and the realization intensely felt that we were in a lot more trouble than it had appeared so far from the statistics we had seen.

We had decided to do the earliest budget in Canadian history, which was on January 27, 2009. I had discussions with the Prime Minister about how big a deficit we would run and we were thinking about a modest deficit in Canadian terms, but it became apparent to me, at least listening to business people, that we would run a downside risk that we would not do enough, and we would have to stimulate the economy twice, which would be a dangerous thing to do.

We decided that we would go ahead and run in Canadian terms a large deficit, which I announced on January 27, 2009, and we introduced the two-year Economic Action Plan. We would run a large deficit for the current fiscal year and yet another substantial deficit in the next fiscal year.

The good news is we were relatively well prepared going into this. In our first three years in government, we had paid down almost $40 billion of debt. We were running surpluses and we used the money to reduce the public debt. This put us in a relatively good position to run a deficit, which can be a temporary deficit over the course of two years.

Our debt-to-GDP ratio was 29 per cent in 2008–09. It will rise to close to 35 per cent in 2010–11 and will be back down to 31 per cent in 2014–15. By way of contrast, the U.S. debt-to-GDP ratio is about 67 per cent, the UK's is about 75 per cent, and Japan's is about 115 per cent and is likely to worsen over the course of the next several years. Relatively speaking, we have sound fiscal strength.

In the budget almost a couple of weeks ago, I announced that we would continue the Economic Action Plan. We think that the economic recovery is showing good signs but that it is still fragile.

We're conscious of what's happening with some of the sovereign states in Europe, some of the marking assets to market in the European banks. We're conscious about the relatively high rates of unemployment in the United States and Canada. So we're going to continue to run a deficit and stimulate the economy in Canada over the course of the next 14 months, until March 2011. But then it will stop. From the beginning, our plan has been that we would have a two-year stimulus package, that we would fulfill our obligation in the G20 to stimulate the economy, which we are—in cooperation with the provinces we are spending about 4 per cent of GDP in Canada. So the first thing we're going to do is end the stimulus spending on time.

We are also going to restrain growth in spending because I am a fiscal conservative and I want to get back to a balanced budget and running surpluses. The only way we're going to be able to do that is restrain the rate of growth in those areas of government that have very substantial spending growth.

So we're doing that in the Department of National Defence. It will still grow but it will not grow at the same rate. And we will fulfill our commitment to double our foreign aid spending by the end of next year but then we will freeze it and deal with it along with other budget items. And finally, we will freeze most of the spending that goes for operating expenses in the public service of Canada.

These are not easy decisions to make but they're decisions that you have to make if you're going to get to a balanced budget over time. And in government you have to make these decisions early on because you can't turn a big government around quickly. Just like a ship, it takes time. So they have to have notice where we're going, which is what we did in the budget this year.

The result of that is two years from now the Canadian deficit will be cut in half, three years from now it will be cut by two-thirds and we'll be very close to a balanced budget by 2014–15. It gives us a competitive advantage. In fact, it's a massive permanent Canadian advantage. Our current deficit is 3.5 per cent of GDP, which you can compare to other countries.

We will have a tax advantage as well. By 2012–13, the combined federal-provincial corporate business tax rate in most of Canada will be 25 per cent. When we were elected in January 2006, the federal tax rate was a little over 22 per cent. We're going to have it down to 15 per cent by 2012. By 2013, most of the provinces, including Ontario, will reduce their corporate tax rates to 10 per cent.

That tax advantage is important. It means that we will have the lowest corporate tax rate in the G7 by 2012–2013. We already have the lowest overall tax rate on new business investment in the G7.

The G7 Finance Ministers and Central Bank Governors Meeting took place in Iqaluit, Nunavut, about five or six weeks ago. I took a bit of a chance because the weather in February in Nunavut is not always welcoming. But it was terrific. The weather, as the Consul General in New York pointed out, was much worse in Washington that weekend.

What we were trying to do was to get the G7 Finance Ministers and Central Bank Governors back to the concept originally of the G7, which was a fireside chat. We did not have a communiqué but we did have a conversation.

We agreed in principle that financial institutions should bear the cost of financial crises occasioned by them, and not taxpayers. That's not that hard to agree to in principle. But it's not so easy to implement, as we can see now by the efforts that are underway in Washington.

It is a difficult implementation issue. For Canada's purposes, we are against a capital tax, we are against a tax on financial transactions, we are against raising taxes period in our government. That's not what we have been about.

The Financial Stability Board of the G20 is looking at some kind of contingent capital requirement. We're prepared to look at that.

We don't have any particular interest in "too big to fail" or "systemically important" phrases. We find that they're not useful and would distort the market.

We are in favour of leverage standards. We have had those in our Canadian financial institutions and it's one of the reasons why they have managed well through the crisis. We do believe in the regulation of all financial institutions, which we do in Canada, and we also believe in effective regulation. I don't mean just regulation, because most of the entities that failed in Europe and in the United States and elsewhere during the course of the crisis were in fact regulated, but there's a difference between having regulation and having effective regulators who actually do their job.

And I know Julie Dickson, the Superintendent of Financial Institutions in Canada, is going to be here tomorrow, and she has done a remarkable job of staying on top of the financial institutions. During the crisis over the past couple of years, she and I would speak regularly.

Now, it's easier in Canada. We don't have thousands of banks, we have five or six large banks and three large insurance companies. We have another 70 or 80 banks as well and other financial institutions, but it's not on the scale that there is in the United States.

Having said that, I think some of the principles apply to leverage in Europe and elsewhere. We're in favour of limiting leverage.

We do have a consumer protection agency in Canada. It does have regulatory power. It reports to the Government through me. The Commissioner and I do talk. She is able to accomplish what she wants to do without using her regulatory power. She does it through phone calls and keeping track and encouraging behavior that is not consumer unfriendly, and it works in our situation.

We do believe in limiting securitization and lenders holding loans, particularly in the housing market. Our banks all have large retail chains in Canada, branch banking. They take residential mortgages and give residential mortgages, they hold those mortgages for the most part.

With Canadian mortgages, there's recourse. That is, you can't walk away; you're personally liable on the mortgage. We also do not have mortgage interest deductibility in Canada. The capital gains on your primary residence are tax-free but on mortgage interest deductibility, I'm glad that over time we've resisted that impulse.

The other thing that favoured the Canadian banking system was that in the late 1980s and early 1990s our banks were allowed to and did acquire most of the investment banks in Canada so that when this crisis came, most of our investment banks were within the regulatory purview of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions and subject to the same regulatory fervour.

So we have remarkable stability of Canadian banks. We have the opportunity to be a role model.

The advantages of our fiscal situation are evident in two recent and highly successful bond issues. We haven't done this in about 10 years in Canada but we did two bond issues recently, one in euros and one in U.S. dollars. There was overwhelming investor demand and favourable pricing. We used the proceeds to diversify foreign exchange; we did not use them for government spending.

Our fiscal situation is strong. We are going to exit a year from now from the stimulus strategy. The expectation is that the private sector, increasingly this year, will return to provide the demand we need in the market. We are going to return to balanced budgets.

Consumer confidence in Canada—with consumer spending about 60 per cent of our GDP compared to about 70 per cent in the U.S.—has been persistent, which has made it easier for Canada to get through this recessionary period. Business confidence has returned. Energy and commodity prices have come back significantly.

Canada is an emerging energy superpower in uranium, oil, gas, hydroelectric power (particularly in Quebec), and in commodities like potash and wheat. Prices have been strengthening overall in those sectors. That, among other things, has created some pressure on the Canadian dollar but that is to be expected. Our financial institutions are stable, modestly leveraged and effectively regulated and we intend to stay the course on all of that.

Internationally, in the months ahead we will urge the adoption of practices that have served Canada well, and that is ensuring institutions are well capitalized and place a cap on leverage; ensuring transparency in the marketplace; and making sure risk performance and reward—and that has something to do with executive compensation which the Financial Stability Board has been working on in terms of guidelines and principles—will encourage a culture of prudent behavior focused on the long term.

Canada will not go down the path of excessive arbitrary or punitive regulation of its financial sector. We have a well-regulated free market economy with a private financial sector of substantial strength.

Our nation fully intends to build on that crisis-tested advantage. We intend to see the financial sector in Canada grow and to encourage its growth, and we are determined to strengthen Canada's rising global position in the future.

This is a great year for Canada. We are not only hosting the Winter Olympics and Paralympics in Vancouver, but in June we will host the G8 meeting in Muskoka and the G20 meeting in Toronto.

And this will give us an opportunity to continue our policies of prudent fiscal management and sensible financial sector regulation. You can rest assured that we will stay the course that we have followed these past four years as we go forward.

Thank you for inviting me here today.

Le 15 mars 2010
New York

Archivé - Allocution de l'honorable Jim Flaherty, ministre des Finances, devant la Canadian Association of New York

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Quelle ville formidable que New York!

Les États-Unis et le Canada entretiennent les liens commerciaux les plus étroits qui soient au monde, et nous travaillons bien ensemble. La clause « Buy American » a posé certains problèmes, mais nous sommes parvenus à les régler.

J'aimerais d'abord traiter brièvement de la gravité de la crise financière. J'ignore comment sont les choses, ici même à New York, mais, à Toronto et à Vancouver, j'ai l'impression que la crise est bel et bien terminée et que nous n'avons plus à nous en inquiéter. À mon avis, nous perdons parfois de vue à quel point cette crise a été sérieuse. Je veux aussi parler de la situation budgétaire du Canada, de la réforme du secteur financier à l'échelle mondiale, ainsi que des discussions en cours à Bâle et ailleurs.

En octobre 2008, notre gouvernement était minoritaire et nous avions décidé de déclencher des élections en septembre. Évidemment, personne ne s'attendait à une récession, ou à ce qu'elle soit aussi grave qu'elle l'a été au Canada. En septembre et au début d'octobre 2008, il est devenu de plus en plus clair que l'économie canadienne subissait certains effets externes de la récession et qu'il nous faudrait prendre des mesures pendant la campagne électorale. Notre tradition parlementaire ne prévoit pas un tel mécanisme en situation de campagne électorale. Dans ces circonstances, le gouvernement ne peut habituellement prendre que des mesures courantes.

Mais j'ai eu de nombreuses discussions avec le premier ministre, presque tous les soirs, au cours de cette campagne électorale, et il nous est apparu, compte tenu des mesures prises par d'autres gouvernements, qu'il fallait intervenir d'une façon ou d'une autre pour soutenir les institutions financières canadiennes. C'est ainsi que, le matin du vendredi 10 octobre 2008, nous avons annoncé que nous allions acheter des prêts hypothécaires assurés auprès des banques, de manière à accroître les liquidités, et que nous allions garantir leurs titres de créance de gros pour éviter qu'elles ne soient pénalisées sur la scène internationale compte tenu des mesures semblables que les gouvernements étrangers avaient prises ou étaient en train d'adopter.

Ce même jour, en après-midi, les ministres des Finances et les gouverneurs des banques centrales du Groupe des Sept (G7) se réunissaient dans la salle du Trésor des États-Unis. J'ai assisté à beaucoup de ces réunions au cours des quatre dernières années, mais celle-ci avait quelque chose de bien différent.

Le secrétaire américain au Trésor, Hank Paulson, a ouvert la séance en indiquant que la situation était grave. Les Européens ont alors dit ce que l'on s'attendait à entendre de leur part, et ils ont fait circuler un graphique montrant l'évolution des écarts de taux d'intérêt depuis l'effondrement de Lehman Brothers.

J'ai souligné, à l'instar d'autres participants, que certaines banques européennes n'étaient pas tout à fait innocentes étant donné qu'elles affichaient des ratios d'endettement de 30 pour 1 et de 40 pour 1 en plus d'importants actifs toxiques. Le ministre des Finances de l'Allemagne a cité de façon très touchante le cas d'une femme qui a grandi à Berlin-Est; elle lui a dit qu'elle avait été témoin de la chute du communisme et qu'elle assistait maintenant à la chute du capitalisme.

La situation en octobre 2008 était grave. Des banques du Royaume-Uni et des États-Unis étaient en faillite, tout comme certaines banques régionales allemandes. Il n'était pas du tout certain que les marchés ouvriraient le lundi suivant. Mais la suite des événements de cette fin de semaine-là témoigne de ce que permet la coopération internationale, du moins à l'échelle du G7.

Une fois les esprits calmés, nous avons déchiré le communiqué. Les communiqués portant sur les réunions internationales de ce genre sont rédigés à l'avance par des fonctionnaires. Ils sont très denses et très longs. Cette fois-ci, nous avons déchiré le communiqué et nous avons élaboré un plan en cinq points. J'ai insisté, avec d'autres, pour que ce soit simple et que les mesures dont nous avions convenu pour rétablir la confiance et pour éviter que d'autres banques fassent faillite tiennent sur une seule page.

Le lendemain matin à 7 h, nous avons rencontré le président Bush dans le salon Roosevelt de la Maison blanche et celui-ci a appuyé notre plan. Le président a assisté à la réunion des ministres des Finances du G20, une présence inhabituelle, suite à quoi se sont tenues les réunions du Fonds monétaire international et celles de la Banque mondiale. Les ministres des Finances d'Amérique du Nord, d'Amérique du Sud et d'Amérique centrale se sont rencontrés pendant la journée. Le soir même, tous avaient approuvé le plan en cinq points, qui renfermait des mesures de taille en vue de rétablir la confiance des marchés.

Je suis ensuite rentré au Canada afin de poursuivre la campagne électorale. Avec mes homologues du G7, j'ai participé à une conférence téléphonique avec le secrétaire américain au Trésor, M. Paulson, qui nous a alors indiqué le montant de l'aide qui serait accordée à certaines institutions financières des États-Unis. À ce moment précis, je me trouvais devant un magasin de meubles, en pleine campagne électorale, tenant mon cellulaire d'une main et saluant des automobilistes de l'autre. La scène avait quelque chose d'irréel, mais je crois que les événements de cette fin de semaine ont nettement aidé à rétablir la confiance.

C'est à la fin du quatrième trimestre de 2008 que nous avons constaté que le Canada était entré en récession. Nous avons tenu de très vastes consultations d'un bout à l'autre du pays. Les élus ont avantage à écouter. Je me souviens que j'étais à Saskatoon au milieu de décembre 2008. J'écoutais un groupe de gens d'affaires de différentes régions du pays et c'est alors que j'ai vraiment réalisé que nous étions en bien plus mauvaise posture que ne l'indiquaient les statistiques que nous avions vues jusque-là.

Nous avons décidé de présenter le budget le plus hâtif de toute l'histoire du Canada, ce que nous avons fait le 27 janvier 2009. J'ai discuté de l'ampleur du déficit avec le premier ministre et nous voulions qu'il soit modeste du point de vue du Canada, mais j'ai constaté, en écoutant les gens d'affaires, que nous pourrions courir le risque de ne pas en faire assez, de sorte que nous aurions été obligés de stimuler l'économie deux fois, ce qui aurait été dangereux.

Nous avons décidé d'enregistrer un déficit imposant dans la perspective du Canada, que j'ai annoncé le 27 janvier 2009; nous avons alors lancé le Plan d'action économique, d'une durée de deux ans. Nous allions afficher un important déficit pour l'exercice en cours, suivi d'un déficit substantiel au cours de l'exercice suivant.

Heureusement, nous étions relativement bien préparés dès le départ. Au cours des trois premières années de notre mandat, nous avions réduit la dette de presque 40 milliards de dollars. Nous disposions d'excédents budgétaires que nous avions utilisés pour réduire la dette publique, ce qui nous plaçait relativement en bonne posture pour afficher un déficit provisoire sur deux ans.

Notre ratio de la dette au PIB était de 29 % en 2008-2009. Celui-ci augmentera à près de 35 % en 2010-2011, avant de reculer à 31 % en 2014-2015. En comparaison, le ratio de la dette au PIB des États-Unis est d'environ 67 %, celui du Royaume-Uni est proche de 75 %, et celui du Japon est d'environ 115 % et augmentera probablement encore au cours des prochaines années. Notre situation financière est donc relativement saine.

Il y a quelques semaines, j'ai annoncé dans le budget que nous allions poursuivre la mise en œuvre du Plan d'action économique. Nous croyons que l'économie montre des signes encourageants d'une reprise, mais que celle-ci demeure fragile.

Nous sommes conscients de la situation de certains pays d'Europe et que certaines banques européennes évaluent les actifs au prix du marché. Nous sommes également conscients que le taux de chômage est relativement élevé aux États-Unis et au Canada. C'est pourquoi nous allons accuser un déficit afin de stimuler l'économie canadienne au cours des 14 prochains mois, soit jusqu'en mars 2011.

Toutefois, il faudra en fin de compte mettre un terme à ces mesures. Dès le départ, nous avons prévu des mesures de stimulation d'une durée de deux ans pour nous acquitter de l'engagement pris envers le G20 de stimuler l'économie. C'est ce que nous faisons : en collaboration avec les provinces, nous dépensons près de 4 % du PIB du Canada pour ces mesures de stimulation, mais nous y mettrons fin comme prévu.

Nous freinerons aussi la progression des dépenses. Je suis un conservateur au plan budgétaire et je tiens à rétablir l'équilibre budgétaire et à ce que nous recommencions à dégager des excédents. La seule façon d'y parvenir consiste à freiner la progression des dépenses publiques dans les domaines où celles-ci sont en très forte hausse.

Nous avons ciblé le ministère de la Défense nationale. Les dépenses de ce ministère augmenteront, mais non au même rythme. De plus, nous respecterons notre engagement de doubler les dépenses au titre de l'aide étrangère d'ici la fin de l'an prochain, mais, une fois cette cible atteinte, nous gèlerons ces dépenses et nous les réévaluerons en regard des autres postes budgétaires. Finalement, nous gèlerons la plupart des dépenses de fonctionnement de la fonction publique du Canada.

Ce sont là des décisions pénibles, mais que nous devons prendre si nous voulons rétablir progressivement l'équilibre budgétaire. Et le gouvernement doit prendre ces décisions dès les premières étapes, parce qu'il est difficile pour un gouvernement de modifier le cap en vitesses : comme dans le cas d'un navire, la manœuvre prend du temps. Il faut au préalable informer les intéressés du changement, ce que nous avons fait dans le budget de cette année.

C'est ainsi que le déficit du Canada sera réduit de moitié dans deux ans et des deux tiers dans trois ans, et qu'il sera presque équilibré en 2014-2015. Cela nous donne un avantage concurrentiel. En fait, c'est un énorme avantage permanent pour le Canada. Notre déficit actuel représente 3,5 % du PIB, que vous pouvez comparer à la situation d'autres pays.

Nous profiterons aussi d'un avantage fiscal. En 2012-2013, presque partout au Canada, le taux combiné de l'impôt fédéral-provincial des sociétés sera de 25 %. Lorsque nous sommes arrivés au pouvoir, en janvier 2006, le taux de l'impôt fédéral était d'un peu plus de 22 %. Nous le ramènerons à 15 % en 2012. En 2013, la plupart des provinces, dont l'Ontario, auront ramené le taux de leur impôt des sociétés à 10 %.

Cet avantage fiscal est important. Il signifie que le Canada bénéficiera, en 2012-2013, du plus faible taux d'imposition du revenu des sociétés parmi les pays du G7. Nous appliquons déjà le taux global d'imposition des nouveaux investissements des entreprises le plus bas à l'échelle du G7.

Les ministres des Finances et les gouverneurs des banques centrales du G7 se sont réunis à Iqaluit, au Nunavut, il y a de cela cinq ou six semaines. Je sais que c'était quelque peu risqué parce que la météo n'est pas toujours favorable au Nunavut en février. Mais ce fut splendide. En fait, comme l'a souligné notre consul général à New York, la température a été beaucoup moins clémente à Washington cette fin de semaine-là.

Nous voulions que les ministres des Finances et les gouverneurs des banques centrales reviennent au concept de départ du G7, celui des conversations informelles. Nous n'avons pas publié de communiqué, mais nous avons eu des discussions.

Nous avons convenu qu'en principe, ce sont les institutions financières – et non les contribuables – qui devaient assumer le coût des crises financières qu'elles provoquent. Il n'est pas difficile de convenir de ce principe, mais beaucoup plus difficile de le mettre en œuvre, comme en témoignent les efforts en cours à Washington.

La mise en œuvre est une question épineuse. Pour sa part, le gouvernement du Canada est contre un impôt sur le capital, contre une taxe sur les transactions financières et contre toute augmentation des impôts. Ce n'est pas ce que nous avons prôné jusqu'ici.

Le Conseil de stabilité financière du G20 étudie une exigence de capital pour les éventualités, qui pourrait prendre diverses formes. Nous sommes prêts à examiner la chose.

Nous ne nous intéressons guère aux expressions du genre « trop importante pour sombrer » ou « systémiquement importante ». À notre avis, ces qualificatifs ne sont pas utiles et fausseraient le marché.

Nous sommes en faveur de normes de levier financier. Les institutions financières du Canada en utilisent, et c'est l'une des raisons pourquoi elles se sont bien tirées d'affaire pendant la crise. Nous croyons dans la réglementation de toutes les institutions financières, que nous pratiquons d'ailleurs au Canada, et dans une réglementation efficace. Il ne suffit pas de réglementer tout simplement, car la plupart des entités qui ont fait faillite en Europe, aux États-Unis et ailleurs pendant la crise étaient bel et bien réglementées. Mais il y a une différence entre adopter des règlements et pouvoir compter sur des organismes de réglementation qui font effectivement leur travail.

Je sais que Mme Julie Dickson, la surintendante des institutions financières du Canada, sera ici demain. Elle a fait un travail remarquable afin d'avoir bien en main la situation des institutions financières. Elle et moi avons discuté de façon régulière pendant la crise des deux dernières années.

Les choses sont plus faciles au Canada. Nous n'avons pas des milliers de banques; nous avons cinq ou six grandes banques et trois grandes sociétés d'assurances. Nous avons aussi quelque 70 à 80 autres banques et institutions financières diverses, mais elles n'ont pas l'ampleur de celles des États-Unis.

Cela dit, je crois que certains principes doivent s'appliquer à l'effet de levier, en Europe et ailleurs. Nous sommes d'accord pour limiter l'effet de levier.

Le Canada dispose d'une Agence de la consommation en matière financière, dotée de pouvoirs de réglementation, qui rend des comptes au gouvernement par mon entremise. La commissaire et moi, nous nous parlons. Elle est en mesure de s'acquitter de sa tâche sans invoquer son pouvoir de réglementation. Elle le fait au moyen de conversations téléphoniques, tout en surveillant et en encourageant les pratiques qui ne nuisent pas aux consommateurs, une approche qui fonctionne bien.

Nous croyons qu'il faut limiter la titrisation et les portefeuilles de prêts des prêteurs, surtout dans le marché du logement. Les banques canadiennes ont d'importants réseaux de succursales de détail. Elles prennent et cèdent des hypothèques résidentielles et ce sont surtout elles qui détiennent ces hypothèques.

Le marché hypothécaire canadien comporte un droit de recours. Autrement dit, l'emprunteur ne peut se défiler, car il est personnellement responsable. L'intérêt sur un prêt hypothécaire n'est pas déductible au Canada. Le gain en capital sur la vente de la résidence principale est libre d'impôt, mais je suis heureux que nous ayons résisté à la tentation d'instaurer la déductibilité de l'intérêt sur les prêts hypothécaires.

L'autre aspect qui a joué en faveur du système bancaire canadien est que, à la fin des années 1980 et au début des années 1990, nos banques ont été autorisées à acquérir des banques d'investissement et elles ont effectivement acquis la plupart de ces institutions. C'est ainsi que, lorsque la crise est survenue, la plupart de nos banques d'investissement étaient déjà réglementées par le Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières, et assujetties à la même rigueur.

Nous pouvons donc compter sur la remarquable stabilité des banques canadiennes. Nous avons l'occasion de servir de modèle.

Deux émissions d'obligations récentes, très réussies, illustrent les avantages de notre situation financière. Cela faisait une dizaine d'années que nous n'avions pas fait cela au Canada, mais nous avons lancé deux obligations récemment, l'une en euros et l'autre en dollars américains. Les investisseurs se sont précipités sur l'offre et la tarification était avantageuse. Nous avons utilisé le produit de l'émission pour diversifier nos réserves de devises, et non pour financer des dépenses publiques.

Notre situation financière est solide. Nous mettrons fin aux mesures de stimulation dans un an. Nous nous attendons à ce que le secteur privé ramène progressivement cette année la demande dont nous avons besoin sur le marché. Nous allons revenir à l'équilibre budgétaire.

La confiance des consommateurs – ces derniers dépensent l'équivalent de près de 60 % de notre PIB contre environ 70 % aux États-Unis – s'est maintenue, de sorte qu'il a été plus facile pour le Canada de traverser cette récession. La confiance des entreprises est revenue, tandis que les prix de l'énergie et des produits de base se sont nettement raffermis.

Le Canada est une superpuissance énergétique émergente dans les secteurs de l'uranium, du pétrole, du gaz, de l'hydroélectricité (plus particulièrement au Québec) et des produits de base comme la potasse et le blé. Les prix de tous ces produits ont, de manière générale, repris de la vigueur. Ce facteur, parmi d'autres, a fait pression sur le dollar canadien, mais il fallait s'y attendre. Nos institutions financières sont stables, elles utilisent peu l'effet de levier et elles sont réglementées de façon efficace; nous entendons maintenir le cap à tous ces égards.

Au cours des prochains mois, nous presserons la communauté internationale d'adopter des pratiques qui ont bien servi le Canada; il s'agit notamment de veiller à ce que les institutions soient bien capitalisées et limitent l'effet de levier; d'assurer la transparence des marchés; et de veiller à ce que le rendement face aux risques et les récompenses – qui rejoint la question de la rémunération du personnel de direction, à l'égard de laquelle le Conseil de stabilité financière prépare des lignes directrices et des principes – favorise une culture de prudence axée sur le long terme.

Le Canada n'empruntera pas la voie d'une réglementation excessive, arbitraire ou punitive de son secteur financier : nous disposons d'une économie de marché libre déjà bien réglementée et d'un secteur financier privé particulièrement vigoureux.

Notre pays compte exploiter pleinement cet avantage mis à l'épreuve par la crise. Nous voulons voir le secteur financier canadien prendre de l'expansion et favoriser cette croissance, et faire en sorte que le Canada occupe de plus en plus une place de choix sur la scène internationale.

Le Canada profite d'une année exceptionnelle. Nous aurons accueilli les Jeux olympiques et paralympiques d'hiver à Vancouver, puis, en juin, nous serons les hôtes de la réunion du G8 à Muskoka et de celle du G20 à Toronto.

Nous continuerons d'appliquer nos politiques de gestion financière prudente et de réglementation posée du secteur financier. Soyez certains que nous maintiendrons le cap que nous suivons depuis quatre ans.

Merci de m'avoir invité à prendre la parole devant vous aujourd'hui.