- News Release 2009-115 -

Archived - Backgrounder

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

For purposes of the Goods and Services Tax (GST), and where applicable the Harmonized Sales Tax, unless an exemption is specifically provided, services in the nature of management, administration, marketing or promotional activities that are used as inputs into financial services are intended to be taxable as they are not themselves financial services. Recent court decisions, however, have raised questions as to whether certain services fall within the existing definition of "financial service" contained in subsection 123(1) of the Excise Tax Act. The services, as described more fully below, are investment management services, services that facilitate financial services and services of managing credit.

To clarify the tax treatment of these services under the GST, the Government is announcing its intention to propose legislative amendments to reaffirm the longstanding policy intent and specifically provide that these services are excluded from the definition of financial service.

Investment Management Services

It is proposed to amend the definition of financial service to clarify that it excludes investment management services. Investment management services comprise the management by one person of the assets or liabilities of another person, with or without discretionary authority granted by the other person to manage the assets or liabilities. Investment management services include the full range of investment portfolio management and administration activities such as:

  • research, analysis and advice;
  • determining and directing which assets or liabilities of an investment portfolio are to be acquired or disposed of; and
  • acting to realize performance targets in respect of an investment portfolio.

The proposed amendment would apply to an investment management service rendered under an agreement for a supply if any consideration for the supply becomes due or is paid without becoming due after the Announcement date. It also applies to an investment management service rendered under an agreement for a supply if all the consideration for the supply became due or was paid on or before the Announcement date, unless the supplier did not, on or before that day, charge, collect or remit any amount as or on account of tax in respect of the supply or in respect of any other supply that includes an investment management service and that is made under the agreement.

It is also proposed to amend paragraph (q) of the definition of financial service. Paragraph (q) excludes from the definition of financial service a management or administrative service, or any other service (other than a prescribed service), provided by a person to a recipient that is either an investment plan or a corporation, trust or partnership whose principal activity is the investment of funds, if the person provides management or administrative services to the recipient. Paragraph (q) is proposed to be amended to clarify that the term "management or administrative service" in paragraph (q) includes an investment management service as described above.

The proposed amendment to paragraph (q) applies to a service rendered under an agreement for a supply if any consideration for the supply becomes due or is paid without becoming due after the Announcement date. It also applies to a service rendered under an agreement for a supply if all the consideration for the supply became due or was paid on or before the Announcement date, unless the supplier did not, on or before that day, charge, collect or remit an amount as or on account of tax, in respect of the supply or in respect of any other supply that includes an investment management service and that is made under the agreement.

Services That Facilitate Financial Services and Services of Managing Credit

For greater certainty, it is proposed to amend the definition of financial service to exclude from paragraph (l) of the definition (i.e., "the agreeing to provide, or the arranging for,") a facilitatory service that is preparatory to an actual or intended financial service. A facilitatory service comprises the performance or provision of one or more of the following services:

  • market research, product design, document preparation or processing, customer assistance, advertising, promotional or similar activities; and
  • the collection, collation or provision of information.

It is also proposed to exclude from paragraph (l) a service of managing credit in respect of a credit or charge card or similar payment card, or in respect of a credit, charge or loan account or an account in respect of any advance, where the service is supplied by one person to another person that is granting, or prospectively granting, credit. Managing credit includes:

  • credit checking;
  • valuation;
  • authorization services;
  • making decisions relating to a grant or an application for a grant of credit;
  • creating and maintaining records relating to a grant or an application for a grant of credit on behalf of the credit provider; and
  • monitoring payment record or dealing with payments.

For example, where a merchant enters into an agreement with a bank issuing a credit card, whereby the bank agrees to provide to the merchant the service of advancing money (with respect to the merchant's sales that are charged to the credit card) and the merchant agrees to provide to the bank the service of promoting the credit card at its stores, the proposed amendment would apply to the separate supply made by the merchant and clarify that the merchant's service of promoting the bank's credit card is not a financial service.

The proposed amendment to paragraph (l) applies to a service of managing credit, or a facilitatory service, rendered under an agreement for a supply if any consideration for the supply becomes due or is paid without becoming due after the Announcement date. It also applies to any such service rendered under an agreement for a supply if all the consideration for the supply became due or was paid on or before the Announcement date, unless the supplier did not, on or before that day, charge, collect or remit any amount as or on account of tax in respect of the supply or in respect of any other supply that includes a service of managing credit or a facilitatory service and that is made under the agreement.

Reassessment by Minister of National Revenue

In respect of all the proposed amendments discussed above, the Minister of National Revenue may reassess the net tax of a person under Part IX of the Excise Tax Act in respect of a reporting period of the person to take into account any difference between the net tax that was reported by the person for the reporting period and the net tax of the person for the reporting period that would result after applying the proposed amendments. Any such reassessment must be made on or before the later of: (1) the day that is one year after the day on which an Act containing these proposed amendments is assented to; and (2) the last day of the period for reassessment otherwise allowed under section 298 of the Excise Tax Act for making the reassessment.

However, the proposed amendments will not affect any case that has been subject to a final determination by the courts before the Announcement date.

- Communiqué 2009-115 -

Archivé - Document d'information

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Sous le régime de la taxe sur les produits et services (TPS) et, le cas échéant, de la taxe de vente harmonisée, les services de la nature d'activités de gestion, d'administration, de mise en marché ou de promotion qui représentent des intrants relatifs à des services financiers sont taxables (sauf s'ils sont expressément exonérés de taxe) puisqu'ils ne constituent pas eux-mêmes des services financiers. Des décisions judiciaires récentes ont toutefois soulevé la question de savoir si certains services sont visés par la définition de « service financier » au paragraphe 123(1) de la Loi sur la taxe d'accise. Ces services, dont une description plus détaillée suit, sont les services de gestion de placements, les services qui facilitent les services financiers et les services de gestion de crédit.

Dans le but de clarifier le traitement fiscal de ces services sous le régime de la TPS, le gouvernement annonce son intention de proposer des modifications législatives en vue de réaffirmer l'objectif de principe de longue date et de prévoir expressément que les services en cause sont exclus de la définition de « service financier ».

Services de gestion de placements

Il est proposé de modifier la définition de « service financier » de façon à exclure de son application les services de gestion de placements. Ces services comportent la gestion par une personne des éléments d'actif ou de passif d'une autre personne, assortie ou non d'un pouvoir discrétionnaire consenti par cette dernière. Sont compris parmi les services de gestion de placements la gamme complète des activités de gestion et d'administration des portefeuilles, notamment :

  • la recherche, l'analyse et les conseils;
  • les décisions et les ordres concernant l'achat ou la disposition d'éléments d'actif ou de passif;
  • les mesures prises dans le but d'atteindre les objectifs de rendement liés au portefeuille.

La modification proposée s'appliquerait aux services de gestion de placements rendus aux termes d'une convention portant sur une fourniture dont la contrepartie, même partielle, devient due après la date de publication ou est payée après cette date sans être devenue due. Elle s'applique aussi aux services de gestion de placements rendus aux termes d'une convention portant sur une fourniture dont la totalité de la contrepartie est devenue due ou a été payée à la date de publication ou antérieurement, sauf si le fournisseur n'a pas exigé, perçu ou versé, au plus tard à cette date, de montant au titre de la taxe relative à la fourniture en cause ou à toute autre fourniture, effectuée aux termes de la convention, qui comprend un service de gestion de placements.

Il est aussi proposé de modifier l'alinéa q) de la définition de « service financier ». Cet alinéa a pour effet d'exclure de l'application de cette définition les services de gestion ou d'administration, ainsi que tout autre service (sauf ceux prévus par règlement), fournis par une personne à un acquéreur qui est soit un régime de placement, soit une personne morale, une fiducie ou une société de personnes dont l'activité principale consiste à investir des fonds, si la personne rend des services de gestion ou d'administration à l'acquéreur. Il est proposé de modifier l'alinéa q) de façon à préciser que le terme « service de gestion ou d'administration » qui y figure comprend tout service de gestion des placements dont il est question ci-dessus.

Cette modification s'applique aux services rendus aux termes d'une convention portant sur une fourniture dont la contrepartie, même partielle, devient due après la date de publication ou est payée après cette date sans être devenue due. Elle s'applique aussi aux services rendus aux termes d'une convention portant sur une fourniture dont la totalité de la contrepartie est devenue due ou a été payée à la date de publication ou antérieurement, sauf si le fournisseur n'a pas exigé, perçu ou versé, au plus tard à cette date, de montant au titre de la taxe relative à la fourniture en cause ou à toute autre fourniture, effectuée aux termes de la convention, qui comprend un service de gestion de placements.

Services visant à faciliter les services financiers et les services de gestion de crédit

Par souci de certitude, il est proposé de modifier l'alinéa l) de la définition de « service financier » (qui traite du « fait de consentir à effectuer un service [financier] ou de prendre les mesures en vue de l'effectuer ») de façon à exclure les services préparatoires à tout service financier réel ou projeté. Ces services dits « de facilitation » comprennent l'exécution ou la réalisation d'un ou de plusieurs des services suivants :

  • l'étude de marché, la conception de produits, l'établissement ou le traitement de documents, l'assistance à la clientèle, les activités de publicité et de promotion et les activités semblables;
  • la collecte, le regroupement et la communication de renseignements.

Il est également proposé d'exclure de l'application de l'alinéa l) les services de gestion de crédit relatifs à des cartes de crédit ou de paiement, à un compte de crédit, d'achats à crédit ou de prêts ou à un compte portant sur une avance, dans le cas où le service est fourni par une personne à une autre personne qui consent ou projette de consentir un crédit. Sont compris dans les services de gestion de crédit :

  • les vérifications de crédit;
  • les évaluations;
  • les services d'autorisation;
  • la prise de décision au sujet de l'octroi de crédit ou d'une demande d'octroi de crédit;
  • la création et la tenue de dossiers concernant l'octroi de crédit ou une demande d'octroi de crédit pour le compte du fournisseur de crédit;
  • le contrôle et le traitement des paiements.

Par exemple, lorsqu'un marchand conclut, avec une banque émettrice d'une carte de crédit, un accord aux termes duquel la banque accepte d'offrir au marchand un service d'avance de fonds (relativement aux ventes du marchand portées sur la carte de crédit) et le marchand accepte d'offrir à la banque un service de promotion de la carte de crédit dans ses magasins, la modification proposée s'appliquerait à la fourniture distincte effectuée par le marchand et préciserait que le service de promotion de la carte de crédit de la banque n'est pas un service financier.

Cette modification s'applique aux services de gestion de crédit et aux services de facilitation rendus aux termes d'une convention portant sur une fourniture dont la contrepartie, même partielle, devient due après la date de publication ou est payée après cette date sans être devenue due. Elle s'applique aussi aux services rendus aux termes d'une convention portant sur une fourniture dont la totalité de la contrepartie est devenue due ou a été payée à la date de publication ou antérieurement, sauf si le fournisseur n'a pas exigé, perçu ou versé, au plus tard à cette date, de montant au titre de la taxe relative à la fourniture en cause ou à toute autre fourniture, effectuée aux termes de la convention, qui comprend un service de gestion de crédit ou un service de facilitation.

Nouvelle cotisation par le ministre du Revenu national

En ce qui concerne l'ensemble des modifications proposées dont il est question ci-dessus, le ministre du Revenu national peut établir une nouvelle cotisation concernant la taxe nette d'une personne en vertu de la partie IX de la Loi sur la taxe d'accise pour une période de déclaration de la personne afin de tenir compte de toute différence entre la taxe nette qu'elle a déclarée pour la période et sa taxe nette pour la même période qui découlerait de l'application des modifications proposées. Pareille nouvelle cotisation doit être établie au plus tard au dernier en date des jours suivants : (1) le jour qui suit d'un an la date de sanction de la loi contenant les modifications proposées et (2) le dernier jour de la période de nouvelle cotisation prévue par ailleurs à l'article 298 de la Loi sur la taxe d'accise.

Il est à noter que les modifications proposées seront sans effet sur toute affaire ayant fait l'objet d'une décision définitive par les tribunaux avant la date de publication.