Ottawa, December 14, 2009
2009-115

Archived - Government of Canada Responds to Recent Court Decisions on the GST and Financial Services

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Related document:

Backgrounder


The Honourable Jim Flaherty, Minister of Finance, today released a backgrounder containing technical legislative proposals addressing recent court decisions which may have created uncertainty respecting the scope of the definition of "financial service" in the Excise Tax Act.

"It is very important that the Goods and Services Tax (GST) rules be clear in order to reduce the compliance burden on business," said Minister Flaherty. "The information that the Government released today will clarify for financial services businesses their GST responsibilities."

The legislative proposals reaffirm the policy intent and provide certainty respecting the GST (and, where applicable, the Harmonized Sales Tax) treatment of certain administrative and management services and promotional services by clarifying that such services are not financial services under the Excise Tax Act, and are therefore taxable for GST purposes. The proposals specify that:

  • investment management services, including discretionary investment management services, are not financial services;
  • the following activities are not financial services as they do not constitute "the agreeing to provide, or the arranging for," a financial service for the purposes of the definition of "financial service":
    • facilitatory services, comprising market research, product design, promotional services, advertising and the collection of information; and
    • credit management services in respect of a credit or charge card or similar payment card, or a credit, charge or loan account such as credit checking, authorization, valuation, record keeping and monitoring and dealing with payments.

The proposals would apply to all supplies of these services made after today, as well as to past transactions where the suppliers treated these services as taxable.

The accompanying backgrounder provides further details on these measures. References in these documents to an Announcement Date should be read as references to today's date.

The Government will introduce legislation at an early opportunity.

___________________________________
For further information, media may contact:

Annette Robertson
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-996-8080

To receive e-mail notification of all news releases, please register at www.fin.gc.ca/scripts/register-eng.asp

Ottawa, le 14 décembre 2009
2009-115

Archivé - Le gouvernement du Canada réagit à de récentes décisions judiciaires sur l'application de la TPS aux services financiers

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Document connexe :

Document d'information


L'honorable Jim Flaherty, ministre des Finances, a rendu public aujourd'hui un document d'information portant sur des propositions législatives techniques qui donnent suite à de récentes décisions judiciaires qui pourraient avoir créé de l'incertitude quant au champ d'application de la définition de « service financier » dans la Loi sur la taxe d'accise.

« Il est très important que les règles de la taxe sur les produits et services (TPS) soient claires afin de réduire le fardeau d'observation de la loi pour les entreprises, a déclaré le ministre Flaherty. Les propositions que le gouvernement a annoncées clarifient les responsabilités des entreprises de services financiers en matière de TPS. »

Les propositions législatives confirment les objectifs visés et offrent une certitude quant au traitement de certains services d'administration, de gestion et de promotion sous le régime de la TPS (et, le cas échéant, de la taxe de vente harmonisée). Elles précisent en effet que ces services ne constituent pas des services financiers au sens de la Loi sur la taxe d'accise et qu'ils sont donc assujettis à la TPS. Plus précisément, les propositions prévoient :

  • que les services de gestion de placements, y compris les services discrétionnaires de gestion de placements, ne constituent pas des services financiers;
  • que les activités suivantes ne sont pas des services financiers puisqu'elles ne constituent pas « le fait de consentir à effectuer un service [financier] ou de prendre les mesures en vue de l'effectuer » pour l'application de la définition de « service financier » :
    • les services de facilitation, comportant les études de marché, la conception de produits, les services de promotion, la publicité et la collecte de renseignements;
    • les services de gestion de crédit relatifs à une carte de crédit ou de paiement ou à un compte de crédit, d'achats à crédit ou de prêts, tels la vérification du crédit, l'autorisation de crédit, l'évaluation, la tenue et le contrôle des dossiers et le traitement des paiements.

Les propositions s'appliqueraient aux fournitures de tels services effectuées après aujourd'hui de même qu'aux opérations antérieures portant sur de tels services considérés comme taxables par les fournisseurs.

Le document d'information ci-joint contient des renseignements plus détaillés au sujet de ces mesures. Dans ce document, la mention de la « date de publication » s'entend de la date d'aujourd'hui.

Les dispositions législatives connexes seront déposées dès que l'occasion se présentera.

________________________________________________________
Pour plus de renseignements, les médias peuvent communiquer avec :

Annette Robertson
Attachée de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-996-8080

Pour recevoir un courriel chaque fois qu'un communiqué est publié, inscrivez-vous à www.fin.gc.ca/scripts/register-fra.asp.