March 14, 2009
2009-030

Archived - G20 Finance Ministers' and Central Bank Governors' Communiqué

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Related documents


We, the G20 Finance Ministers and Central Bank Governors, met today to prepare for the Leaders' London Summit. We agreed further action to restore global growth and support lending, and reforms to strengthen the global financial system.

Restoring Global Growth

1. We have taken decisive, coordinated and comprehensive action to boost demand and jobs, and are prepared to take whatever action is necessary until growth is restored. We commit to fight all forms of protectionism and maintain open trade and investment.

2. Our key priority now is to restore lending by tackling, where needed, problems in the financial system head on, through continued liquidity support, bank recapitalisation and dealing with impaired assets, through a common framework (attached).  We reaffirm our commitment to take all necessary actions to ensure the soundness of systemically important institutions.

3. Fiscal expansion is providing vital support for growth and jobs. Acting together strengthens the impact and the exceptional policy actions announced so far must be implemented without delay. We are committed to deliver the scale of sustained effort necessary to restore growth, and call on the International Monetary Fund (IMF) to assess the actions taken and the actions required. We will ensure the restoration of growth and long-run fiscal sustainability.

4. Interest rates have been cut aggressively in most countries, and G20 central banks will maintain expansionary policies as long as needed, using the full range of monetary policy instruments, including unconventional policy instruments, consistent with price stability.

5. We are committed to helping emerging and developing economies to cope with the reversal in international capital flows. We recognise the urgent need to pursue all options for mobilising International Financial Institution (IFI) resources and liquidity to finance countercyclical spending, bank recapitalisation, infrastructure, trade finance, rollover risk and social support. We agreed on the urgent need to increase IMF resources very substantially. This could include further bilateral support, a significantly expanded and increased New Arrangements to Borrow (NAB), and an accelerated quota review. We should also ensure that all Multilateral Development Banks have the capital they need, beginning with a substantial capital increase for the Asian Development Bank, and put it to best use to help the world's poorest. We welcomed the progress by the IMF and World Bank in introducing new and enhanced instruments, including the development of a new high-access, quick-disbursing precautionary facility.

Strengthening the Financial System

6. To further strengthen the global financial system we have completed the immediate steps in the Washington Action Plan and we welcome the Financial Stability Forum's (FSF) expansion to all G20 members. We remain focused on the medium term actions, and make recommendations to the London Summit to ensure: 

  • all systemically important financial institutions, markets and instruments are subject to an appropriate degree of regulation and oversight, and that hedge funds or their managers are registered and disclose appropriate information to assess the risks they pose; 
  • stronger regulation is reinforced by strengthened macro-prudential oversight to prevent the build-up of systemic risk;
  • financial regulations dampen rather than amplify economic cycles, including by building buffers of resources during the good times and measures to constrain leverage; but it is vital that capital requirements remain unchanged until recovery is assured; and,
  • strengthened international cooperation to prevent and resolve crises, including through supervisory colleges, institutional reinforcement of the FSF, and the launch of an IMF/FSF Early Warning Exercise. 

7. We have also agreed to: regulatory oversight, including registration, of all Credit Rating Agencies whose ratings are used for regulatory purposes, and compliance with the International Organisation of Securities Commissions (IOSCO) code; full transparency of exposures to off-balance sheet vehicles; the need for improvements in accounting standards, including for provisioning and valuation uncertainty; greater standardisation and resilience of credit derivatives markets; the FSF's sound practice principles for compensation; and the relevant international bodies identify non-cooperative jurisdictions and to develop a tool box of effective counter measures.

8. To strengthen the effectiveness and legitimacy of the IFIs we must enhance their governance and ensure they fully reflect changes in the world economy. Emerging and developing economies, including the poorest, should have greater voice and representation and the next review of IMF quotas should be concluded by January 2011. The package of quota and voice measures decided in April 2008 should be swiftly implemented. World Bank reforms should be completed by the Spring Meetings 2010. The heads of the IFIs should be appointed through open, merit based selection processes.

___________________________________
For further information, media may contact:

Chisholm Pothier
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-996-8080

To receive e-mail notification of all news releases, please register at www.fin.gc.ca/scripts/register-eng.asp

 

 


Annex to Communiqué - G20 Finance Ministers and Central Bank Governors - 14 March

Restoring lending: a framework for financial repair and recovery

We, the G20 Finance Ministers and Central Bank Governors, agreed the need to continue working together to maintain and support lending in our financial systems. We are committed to taking decisive action, where needed, and to use all available tools to restore the full functioning of financial markets, and in particular to underpin the flow of credit, both domestically and globally. Actions to achieve this may include where necessary:

  • providing liquidity support, including through government guarantees to financial institutions' liabilities;
  • injecting capital into financial institutions;
  • protecting savings and deposits; and,
  • strengthening banks' balance sheets, including through dealing with impaired assets.

Our key priority now is to address the uncertainties around the value of assets held on banks' balance sheets, which are significantly constraining banks' lending. This uncertainty, and the extent to which banks are holding capital to protect themselves from further potential extreme losses, is preventing them from restoring lending to business and households, with damaging consequences to our economies.

A cooperative and consistent approach by national authorities to programmes addressing impaired assets should be based on the following principles:

International cooperation

1. Given the interconnectedness of the global financial system, international cooperation is important to maximise the effectiveness of these measures and reject financial protectionism. Cooperation has the potential to further maximise the benefits of these actions and address spillovers, in particular by increasing confidence in financial stability, minimising distortions to the market and maintaining a level playing field, supporting developing countries and emerging market economies, while defending taxpayers' interests.

Programme Design

2. Programmes should be appropriate to the characteristics of the banking, legislative and fiscal frameworks. International cooperation is critical in addressing negative spillovers. Programmes should be implemented quickly, comprehensively and have a limited enrolment period.

Eligibility of assets and institutions

3. The eligibility of assets for support should be kept flexible due to the difference in balance sheet compositions, the conditions in different countries and because the amount and type of impaired assets is likely to differ across financial sectors. There should be a specified cut-off date prior to announcement of the programme. Priority should be given to institutions which pose a significant risk to financial stability.

Risk transfer and burden sharing

4. If risk is to be transferred from the banking sector to governments, it should be at a fair price, including through fees, with appropriate risk sharing, to limit the cost to the government as well as prevent moral hazard, provide the right incentives to the participating institutions and maintain a level playing field across financial institutions, both nationally and internationally. Banks' shareholders should be required to contribute to the maximum extent possible to loss or risk coverage prior to government intervention.

Transparency and disclosure

5. Consistent with prudential considerations, there should be a full and transparent disclosure of the impairment of banks' balance sheets. Stress testing should include a rigorous and up to date assessment of their exposure to potential losses and of their future viability, including their capacity to continue lending and absorb potential losses in order to avoid international distortions. Governments should manage in a transparent way impaired asset resolution programmes. In order to build market confidence, governments should disclose the processes, standards and results of their impaired asset management programmes.

Valuation

6. While valuation methodologies may vary depending on the proposed asset resolution program, it is critical that those methodologies are applied transparently, objectively, consistently and in a cooperative way, in order to promote a level playing field across countries and financial institutions, and to advance prudential objectives while limiting the exposure of the state to potential losses. Supervisory authorities should have an important role in validating valuation processes. This will ensure that the risk is transferred from the banking sector to governments at a fair price, including through fees, with appropriate risk sharing, to limit the cost to the government, provide the right incentives to the participating institutions and minimise distortions.

Management

7. Firms receiving support should continue to be run according to business principles in order to prevent distortions of the effective allocation of credit to the private sector or to institutions not participating in the scheme. Conditions should be included, such as on pricing, compensation or restructuring, to limit any conflict of interests or moral hazard, with support designed to align the incentives for banks to participate and the conditions imposed on beneficiary banks with public policy objectives.

Restructuring

8. Restructurings should focus on maximising the effectiveness of any government support and the long-term viability of an institution and should depend on pricing relative to expected losses, the capacity of the bank to withstand residual exposures and the bank's access to other support.Where sound restructuring is supported by merger or acquisition crossborder deals, close collaboration with the relevant foreign authorities is essential.

Conditions

9. Government support is a privilege and must come with strong conditions, such as a commitment to continue providing credit to appropriately meet demands according to commercial criteria, improving governance, dividend policy restrictions and executive remuneration caps. It may involve appropriate restructuring, including as necessary measures to limit competition distortions.

Monitoring

10. Taxpayer interest must be protected and banks participating in asset support programmes should be closely monitored.

Timing

11. Government support should be temporary and should include well-defined exit strategies and incentives.

Public Finances

12. Government support measures should be part of a sustainable mediumterm fiscal strategy.

14 mars 2009
2009-030

Archivé - Communiqué des ministres des Finances et des gouverneurs des banques centrales du G20 – 14 mars

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Document connexe :


Nous, ministres des Finances et gouverneurs des banques centrales du Groupe des Vingt (G20), nous sommes rassemblés aujourd'hui pour préparer le Sommet des dirigeants qui aura lieu à Londres. Nous avons convenu de mesures supplémentaires pour rétablir la croissance mondiale et appuyer les activités de prêt, de même que de réformes pour renforcer le système financier mondial.

Rétablir la croissance mondiale

1.  Nous avons adopté des mesures énergiques, coordonnées et de grande portée pour stimuler la demande et l'emploi, et nous sommes disposés à prendre toutes les mesures nécessaires pour rétablir la croissance. Nous nous engageons à combattre toutes les formes de protectionnisme et à soutenir l'ouverture du commerce et de l'investissement.

2.  Notre grande priorité actuelle consiste à rétablir les mécanismes de prêt en nous attaquant aux problèmes du système financier lorsque nécessaire en appuyant la liquidité de façon soutenue, en rétablissant la capitalisation des banques et en réglant la question des actifs dépréciés, au moyen d'un cadre commun (ci-joint). Nous confirmons notre engagement à prendre toutes les mesures nécessaires pour garantir la stabilité des institutions importantes au plan systémique.

3.  L'expansion budgétaire offre un soutien primordial à la croissance et à l'emploi. L'action commune renforce son impact, et les mesures stratégiques exceptionnelles annoncées jusqu'à maintenant doivent être mises en œuvre sans tarder. Nous nous engageons à déployer les efforts nécessaires pour rétablir la croissance et nous faisons appel au Fonds monétaire international (FMI) pour évaluer les mesures prises et celles qui seront nécessaires. Nous veillerons à rétablir la croissance et à assurer la stabilité financière à long terme.

4.  Les taux d'intérêt ont été fortement réduits dans la plupart des pays, et les banques centrales du G20 maintiendront leurs politiques expansionnistes tant qu'il le faudra, en recourant à toute la gamme d'instruments de politique monétaire, notamment les mécanismes non conventionnels, sans compromettre la stabilité des prix.

5.  Nous nous engageons à aider les économies émergentes et en développement à composer avec le renversement des mouvements de capitaux à l'échelle internationale. Nous reconnaissons qu'il est urgent de tenir compte de toutes les options pour réunir les ressources et les liquidités des institutions financières internationales (IFI) afin de financer des dépenses anticycliques, la recapitalisation des banques, l'infrastructure, le financement des opérations commerciales, le risque de report et l'aide sociale. Nous nous sommes entendus sur le besoin urgent de majorer très nettement les ressources du FMI, ce qui pourrait comprendre un soutien bilatéral supplémentaire, de Nouveaux accords d'emprunt sensiblement accrus et élargis, et l'examen accéléré des quotes-parts. Nous devons également faire en sorte que toutes les banques multilatérales de développement disposent des capitaux dont elles ont besoin, à commencer par une majoration sensible des capitaux pour la Banque asiatique de développement, et les utiliser de la meilleure façon possible pour venir en aide aux plus pauvres de la planète. Nous nous réjouissons des progrès enregistrés par le FMI et la Banque mondiale pour instaurer des instruments nouveaux et améliorés, y compris la mise sur pied d'une nouvelle facilité de prêt préventif qui procure un accès rapide aux ressources nécessaires.

Renforcer le système financier

6.  Pour renforcer davantage le système financier mondial, nous avons appliqué les mesures immédiates prévues dans le Plan d'action de Washington et nous accueillons favorablement l'élargissement de la participation au Forum sur la stabilité financière (FSF) à tous les membres du G20. Nous demeurerons concentrés sur les mesures à moyen terme et nous formulerons des recommandations au Sommet de Londres pour que :

  • tous les marchés, institutions et instruments financiers qui sont importants au plan systémique soient assujettis à une réglementation et à une supervision de niveau adéquat, et que les fonds de couverture ou leurs gestionnaires soient agréés et divulguent l'information pertinente pour évaluer les risques qui découlent de leurs activités;
  • une réglementation plus rigoureuse soit renforcée par une supervision macroprudentielle raffermie afin d'empêcher l'accumulation de risques systémiques;
  • la réglementation financière atténue au lieu d'amplifier les cycles économiques, notamment par la constitution de réserves de ressources en période de prospérité et l'application de mesures pour limiter l'effet de levier; il est toutefois essentiel de maintenir les exigences de capital au même niveau jusqu'à ce que la reprise soit confirmée;
  • le raffermissement de la coopération internationale pour empêcher et régler des crises, notamment par le biais des collèges de supervision, du renforcement institutionnel du FSF et de l'instauration d'un exercice d'alerte rapide au FMI/FSF.

7.  Nous avons également convenu des mesures suivantes : la supervision de la réglementation, et notamment l'enregistrement, de toutes les agences de notation dont les cotes sont utilisées à des fins de réglementation, et la conformité au code de l'Organisation internationale des commissions de valeurs; la transparence totale de l'exposition aux mécanismes hors bilan; la nécessité d'améliorer les normes comptables, notamment en ce qui concerne l'établissement de réserves et de l'incertitude entourant les évaluations; une plus grande uniformisation et une meilleure stabilité des marchés des dérivés du crédit; les principes de saines pratiques du FSF en matière de rémunération; et l'identification par les organismes internationaux pertinents des administrations qui ne coopèrent pas et la mise au point d'une trousse de contremesures efficaces en la matière.

8.  Pour accroître l'efficacité et la légitimité des IFI, nous devons améliorer leur gouvernance et veiller à ce qu'elles soient pleinement représentatives de l'évolution de l'économie mondiale. Les économies émergentes et en développement, y compris les plus pauvres, doivent être mieux représentées, et le prochain examen des quotes-parts du FMI devrait se conclure d'ici janvier 2011. Les modifications du système de quotes-parts et de représentation adoptées en avril 2008 doivent être appliquées dès que possible. Les réformes de la Banque mondiale devraient être achevées d'ici les assemblées du printemps de 2010. Les chefs des IFI devraient être nommés dans le cadre d'un processus de sélection ouvert fondé sur le mérite.

________________________________________________________
Pour plus de renseignements, les médias peuvent communiquer avec :

Chisholm Pothier
Attaché de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-996-8080

Pour recevoir un courriel chaque fois qu'un communiqué est publié, inscrivez-vous à www.fin.gc.ca/scripts/register-fra.asp.

 

 


Annexe du communiqué – Ministres des Finances et gouverneurs des banques centrales du G20 – 14 mars

Rétablir les activités de prêt : cadre de reprise et de rétablissement financiers

Nous, ministres des Finances et gouverneurs des banques centrales du Groupe des Vingt (G20), avons convenu de la nécessité de continuer à collaborer pour maintenir et appuyer les activités de prêt dans nos systèmes financiers. Nous nous engageons à prendre des mesures énergiques lorsque nécessaire et à utiliser tous les outils à notre disposition pour rétablir le plein fonctionnement des marchés financiers et particulièrement pour appuyer le flux du crédit, à l'échelle nationale et mondiale.

Parmi les mesures qui pourraient être prises afin d'atteindre ce but, mentionnons :

  • appuyer la liquidité, notamment au moyen de garanties d'État pour soutenir les passifs d'institutions financières;
  • injecter des capitaux dans des institutions financières;
  • protéger l'épargne et les dépôts;
  • renforcer le bilan des banques, notamment en effectuant des opérations sur des actifs dépréciés.

Notre grande priorité actuelle consiste à atténuer l'incertitude entourant la valeur des actifs au bilan des banques, qui limite sensiblement l'activité de prêt des banques. Cette incertitude et la mesure dans laquelle les banques conservent des capitaux pour se protéger contre des pertes éventuelles excessives empêchent les banques de rétablir leur activité de prêt aux entreprises et aux ménages, ce qui entraîne des conséquences néfastes pour nos économies.

Une approche d'action coopérative et cohérente appliquée par les autorités nationales aux programmes relatifs aux actifs dépréciés devrait reposer sur les principes suivants :

Coopération internationale

1. Compte tenu de l'interconnectivité du système financier mondial, la coopération internationale est importante pour maximiser l'efficacité des mesures prises et rejeter le protectionnisme financier. La coopération offre la possibilité de maximiser les retombées positives de ces mesures et de veiller aux effets de débordement, notamment en raffermissant la confiance dans la stabilité financière, en minimisant les distorsions sur le marché et en conservant des règles du jeu équitables et en appuyant les pays en développement et les économies de marché émergentes, tout en défendant les intérêts des contribuables.

Conception des programmes

2. Les programmes doivent être pertinents d'après les caractéristiques des cadres bancaires, législatifs et financiers où ils s'appliqueront. La coopération internationale est essentielle pour atténuer les effets de débordement négatifs. Les programmes doivent être mis en œuvre rapidement et en profondeur, et comporter une période d'adoption limitée.

Admissibilité des actifs et des institutions

3. Les critères d'admissibilité des actifs aux mesures d'aide doivent être souples en raison des différences au chapitre de la composition du bilan, des conditions imposées par les pays et du fait que le montant et le type d'actifs dépréciés sont susceptibles de varier d'un secteur financier à l'autre. Une date butoir doit être fixée avant l'annonce du programme. La priorité doit être accordée aux institutions qui représentent un risque important pour la stabilité financière.

Transfert des risques et partage du fardeau

4. Si les risques doivent être transférés du secteur bancaire à l'État, l'opération doit s'effectuer à un juste prix, par exemple au moyen de frais assortis d'un juste partage des risques pour limiter le coût pour l'État et empêcher le risque moral, accorder aux institutions financières participantes des stimulants pertinents et maintenir des règles du jeu équitables pour l'ensemble des institutions financières, à l'échelle tant nationale qu'internationale. Les actionnaires des banques doivent être tenus de contribuer dans toute la mesure du possible à la protection contre les pertes ou les risques avant l'intervention de l'État.

Transparence et divulgation

5. Conformément aux besoins de prudence, les dépréciations aux bilans des banques doivent être divulguées intégralement et de façon transparente. Les tests de tension des banques doivent comprendre une évaluation rigoureuse et actuelle des risques de pertes et de leur viabilité future, y compris leur capacité de continuer à consentir des prêts et à absorber des pertes éventuelles pour éviter des distorsions internationales.

L'État doit gérer les programmes de règlement des actifs dépréciés d'une manière transparente. Pour établir la confiance dans le marché, l'État doit divulguer les processus, les normes et les résultats de ces programmes.

Évaluation

6. Même si les méthodes d'évaluation peuvent varier selon les programmes proposés de règlement des actifs, il est essentiel d'appliquer ces méthodes de façon transparente, objective, cohérente et coopérative, afin de promouvoir l'application de règles du jeu équitables dans l'ensemble des pays et des institutions financières, et de faire progresser les objectifs de prudence tout en limitant l'exposition de l'État aux pertes éventuelles. Les autorités de contrôle doivent jouer un rôle important au chapitre de la validation des processus d'évaluation, ce qui permettrait d'assurer que les risques seront transférés du secteur bancaire à l'État à un juste prix, notamment au moyen de frais, en vertu d'un juste partage des risques afin de limiter les coûts pour l'État, d'accorder aux institutions financières participantes des stimulants pertinents et de minimiser les distorsions.

Gestion

7. Les entreprises qui reçoivent de l'aide doivent poursuivre leurs activités selon les principes commerciaux afin d'éviter la distorsion de l'attribution efficace du crédit au secteur privé ou aux institutions qui ne participent pas au programme en question. Des conditions doivent être prévues, notamment pour la tarification, la rémunération et la restructuration, afin de limiter les conflits d'intérêts et le risque moral, l'aide étant conçue pour faire correspondre les stimulants accordés aux banques pour leur participation et les conditions imposées aux banques bénéficiaires avec les objectifs de politique publique.

Restructuration

8. La restructuration doit viser à maximiser l'efficacité de l'aide de l'État et la viabilité à long terme de l'institution concernée, et elle doit être fonction de la tarification des pertes prévues, de la capacité de la banque à résister aux risques résiduels, et de l'accès de la banque à d'autres mesures d'aide. Lorsqu'une restructuration efficace est appuyée par des fusions ou des acquisitions transfrontalières, il est essentiel de maintenir une étroite collaboration avec les autorités étrangères compétentes.

Conditions

9. L'aide de l'État constitue un privilège; elle doit être assortie de conditions rigoureuses, notamment l'engagement à continuer de consentir du crédit pour répondre correctement aux demandes conformément à des critères commerciaux, l'amélioration de la gouvernance, des restrictions à la politique de dividendes et le plafonnement de la rémunération des cadres de direction. Elle peut prévoir une restructuration pertinente, y compris des mesures nécessaires pour limiter les distorsions au plan de la concurrence.

Suivi

10. Les intérêts des contribuables doivent être protégés et les banques qui prennent part aux programmes de soutien des actifs doivent être surveillées de près.

Échéancier

11. L'aide de l'État doit être temporaire et comprendre des stratégies de retrait et des stimulants bien définis.

Finances publiques

12. Les mesures d'aide de l'État doivent s'inscrire dans le cadre d'une stratégie financière stable à moyen terme.