Ottawa, December 18, 2008
2008-107

Archived - Minister of Finance Announces Formation of Economic Advisory Council

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Biographical notes are attached.

The Honourable Jim Flaherty, Minister of Finance, announced today the establishment of an Economic Advisory Council. The Council will include Canadian business and academic leaders who will provide advice to the Government as part of the Minister's national consultation on the 2009 budget, and on an ongoing basis afterward.

"In this time of unprecedented economic turmoil, I am bringing some of Canada's best minds together to find solutions and help launch a timely recovery," said Minister Flaherty. "I will look to this group for advice on Budget 2009, and will continue to consult them in the months ahead."

The group of 11 members from across Canada will meet with the Minister in advance of the January 27 budget, with an expected first meeting prior to Christmas. The group will also continue to provide advice periodically on economic matters after the budget.

The Council members are:

  • Carole Taylor (chair)
  • Geoff Beattie
  • Paul Desmarais, Jr.
  • George Gosbee
  • Isabelle Hudon
  • James D. Irving
  • Mike Lazaridis
  • Jack Mintz
  • James A. Pattison
  • Ajit Someshwar
  • Annette Verschuren

"I thank these outstanding Canadians for agreeing to serve in this capacity," said Minister Flaherty.

Minister Flaherty said the Council members have agreed to a salary of $1, with their expenses being reimbursed by the Government. Biographical notes are attached.

___________________________________
For further information, media may contact:

Chisholm Pothier
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-996-8080

To receive e-mail notification of all news releases, please register at http://www.fin.gc.ca/scripts/register-eng.asp.

Ottawa, le 18 décembre 2008
2008-107

Archivé - Le ministre des Finances annonce la formation d'un conseil consultatif sur l'économie

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Les notices biographiques des membres sont jointes au présent communiqué.

L'honorable Jim Flaherty, ministre des Finances, a annoncé aujourd'hui la mise sur pied d'un conseil consultatif sur l'économie. Ce conseil est composé de chefs de file des milieux universitaires et d'affaires du Canada; ils prodigueront des conseils au gouvernement dans le cadre des consultations nationales que le ministre tient en prévision du budget fédéral de 2009, et de façon régulière par la suite.

« En cette période de bouleversements économiques sans précédent, j'ai choisi de rassembler certains des esprits les plus éminents du Canada afin de trouver des solutions et d'amorcer une reprise rapide de l'économie, a affirmé le ministre Flaherty. Je chercherai conseil auprès de ce groupe quant au contenu du budget de 2009, puis au cours des mois qui suivront. »

Les 11 membres du Conseil consultatif sur l'économie proviennent de toutes les régions du pays. Ils rencontreront le ministre avant le dépôt du budget du 27 janvier 2009, et une première réunion est prévue avant Noël. Après la présentation du budget, ils continueront de conseiller le ministre périodiquement sur des questions économiques.

Le Conseil est composé des membres suivants :

  • Carole Taylor (présidente)
  • Geoff Beattie
  • Paul Desmarais, Jr.
  • George Gosbee
  • Isabelle Hudon
  • James D. Irving
  • Mike Lazaridis
  • Jack Mintz
  • James A. Pattison
  • Ajit Someshwar
  • Annette Verschuren

« J'aimerais remercier ces Canadiens distingués d'avoir accepté de servir leur pays de cette façon », a commenté le ministre Flaherty.

Le ministre Flaherty a précisé que les membres du Conseil ont accepté un salaire de 1 $, plus remboursement de leurs dépenses par le gouvernement. Les notices biographiques des membres sont jointes au présent communiqué.

________________________________________________________
Pour plus de renseignements, les médias peuvent communiquer avec :

Chisholm Pothier
Attaché de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-996-8080

Pour recevoir un courriel chaque fois qu'un communiqué est publié, inscrivez-vous à http://www.fin.gc.ca/scripts/register-fra.asp.