Ottawa, November 23, 2006

Archived - Canada's New Government Releases Advantage Canada: An Economic Plan to Eliminate Canada's Net Debt and Further Reduce Taxes

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Related documents:

The Honourable Jim Flaherty, Minister of Finance, today released Advantage Canada: Building a Strong Economy for Canadians, a long-term, national economic plan designed to make Canada a true world economic leader. The plan, unveiled along with Minister Flaherty's Economic and Fiscal Update, features a new national objective to eliminate Canada's total government net debt in less than a generation and further reduce taxes for all Canadians.

"The Canadian economy as a whole is performing extremely well and is among the fastest growing in the G7" said Minister Flaherty. "If we are to remain at the economic forefront, we need a long-term plan that will shape Canada's future, and improve the quality of life for families, students, workers and seniors."

Advantage Canada builds on Canada's strengths and seeks to gain a global competitive advantage in five key areas:

  • Tax Advantage-Reducing taxes for all Canadians and establishing the lowest tax rate on new business investment in the G7.
  • Fiscal Advantage-Eliminating Canada's total government net debt in less than a generation.
  • Entrepreneurial Advantage-Reducing unnecessary regulation and red tape and increasing competition in the Canadian marketplace.
  • Knowledge Advantage-Creating the best-educated, most-skilled and most flexible workforce in the world.
  • Infrastructure Advantage-Building the modern infrastructure we need.

"Advantage Canada is a long-term plan that will create the right conditions and opportunities for families and businesses to succeed" said Minister Flaherty. "And our tax back guarantee will give Canadian taxpayers a real stake in reducing debt by dedicating the interest savings each year to reducing personal income taxes even further."

Advantage Canada is based on core principles that will guide the Government's future policy decisions. The principles are:

Focusing government. Government will be focused on what it does best. It will be responsible in its spending, efficient in its operations, effective in its results and accountable to taxpayers.

Creating new opportunities and choices for people. Government will create incentives for people to excel-right here at home. We will reduce taxes and invest in education, training and transition to work opportunities so Canadians can achieve their potential and have the choices they want.

Investing for sustainable growth. Government will invest and seek partnerships with the provinces and the private sector in strategic areas that contribute to strong economies, including primary scientific research, a clean environment and modern infrastructure.

Freeing businesses to grow and succeed. Government will create the right economic conditions to encourage firms to invest and flourish.

Minister Flaherty presented his Economic and Fiscal Update before the Standing Committee on Finance. He highlighted Canada's strong economic fundamentals, including:

  • An unemployment rate that is near its lowest level in over 30 years, with more than 260,000 new jobs created so far this year.
  • Low, stable and predictable inflation with the renewal of Canada's inflation-control target to 2011.

The economic outlook is encouraging, said Minister Flaherty, with private sector economists forecasting a growth rate of about 2.75 per cent for 2006 and 2007.

The Minister also presented the Government's fiscal forecast for the current year and the following five years. After accounting for the cost of measures announced in the May 2006 budget and the minimum debt and tax reduction commitments, the Government's fiscal forecasts are as follows:

    In 2006-07: $4.2 billion
    In 2007-08: $3.5 billion
    In 2008-09: $2.4 billion
    In 2009-10: $2.0 billion
    In 2010-11: $3.6 billion
    In 2011-12: $2.9 billion

Overall, the Government's forecast is within the range of four private sector projections.

"Unlike previous governments, we don't see growth and surpluses as a licence to spend" said Minister Flaherty. "We are determined to grow our economy, control our spending and give the benefits of debt and tax reductions directly back to Canadian families and taxpayers."

Advantage Canada: Building a Strong Economy for Canadians and The Economic and Fiscal Update are available on the Department of Finance website.

For further information, media may contact:

Eric Richer
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
David Gamble
Media Relations
Department of Finance

Ottawa, le 23 novembre 2006
2006-069

Archivé - Le nouveau gouvernement du Canada publie Avantage Canada, un plan économique pour éliminer la dette nette du Canada et réduire encore plus les taxes et les impôts

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Documents connexes :


L'honorable Jim Flaherty, ministre des Finances, a rendu public aujourd'hui Avantage Canada - Bâtir une économie forte pour les Canadiens, un plan économique national à long terme visant à faire du Canada un véritable chef de file de l'économie mondiale. Le plan, rendu public en même temps que La Mise à jour économique et financière du ministre Flaherty, comporte un nouvel objectif national consistant à éliminer la dette nette de l'ensemble des administrations publiques du Canada en moins d'une génération et à réduire encore plus les impôts et les taxes pour toutes les Canadiennes et tous les Canadiens.

« Dans son ensemble, l'économie canadienne connaît d'excellents résultats et a l'une des croissances les plus rapides parmi les pays du G7 », a déclaré le ministre Flaherty. « Afin de demeurer au premier rang en matière d'économie, il nous faut un plan à long terme pour façonner l'avenir du Canada et améliorer la qualité de vie des familles, des étudiants, des travailleurs et des aînés. »

Avantage Canada

table sur les points forts du Canada et vise à lui conférer un avantage concurrentiel mondial dans cinq domaines clés :

  • Avantage fiscal - Réduire les taxes et les impôts de tous les Canadiens et établir le taux d'imposition le plus bas sur les nouveaux investissements des entreprises au sein des pays du G7.
  • Avantage financier - Éliminer la dette nette de l'ensemble des administrations publiques en moins d'une génération.
  • Avantage entrepreneurial - Réduire la réglementation inutile et les tracasseries administratives et accroître la concurrence sur le marché canadien.
  • Avantage du savoir - Doter le Canada de la main-d'ouvre la plus scolarisée, la plus qualifiée et la plus souple au monde.
  • Avantage infrastructurel - Bâtir l'infrastructure moderne dont nous avons besoin.

« Avantage Canada est un plan à long terme qui créera les conditions et les possibilités nécessaires à la réussite des familles et des entreprises », a jouté le ministre Flaherty. « Et notre remboursement d'impôt garanti fera profiter directement les contribuables canadiens de la réduction de la dette en utilisant les économies réalisées chaque année en frais d'intérêt pour réduire encore plus l'impôt sur le revenu des particuliers. »

Avantage Canada

s'appuie sur des principes fondamentaux qui guideront les décisions du gouvernement en matière de politique publique :

Cibler l'action du gouvernement.

Le gouvernement se concentrera sur ce qu'il fait le mieux. Il dépensera de façon responsable, mènera des activités efficientes, produira des résultats efficaces et rendra des comptes aux contribuables.

Créer de nouvelles possibilités et des choix pour les Canadiens.

Le gouvernement incitera les Canadiens à exceller, ici même au pays. Nous diminuerons les taxes et les impôts et investirons dans l'éducation, la formation et l'accès au marché du travail, afin que les Canadiens puissent se réaliser et faire les choix qui leur plaisent.

Investir en vue d'une croissance durable.

Le gouvernement fera des investissements et conclura des partenariats avec les provinces et le secteur privé dans des domaines stratégiques qui contribuent à une économie forte, dont la recherche fondamentale, un environnement sain et une infrastructure moderne.

Créer un climat propice à la croissance et à la réussite des entreprises.

Le gouvernement établira les conditions économiques qui encourageront les entreprises à investir et à prospérer.

Le ministre Flaherty a présenté La Mise à jour économique et financière au Comité permanent des finances en soulignant les solides facteurs économiques fondamentaux du Canada, notamment :

  • un taux de chômage proche de son niveau le plus bas en 30 ans, et plus de 260 000 nouveaux emplois créés jusqu'ici cette année;
  • une inflation faible, stable et prévisible grâce au renouvellement, jusqu'en 2011, de la cible de maîtrise de l'inflation du Canada.

« Les perspectives économiques sont encourageantes », a indiqué le ministre Flaherty. En effet, les économistes du secteur privé prévoient un taux de croissance d'environ 2,75 % en 2006 et en 2007.

Le ministre a également présenté les prévisions financières du gouvernement pour l'exercice en cours et les cinq suivants. Une fois comptabilisés les coûts des mesures annoncées dans le budget de mai 2006 et ceux des engagements minimaux en matière de diminution de la dette et de réduction des impôts et des taxes, les prévisions financières s'établissent comme suit :

2006-2007 : 4,2 milliards de dollars
2007-2008 : 3,5 milliards de dollars
2008-2009 : 2,4 milliards de dollars
2009-2010 : 2,0 milliards de dollars
2010-2011 : 3,6 milliards de dollars
2011-2012 : 2,9 milliards de dollars.

Globalement, les prévisions du gouvernement se situent dans la fourchette de quatre projections émanant du secteur privé.

« Contrairement aux gouvernements qui nous ont précédés, nous ne croyons pas que la croissance et les excédents nous donnent carte blanche pour dépenser », a conclu le ministre. « Nous sommes déterminés à faire croître notre économie, à contrôler nos dépenses et à faire profiter directement les familles et les contribuables canadiens des avantages découlant de nos efforts de réduction de la dette, des impôts et des taxes. »

On peut consulter le document Avantage Canada - Bâtir une économie forte pour les Canadiens et La Mise à jour économique et financière sur le site Web du ministère des Finances.

________________________________________________________
Pour plus de renseignements, les médias peuvent communiquer avec :

Eric Richer
Attaché de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-996-7861
David Gamble
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-996-8080