- News Release 2005-062 -

Departmental Response

Archived - Backgrounder

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Context

KPMG was engaged in the fall of 2004 through the Department of Finance's Treasury Evaluation Program to conduct a review of the borrowing framework governing major federal government-backed entities, including Business Development Bank of Canada, Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation, Export Development Canada, Farm Credit Canada, the Canadian Wheat Board and the CMHC- guaranteed borrowings by Canada Housing Trust.

These entities all borrow significant amounts in global money and capital markets on an ongoing basis, backed by the credit of the Government of Canada. Under the Financial Administration Act (FAA), the Minister of Finance is responsible for the supervision, control and direction of matters relating to the financial affairs of Canada. This responsibility entails approving the borrowing plans of Crown corporations, which is a prerequisite in the Treasury Board process for approving their corporate plans, as well as borrowing by other organizations who have guarantees from the government. In this regard, the Minister must ensure that borrowing costs are kept low, financial risks are controlled and the use of Canada's credit is prudently managed.

The KPMG review was undertaken to determine whether the current regime governing capital market borrowings by major federal government-backed entities is functioning effectively. KPMG was also asked to review alternative borrowing frameworks to assess if they could reduce cost and risk and enhance the liquidity of Canadian capital markets, taking into account the varying needs of the borrowers.

Under the Treasury Evaluation Program, the Department commissions evaluations by independent third parties to ensure that policies and practices in the domain of federal government treasury operations are appropriate and achieving their objectives. The program reflects the Department's commitment to transparency and accountability in carrying out the Minister's responsibilities.

Observations of KPMG Report

KPMG has observed that the current governance system is functioning well between the Government of Canada and all of the organizations. KPMG did, however, identify some improvements that can be made to the terms of borrowing authorities provided by the Minister, the reporting of performance, as well as the sharing of information on activity.

With respect to alternative borrowing frameworks, KPMG observed that an approach worth considering is the consolidation of Crown borrowing activity with the government's own borrowing program. This consolidation could result in a reduction in aggregated borrowing costs. They also noted that a change of this magnitude and complexity would require additional assessments in a number of areas.

Next Steps

The Department, in consultation with the government-backed entities, will be making enhancements to the current regime and conducting follow-up analysis of an alternative framework taking into account the interest of the entities and their stakeholders, market participants and the Government as shareholder.

- News Release 2005-062 -

- Communiqué 2005-062 -

Réponse du Ministère

Archivé - Document d'information

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Contexte

À l'automne 2004, le Programme d'évaluation de la trésorerie du ministère des Finances a confié à KPMG un examen du cadre d'emprunt applicable aux principaux organismes fédéraux bénéficiant de la garantie du gouvernement fédéral, ce qui comprend la Banque de développement du Canada, la Société canadienne d'hypothèques et de logement, Exportation et développement Canada, Financement agricole Canada, la Commission canadienne du blé et les emprunts de la Fiducie du Canada pour l'habitation qui sont garantis par l'entremise de la SCHL.

Ces entités empruntent en permanence des sommes appréciables sur les marchés monétaires et de capitaux mondiaux, et sont appuyées par le crédit du gouvernement du Canada. Aux termes de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques (LGFP), il incombe au ministre des Finances de surveiller, de contrôler et de diriger les dossiers ayant trait aux affaires financières du Canada. Cette responsabilité suppose l'approbation des plans d'emprunt des sociétés d'État, ce qui est une condition préalable du processus du Conseil du Trésor pour l'approbation de leurs plans d'entreprise, ainsi que des emprunts contractés par d'autres organisations qui ont obtenu des garanties du gouvernement. À cet égard, le ministre doit s'assurer que les coûts d'emprunt demeurent peu élevés, que les risques financiers sont contrôlés et que l'utilisation de la cote de crédit du Canada est gérée avec prudence.

L'examen de KPMG a été mené pour savoir comment fonctionne le régime actuel qui régit les emprunts contractés sur les marchés de capitaux par les principaux organismes appuyés par le gouvernement fédéral. KPMG a également été invité à examiner d'autres cadres d'emprunt pour déterminer s'ils pouvaient réduire les coûts et le risque et accroître la liquidité des marchés de capitaux canadiens, en tenant compte des besoins différents des emprunteurs.

Dans le cadre du Programme d'évaluation de la trésorerie, le ministère commande des évaluations par des tiers indépendants pour s'assurer que les politiques et les pratiques du domaine des opérations de la trésorerie du gouvernement fédéral sont appropriées et qu'elles atteignent les objectifs visés. Le programme traduit l'engagement du ministère envers la transparence et la reddition de comptes dans l'exécution des attributions du ministre.

Observations contenues dans le rapport de KPMG

KPMG a remarqué que le système courant de gouvernance fonctionne bien entre le gouvernement du Canada et toutes les organisations, mais a fait ressortir quelques améliorations qui pourraient être apportées aux modalités des pouvoirs d'emprunt fournis par le ministre, aux rapports sur le rendement et au partage des renseignements sur les activités.

En ce qui concerne d'autres cadres d'emprunt, KPMG a observé une approche qui mériterait qu'on s'y attarde. Il s'agit de la consolidation de l'activité d'emprunt des sociétés d'État avec le programme d'emprunt du gouvernement. Cette consolidation pourrait réduire les coûts d'emprunt agrégés. KPMG a également signalé qu'un changement de cette ampleur exige d'autres évaluations d'un certain nombre de domaines.

Prochaines étapes

Le ministère, en collaboration avec les entités appuyées par le gouvernement fédéral, améliorera le régime courant et mènera une analyse de suivi de l'incidence éventuelle d'un autre cadre, en tenant compte de l'intérêt des entités et de leurs intervenants, des intervenants sur les marchés et du gouvernement à titre d'actionnaire.

- Communiqué 2005-062 -