Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Archived

This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Table of Contents  Previous  Next

Annex 1
Canada's Total Government
Fiscal Performance

Summary

This annex takes a broad look at Canada's fiscal performance, presenting an analysis for both the federal and provincial-territorial orders of government as well as international comparisons.

Fiscal Performance of Canada's Federal and Provincial-Territorial Governments

The fiscal situation of the federal and provincial-territorial governments has improved markedly over the past decade.

  • The federal government posted a surplus of $9.6 billion in 2007–08, its 11th consecutive surplus, and is projecting a surplus of $0.8 billion in 2008–09.
  • Provincial-territorial governments posted an aggregate surplus of $11.2 billion in 2007–08, their seventh surplus in the past nine years. For 2008–09, the provincial-territorial sector is forecasting a surplus of $5.8 billion, with 10 of the 13 provinces and territories projecting balanced budgets or better.
  • Ongoing surpluses have enabled a significant reduction in the debt burdens of the federal and provincial-territorial governments, and along with it, a sharp decline in the fiscal resources needed to service public debt.
    • The federal debt-to-GDP (gross domestic product) ratio is expected to fall to 28.5 per cent in 2008–09, a decline of 40 percentage points from its peak in 1995–96. Meanwhile, the provincial-territorial debt-to-GDP ratio is expected to fall to 17.4 per cent in 2008–09, a decline of 11.8 percentage points from its peak in 1999–2000.
    • For 2008–09, it is projected that just 13.2 cents of each federal revenue dollar will be required to service the debt, a decline of more than 24 cents from the peak in 1990–91. For provincial-territorial governments, the ratio has declined to just 7.5 cents per revenue dollar, down almost 7 cents from the most recent peak in 1998–99.
  • The improved fiscal position of the federal government has allowed it to significantly increase cash transfers to the provinces and territories.
    • Federal cash transfers to the provinces and territories have been the fastest-growing component of federal spending over the past nine years, increasing at an average annual rate of 8 per cent. As a result, these transfers have risen to more than 19 per cent of federal spending in 2008–09, their highest level in more than 30 years.

Canada's Fiscal Performance in an International Context

To enable international comparisons, the Organisation for Economic
Co-operation and Development (OECD) publishes National Accounts data for the total government sector. For Canada, the figures include the federal, provincial-territorial and local government sectors, as well as the Canada Pension Plan and the Québec Pension Plan. Based on OECD data, Canada's fiscal position remains strong relative to the other Group of Seven (G7) countries (United States, United Kingdom, France, Germany, Japan and Italy).

  • In 2007 Canada recorded a total government surplus of 1.4 per cent of GDP, and the OECD estimates that Canada will be the only G7 country in surplus in 2008.
  • A small budgetary deficit is forecast for 2009 on a total government basis due to the impact of slower economic growth on government revenues and expenditures.
  • Canada has posted the strongest record on debt reduction in the G7, with the total government net debt-to-GDP ratio falling almost 50 percentage points since 1995.

The federal and provincial-territorial governments have posted a strong fiscal performance over the past decade

Chart A1.1 - Federal and Provincial-Territorial Budgetary Balances

  • Both the federal and provincial-territorial governments have posted a strong fiscal track record over the past decade. In 2007–08, the federal government posted a $9.6-billion surplus, its 11th consecutive surplus, while provincial-territorial governments posted an $11.2-billion surplus, their seventh aggregate surplus in the past nine years.
  • For 2008–09, despite the emerging economic weakness, the federal government is projecting a surplus of $0.8 billion, while the provincial-territorial sector is forecasting an aggregate surplus of $5.8 billion, or 0.4 per cent of GDP. This would mark the fifth consecutive year that the aggregate provincial-territorial surplus exceeds the federal surplus.

The federal government and almost all provincial-territorial governments recorded surpluses in 2007–08

Chart A1.2 - Federal and Provincial-Territorial Budgetary Balances in 2007-08

  • All but one jurisdiction recorded better-than-expected fiscal results in 2007–08 relative to the forecasts contained in their 2007 budgets, due in large part to higher-than-forecast revenues. The improvements are not limited to resource-rich provinces, as provinces with a large manufacturing base also posted better-than-expected results.
  • When the budgetary surpluses are expressed as a share of GDP, which enables country-wide comparisons that take into account the varying sizes of jurisdictions, more than half of the provinces and territories recorded budgetary surpluses of 1.0 per cent of GDP or more in 2007–08.
  • Ten of the 13 provinces and territories expect at least balanced budgets in 2008–09.

Federal and provincial-territorial debt burdens have declined substantially…

Chart A1.3 - Federal and Provincial-Territorial Debt

  • The federal and provincial-territorial governments have made significant progress in reducing their debt burdens.
  • The provincial-territorial debt-to-GDP ratio is expected to fall to 17.4 per cent in 2008–09, down from its peak of 29.2 per cent in 1999–2000.
  • The federal debt-to-GDP ratio is expected to fall to 28.5 per cent in 2008–09. Although it is significantly lower than its peak of 68.4 per cent in 1995–96, it remains higher than the provincial-territorial debt-to-GDP ratio.

…resulting in a continued decline in debt charges as a share of total revenues

Chart A1.4 - Federal and Provincial-Territorial Debt Charges

  • Sound fiscal and monetary policies have helped reduce and keep interest rates low in Canada.
  • Together with a significant reduction in public debt, this means that the federal and provincial-territorial governments are spending less of their revenues on debt-servicing costs.
  • At the peak in 1990–91, 37.6 cents of each federal revenue dollar went to service the federal debt. This ratio is expected to fall to 13.2 cents in 2008–09, the lowest level since the late 1970s.
  • Provincial-territorial governments continue to face much lower debt charges than the federal government. In 2008–09 they are expected to spend 7.5 cents of each revenue dollar on debt-servicing costs, down almost 7 cents from the most recent peak in 1998–99.

Improved federal finances have enabled major investments in cash transfers to the provinces and territories

Chart A1.5 - Federal Cash Transfers to Provincial-Territorial Governments

  • The improvement in its finances has enabled the federal government to significantly increase cash transfers to the provinces and territories.
  • Since 1999–2000, federal cash transfers to provincial and territorial governments have been the fastest-growing component of federal spending, growing at an average annual rate of 8 per cent.
  • As a result, in 2008–09, cash transfers are at an all-time high and have risen to more than 19 per cent of federal spending, their highest level in more than 30 years.
  • These transfers are expected to continue to increase as a share of federal spending in the coming years, reflecting the Government's policies that restored fiscal balance.

Canada's fiscal position remains strong relative to other G7 countries

Chart A1.6 - Total Government Financial Balances

  • International comparisons rely on the standardized System of National Accounts estimates for the total government sector (i.e. the combined national and sub-national levels). The OECD produces a complete series of estimates based on this system. These figures facilitate international comparisons by taking into account two important factors: differences in accounting methods among countries, which affect the comparability of data, and differences in financial responsibilities among orders of government within countries.
  • In 2007, Canada recorded a total government surplus of 1.4 per cent of GDP, which reflects surpluses at the federal and provincial-territorial-local levels, as well as in the Canada Pension Plan (CPP) and Québec Pension Plan (QPP).
  • For 2008, the OECD estimates that Canada will be the only G7 country to record a total government surplus.
  • Reflecting the deteriorating global economic outlook, budgetary balances in all G7 nations are expected to worsen in 2009. Canada is no exception in this regard, and is projected by the OECD to record a small total government deficit of 1.3 per cent of GDP in 2009. However, Canada's fiscal position remains strong relative to other G7 countries.
  • The projected deficit for Canada in 2009 should not be confused with the surplus of $0.1 billion forecast for the federal government in 2009–10.
    • The OECD projections are presented on a National Accounts basis, which is different from the projections included in this Economic and Fiscal Statement, which are prepared on a Public Accounts basis.
    • The OECD projections are on a total government basis and therefore include the projected budgetary balances of provincial-territorial and local governments, as well as the CPP and QPP.

Canada's debt reduction has been remarkable by international standards

Chart A1.7 - Total Government Net Debt

  • In 1995, Canada's total government net debt stood at almost 71 per cent of GDP, the second highest in the G7. Since 2004, Canada has had the lowest ratio of total government net debt to GDP in the G7.
  • The OECD estimates that Canada's ratio will decrease further to 22.3 per cent in 2008, a decline of almost 50 percentage points from its peak in 1995 and less than half of the average for all G7 countries.

Table of Contents  Previous  Next

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

 

 

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Archivé

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Table des matières  Précédent  Suivant

Annexe 1
Résultats financiers de l'ensemble des administrations publiques du Canada

Résumé

La présente annexe renferme un aperçu général des résultats financiers du Canada, soit une analyse relative aux niveaux fédéral et provincial-territorial ainsi que des comparaisons internationales.

Résultats financiers des administrations fédérale et provinciales-territoriales du Canada

La situation financière des administrations fédérale et provinciales-territoriales s'est nettement améliorée au cours de la dernière décennie.

  • Le gouvernement fédéral a enregistré un excédent de 9,6 milliards de dollars en 2007-2008 – son 11e excédent consécutif – et il prévoit un excédent de 0,8 milliard de dollars pour 2008-2009.
  • Les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux ont dégagé un excédent global de 11,2 milliards de dollars en 2007-2008, le septième excédent au cours des neuf dernières années. Pour 2008-2009, le secteur provincial-territorial prévoit un excédent de 5,8 milliards, et 10 de ses 13 administrations prévoient un budget équilibré ou excédentaire.
  • Les excédents successifs ont permis une réduction substantielle de l'endettement des administrations fédérale et provinciales-territoriales, ce qui a entraîné une baisse marquée des ressources financières devant être consacrées au service de la dette publique.
    • Le ratio de la dette fédérale au produit intérieur brut (PIB) devrait être ramené à 28,5 % en 2008-2009, soit une diminution de 40 points de pourcentage par rapport à son sommet de 1995-1996. Le ratio de la dette provinciale-territoriale au PIB devrait quant à lui s'établir à 17,4 % en 2008-2009, en baisse de 11,8 points de pourcentage par rapport au sommet enregistré en 1999-2000.
    • En 2008-2009, on prévoit consacrer au service de la dette seulement 13,2 cents de chaque dollar de revenus fédéraux, soit au-delà de 24 cents de moins que le sommet enregistré en 1990-1991. Pour l'ensemble des provinces et des territoires, le ratio a chuté à 7,5 cents, soit une diminution de près de 7 cents par rapport au sommet le plus récent, atteint en 1998-1999.
  • L'assainissement de la situation financière du gouvernement fédéral a permis d'accroître de façon importante les transferts en espèces aux provinces et aux territoires.
    • Les transferts fédéraux en espèces aux provinces et aux territoires représentent la composante des dépenses fédérales ayant affiché la croissance la plus rapide au cours des neuf dernières années; ils ont augmenté de 8 % par année en moyenne. Ces transferts ont constitué plus de 19 % des dépenses fédérales en 2008-2009, le niveau le plus élevé en au-delà de 30 ans.

Résultats financiers du Canada dans le contexte international

Afin de permettre les comparaisons internationales, l'Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques (OCDE) publie des données des comptes nationaux pour l'ensemble des administrations publiques de ses pays membres. Dans le cas du Canada, ces données englobent les administrations fédérale, provinciales-territoriales et locales, de même que le Régime de pensions du Canada et le Régime de rentes du Québec. Selon les données de l'OCDE, la situation financière du Canada demeure solide par rapport à celle des autres pays du Groupe des Sept (G7), soit les États-Unis, le Royaume-Uni, la France, l'Allemagne, le Japon et l'Italie.

  • En 2007, l'excédent de l'ensemble des administrations publiques du Canada s'est établi à 1,4 % du PIB. L'OCDE prévoit que le Canada sera le seul pays du G7 à enregistrer un excédent en 2008.
  • On prévoit un faible déficit budgétaire en 2009 pour l'ensemble des administrations publiques canadiennes, en raison de l'incidence du ralentissement de la croissance économique sur les dépenses et les revenus publics.
  • Le Canada a affiché les meilleurs résultats des pays du G7 au chapitre de la réduction de la dette, le ratio de la dette nette au PIB de l'ensemble des administrations publiques ayant chuté de près de 50 points de pourcentage depuis 1995.

Les administrations fédérale et provinciales-territoriales ont affiché de solides résultats financiers durant la dernière décennie

Graphique A1.1 - Solde budgétaire fédérale et provincial-territorial

  • Tant le gouvernement fédéral que le secteur provincial-territorial ont enregistré des résultats financiers solides durant la dernière décennie. En 2007-2008, le gouvernement fédéral a affiché un excédent de 9,6 milliards de dollars (son onzième excédent consécutif), tandis que les provinces et les territoires ont enregistré un excédent global de 11,2 milliards, le septième excédent au cours des neuf dernières années.
  • En 2008-2009, malgré le ralentissement économique qui se manifeste, le gouvernement fédéral prévoit enregistrer un excédent de 0,8 milliard de dollars, tandis que le secteur provincial-territorial s'attend à afficher un excédent global de 5,8 milliards de dollars (0,4 % du PIB). L'excédent provincial-territorial global dépasserait ainsi l'excédent fédéral pour une cinquième année consécutive.

Le gouvernement fédéral et presque toutes les administrations provinciales et territoriales ont enregistré un excédent en 2007-2008

Graphique A1.2 - Soldes budgétaires fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux en 2007-2008

  • En 2007-2008, toutes les administrations sauf une ont enregistré des résultats financiers supérieurs aux prévisions contenues dans leur budget de 2007, principalement sous l'effet de revenus plus élevés que prévu. Cette améioration n'était pas limitée aux provinces riches en ressources, puisque celles s'appuyant davantage sur le secteur de la fabrication ont également obtenu des résultats financiers supérieurs aux prévisions.
  • En proportion du PIB (mesure qui permet des comparaisons tenant compte de la taille différente des administrations du pays), plus de la moitié des provinces et des territoires ont signalé un excédent budgétaire d'au moins 1,0 % du PIB en 2007-2008.
  • Dix des treize provinces ou territoires prévoient un budget équilibré ou excédentaire pour 2008-2009.

L'endettement fédéral et provincial-territorial a nettement diminué…

Graphique A1.3 - Dette fédérale et provinciale-territoriale

  • Les administrations fédérale et provinciales-territoriales ont sensiblement allégé le fardeau de leur dette.
  • Le ratio de la dette provinciale-territoriale au PIB devrait s'établir à 17,4 % en 2008-2009, en baisse par rapport au sommet de 29,2 % enregistré en 1999-2000.
  • Le ratio de la dette fédérale au PIB devrait reculer à 28,5 % en 2008-2009. Même si ce niveau est beaucoup plus bas que le sommet de 68,4 % atteint en 1995-1996, il reste plus élevé que le ratio de la dette provinciale-territoriale au PIB.

…d'où une baisse soutenue des frais de la dette en proportion du total des revenus

Graphique A1.4 - Frais de la dette fédérale et provinciale-territoriale

  • L'application de politiques budgétaires et monétaires saines a contribué à réduire les taux d'intérêt au Canada et à faire en sorte qu'ils restent bas.
  • Les taux d'intérêt faibles, conjugués à la réduction importante de la dette publique, ont pour conséquence que les administrations fédérale et provinciales-territoriales consacrent une plus faible part de leurs revenus au service de la dette.
  • La part de chaque dollar de revenus fédéraux consacrée au service de la dette fédérale atteignait un sommet de 37,6 cents en 1990-1991. Elle devrait s'établir à 13,2 cents en 2008-2009, son niveau le plus bas depuis la fin des années 1970.
  • Le secteur provincial-territorial continue d'assumer des frais de la dette beaucoup plus faibles que ceux du gouvernement fédéral. En 2008-2009, il devrait consacrer 7,5 cents de chaque dollar de revenus au service de sa dette, soit une diminution de près de 7 cents par rapport au sommet le plus récent, observé en 1998-1999.

L'assainissement des finances fédérales a permis de consacrer des montants importants aux transferts en espèces aux provinces et aux territoires

Graphique A1.5 - Transferts fédéraux en espèces aux provinces et aux territoires

  • Grâce à l'assainissement de ses finances, le gouvernement fédéral a pu accroître de façon importante les transferts en espèces aux provinces et aux territoires.
  • Depuis 1999-2000, les transferts fédéraux en espèces aux provinces et aux territoires constituent la composante des dépenses fédérales ayant affiché la croissance la plus rapide. Ils ont augmenté de 8 % par année en moyenne.
  • Ces transferts ont atteint un montant record en 2008-2009. Ils représentent plus de 19 % des dépenses fédérales, soit la proportion la plus élevée depuis au-delà de 30 ans.
  • La progression de ces transferts, en proportion des dépenses fédérales, devrait se poursuivre au cours des prochaines années, conformément aux politiques du gouvernement qui ont permis de rétablir l'équilibre fiscal.

Le Canada demeure dans une situation financière solide par rapport aux autres pays du G7

Graphique A1.6 - Solde financier de l'ensemble des administrations publiques

  • Les comparaisons internationales reposent sur les estimations normalisées du Système de comptabilité nationale pour l'ensemble des administrations publiques (c'est-à-dire les paliers national et infranational regroupés). L'OCDE produit une série complète d'estimations fondées sur ce système. Ces données facilitent les comparaisons entre pays, car elles tiennent compte de deux facteurs importants : les différences des méthodes comptables nationales, qui réduisent la comparabilité des données; et la répartition différente des responsabilités financières entre les niveaux de gouvernement d'un pays à l'autre.
  • En 2007, l'excédent de l'ensemble des administrations publiques du Canada a atteint 1,4 % du PIB, en raison d'excédents enregistrés par le gouvernement fédéral, les administrations provinciales, territoriales et locales, ainsi que le Régime de pensions du Canada (RPC) et le Régime de rentes du Québec (RRQ).
  • Selon les estimations de l'OCDE, le Canada sera le seul pays du G7 à dégager un excédent budgétaire pour l'ensemble des administrations publiques en 2008.
  • Les résultats budgétaires de tous les pays du G7 devraient se dégrader en 2009, sous l'effet de la détérioration des perspectives de l'économie mondiale. Le Canada n'y fait pas exception : l'OCDE projette qu'il affichera en 2009 un léger déficit équivalant à 1,3 % du PIB pour l'ensemble des administrations publiques. Cependant, la situation financière du Canada demeure solide par rapport à celle des autres pays du G7.
  • Le déficit projeté pour le Canada en 2009 ne doit pas être confondu avec la prévision d'excédent de 0,1 millard de dollars du gouvernement fédéral en 2009-2010 :
    • Les projections de l'OCDE sont présentées selon les comptes nationaux, un système différent des projections du présent énoncé qui sont exposées selon les comptes publics.
    • Les projections de l'OCDE portent sur l'ensemble des administrations publiques et englobent donc aussi les administrations provinciales, territoriales et locales, de même que le RPC et le RRQ.

La réduction de la dette du Canada est remarquable selon une perspective internationale

Graphique A1.7 - Dette nette de l'ensemble des administrations publiques

  • En 1995, la dette de l'ensemble des administrations publiques du Canada représentait presque 71 % du PIB, ce qui la situait au deuxième rang en importance parmi les pays du G7. Cependant, depuis 2004, le ratio de la dette nette au PIB de l'ensemble des administrations publiques du Canada est le plus faible du G7.
  • L'OCDE estime que le ratio de la dette canadienne diminuera pour s'établir à 22,3 % du PIB en 2008, en baisse de près de 50 points de pourcentage par rapport au sommet atteint en 1995. Il se situera alors à moins de la moitié du ratio moyen de l'ensemble des pays du G7.

Table des matières  Précédent  Suivant