Archived - Explanatory Notes – Labour-Sponsored Venture Capital Corporations

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Clause 1

Transitional rules

ITA
204.81(8.3)

Subsection 204.81(8.3) of the Income Tax Act (the Act) provides rules for provincially registered labour-sponsored venture capital corporations (LSVCCs) that are also federally registered LSVCCs to, under certain conditions, revoke their federal registration without penalty, where a province has decided to discontinue its venture capital tax credit program.

Subsection 204.81(8.3) provides that if a provincially registered LSVCC informs the Minister of National Revenue of its intention to revoke its registration and meets all the requirements under the particular province’s wind up rules, the following rules apply:

  • Paragraph (a) provides that the corporation may not issue shares that are eligible for tax credits on or after the day that it notifies the Minister that it intends to revoke its registration.
  • Paragraph (b) provides that the penalty under section 204.841, which applies to a corporation when it discontinues its venture capital business and approximates the penalty applicable for early redemption for shareholders under subsection 211.8(1), will not apply following the day the corporation provides notice to the Minister.
  • Paragraph (c) provides that the investment pacing rules in section 204.82, and the penalties applicable for failing to meet these pacing rules, will not apply to the corporation for taxation years that begin after it has provided its notice.
  • Paragraph (d) provides that, generally, the corporation will be denied the ability to obtain a refund of amounts that they may have paid pursuant to the investment pacing rules after it has provided notice.

Subsection 204.81(8.4) provides that the relieving rules available to an LSVCC under subsection 204.81(8.3) are only available if the LSVCC meets further conditions.

The first condition is that, of the corporation’s outstanding shares issued over the last eight years that were eligible for the labour-sponsored venture capital tax credit, less than 20% were issued in the last two years. The second condition is that the LSVCC revoke its registration within three years of providing notice of its intention to revoke its registration.

Subsection 204.81(8.3) is amended to extend its application to any federally registered LSVCC where the conditions set out in subsection 204.81(8.4) are met.

These amendments come into force on Announcement Date.

Clause 2

Amalgamations and mergers

ITA
204.85(3)

Subsection 204.85(3) of the Act applies, for the purposes of section 127.4 and Parts X.3 and XII.5 of the Act, where there is an amalgamation or merger of corporations at least one of which is a federally-registered labour-sponsored venture capital corporation (LSVCC) or a revoked corporation.

Under paragraph 204.85(3)(d), the Minister of National Revenue is deemed to have registered the new corporation for the purposes of Part X.3 unless:

  • the new corporation is not governed by the Canada Business Corporations Act;
  • one or more of the predecessor corporations was a federally registered LSVCC, the venture capital business of which was discontinued before the merger or amalgamation;
  • one or more of the predecessor corporations was, immediately before the amalgamation or a merger, a revoked corporation;
  • immediately after the amalgamation or merger, the articles of the new corporation do not comply with paragraph 204.81(1)(c); or
  • shares other than Class A shares of the capital stock of the new corporation were issued to any shareholder of the new corporation in satisfaction of any share (other than a share to which clause 204.81(1)(c)(ii)(B) or (C) applied) of a predecessor corporation.

Where paragraph 204.85(3)(d) does not apply, the new corporation

  • is deemed by paragraph 204.85(3)(e) to be a revoked corporation, and
  • is considered to have discontinued its venture capital business immediately before the time it amalgamated or merged, pursuant to paragraph 204.8(2)(c). As a result, the tax in section 204.841 of the Act would apply to the predecessor corporations.

Consequential on the introduction of transitional rules to allow any federally registered LSVCC to revoke its registration without penalty, paragraph 204.85(3)(d) is amended to introduce a new condition in order for a new corporation to be deemed under paragraph 204.85(3)(d) to have been registered.

New subparagraph 204.85(3)(d)(vi) provides that paragraph 204.85(3)(d) does not deem a new corporation to have been registered for the purposes of Part X.3 if, immediately before the amalgamation or merger, one or more of the predecessor corporations is a corporation that has given notification under subsection 204.81(8.3) and one or more of the predecessor corporations is a registered LSVCC that has not given notification under that subsection.

Therefore, if a corporation that has given notification under subsection 204.81(8.3) that it intends to revoke its registration amalgamates or merges with a registered LSVCC that has not provided such notification under subsection 204.81(8.3), both corporations will be considered to have discontinued their venture capital business immediately before the time the corporations amalgamate or merge. In such a case, any predecessor corporation that is a registered LSVCC that has not given notification under subsection 204.81(8.3) will be subject to the tax in section 204.841.

This amendment comes into force on Announcement Date.

Clause 3

Provincial wind-up rules for LSVCCs – Ontario

ITR
6708

Section 6708 of the Income Tax Regulations sets out provincial wind-up rules that are prescribed for the purposes of paragraph 204.8(2)(b) and subsection 204.81(8.3) of the Act. Section 6708 is amended to remove the reference to subsection 204.81(8.3), consequential on the extension of the transitional rules for labour-sponsored venture capital corporations (LSVCCs) in subsection 204.81(8.3) to any federally registered LSVCC. For further information, see the commentary on subsection 204.81(8.3).

This amendment comes into force on Announcement Date.

Archivé - Notes explicatives – Sociétés à capital de risque de travailleurs

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Article 1

Règles transitoires

LIR
204.81(8.3)

Le paragraphe 204.81(8.3) de la Loi de l’impôt sur le revenu (la Loi) prévoit des règles qui permettent aux sociétés à capital de risque de travailleurs (SCRT) sous régime provincial qui sont également agréées sous le régime fédéral de faire retirer, sous certaines conditions, leur agrément fédéral sans encourir de pénalité dans le cas où la province a décidé de mettre fin à son programme de crédit d’impôt relatif aux SCRT.

Selon ce paragraphe, si une SCRT sous régime provincial avise le ministre du Revenu national de son intention de faire retirer son agrément et qu’elle remplit toutes les exigences des règles de liquidation de la province en cause, les règles suivantes s’appliquent :

  • Selon l’alinéa a), la société ne peut émettre d’actions donnant droit à des crédits d’impôt à compter de la date à laquelle elle avise le ministre de son intention de faire retirer son agrément.
  • Selon l’alinéa b), la pénalité prévue à l’article 204.841 de la Loi – imposée à la société qui met fin à son entreprise de capital de risque et correspondant à peu près à la pénalité prévue au paragraphe 211.8(1) pour rachat prématuré d’actions – ne s’applique pas une fois que la société a avisé le ministre de son intention.
  • Selon l’alinéa c), les règles sur l’écart de placement énoncées à l’article 204.82 ainsi que les pénalités pour avoir omis de s’y conformer ne s’appliqueront pas à la société pour les années d’imposition commençant après l’envoi de son avis.
  • Selon l’alinéa d), la société ne pourra pas, en règle générale, obtenir de remboursement au titre des sommes qui pourraient avoir été payées en application des règles sur l’écart de placement après l’envoi de son avis.

Le paragraphe 204.81(8.4) prévoit que les dispositions d’allègement dont une SCRT peut se prévaloir aux termes du paragraphe 204.81(8.3) ne sont applicables que si la société remplit d’autres conditions.

La première condition prévoit que, sur le nombre d’actions en circulation de la société, émises au cours des huit années précédentes et donnant droit au crédit d’impôt relatif aux SCRT, moins de 20 % doivent avoir été émises au cours des deux années précédentes. La deuxième condition prévoit que la SCRT doit faire retirer son agrément dans les trois ans suivant l’envoi de son avis d’intention.

Le paragraphe 204.81(8.3) est modifié de façon à ce qu’il s’applique également à toute SCRT agréée sous le régime fédéral à l’égard de laquelle les conditions énoncées au paragraphe 204.81(8.4) sont réunies.

Ces modifications entrent en vigueur à la date de publication.

Article 2

Fusions et unifications

LIR
204.85(3)

Le paragraphe 204.85(3) de la Loi s’applique, dans le cadre de l’article 127.4 et des parties X.3 et XII.5 de la Loi, en cas de fusion ou d’unification de sociétés dont au moins une est une société à capital de risque de travailleurs (SCRT) sous régime fédéral ou une société dont l’agrément a été retiré.

Selon l’alinéa 204.85(3)d), le ministre du Revenu national est réputé avoir agréé la société issue de la fusion ou de l’unification (la « nouvelle société ») pour l’application de la partie X.3, sauf si, selon le cas :

  • la nouvelle société n’est pas régie par la Loi canadienne sur les sociétés par actions;
  • une ou plusieurs des sociétés remplacées étaient des SCRT sous régime fédéral qui ont mis fin à leur entreprise de capital de risque avant la fusion ou l’unification;
  • une ou plusieurs des sociétés remplacées étaient, immédiatement avant la fusion ou l’unification, des sociétés dont l’agrément a été retiré;
  • immédiatement après la fusion ou l’unification, les statuts de la nouvelle société ne sont pas conformes à l’alinéa 204.81(1)c);
  • des actions autres que des actions de catégorie A du capital-actions de la nouvelle société ont été émises à un actionnaire de celle-ci en règlement d’une action (sauf une action à laquelle les divisions 204.81(1)c)(ii)(B) ou (C) s’appliquent) d’une société remplacée.

En cas d’inapplication de l’alinéa 204.85(3)d), la nouvelle société :

  • d’une part, est réputée, en vertu de l’alinéa 204.85(3)e), être une société dont agrément a été retiré;
  • d’autre part, est considérée comme ayant mis fin à son entreprise de capital de risque immédiatement avant sa fusion ou son unification, visé à l’alinéa 204.8(2)c). L’impôt prévu à l’article 204.841 de la Loi s’appliquera donc aux sociétés remplacées.

Par suite de la mise en place de règles transitoires qui permettent à une SCRT sous régime fédéral de faire retirer son agrément sans encourir de pénalité, une condition est ajoutée à l’alinéa 204.85(3)d) afin qu’une nouvelle société soit réputée, en vertu de cet alinéa, avoir été agréée.

Selon le nouveau sous-alinéa 204.85(3)d)(vi), la nouvelle société n’est pas réputée, en vertu de l’alinéa 204.85(3)d), avoir été agréée pour l’application de la partie X.3 si, immédiatement avant la fusion ou l’unification, au moins une des sociétés remplacées est une société qui a donné l’avis visé au paragraphe 204.81(8.3) et au moins une des sociétés remplacées est une SCRT agréée qui n’a pas donné cet avis.

Par conséquent, lorsqu’une société qui a donné avis, aux termes du paragraphe 204.81(8.3), de son intention de faire retirer son agrément fusionne ou s’unifie avec une SCRT agréée qui n’a pas donné pareil avis, les deux sociétés seront considérées comme ayant mis fin à leur entreprise de capital de risque immédiatement avant leur fusion ou unification. Dans ce cas, toute société remplacée qui est une SCRT agréée et qui n’a pas donné l’avis visé au paragraphe 204.81(8.3) sera assujettie à l’impôt prévu à l’article 204.841.

Cette modification entre en vigueur à la date de publication.

Article 3

Règles de liquidation provinciales applicables aux SCRT – Ontario

RIR
6708

L’article 6708 du Règlement de l’impôt sur le revenu prévoit les règles de liquidation provinciales qui sont visées pour l’application de l’alinéa 204.8(2)b) et du paragraphe 204.81(8.3) de la Loi. La modification apportée à cet article consiste à supprimer le renvoi au paragraphe 204.81(8.3) en raison de l’élargissement du champ d’application des règles transitoires visant les sociétés à capital de risque de travailleurs (SCRT), énoncées au paragraphe 204.81(8.3), aux SCRT sous régime fédéral. Pour en savoir davantage, se reporter aux notes concernant ce paragraphe.

Cette modification entre en vigueur à la date de publication.