Explanatory Notes relating to the Proposed amendments to the Income Tax Act, Canada Pension Plan and Employment Insurance Act

Clause 1

Amounts paid in error

Income Tax Act

153(3.1)

Section 153 of the Income Tax Act (the “Act”) requires the withholding of income tax from certain payments described in paragraphs 153(1)(a) to (t). The person making such a payment is required to remit the amount withheld to the Receiver General on behalf of the payee. Paragraph (a) requires withholdings with respect to salary, wages and other remuneration paid to an employee. Subsection (3) provides that when an amount is deducted or withheld under subsection (1), it is deemed to have been received at that time by the person to whom the remuneration, benefit, payment, fees, commissions or other amounts were paid.

Where salary, wages or other remuneration is erroneously overpaid by an employer to an employee, the Minister of National Revenue would, under the current income tax rules, reimburse withholdings in respect of the overpayment to the employee who would, in turn, be responsible for reimbursing the employer.

New subsection (3.1) will, if its conditions are met, allow the Minister to directly reimburse an employer for amounts of income tax that have been withheld and remitted by the employer in respect of an erroneous overpayment of salary, wages or other remuneration to an employee. In particular, it provides that an amount (referred to as the “excess amount”) is deemed to not have been deducted or withheld under subsection (1) by a person if the conditions in paragraphs (a) to (e) are met. This effectively overrides subsection (3), which provides that if an amount has been deducted or withheld under subsection (1), the amount is deemed to have been received at that time by the person to whom the remuneration, benefit, etc. were paid. Where subsection (3.1) applies, since the employee will not be deemed to have received the withheld amount, the Minister will be able to return the withheld amount to the employer.

For subsection (3.1) to apply, there must be an excess payment by a person (generally, the employer) to an individual of salary, wages or other remuneration that was paid as a result of a clerical, administrative or system error. This is referred to as the “total excess payment.” A portion of this total excess payment (referred to as the “excess amount”) must have been deducted or withheld by the employer under subsection (1). At this point, the individual is assumed to have received the total excess payment, less the excess amount (which was withheld by the employer).

The individual must then repay (or make an arrangement to repay) the total excess payment, less the excess amount, to the employer. In addition, the employer must elect in prescribed form to have subsection (3.1) apply in respect of the excess amount. These two conditions must be met before the end of the third year after the calendar year in which the excess amount is deducted or withheld. In addition, an information return correcting for the excess payment cannot have been issued prior to making the election, because the Minister would reassess the employee and make corrective refunds (if any) to the employee upon the issuance of the information return.

Lastly, paragraph (e) provides that the Minister may specify additional conditions that must be met in order for subsection (3.1) to apply.

 

Example: In 2018, XCo overpays Joan’s salary by $10,000. On this $10,000, XCo withheld and remitted $2,000 in respect of income taxes on behalf of Joan. In 2020, XCo discovers the error and elects to have new subsection 153(3.1) apply. Joan makes arrangements to return $8,000 to Xco and new subsection 153(3.1) will allow the Minister to reimburse the excess withholding of $2,000 directly to XCo.

This amendment applies in respect of excess payments of salary, wages or other remuneration made after 2015.

Clause 2

Excess payment – amount deemed not deducted

Canada Pension Plan

21.01(1)

Subsection 21(1) of the Canada Pension Plan requires an employer paying remuneration to an employee to withhold and remit prescribed amounts in respect of the employee’s pensionable employment. Subsection (5) provides that an amount deducted under subsection (1) is deemed to have been received by the employee.

New subsection 21.01(1) provides that, subject to new subsection 21.01(2), an amount that was deducted by an employer under subsection 21(1), for a year after 2015, in respect of an excess payment that was paid as a result of a clerical, administrative or system error to an employee as remuneration in respect of pensionable employment, is deemed not to have been deducted if the following conditions are met:

  • Before the end of the third year after the calendar year in which the amount was deducted,
    • The employer elects to have new subsection 21.01(1) apply in respect of the amount, and
    • The employee has repaid, or made arrangements to repay, the employer.
  • The employer has not filed an information return correcting for the total excess payment prior to the making of the above referenced election.
  • Any additional conditions specified by the Minister have been met.

New subsection 21.01(1) operates in conjunction with new subsections 21.01(2) and 38(3.3).

New subsection 21.01(1) will, subject to the limitation set out in new subsection 21.01(2), allow the Minister of National Revenue to directly reimburse an employer (under new subsection 38(3.3)) for amounts of an employee’s contribution that have been deducted and remitted by the employer in respect of an erroneous overpayment of remuneration to the employee. In the absence of this new subsection (and new subsection 38(3.3)), the Minister would reimburse such excess deducted and remitted amounts to the employee who would, in turn, be responsible for reimbursing the employer.

This amendment will come into force by Order in Council.

Determination of amount

CPP

21.01(2)

New subsection 21.01(2) of the Canada Pension Plan operates in conjunction with new subsection 21.01(1).

New subsection 21.01(2) accounts for the fact that CPP contributions are paid in respect of earnings up to a maximum amount. Consequently, not all excess payments of remuneration will result in an overpayment of an employee’s contribution. This new subsection provides that the amount deemed not to have been deducted under new subsection (1) is the amount that was deducted by the employer, or the amount determined by the formula (A – B), if that amount is less.

Variable A of the formula is the aggregate of all amounts that were deducted by the employer as the employee’s contributions for the year. Variable B of the formula is the aggregate of all amounts that would have been deducted by the employer as the employee’s contributions for the year had the employer not made the excess payment.

Example 1: Joan is an employee of XCo. Her annual salary for 2018 was $100,000. In February of 2018, XCo made a clerical error and overpaid Joan $1,000 in a pay period. This resulted in Joan being paid $101,000 in 2018. In 2020, XCo discovers the error and elects to have new subsection 21.01(1) apply.

XCo deducted and remited $49.50 in respect of the $1,000 overpayment as Joan’s employee’s contribution. The maximum pensionable earnings for 2018 was $55,900. XCo deducted and remitted $2,593.80 in total in respect of Joan’s employee’s contribution for 2018. This is the same amount that XCo would have deducted and remitted in the absence of the February overpayment error. As such, new subsection (2) will result in the amount determined for new subsection 21.01(1) being zero.

Example 2: Joan is an employee of XCo. Her annual salary for 2018 was $50,000. In February of 2018, XCo made a clerical error and overpaid Joan $1,000 in a pay period. This resulted in Joan being paid $51,000 in 2018. In 2020, XCo discovers the error and elects to have new subsection 21.01(1) apply.

XCo deducted and remitted $49.50 in respect of the $1,000 overpayment as Joan’s employee’s contribution. The maximum pensionable earnings for 2018 was $55,900. XCo deducted and remitted $2,351.25 in total in respect of Joan’s employee’s contribution for 2018. In the absence of the February error, XCo would have deducted and remitted in total $2,301.75 in respect of Joan’s employee’s contribution for 2018. As such, new subsection (2) will result in the amount determined for new subsection 21.01(1) being $49.50.

New subsection 38(3.3) will allow the Minister to reimburse the excess deduction and remittance of $49.50 directly to XCo.

Example 3: Joan is an employee of XCo. Her annual salary for 2018 was $50,000. In February 2018, because of a system error, XCo overpaid Joan by $10,000 in one pay period. With the excess $10,000, Joan was paid $60,000 which is higher than the maximum pensionable earnings, which was $55,900 in 2018. In 2020, XCo discovers the error and elects to have new subsection 21.01(1) apply.

XCo deducted and remitted $495.00 in respect of the $10,000 overpayment as Joan’s employee contribution. XCo deducted and remitted $2,593.80 in total in respect of Joan’s employee’s contribution for 2018. In the absence of the February system error, XCo would have deducted $2,301.75 in total, in respect of Joan’s employee’s contribution for 2018. As such, new subsection (2) will result in the amount determined for new subsection 21.01(1) being $292.05.

New subsection 38(3.3) will allow the Minister to reimburse the excess deduction and remittance of $292.05 directly to XCo.

This amendment will come into force by Order in Council.

Clause 3

Refund – section 21.01 amounts

CPP

38(3.3)

New subsection 38(3.3) of the Canada Pension Plan operates in conjunction with new subsections 21.01(1) and (2).

New subsection 38(3.3) allows the Minister to refund an amount to an employer if the amount has been remitted and subsection 21.01(1) deems the amount to not have been deducted. The employer must apply for the refund no later than four years from the end of the year in which the amount has been remitted.

This amendment will come into force by Order in Council.

Non-application – subsection (7)

CPP

38(8)

New subsection 38(8) of the Canada Pension Plan provides that interest is not payable on amounts refunded pursuant to new subsection 38(3.3)

This amendment will come into force by Order in Council.

Clause 4

Excess payment – amount deemed not deducted

Employment Insurance Act

82.01(1)

Subsection 82(1) of the Employment Insurance Act requires an employer paying remuneration to an employee to deduct and remit prescribed amounts in respect of the employee’s insurable employment. Subsection (7) provides that an amount deducted under subsection (1) is deemed to have been received by the insured person.

New subsection 82.01(1) provides that, subject to new subsection 82.01(2), an amount that was deducted by an employer under subsection 82(1) for a year after 2015 in respect of an excess payment that was paid, as a result of a clerical, administrative or system error to an insured person as remuneration, is deemed not to have been deducted if the following conditions are met:

  • Before the end of the third year after the calendar year in which the amount was deducted,
    • The employer elects to have new subsection 82.01(1) apply in respect of the amount, and
    • The insured person has repaid, or made arrangements to repay, the employer.
  • The employer has not filed an information return correcting for the total excess payment prior to the making of the above referenced election.
  • Any additional criteria specified by the Minister have been met.

This new subsection operates in conjunction with new subsections 82.01(2) and 96(3.1).

This new subsection will, subject to new subsection 82.01(2), allow the Minister to directly reimburse an employer (under new subsection 96(3.1)) for amounts of employee’s premiums that have been deducted and remitted by the employer in respect of an erroneous overpayment of remuneration to an insured person. In the absence of this new subsection (and new subsection 96(3.1)), the Minister of National Revenue would reimburse such excess deducted and remitted amounts to the employee who would, in turn, be responsible for reimbursing the employer.

This amendment will come into force on Royal Assent.

Determination of amount

EIA

82.01(2)

New subsection 82.01((2) of the Employment Insurance Act operates in conjunction with new subsection 82.01(1).

New subsection 82.01(2) accounts for the fact that EI premiums are paid in respect of earnings up to a maximum amount. Consequently, not all excess payments of remuneration will result in an overpayment of an employee’s premiums. This new subsection provides that the amount deemed not to have been deducted under new subsection (1) is the lesser of the amount that was deducted by the employer and the amount determined by the formula (A – B).

Variable A of the formula is the aggregate of all amounts that were deducted by the employer as the employee’s premiums for the year. Variable B of the formula is the aggregate of all amounts that would have been deducted by the employer as the employee’s premiums for the year had the employer not made the excess payment.

Example 1: Joan is an employee of XCo. Her annual salary for 2018 was $100,000. In February of 2018, XCo made a clerical error and overpaid Joan $1,000 in a pay period. This resulted in Joan being paid $101,000 in 2018. In 2020, XCo discovers the error and elects to have new subsection 82.01(1) apply.

XCo deducted and remitted $16.60 in respect of the $1,000 overpayment as Joan’s employee’s premium. The maximum yearly insurable earnings for 2018 was $51,700. XCo deducted and remitted $858.22 in respect of Joan’s employee’s premiums for 2018. This is the same amount that XCo would have deducted and remitted in the absence of the February error. As such, new subsection (2) will result in the amount determined for new subsection 82.01(1) being zero.

Example 2: Joan is an employee of XCo. Her annual salary for 2018 was $50,000. In February of 2018, XCo made a clerical error and overpaid Joan $1,000 in a pay period. This resulted in Joan being paid $51,000 in 2018. In 2020, XCo discovers the error and elects to have new subsection 82.01(1) apply.

XCo deducted and remitted $16.60 in respect of the $1,000 overpayment as Joan’s employee’s premium. The maximum yearly insurable earnings for 2018 was $51,700. XCo deducted and remitted $846.60 in respect of Joan’s employee’s premium for 2018. In the absence of the February error, XCo would have deducted and remitted in total $830.00 in respect of Joan’s employee’s premium for 2018. As such, new subsection (2) will result in the amount determined for new subsection 82.01(1) being $16.60.

New subsection 96(3.1) will allow the Minister to reimburse the excess deduction and remittance of $16.60 directly to XCo.

Example 3: Joan is an employee of XCo. Her annual salary for 2018 was $50,000. In February of 2018, because of a system error, XCo overpaid Joan by $10,000 in one pay period. With the excess $10,000, Joan was paid $60,000, which was higher than the maximum insurable earnings of $51,700 in 2018. In 2020, XCo discovers the error and elects to have new subsection 82.01(1) apply.

XCo deducted and remitted $166.00 in respect of the $10,000 overpayment as Joan’s employee contribution. XCo deducted and remitted $858.22 in total in respect of Joan’s employee’s premium for 2018. In the absence of the February system error, XCo would have deducted $830.00 in respect of Joan’s employee’s premium for 2018. As such, new subsection (2) will result in the amount determined for new subsection 82.01(1) being $28.22.

New subsection 96(3.1) will allow the Minister to reimburse the excess deduction and remittance of $28.22 directly to XCo.

This amendment will come into force on Royal Assent.

Clause 5

Refund – section 82.01 amounts

EIA

96(3.1)

New subsection 96(3.1) of the Employment Insurance Act operates in conjunction with new subsections 82.01(1) and (2).

New subsection 96(3.1) allows the Minister of National Revenue to refund an amount to an employer if the amount has been remitted and subsection 82.01(1) deems the amount to not have been deducted. The employer must apply for the refund no longer than three years from the end of the year in which the amount has been remitted.

This amendment will come into force on Royal Assent.

Non-application – subsection (13)

EIA

96(13.01)

New subsection 96(13.01) of the Employment Insurance Act provides that interest is not payable on amounts refunded pursuant to new subsection 96(3.1).

This amendment will come into force on Royal Assent.

Notes explicatives relatives aux Modifications proposées à la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu, au Régime de pensions du Canada et à la Loi sur l'assurance-emploi

Article 1

Sommes versées par erreur

Loi de l’impôt sur le revenu

153(3.1)

L’article 153 de la Loi de l’impôt sur le revenu (la Loi) exige la retenue d’impôt sur le revenu de certains paiements prévus aux alinéas 153(1)a) à t). La personne qui fait ces paiements doit remettre la somme retenue au receveur général au nom du bénéficiaire. L’alinéa a) exige des retenues sur le traitement, salaire ou autre rémunération versée à un employé. Le paragraphe (3) prévoit que lorsqu’une somme a été déduite ou retenue en vertu du paragraphe (1), elle est réputée avoir été reçue à ce moment par la personne à qui la rémunération, la prestation, le paiement, les honoraires, les commissions ou d’autres sommes ont été versés.

Lorsqu’un employeur verse par erreur un paiement excédentaire de salaire, traitement ou autre rémunération à un employé, le ministre du Revenu national, en vertu des règles actuelles de l’impôt sur le revenu, rembourserait les retenues à la source relatives au paiement excédentaire à l’employé, lequel serait ensuite tenu de rembourser l’employeur.

Le nouveau paragraphe (3.1) viendra, si les conditions sont remplies, permettre au ministre de rembourser directement à l’employeur les sommes d’impôts retenues et versées par l’employeur relativement à un paiement excédentaire de salaire, traitement ou autre rémunération versé par erreur à un employé. En particulier, il prévoit qu’une personne n’est pas réputée avoir déduit ou retenu une somme (appelée « somme excédentaire ») en vertu du paragraphe (1) si les conditions des alinéas a) à e) sont remplies. Cette mesure vient effectivement annuler le paragraphe (3), selon lequel lorsqu’une somme a été déduite ou retenue en vertu du paragraphe (1), la personne à qui la rémunération, l’avantage, etc. a été payé est réputée avoir reçu la somme à ce moment. Lorsque le paragraphe (3.1) s’applique, puisque l’employé ne sera pas réputé avoir reçu le montant retenu, le ministre sera en mesure de retourner la somme retenue à l’employeur.

Pour que le paragraphe (3.1) s’applique, il faut qu’un paiement excédentaire de salaire, traitement ou autre rémunération ait été payé par une personne (généralement l’employeur) à un particulier par suite d’une erreur d’écriture, administrative ou systémique. C’est ce qu’on appelle le « paiement excédentaire total ». Une partie de ce paiement excédentaire total (appelée « somme excédentaire » doit avoir été déduite ou retenue par la personne en vertu du paragraphe (1). À ce moment-là, le particulier est présumé avoir reçu l’excédent du paiement excédentaire total sur la somme excédentaire (laquelle a été retenue par la personne).

Le particulier doit ensuite rembourser (ou prendre des arrangements pour rembourser) l’excédent du paiement excédentaire total sur la somme excédentaire, à la personne. En outre, la personne doit faire le choix, selon les modalités prescrites, de faire appliquer le paragraphe (3.1) relativement à la somme excédentaire. Ces deux conditions doivent être satisfaites avant la fin de la troisième année suivant l’année civile où la somme excédentaire est déduite ou retenue. De plus, une déclaration de renseignements prenant en compte des corrections relatives au paiement excédentaire ne doit pas avoir été présentée avant l’exercice du choix, parce que le ministre établirait une nouvelle cotisation pour l’employé et effectuerait les remboursements correctifs (s’il y a lieu) à l’employé au moment de la présentation de la déclaration de renseignements.

Enfin, l’alinéa e) prévoit que le ministre peut fixer des conditions supplémentaires à remplir pour que le paragraphe (3.1) s’applique.

Par exemple, en 2018, SocX verse à Jeanne un paiement excédentaire de 10 000 $ en salaire. De ces 10 000 $, SocX a retenu et versé 2 000 $ relativement aux impôts sur le revenu au nom de Jeanne. En 2020, SocX se rend compte de l’erreur et choisit de faire appliquer le nouveau paragraphe 153(3.1). Jeanne prend des arrangements pour rembourser 8 000 $ à SocX et le nouveau paragraphe 153(3.1) permettra au ministre de rembourser les retenues excédentaires de 2 000 $ directement à SocX.

Cette modification s’applique relativement aux paiements excédentaires de salaires, traitements ou autre rémunération effectués après 2015.

Article 2

Paiement excédentaire – déduction réputée ne pas avoir été faite

Régime de pensions du Canada

21.01(1)

Selon le paragraphe 21(1) du Régime de pensions du Canada, tout employeur payant une rémunération à un employé est tenu de déduire et de remettre le montant calculé à l’égard de l’emploi ouvrant droit à pension. Le paragraphe (5) prévoit que le montant déduit en vertu du paragraphe (1) est réputé avoir été reçu par l’employé.

Le nouveau paragraphe 21.01(1) prévoit que, sous réserve du nouveau paragraphe 21.01(2), le montant déduit par l’employeur en vertu du paragraphe 21(1) pour une année postérieure à 2015 à l’égard d’un paiement excédentaire versé par suite d’une erreur d’écriture, administrative ou systémique au titre de la rémunération payée à un employé relativement à un emploi ouvrant droit à pension est réputé ne pas avoir été déduit si les conditions suivantes sont réunies :

  • Avant la fin de la troisième année suivant l’année civile de la déduction :
    • l’employeur choisit de faire appliquer le nouveau paragraphe 21.01(1) à l’égard du montant;
    • l’employé a remboursé l’employeur ou a pris des arrangements pour le rembourser.
  • L’employeur n’a pas produit de déclaration de renseignements prenant en compte des corrections relatives au paiement excédentaire avant de faire le choix susmentionné.
  • Les conditions supplémentaires fixées par le ministre ont été satisfaites.

Le nouveau paragraphe 21.01(1) opère conjointement avec les nouveaux paragraphes 21.01(2) et 38(3.3).

Le nouveau paragraphe 21.01(1) vient, sous réserve des restrictions fixées au nouveau paragraphe 21.01(2) permettre au ministre du Revenu national de rembourser directement à l’employeur (en vertu du nouveau paragraphe 38(3.3)) les montants versés au titre de la cotisation d’un employé qui ont été déduits et remis par l’employeur par suite d’un paiement excédentaire versé par erreur à l’employé. Sans ce nouveau paragraphe (et le nouveau paragraphe 38(3.3)), le ministre rembourserait cet excédent, déduit et remis, à l’employé, lequel serait ensuite tenu de rembourser l’employeur.

Cette modification entrera en vigueur par décret en conseil.

Calcul du montant

RPC

21.01(2)

Le nouveau paragraphe 21.01(2) du Régime de pensions du Canada opère conjointement avec le nouveau paragraphe 21.01(1).

Le nouveau paragraphe 21.01(2) tient compte du fait que les cotisations au RPC sont versées relativement aux gains jusqu’à concurrence d’un maximum. Par conséquent, ce ne sont pas tous les paiements excédentaires de rémunération qui résulteront en un paiement excédentaire d’une cotisation d’un employé. Ce nouveau paragraphe prévoit que le montant réputé ne pas avoir été déduit en vertu du paragraphe (1) est le montant déduit par l’employeur, ou le montant obtenu par la formule (A – B), si ce montant est inférieur.

L’élément A de la formule représente la somme de tous les montants déduits par l’employeur au titre des cotisations de l’employé pour l’année. L’élément B de la formule représente la somme de tous les montants qui auraient été déduits par l’employeur au titre des cotisations de l’employé pour l’année si l’employeur n’avait pas effectué le paiement excédentaire.

Exemple 1 : Jeanne est une employée de SocX. Son salaire annuel pour 2018 était de 100 000 $. En février de 2018, SocX a fait une erreur d’écriture et a versé un paiement excédentaire de 1 000 $ à Jeanne dans une période de paye. Jeanne a donc reçu 101 000 $ en 2018. En 2020, SocX se rend compte de l’erreur et choisit de faire appliquer le nouveau paragraphe 21.01(1).

SocX a déduit et versé 49,50 $ relativement au paiement excédentaire de 1 000 $ au titre des cotisations de l’employé de Jeanne. Le maximum des gains annuels ouvrant droit à pension pour 2018 était de 55 900 $. SocX a déduit et versé 2 593,80 $ en tout au titre des cotisations de l’employé de Jeanne pour 2018. C’est le même montant que SocX aurait déduit et versé en l’absence du paiement excédentaire payé par erreur en février. À ce titre, le nouveau paragraphe (2) fera en sorte que le montant calculé pour le nouveau paragraphe 21.01(1) soit de zéro.

Exemple 2 : Jeanne est une employée de SocX. Son salaire annuel pour 2018 était de 50 000 $. En février de 2018, SocX a fait une erreur d’écriture et a versé un paiement excédentaire de 1 000 $ à Jeanne dans une période de paye. Jeanne a donc reçu 51 000 $ en 2018. En 2020, SocX se rend compte de l’erreur et choisit de faire appliquer le nouveau paragraphe 21.01(1).

SocX a déduit et versé 49,50 $ relativement au paiement excédentaire de 1 000 $ au titre des cotisations de l’employé. Le maximum des gains annuels ouvrant droit à pension pour 2018 était de 55 900 $. SocX a déduit et a versé 2 351,25 $ en tout au titre des cotisations de l’employé de Jeanne pour 2018. Sans l’erreur du mois de février, SocX aurait déduit et remis 2 301,75 $ en tout au titre des cotisations de l’employé de Jeanne pour 2018. À ce titre, le nouveau paragraphe (2) fera en sorte que le montant calculé pour le nouveau paragraphe 21.01(1) soit de 49,50 $.

Le nouveau paragraphe 38(3.3) permettra au ministre de rembourser la déduction et la remise excédentaires de 49,50 $ directement à SocX.

Exemple 3 : Jeanne est une employée de SocX. Son salaire annuel pour 2018 était de 50 000 $. En février 2018, à cause d’une erreur systémique, SocX a effectué un paiement excédentaire de 10 000 $ dans une période de paye. Avec l’excédent de 10 000 $, Jeanne a reçu 60 000 $, ce qui est supérieur au maximum des gains ouvrant droit à pension, qui était de 55 900 $ en 2018. En 2020, SocX se rend compte de l’erreur et choisit de faire appliquer le nouveau paragraphe 21.01(1).

SocX a déduit et versé 495 $ relativement au paiement excédentaire de 10 000 $ au titre des cotisations de l’employé de Jeanne. SocX a déduit et versé 2 593,80 $ au titre des cotisations de l’employé de Jeanne pour 2018. Sans l’erreur du mois de février, SocX aurait déduit 2 301,75 $ en tout au titre des cotisations de l’employé de Jeanne pour 2018. À ce titre, le nouveau paragraphe (2) fera en sorte que le montant calculé pour le nouveau paragraphe 21.01(1) soit de 292,05 $.

Le nouveau paragraphe 38(3.3) permettra au ministre de rembourser la déduction et la remise excédentaires de 292,05 $ directement à SocX.

Cette modification entrera en vigueur par décret en conseil.

Remboursement des sommes visées à l’article 21.01

RPC

38(3.3)

Le nouveau paragraphe 38(3.3) du Régime de pensions du Canada opère conjointement avec les nouveaux paragraphes 21.01(1) et (2).

Le nouveau paragraphe 38(3.3) permet au ministre de rembourser un montant à un employeur si le montant a été versé et, en application du paragraphe 21.01(1), est réputé ne pas avoir été déduit. L’employeur doit présenter la demande de remboursement au plus tard quatre ans à compter de la fin de l’année durant laquelle le versement a été effectué.

Cette modification entrera en vigueur par décret en conseil.

Article 3

Non-application du paragraphe (7)

RPC

38(8)

Le nouveau paragraphe 38(8) du Régime de pensions du Canada prévoit que des intérêts ne sont pas payables sur les sommes remboursées en vertu du nouveau paragraphe 38(3.3).

Cette modification entrera en vigueur par décret en conseil.

Article 4

Paiement excédentaire : retenue réputée ne pas avoir été faite

Loi sur l’assurance-emploi (LAE)

82.01(1)

Le paragraphe 82(1) de la Loi sur l’assurance-emploi exige qu’un employeur qui verse une rémunération à un employé retienne et verse des montants visés relativement à l’emploi assurable de l’employé. Selon le paragraphe (7), l’assuré est réputé avoir reçu le montant retenu en vertu du paragraphe (1).

Le nouveau paragraphe 82.01(1) prévoit que, sous réserve du nouveau paragraphe 82.01(2), un montant retenu par un employeur en vertu du paragraphe 82(1) pour une année qui est après 2015 relativement à un paiement excédentaire versé en raison d’une erreur d’écriture, administrative ou systémique à un assuré au titre de rémunération est réputé ne pas avoir été retenu si les conditions suivantes sont réunies :

  • avant la fin de la troisième année suivant l’année civile de la retenue :
    • d’une part, l’employeur choisit de faire appliquer le paragraphe 82.01(1) à l’égard du montant,
    • d’autre part, l’assuré a remboursé l’employeur ou a pris des arrangements pour le rembourser;
  • l’employeur n’a pas produit de déclaration de renseignements prenant en compte des corrections relatives au paiement excédentaire avant de faire le choix susmentionné;
  • les conditions supplémentaires fixées par le ministre ont été satisfaites.

Ce nouveau paragraphe opère conjointement avec les nouveaux paragraphes 82.01(2) et 96(3.1).

Ce nouveau paragraphe vient, sous réserve du nouveau paragraphe 82.01(2), permettre au ministre de rembourser directement à l’employeur (en vertu du nouveau paragraphe 96(3.1)) les montants des cotisations ouvrières qui ont été retenues et versées par l’employeur relativement à un paiement excédentaire de rémunération à un assuré, effectué par erreur. Sans ce nouveau paragraphe (et le nouveau paragraphe 96(3.1)), le ministre du Revenu national rembourserait ces excédents retenus et versés à l’employé, lequel serait ensuite tenu de rembourser l’employeur.

Cette modification entrera en vigueur à la date de la sanction royale.

Calcul du montant

LAE

82.01(2)

Le nouveau paragraphe 82.01(2) de la Loi sur l’assurance-emploi opère conjointement avec le nouveau paragraphe 82.01(1).

Le nouveau paragraphe 82.01(2) tient compte du fait que les cotisations d’assurance-emploi sont payées à l’égard de gains jusqu’à concurrence d’un maximum. Par conséquent, ce ne sont pas tous les paiements excédentaires de rémunération qui donneront lieu à un paiement excédentaire des cotisations ouvrières. Ce paragraphe prévoit que le montant réputé ne pas avoir été retenu en vertu du paragraphe (1) est le moins élevé entre le montant déduit par l’employeur, et le montant obtenu par la formule (A - B).

L’élément A de la formule représente la somme des montants retenus par l’employeur au titre des cotisations ouvrières pour l’année. L’élément B représente la somme des montants que l’employeur aurait retenus au titre des cotisations ouvrières pour l’année s’il n’avait pas effectué le paiement excédentaire.

Exemple 1 : Jeanne est une employée de SocX. Son salaire annuel pour 2018 était de 100 000 $. En février de 2018, SocX a fait une erreur d’écriture et a versé un paiement excédentaire de 1 000 $ à Jeanne dans une période de paye. Jeanne a donc reçu 101 000 $ en 2018. En 2020, SocX se rend compte de l’erreur et choisit de faire appliquer le nouveau paragraphe 82.01(1).

SocX a retenu et versé 16,60 $ relativement au paiement excédentaire de 1 000 $ au titre des cotisations ouvrières. Le maximum de la rémunération annuelle assurable pour 2018 était de 51 700 $. SocX a retenu et versé 858,22 $ au titre des cotisations ouvrières de Jeanne pour 2018. Il s’agit du même montant que SocX aurait retenu et versé compte non tenu de l’erreur de février. À ce titre, le nouveau paragraphe (2) fera en sorte que le montant calculé pour le nouveau paragraphe 82.01(1) soit zéro.

Exemple 2 : Jeanne est une employée de SocX. Son salaire annuel pour 2018 était de 50 000 $. En février de 2018, SocX a fait une erreur d’écriture et effectue un paiement excédentaire de 1 000 $ dans une période de paye. Jeanne a donc reçu 51 000 $ en 2018. En 2020, SocX se rend compte de l’erreur et choisit de faire appliquer le nouveau paragraphe 82.01(1).

SocX a retenu et versé 16,60 $ relativement au paiement excédentaire de 1 000 $ au titre des cotisations ouvrières de Jeanne. Le maximum de la rémunération annuelle assurable pour 2018 était de 51 700 $. SocX a retenu et versé 846,60 $ au titre des cotisations ouvrières de Jeanne pour 2018. Sans l’erreur du mois de février, SocX aurait retenu et versé 830 $ en tout au titre des cotisations ouvrières de Jeanne pour 2018. À ce titre, le nouveau paragraphe (2) fera en sorte que le montant calculé pour le nouveau paragraphe 82.01(1) soit de 16,60 $.

Le nouveau paragraphe 96(3.1) permettra au ministre de rembourser la déduction et la remise excédentaires de 16,60 $ directement à SocX.

Exemple 3 : Jeanne est une employée de SocX. Son salaire annuel pour 2018 était de 50 000 $. En février de 2018, en raison d’une erreur systémique, SocX a versé un paiement excédentaire de 10 000 $ à Jeanne dans une période de paye. Avec le paiement excédentaire, Jeanne a reçu 60 000 $, ce qui était supérieur au maximum de la rémunération annuelle assurable de 51 700 $ en 2018. En 2020, SocX se rend compte de l’erreur et choisit de faire appliquer le nouveau paragraphe 82.01(1).

SocX a retenu et versé 166,00 $ relativement au paiement excédentaire de 10 000 $ au titre des cotisations ouvrières de Jeanne pour 2018. Sans l’erreur systémique du mois de février, SocX aurait retenu 830 $, au titre des cotisations ouvrières de Jeanne pour 2018. À ce titre, le nouveau paragraphe (2) fera en sorte que le montant calculé pour le nouveau paragraphe 82.01(1) soit de 28,22 $.

Le nouveau paragraphe 96(3.1) permettra au ministre de rembourser la retenue et le versement excédentaires de 28,22 $ directement à SocX.

Cette modification entrera en vigueur à la date de la sanction royale.

Article 5

Remboursement des sommes visées à l’article 82.01

LAE

96(3.1)

Le nouveau paragraphe 96(3.1) de la Loi sur l’assurance-emploi opère conjointement avec les nouveaux paragraphes 82.01(1) et (2).

Le nouveau paragraphe 96(3.1) permet au ministre du Revenu national de rembourser un montant à un employeur si le montant a été versé et, en application du paragraphe 82.01(1), le montant est réputé ne pas avoir été retenu. L’employeur doit présenter une demande de remboursement au plus tard trois ans à compter de la fin de l’année durant laquelle le montant a été versé.

Cette modification entrera en vigueur à la date de la sanction royale.

Non-application du paragraphe (13)

LAE

96(13.01)

Le nouveau paragraphe 96(13.01) de la Loi sur l’assurance-emploi prévoit que des intérêts ne sont pas payables sur les sommes remboursées en vertu du nouveau paragraphe 96(3.1).

Cette modification entrera en vigueur à la date de la sanction royale.