Draft Legislation Relating to the Excise Tax Act

1  (1)  The definition financial instrument in subsection 123(1) of the Excise Tax Act is amended by adding the following after paragraph (f):
(f.1)  a virtual payment instrument,
(2)  Subsection 123(1) of the Act is amended by adding the following in alphabetical order:
virtual payment instrument means property that is a digital representation of value, that functions as a medium of exchange and that only exists at a digital address of a publicly distributed ledger, other than property that
(a)  confers a right, whether immediate or future and whether absolute or contingent, to be exchanged or redeemed for money or specific property or services or to be converted into money or specific property or services,
(b)  is primarily for use within, or as part of, a gaming platform, an affinity or rewards program or a similar platform or program, or
(c)  is prescribed property; (effet de paiement virtuel)
(3)  Subsections (1) and (2) are deemed to have come into force on the day after Announcement Date.
2  (1)  Section 179 of the Act is amended by adding the following after subsection (7):
Fungible property
(7.1)  For the purposes of this section, substitute tangible personal property is deemed to be the original tangible personal property if
(a)  one of the following conditions is met:
(i)  a registrant acquires physical possession of the original tangible personal property for the purpose of making a supply of a service of manufacturing or producing tangible personal property (in this subparagraph referred to as the "manufactured property") and the substitute tangible personal property is used or consumed by being
(A)  incorporated or transformed into, attached to, or combined or assembled with, the manufactured property in the manufacture or production of the manufactured property, or
(B)  directly consumed or expended in the manufacture or production of the manufactured property,
(ii)  the following conditions are met:
(A)  a registrant acquires physical possession of the original tangible personal property for the purpose of making a supply of a commercial service in respect of that property,
(B)  if the commercial service is not a storage service, a service identical to the commercial service is performed in respect of the substitute tangible personal property,
(C)  the registrant causes physical possession of the substitute tangible personal property to be transferred to another person under the agreement for the supply, and
(D)  if the substitute property is a continuous transmission commodity, the substitute tangible personal property is not being transferred to the other person by means of a wire, pipeline or other conduit , or
(iii)  a registrant acquires physical possession of the original tangible personal property for the purpose of making a supply of a commercial service in respect of tangible personal property (in this subparagraph referred to as the "serviced property") that is neither the original tangible personal property nor the substitute tangible personal property and the substitute tangible personal property is used or consumed by being
(A)  incorporated into, attached to, or combined or assembled with, the serviced property in the provision of the commercial service, or
(B)  directly consumed or expended in the provision of the commercial service; and
(b)  the properties of the original tangible personal property are essentially identical to the properties of the substitute tangible personal property and the original tangible personal property and the substitute tangible personal property
(i)  are of the same class or kind of property,
(ii)  are in the same measure and state, and
(iii)  are interchangeable for commercial purposes.
  
(2)  Subsection (1) applies in respect of any supply of a service made after Announcement Date and in respect of any supply of a service made on or before that day if the supplier did not, on or before that day, charge, collect or remit any amount as or on account of tax under Part IX of the Act in respect of the supply.
3  (1)  Paragraph 186(1)(b) of the Act is replaced by the following:
(b)  at the time that tax in respect of the acquisition, importation or bringing in becomes payable, or is paid without having become payable, by the parent, all or substantially all of the property of the other corporation is property that was last manufactured, produced, acquired or imported by the other corporation for consumption, use or supply by the other corporation exclusively in the course of its commercial activities,
(2)  Subsection 186(1) of the Act, as amended by subsection (1), is replaced by the following:
Definition of unit
186  (0.1)  In this section, unit means, in respect of a corporation, a share of the capital stock of the corporation.
Operating corporation
(0.2)  For the purposes of this section, a particular corporation is at a particular time an operating corporation of another corporation if at the particular time the particular corporation is related to the other corporation and all or substantially all of the property of the particular corporation is property that was last manufactured, produced, acquired or imported by the particular corporation for consumption, use or supply by the particular corporation exclusively in the course of its commercial activities.
Input tax credit
(1)  Unless subsection (2) applies, if at a particular time a registrant (in this subsection referred to as the "parent") that is a corporation resident in Canada acquires, imports or brings into a participating province a particular property or service and if at the particular time a particular corporation is an operating corporation of the parent, the parent is deemed, for the purpose of determining an input tax credit of the parent, to have acquired or imported the particular property or service or brought it into the participating province, as the case may be, for use in the course of commercial activities of the parent to the extent that
(a)  the parent acquired or imported the particular property or service or brought it into the participating province, as the case may be, for the purpose of
(i)  selling or otherwise disposing of, purchasing or otherwise obtaining, or holding units or indebtedness of the particular corporation by the parent, or
(ii)  redeeming, issuing or converting or otherwise modifying units or indebtedness of the particular corporation by the particular corporation;
(b)  the parent acquired or imported the particular property or service or brought it into the participating province, as the case may be, for the purpose of issuing or selling units or indebtedness of the parent, the parent transfers to the particular corporation the proceeds from the issuance or sale by lending money to the particular corporation or by purchasing or otherwise obtaining from the particular corporation units or indebtedness of the particular corporation, and the proceeds that are transferred to the particular corporation are for use in the course of its commercial activities; or
(c)  if at the particular time all or substantially all of the property of the parent is property that was manufactured, produced, acquired or imported by the parent for consumption, use or supply exclusively in the course of its commercial activities, property that is units or indebtedness of operating corporations of the parent or a combination of such property, the parent acquired or imported the particular property or service or brought it into the participating province, as the case may be, for the purpose of carrying on, engaging in or conducting an activity of the parent other than
(i)  an activity that is primarily in respect of units or indebtedness of a person that is neither the parent nor an operating corporation of the parent, or
(ii)  an activity that is carried on, engaged in or conducted in the course of making an exempt supply by the parent unless the activity is a financial service that is
(A)  the lending or borrowing of units or indebtedness of an operating corporation of the parent,
(B)  the issue, granting, allotment, acceptance, endorsement, renewal, processing, variation, transfer of ownership or repayment of units or indebtedness of the parent or an operating corporation of the parent,
(C)  the provision, variation, release or receipt of a guarantee, acceptance or indemnity in respect of units or indebtedness of the parent or an operating corporation of the parent,
(D)  the payment or receipt of money as dividends (other than patronage dividends), interest, principal, benefits, or similar receipt or payment of money in respect of units or indebtedness of the parent or an operating corporation of the parent, or
(E)  the underwriting of units or indebtedness of an operating corporation of the parent.
(3)  Subsections 186(0.1) and (0.2) of the Act, as enacted by subsection (2), are replaced by the following:
Definition of unit
186  (0.1)  In this section, unit means
(a)  in respect of a corporation, a share of the capital stock of the corporation;
(b)  in respect of a partnership, an interest of a person in the partnership; and
(c)  in respect of a trust, a unit of the trust.
Operating corporations
(0.2)  For the purposes of this section, a particular corporation is at a particular time an operating corporation of another person that is a corporation, partnership or trust if, at the particular time, all or substantially all of the property of the particular corporation is property that was last manufactured, produced, acquired or imported by the particular corporation for consumption, use or supply by the particular corporation exclusively in the course of its commercial activities and
(a)  if the other person is a corporation or a trust, the particular corporation is, at the particular time, related to the other person; or
(b)  if the other person is a partnership, the particular corporation is, at the particular time, controlled by
(i)  the other person,
(ii)  a corporation that is controlled by the other person,
(iii)  a corporation that is related to a corporation referred to in subparagraph (ii), or
(iv)  a combination of persons described in subparagraphs (i) to (iii).
(4)  The portion of subsection 186(1) of the Act before paragraph (a), as enacted by subsection (2), is replaced by the following:
Input tax credit
(1)  Unless subsection (2) applies, if at a particular time a registrant (in this subsection referred to as the "parent") that is resident in Canada and that is a corporation, partnership or trust acquires, imports or brings into a participating province a particular property or service and if at the particular time a particular corporation is an operating corporation of the parent, the parent is deemed, for the purpose of determining an input tax credit of the parent, to have acquired or imported the particular property or service or brought it into the participating province, as the case may be, for use in the course of commercial activities of the parent to the extent that
  
(5)  Paragraph 186(2)(b) of the Act is replaced by the following:
(b)  throughout the period beginning when the performance of the particular service began or when the purchaser acquired, imported or brought into the participating province, as the case may be, the particular property and ending at the later of the times referred to in paragraph (c), all or substantially all of the property of the other corporation was property that was last manufactured, produced, acquired or imported for consumption, use or supply exclusively in the course of commercial activities,
(6)  Subsection 186(3) of the Act is replaced by the following:
Shares, etc., held by corporation
(3)  If at any time all or substantially all of the property of a particular corporation is property that was last manufactured, produced, acquired or imported by it for consumption, use or supply exclusively in the course of its commercial activities, all shares of the capital stock of the particular corporation owned by, and all indebtedness of the particular corporation owed to, any other corporation that is related to the particular corporation are, for the purposes of this section, deemed to be, at that time, property that was acquired by the other corporation for use exclusively in the course of its commercial activities.
  
(7)  Subsection 186(3) of the Act, as enacted by subsection (6), is replaced by the following:
Shares, etc., held by corporation
(3)  If at a particular time a particular corporation is an operating corporation of another corporation, all units of the particular corporation owned by, and all indebtedness of the particular corporation owed to, the other corporation is, for the purposes of this section, deemed to be, at the particular time, property that was acquired by the other corporation for use exclusively in the course of its commercial activities.
  
(8)  Subsections (1) and (6) apply in respect of any property or service acquired, imported or brought into a participating province before July 28, 2018 if tax became payable or was paid without having become payable in respect of the acquisition, importation or bringing into the participating province.
(9)  Subsections (2) and (7) apply in respect of any property or service acquired, imported or brought into a participating province after July 27, 2018.
(10)  Subsection 186(0.1) of the Act, as enacted by subsection (3), is deemed to have come into force on the day after Announcement Date.
(11)  Subsection 186(0.2) of the Act, as enacted by subsection (3), and subsection (4) apply in respect of any property or service acquired, imported or brought into a participating province after Announcement Date.
(12)  Subsection (5) applies to any acquisition, importation or bringing into a participating province of property or a service in respect of which tax is payable or is paid without having become payable.
4  (1)  Paragraph 240(3)(d) of the French version of the Act is replaced by the following:
d)  elle est une personne morale résidant au Canada qui est propriétaire d'actions du capital-actions, ou détentrice de créances, d'une autre personne morale qui lui est liée, ou qui acquiert, ou projette d'acquérir, la totalité ou la presque totalité des actions du capital-actions d'une autre personne morale, émises et en circulation et comportant plein droit de vote en toutes circonstances si la totalité ou la presque totalité des biens de l'autre personne morale sont, pour l'application de l'article 186, des biens que cette dernière a fabriqués, produits, acquis ou importés la dernière fois pour consommation, utilisation ou fourniture exclusive dans le cadre de ses activités commerciales;
(2)  The portion of paragraph 240(3)(d) of the English version of the Act after subparagraph (ii) is replaced by the following:
if all or substantially all of the property of the other corporation is, for the purposes of section 186, property that was last manufactured, produced, acquired or imported by the other corporation for consumption, use or supply exclusively in the course of its commercial activities;
(3)  Paragraph 240(3)(d), as amended by subsection (2), of the Act is replaced by the following:
(d)  is resident in Canada and is
(i)  a particular corporation, partnership or trust that owns units (as defined in subsection 186(0.1)) or holds indebtedness of a corporation that is, for the purposes of section 186, an operating corporation of the particular corporation, partnership or trust, or
(ii)  a particular corporation that is acquiring, or proposes to acquire, all or substantially all of the issued and outstanding shares of the capital stock of another corporation, having full voting rights under all circumstances, if all or substantially all of the property of the other corporation is, for the purposes of section 186, property that was last manufactured, produced, acquired or imported by the other corporation for consumption, use or supply exclusively in the course of its commercial activities,
(4)  Subsections (1) and (2) apply in respect of any application for registration for the purposes of Part IX of the Act made on or before Announcement Date.
(5)  Subsection (3) is deemed to have come into force on the day after Announcement Date.
5  (1)  The definition freight transportation service in subsection 1(1) of Part VII of Schedule VI to the Excise Tax Act is amended by deleting "and" at the end of paragraph (a) and by adding the following after that paragraph:
(a.1)    a service of driving an automotive vehicle designed or adapted to be used on highways and streets for the purpose of delivering the vehicle to a destination, and
(2)  The portion of the definition freight transportation service in subsection 1(1) of Part VII of Schedule VI to the English version of the Act before paragraph (a) is replaced by the following:
freight transportation service means a particular service of transporting tangible personal property including
(3)  The portion of the definition freight transportation service in subsection 1(1) of Part VII of Schedule VI to the English version of the Act after paragraph (b) is replaced by the following:
but not including a service provided by the supplier of a passenger transportation service of transporting an individual's baggage in connection with the passenger transportation service;
(4)  Subsections (1) to (3) are deemed to have come into force on the day after Announcement Date but also apply in respect of any supply made on or before that day if the supplier did not, on or before that day, charge, collect or remit any amount as or on account of tax under Part IX of the Act in respect of the supply.

Propositions législatives concernant la Loi sur la taxe d'accise

1  (1)  La définition de effet financier au paragraphe 123(1) de la Loi sur la taxe d'accise est modifiée par adjonction, après l'alinéa f), de ce qui suit :
f.1)  un effet de paiement virtuel;
(2)  Le paragraphe 123(1) de la même loi est modifié par adjonction, selon l'ordre alphabétique, de ce qui suit :
effet de paiement virtuel Bien qui est une représentation numérique d'une valeur, qui fonctionne comme moyen d'échange et qui existe seulement à une adresse numérique d'un registre distribué public, à l'exception d'un bien qui, selon le cas :
a)  confère un droit, immédiat ou futur et conditionnel ou non, à être échangé ou racheté contre de l'argent ou des biens ou services spécifiques ou à être converti en argent ou en biens ou services spécifiques;
b)  est destiné à être utilisé principalement dans le cadre d'une plate-forme de jeu, d'un programme d'affinité ou de récompenses ou d'une plate-forme ou d'un programme semblable;
c)  est un bien visé par règlement. (virtual payment instrument)
(3)  Les paragraphes (1) et (2) sont réputés être entrés en vigueur le lendemain de la date de publication.
2  (1)  L'article 179 de la même loi est modifié par adjonction, après le paragraphe (7), de ce qui suit :
Bien fongible
(7.1)  Pour l'application du présent article, un bien meuble corporel de remplacement est réputé être le bien meuble corporel original si :
a)  d'une part, l'une des conditions suivantes est satisfaite :
(i)  un inscrit acquiert la possession matérielle du bien meuble corporel original en vue d'effectuer la fourniture d'un service qui consiste à fabriquer ou à produire un bien meuble corporel (appelé « autre bien fabriqué » au présent sous-alinéa) et le bien meuble corporel de remplacement est utilisé ou consommé en étant :
(A)  soit transformé en l'autre bien fabriqué ou incorporé, fixé, combiné ou réuni à celui-ci lors de la fabrication ou de la production de celui-ci,
(B)  soit consommé ou absorbé directement lors de la fabrication ou la production de l'autre bien fabriqué,
(ii)  les conditions suivantes sont réunies :
(A)  un inscrit acquiert la possession matérielle du bien meuble corporel original en vue d'effectuer la fourniture d'un service commercial relativement à ce bien,
(B)  si le service commercial n'est pas un service d'entreposage, un service identique au service commercial est rendu relativement au bien meuble corporel de remplacement,
(C)  l'inscrit fait transférer la possession matérielle du bien meuble corporel de remplacement à une autre personne aux termes de la convention portant sur la fourniture,
(D)  si le bien meuble corporel de remplacement est un produit transporté en continu, il n'est pas transféré à l'autre personne au moyen d'un fil, d'un pipeline ou d'une autre canalisation,
(iii)  un inscrit acquiert la possession matérielle du bien meuble corporel original en vue d'effectuer la fourniture d'un service commercial relativement à un bien meuble corporel (appelé « bien desservi » au présent sous-alinéa) qui n'est ni le bien meuble corporel original ni le bien meuble corporel de remplacement et le bien meuble corporel de remplacement est utilisé ou consommé en étant :
(A)  soit incorporé, fixé, combiné ou réuni au bien desservi lors de la prestation du service commercial,
(B)  soit consommé ou absorbé directement lors de la prestation du service commercial;
b)  d'autre part, les propriétés du bien meuble corporel original et celles du bien meuble corporel de remplacement sont essentiellement les mêmes et le bien meuble corporel original et le bien meuble corporel de remplacement sont, à la fois :
(i)  de même catégorie ou nature,
(ii)  en quantité équivalente et dans le même état,
(iii)  interchangeables à des fins commerciales.
  
(2)  Le paragraphe (1) s'applique relativement aux fournitures de service effectuées après la date de publication et relativement aux fournitures de service effectuées au plus tard à cette date si le fournisseur n'a pas, au plus tard à cette date, exigé, perçu ou versé un montant au titre de la taxe prévue à la partie IX de la même loi relativement à la fourniture.
3  (1)  L'alinéa 186(1)b) de la même loi est remplacé par ce qui suit :
b)  au moment où la taxe relative à l'acquisition, à l'importation ou au transfert devient payable, ou est payée sans être devenue payable, par la personne morale mère, la totalité ou la presque totalité des biens de l'autre personne morale sont des biens qu'elle a fabriqués, produits, acquis ou importés la dernière fois pour consommation, utilisation ou fourniture par celle-ci exclusivement dans le cadre de ses activités commerciales.
(2)  Le paragraphe 186(1) de la même loi, modifié par le paragraphe (1), est remplacé par ce qui suit :
Définition de unité
186  (0.1)  Dans le présent article, unité s'entend d'une action du capital-actions d'une personne morale.
Personne morale exploitante
(0.2)  Pour l'application du présent article, une personne morale donnée est, à un moment donné, une personne morale exploitante d'une autre personne morale si, à ce moment, la personne morale donnée est liée à l'autre personne morale et que la totalité ou la presque totalité des biens de la personne morale donnée sont des biens qu'elle a fabriqués, produits, acquis ou importés la dernière fois pour consommation, utilisation ou fourniture par celle-ci exclusivement dans le cadre de ses activités commerciales.
Crédit de taxe sur les intrants
(1)  À moins que le paragraphe (2) ne s'applique, si à un moment donné l'inscrit (appelé « personne mère » au présent paragraphe) qui est une personne morale résidant au Canada acquiert, importe ou transfère dans une province participante un bien ou un service donné et si, à ce moment, une personne morale donnée est une personne morale exploitante de la personne mère, la personne mère est réputée, pour le calcul de son crédit de taxe sur les intrants, avoir acquis, importé ou transféré dans la province participante, selon le cas, le bien ou le service donné pour utilisation dans le cadre de ses activités commerciales dans la mesure où, selon le cas :
a)  la personne mère a acquis, importé ou transféré dans la province participante le bien ou le service donné afin :
(i)  soit qu'elle vende des unités ou des dettes de la personne morale donnée ou en dispose de toute autre façon ou qu'elle achète ou obtienne de toute autre façon ou détienne de telles unités ou dettes,
(ii)  soit que la personne morale donnée rachète, émette, convertisse ou modifie de toute autre façon des unités ou des dettes de la personne morale donnée;
b)  la personne mère a acquis, importé ou transféré dans la province participante le bien ou le service donné dans le but d'émettre ou de vendre ses unités ou ses dettes, où elle transfère à la personne morale donnée les produits de l'émission ou de la vente soit au moyen d'un prêt en argent à la personne morale donnée, soit en achetant ou en obtenant de toute autre façon de la personne morale donnée des unités ou des dettes de cette dernière, et où les produits qui sont transférés à la personne morale donnée le sont en vue d'une utilisation dans le cadre de ses activités commerciales;
c)  si, au moment donné, la totalité ou la presque totalité des biens de la personne mère sont des biens qu'elle a fabriqués, produits, acquis ou importés pour consommation, utilisation ou fourniture exclusivement dans le cadre de ses activités commerciales, des biens qui sont des unités ou des dettes de personnes morales exploitantes de la personne mère ou une combinaison de tels biens, la personne mère a acquis, importé ou transféré dans la province participante le bien ou le service donné dans le but d'exercer, de pratiquer ou de mener une activité de la personne mère autre que l'une des activités suivantes :
(i)  une activité qui vise principalement des unités ou des dettes d'une personne qui n'est ni la personne mère, ni une personne morale exploitante de cette dernière,
(ii)  une activité que la personne mère exerce, pratique ou mène dans le cadre de la réalisation d'une fourniture exonérée, sauf si l'activité constitue un service financier qui est, selon le cas :
(A)  le prêt ou l'emprunt d'unités ou de dettes d'une personne morale exploitante de la personne mère,
(B)  l'émission, l'octroi, l'attribution, l'acceptation, l'endossement, le renouvellement, le traitement, la modification, le transfert de propriété ou le remboursement d'unités ou de dettes de la personne mère ou d'une personne morale exploitante de cette dernière,
(C)  l'offre, la modification, la remise ou la réception d'une garantie, d'une acceptation ou d'une indemnité visant des unités ou des dettes de la personne mère ou d'une personne morale exploitante de cette dernière,
(D)  le paiement ou la réception d'argent à titre de dividendes, sauf les ristournes, d'intérêts, de principal ou d'avantages, ou tout paiement ou réception d'argent semblable, relativement à des unités ou à des dettes de la personne mère ou d'une personne morale exploitante de cette dernière,
(E)  la souscription d'unités ou de dettes d'une personne morale exploitante de la personne mère.
(3)  Les paragraphes 186(0.1) et (0.2) de la même loi, édictés par le paragraphe (2), sont remplacés par ce qui suit :
Définition de unité
186  (0.1)  Dans le présent article, unité s'entend :
a)  relativement à une personne morale, d'une action du capital-actions de la personne morale;
b)  relativement à une société de personnes, d'une participation d'une personne dans la société de personnes;
c)  relativement à une fiducie, d'une unité de la fiducie.
Personnes morales exploitantes
(0.2)  Pour l'application du présent article, une personne morale donnée est, à un moment donné, une personne morale exploitante d'une autre personne qui est une personne morale, une société de personnes ou une fiducie si, à ce moment, la totalité ou la presque totalité des biens de la personne morale donnée sont des biens qu'elle a fabriqués, produits, acquis ou importés la dernière fois pour consommation, utilisation ou fourniture par celle-ci exclusivement dans le cadre de ses activités commerciales, et si les conditions suivantes sont réunies :
a)  si l'autre personne est une personne morale ou une fiducie, la personne morale donnée est, au moment donné, liée à l'autre personne;
b)  si l'autre personne est une société de personnes, la personne morale donnée, au moment donné, est contrôlée par, selon le cas :
(i)  l'autre personne,
(ii)  une personne morale qui est contrôlée par l'autre personne,
(iii)  une personne morale qui est liée à une personne morale visée au sous-alinéa (ii),
(iv)  une combinaison des personnes décrites aux sous-alinéas (i) à (iii).
(4)  Le passage du paragraphe 186(1) de la même loi précédant l'alinéa a), édicté par le paragraphe (2), est remplacé par ce qui suit :
Crédit de taxe sur les intrants
(1)  À moins que le paragraphe (2) ne s'applique, si l'inscrit (appelé « personne mère » au présent paragraphe) qui est un résident du Canada et qui est une personne morale, une société de personnes ou une fiducie acquiert, importe ou transfère dans une province participante, à un moment donné, un bien ou un service donné et si, à ce moment, une personne morale donnée est une personne morale exploitante de la personne mère, la personne mère est réputée, pour le calcul de son crédit de taxe sur les intrants, avoir acquis, importé ou transféré dans la province participante, selon le cas, le bien ou le service donné pour utilisation dans le cadre de ses activités commerciales dans la mesure où :
  
(5)  L'alinéa 186(2)b) de la même loi est remplacé par ce qui suit :
b)  tout au long de la période commençant soit au début de l'exécution du service, soit au moment où l'acheteur, selon le cas, a acquis ou importé le bien, ou l'a transféré dans la province participante, et se terminant au dernier en date des jours visés à l'alinéa c), la totalité ou la presque totalité des biens de l'autre personne morale sont des biens fabriqués, produits, acquis ou importés la dernière fois pour consommation, utilisation ou fourniture exclusive dans le cadre d'activités commerciales,
(6)  Le paragraphe 186(3) de la même loi est remplacé par ce qui suit :
Actions détenues par des personnes morales
(3)  Pour l'application du présent article, dans le cas où, à un moment donné, la totalité ou la presque totalité des biens d'une personne morale sont des biens qu'elle a fabriqués, produits, acquis ou importés la dernière fois pour consommation, utilisation ou fourniture exclusive dans le cadre de ses activités commerciales, toutes les actions du capital-actions de la personne morale qui sont la propriété d'une autre personne morale qui lui est liée, ainsi que toutes les dettes qu'elle a envers cette autre personne morale, sont réputées être, à ce moment, des biens que l'autre personne morale a acquis pour utilisation exclusive dans le cadre de ses activités commerciales.
  
(7)  Le paragraphe 186(3) de la même loi, édicté par le paragraphe (6), est remplacé par ce qui suit :
Actions détenues par des personnes morales
(3)  Pour l'application du présent article, dans le cas où, à un moment donné, une personne morale est une personne morale exploitante d'une autre personne morale, toutes les unités de la personne morale qui sont la propriété de l'autre personne morale, ainsi que toutes les dettes de la personne morale envers l'autre personne morale, sont réputées être, à ce moment, des biens que l'autre personne morale a acquis pour utilisation exclusive dans le cadre de ses activités commerciales.
  
(8)  Les paragraphes (1) et (6) s'appliquent relativement aux biens ou services acquis, importés ou transférés dans une province participante avant le 28 juillet 2018 si la taxe relative à l'acquisition, à l'importation ou au transfert est devenue payable ou a été payée sans être devenue payable.
(9)  Les paragraphes (2) et (7) s'appliquent relativement aux biens ou services acquis, importés ou transférés dans une province participante après le 27 juillet 2018.
(10)  Le paragraphe 186(0.1) de la même loi, édicté par le paragraphe (3), est réputé être entré en vigueur le lendemain de la date de publication.
(11)  Le paragraphe 186(0.2) de la même loi, édicté par le paragraphe (3), et le paragraphe (4) s'appliquent relativement aux biens ou services acquis, importés ou transférés dans une province participante après la date de publication.
(12)  Le paragraphe (5) s'applique relativement aux biens ou services acquis, importés ou transférés dans une province participante si la taxe relative à l'acquisition, à l'importation ou au transfert est payable ou est payée sans être devenue payable.
4  (1)  L'alinéa 240(3)d) de la version française de la même loi est remplacé par ce qui suit :
d)  elle est une personne morale résidant au Canada qui est propriétaire d'actions du capital-actions, ou détentrice de créances, d'une autre personne morale qui lui est liée, ou qui acquiert, ou projette d'acquérir, la totalité ou la presque totalité des actions du capital-actions d'une autre personne morale, émises et en circulation et comportant plein droit de vote en toutes circonstances si la totalité ou la presque totalité des biens de l'autre personne morale sont, pour l'application de l'article 186, des biens que cette dernière a fabriqués, produits, acquis ou importés la dernière fois pour consommation, utilisation ou fourniture exclusive dans le cadre de ses activités commerciales;
(2)  Le passage de l'alinéa 240(3)d) de la version anglaise de la même loi suivant le sous-alinéa (ii) est remplacé par ce qui suit :
if all or substantially all of the property of the other corporation is, for the purposes of section 186, property that was last manufactured, produced, acquired or imported by the other corporation for consumption, use or supply exclusively in the course of its commercial activities;
(3)  L'alinéa 240(3)d) de la même loi, modifié par le paragraphe (1), est remplacé par ce qui suit :
d)  est résidente du Canada et est :
(i)  soit une personne morale donnée, une société de personnes ou une fiducie qui détient des unités (au sens de la définition au paragraphe 186(0.1)) ou des créances d'une autre personne morale qui est, pour l'application de l'article 186, une personne morale exploitante de la personne morale donnée, de la société de personnes ou de la fiducie,
(ii)  soit une personne morale qui acquiert, ou projette d'acquérir, la totalité ou la presque totalité des actions du capital-actions d'une autre personne morale, émises et en circulation et comportant plein droit de vote en toutes circonstances, si la totalité ou la presque totalité des biens de l'autre personne morale sont, pour l'application de l'article 186, des biens que cette dernière a fabriqués, produits, acquis ou importés la dernière fois pour consommation, utilisation ou fourniture exclusive dans le cadre de ses activités commerciales,
(4)  Les paragraphes (1) et (2) s'appliquent relativement aux demandes d'inscription pour l'application de la partie IX de la même loi présentées au plus tard à la date de publication.
(5)  Le paragraphe (3) est réputé être entré en vigueur le lendemain de la date de publication.
5  (1)  La définition de service de transport de marchandises, au paragraphe 1(1) de la partie VII de l'annexe VI de la Loi sur la taxe d'accise, est modifiée par adjonction, après l'alinéa a), de ce qui suit :
a.1)    un service de conduite d'un véhicule mû par un moteur, conçu ou aménagé pour circuler sur les voies publiques et dans les rues, en vue de le livrer à une destination quelconque;
(2)  Le passage de la définition de freight transportation service avant l'alinéa a), au paragraphe 1(1) de la partie VII de l'annexe VI de la version anglaise de la même loi, est remplacée par ce qui suit :
freight transportation service means a particular service of transporting tangible personal property including
(3)  Le passage de la définition de freight transportation service après l'alinéa b), au paragraphe 1(1) de la partie VII de l'annexe VI de la version anglaise de la même loi, est remplacée par ce qui suit :
but not including a service provided by the supplier of a passenger transportation service of transporting an individual's baggage in connection with the passenger transportation service;
(4)  Les paragraphes (1) à (3) sont réputés être entrés en vigueur le lendemain de la date de publication. Ils s'appliquent également relativement à toute fourniture effectuée au plus tard à la date de publication si le fournisseur n'a pas exigé, perçu ni versé de montant, au plus tard à cette date, au titre de la taxe prévue par la partie IX de la même loi relativement à la fourniture.