Archived - Explanatory Notes - Legislative Proposals – Income Tax

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

These notes are intended for information purposes only and should not be construed as an official interpretation of the provisions they describe.

Clause 1
CPP/QPP contributions on self-employed earnings and additional CPP contributions

ITA
60(e) and (e.1)

Section 60 of the Income Tax Act (ITA) provides for various deductions in computing income.

Paragraph 60(e) is amended to ensure, under subparagraph (i), the continuation of the deduction of one-half of a taxpayer's base contributions to the Canada Pension Plan (CPP) payable on the taxpayer's self-employed earnings for the year and to provide, under subparagraph (ii), a deduction for the first additional contributions and second additional contributions to the CPP payable on the taxpayer's self-employed earnings for the year.  Both the subparagraph 60(e)(i) and (ii) deductions are subject to applicable constraints based on the maximum of such contributions payable by the taxpayer for the year under the plan.  A tax credit continues to be available under section 118.7 for the other one-half of a taxpayer's base contributions to the CPP payable on the taxpayer's self-employed earnings for the year.

New paragraph 60(e.1) provides a deduction for the first additional contributions and second additional contributions to the CPP made in respect of a taxpayer's employment income other than self-employed earnings.  This deduction is subject to applicable constraints based on the maximum of such contributions payable by the taxpayer for the year under the plan.

These amendments come into force on January 1, 2019.

Clause 2
Annual adjustment

ITA
117.1(1)

Subsection 117.1(1) of the ITA provides for the indexing of various amounts in the ITA, based on annual increases to the Consumer Price Index.  Subsection 117.1(1) is amended to ensure that the amended amounts referred to in subsections 122.7(2) and (3) – which respectively relate to the "basic" Working Income Tax Benefit (WITB) and the WITB "disability supplement" – are indexed.  For more information, see the notes relating to section 122.7.

These amendments come into force on January 1, 2019.

Clause 3
Credit for EI and QPIP premiums and CPP contributions

ITA
118.7

Section 118.7 of the ITA provides the formula for calculating an individual's tax credit in respect of CPP/QPP contributions and employment insurance premiums.
Paragraph (b) of the description of B in section 118.7 is amended to maintain the existing tax credit for base contributions to the CPP in respect of employment income other than self-employed earnings.

These amendments come into force on January 1, 2019.

Clause 4
Working Income Tax Benefit

ITA
122.7(2) and (3)

Section 122.7 of the ITA provides the Working Income Tax Benefit ("WITB"), a refundable credit for low-income individuals and families, who have earnings from employment or self-employment ("working income").  Subsection 122.7(2) provides for the "basic" WITB, which generally is a refund of 25% of all working income over $3,000 up to a maximum benefit level.  Subsection 122.7(3) provides for the WITB "disability supplement", which generally is a refund of 25% of all working income over $1,150, up to a maximum supplement level.  To ensure that the WITB remains targeted to low-income individuals and families, the basic WITB and the WITB disability supplement are reduced by 15% of each dollar of income (combined with income of a spouse or common-law partner) exceeding certain thresholds. 

Certain amounts in the descriptions of A and B in subsection 122.7(2) are amended to increase the basic WITB refundable tax credit rate to 26% (up from 25%) of each dollar earned in excess of $3,000 (unchanged) up to a maximum amount.  The maximum credit amount is increased to an amount of $1,192 for single individuals and of $2,165 for families for 2019. The basic WITB is reduced by 14% (down from 15%) of net income above certain thresholds.

Certain amounts in the descriptions of C and D in subsection 122.7(3) are amended to increase the WITB disability supplement refundable tax credit rate to 26% (up from 25%).  The disability supplement is reduced, if the individual had a spouse or common-law partner who was not eligible to claim a disability tax credit, by 14% (down from 15%), or, if the individual had a spouse or common-law partner who was eligible to claim a disability tax credit, by 7% (down from 7.5%), of net income in excess of certain thresholds.  These thresholds are increased to an amount of $20,844 for single individuals and of $32,491 for families for 2019.

These amendments come into force on January 1, 2019.

Archivé - Notes explicatives - Propositions législatives – Impôt sur le revenu

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Les présentes notes explicatives ne sont publiées qu'à titre d'information et ne constituent pas l'interprétation officielle des dispositions qui y sont résumées.

Article 1
Cotisations au RPC/RRQ sur le revenu d'un travail indépendant et cotisations supplémentaires au RPC

LIR
60e) et e.1)

L'article 60 de la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu (LIR) énonce différentes déductions dans le calcul du revenu.

L'alinéa 60e) est modifié afin d'assurer, en vertu du sous-alinéa (i), le maintien de la déduction de la moitié des cotisations de base d'un contribuable au Régime de pensions du Canada (RPC) à verser relativement à ses gains provenant du travail qu'il exécute pour son propre compte pour l'année, et d'accorder, en vertu du sous-alinéa (ii), une déduction à l'égard des premières cotisations supplémentaires et des deuxièmes cotisations supplémentaires au  RPC à verser relativement aux gains du contribuable provenant du travail qu'il exécute pour son propre compte pour l'année. Les déductions prévues aux sous-alinéas 60e)(i) et (ii) sont toutes deux assujetties aux restrictions applicables selon le plafond de cotisations à verser par le contribuable pour l'année dans le cadre du régime. Un crédit d'impôt continue d'être accordé en vertu de l'article 118.7 de la LIR à l'égard de l'autre moitié des cotisations de base d'un contribuable au RPC à verser relativement aux gains provenant du travail qu'il exécute pour son propre compte pour l'année.

Le nouvel alinéa 60e.1) prévoit une déduction à l'égard des premières cotisations supplémentaires et des deuxièmes cotisations supplémentaires au RPC relativement au revenu d'emploi d'un contribuable autre que ses gains provenant du travail qu'il exécute pour son propre compte. Cette déduction est également assujettie aux restrictions applicables selon le plafond de ces cotisations à verser par le contribuable pour l'année dans le cadre du régime.

Ces modifications entrent en vigueur le 1er janvier 2019.

Article 2
Rajustement annuel

LIR
117.1(1)

Le paragraphe 117.1(1) de la LIR prévoit l'indexation de diverses sommes prévues dans la LIR en fonction des hausses annuelles de l'indice des prix à la consommation. Le paragraphe 117.1(1) est modifié afin d'assurer l'indexation des sommes modifiées qui sont mentionnées aux paragraphes 122.7(2) et (3) –  lesquels portent respectivement sur la prestation fiscale pour le revenu de travail (PFRT) « de base » et sur le « supplément pour personne handicapée » accordé au titre de la PFRT. Pour plus de renseignements, se reporter aux notes sur l'article 122.7.

Ces modifications entrent en vigueur le 1er janvier 2019.

Article 3
Crédit pour cotisations à l'A-E, au RQAP et au RPC

LIR
118.7

L'article 118.7 de la LIR prévoit la formule servant au calcul du crédit d'impôt auquel un particulier a droit au titre des cotisations versées au RPC/RQAP et à l'assurance-emploi.

L'alinéa b) de l'élément B de la formule figurant à l'article 118.7 est modifié pour maintenir le crédit d'impôt en vigueur à l'égard des cotisations de base au RPC relativement au revenu d'emploi d'un contribuable autre que ses gains provenant d'un travail qu'il exécute pour son propre compte.

Ces modifications entrent en vigueur le 1er janvier 2019.

Article 4
Prestation fiscale pour le revenu de travail

LIR
122.7(2) et (3)

L'article 122.7 de la LIR accorde la prestation fiscale pour le revenu de travail (PFRT), un crédit remboursable pour les particuliers et familles à faible revenu qui touchent un revenu d'emploi ou de travail indépendant (« revenu de travail »). Le paragraphe 122.7(2) prévoit la PFRT « de base », qui consiste généralement en un remboursement de 25 % de la totalité du revenu de travail qui est supérieur à 3 000 $, jusqu'à concurrence d'une prestation maximale. Le paragraphe 122.7(3) prévoit le « supplément pour personne handicapée » au titre de la PFRT, qui consiste généralement en un remboursement de 25 % de la totalité du revenu de travail qui dépasse 1 150 $, jusqu'à concurrence d'un supplément maximal. Pour faire en sorte que la PFRT continue de cibler les particuliers et familles à faible revenu, la PFRT de base et le supplément pour personne handicapée au titre de la PFRT sont réduits de 15 % de chaque dollar de revenu (combiné à celui d'un époux ou conjoint de fait) au-delà de certains seuils.

Certaines sommes prévues aux éléments A et B de la formule figurant au paragraphe 122.7(2) sont modifiées afin d'augmenter le crédit d'impôt remboursable relatif à la PFRT de base, qui passe à 26 % (de 25 %) de chaque dollar gagné en sus de 3 000 $ (seuil inchangé), jusqu'à concurrence d'une somme maximale. Le plafond du crédit est augmenté pour s'établir à 1 192 $ pour les particuliers seuls et à 2 165 $ pour les familles pour 2019. La PFRT de base est réduite de 14 % (anciennement de 15 %) de la tranche de revenu net qui dépasse certains seuils.

Certaines sommes prévues aux éléments C et D de la formule figurant au paragraphe 122.7(3) sont modifiées afin d'augmenter le taux du crédit d'impôt remboursable relatif au supplément pour personne handicapée au titre de la PFRT, qui passe à 26 % (de 25 %). Le supplément pour personne handicapée est réduit, si le particulier avait un époux ou conjoint de fait qui ne pouvait pas demander de crédit d'impôt pour personne handicapée, de 14 % (anciennement de 15 %), ou, si le particulier avait un époux ou conjoint de fait qui pouvait demander un crédit d'impôt pour personne handicapée, de 7 % (anciennement de 7,5 %), du revenu net qui dépasse certains seuils. Ces seuils sont haussés pour passer à 20 844 $ pour les particuliers seuls et à 32 491 $ pour les familles pour 2019.

Ces modifications entrent en vigueur le 1er janvier 2019.