Archived - Notice of Ways and Means Motion to amend the Income Tax Act

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

That it is expedient to amend the Income Tax Act as follows:
1  (1)  Paragraph 60(e) of the Income Tax Act is replaced by the following:
CPP/QPP contributions on self-employed earnings
(e)  the total of
(i)  1/2 of the lesser of
(A)  the total of all amounts each of which is an amount payable by the taxpayer in respect of self-employed earnings for the year as a contribution under subsection 10(1) of the Canada Pension Plan or as a like contribution under a provincial pension plan, as defined in section 3 of that Act, and
(B)  the maximum amount of such contributions payable by the taxpayer for the year under the plan, and
(ii)  the lesser of
(A)  the total of all amounts each of which is an amount payable by the taxpayer in respect of self-employed earnings for the year as a contribution under subsection 10(1.1) or (1.2) of the Canada Pension Plan, and
(B)  the maximum amount of such contributions payable by the taxpayer for the year under the plan;
Enhanced CPP contributions
(e.1)  the lesser of
(i)  the total of all amounts each of which is an amount payable by the taxpayer for the year as an employee's contribution under subsection 8(1.1) or (1.2) of the Canada Pension Plan, and
(ii)  the maximum amount of such contributions payable by the taxpayer for the year under the plan;
(2)  Subsection (1) comes into force on January 1, 2019.
2  (1)  The portion of subsection 117.1(1) of the Act before paragraph (a) is replaced by the following:
Annual adjustment
117.1  (1)  The amount of $1,000 referred to in the formula in paragraph 8(1)(s), each of the amounts expressed in dollars in subparagraph 6(1)(b)(v.1), subsection 117(2), the description of B in subsection 118(1), subsection 118(2), paragraph (a) of the description of B in subsection 118(10), subsection 118.01(2), the descriptions of C and F in subsection 118.2(1) and subsections 118.3(1), 122.5(3) and 122.51(1) and (2), the amount of $400,000 referred to in the formula in paragraph 110.6(2)(a), the amounts of $1,192 and $2,165 referred to in the description of A, and the amounts of $10,500 and $14,500 referred to in the description of B, in the formula in subsection 122.7(2), the amount of $462.50 referred to in the description of C, and the amounts of $20,844 and $32,491 referred to in the description of D, in the formula in subsection 122.7(3), and each of the amounts expressed in dollars in Part I.2 in relation to tax payable under this Part or Part I.2 for a taxation year shall be adjusted so that the amount to be used under those provisions for the year is the total of
(2)  Subsection (1) applies to the 2019 and subsequent taxation years, except that the adjustment provided for in subsection 117.1(1) of the Act, as amended by subsection (1), does not apply for the 2019 taxation year in respect of the amounts of $1,192, $2,165, $20,844 and $32,491.
3  (1)  Paragraph (b) of the description of B in section 118.7 of the Act is replaced by the following:
(b)  the total of all amounts each of which is an amount payable by the individual for the year as an employee's contribution under subsection 8(1) of the Canada Pension Plan or as a like contribution under a provincial pension plan, as defined in section 3 of that Act, not exceeding the maximum amount of such contributions payable by the individual for the year under the plan, and
(2)  Subsection (1) comes into force on January 1, 2019.
4  (1)  The descriptions of A and B in subsection 122.7(2) of the Act are replaced by the following:
A is
(a)  if the individual had neither an eligible spouse nor an eligible dependant, for the taxation year, the lesser of $1,192 and 26% of the amount, if any, by which the individual's working income for the taxation year exceeds $3,000, or
(b)  if the individual had an eligible spouse or an eligible dependant, for the taxation year, the lesser of $2,165 and 26% of the amount, if any, by which the total of the working incomes of the individual and, if applicable, of the eligible spouse, for the taxation year, exceeds $3,000; and
B is
(a)  if the individual had neither an eligible spouse nor an eligible dependant, for the taxation year, 14% of the amount, if any, by which the adjusted net income of the individual for the taxation year exceeds $10,500, or
(b)  if the individual had an eligible spouse or an eligible dependant, for the taxation year, 14% of the amount, if any, by which the total of the adjusted net incomes of the individual and, if applicable, of the eligible spouse, for the taxation year, exceeds $14,500.
(2)  The descriptions of C and D in subsection 122.7(3) of the Act are replaced by the following:
C is the lesser of $462.50 and 26% of the amount, if any, by which the individual's working income for the taxation year exceeds $1,150; and
D is
(a)  if the individual had neither an eligible spouse nor an eligible dependant, for the taxation year, 14% of the amount, if any, by which the individual's adjusted net income for the taxation year exceeds $20,844,
(b)  if the individual had an eligible spouse for the taxation year who was not entitled to deduct an amount under subsection 118.3(1) for the taxation year, or had an eligible dependant for the taxation year, 14% of the amount, if any, by which the total of the adjusted net incomes of the individual and, if applicable, of the eligible spouse, for the taxation year, exceeds $32,491, or
(c)  if the individual had an eligible spouse for the taxation year who was entitled to deduct an amount under subsection 118.3(1) for the taxation year, 7% of the amount, if any, by which the total of the adjusted net incomes of the individual and of the eligible spouse, for the taxation year, exceeds $32,491.
(3)  Subsections (1) and (2) come into force on January 1, 2019.

Archivé - Avis de motion de voies et moyens en vue de modifier la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Il y a lieu de modifier la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu, comme suit :
1  (1)  L'alinéa 60e) de la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu est remplacé par ce qui suit :
Cotisations au RPC/RRQ sur le revenu d'un travail indépendant
e)  le total des sommes suivantes :
(i)  la moitié de la moins élevée des sommes suivantes :
(A)  le total des sommes représentant chacune une somme à payer pour l'année par le contribuable, sur les gains provenant d'un travail qu'il exécute pour son propre compte, à titre de cotisation en application du paragraphe 10(1) du Régime de pensions du Canada ou à titre de semblable cotisation en application d'un régime provincial de pensions, au sens de l'article 3 de cette loi,
(B)  le maximum à payer à ce titre par le contribuable pour l'année en application du régime,
(ii)  la moins élevée des sommes suivantes :
(A)  le total des sommes représentant chacune une somme à payer pour l'année par le contribuable, sur les gains provenant d'un travail qu'il exécute pour son propre compte, à titre de cotisation en application des paragraphes 10(1.1) ou (1.2) du Régime de pensions du Canada,
(B)  le maximum à payer à ce titre par le contribuable pour l'année en application du régime;
Cotisations bonifiées au RPC
e.1)  la moins élevée des sommes suivantes :
(i)  le total des sommes représentant chacune une somme à payer par le contribuable pour l'année à titre de cotisation d'employé en application des paragraphes 8(1.1) ou (1.2) du Régime de pensions du Canada,
(ii)  le maximum à payer à ce titre par le contribuable pour l'année en application du régime;
(2)  Le paragraphe (1) entre en vigueur le 1er janvier 2019.
2  (1)  Le passage du paragraphe 117.1(1) de la même loi précédant la formule est remplacé par ce qui suit :
Rajustement annuel
117.1  (1)  La somme de 1 000 $ de la formule figurant à l'alinéa 8(1)s), chacune des sommes exprimées en dollars visées au sous-alinéa 6(1)b)(v.1), au paragraphe 117(2), aux alinéas 118(1)a) à e), au paragraphe 118(2), à l'alinéa a) de l'élément B de la formule figurant au paragraphe 118(10), au paragraphe 118.01(2), aux éléments C et F de la formule figurant au paragraphe 118.2(1) et aux paragraphes 118.3(1), 122.5(3) et 122.51(1) et (2), la somme de 400 000 $ visée à la formule figurant à l'alinéa 110.6(2)a), les sommes de 1 192 $ et de 2 165 $ visées à l'élément A de la formule figurant au paragraphe 122.7(2), les sommes de 10 500 $ et de 14 500 $ visées à l'élément B de cette formule, la somme de 462,50 $ visée à l'élément C de la formule figurant au paragraphe 122.7(3), les sommes de 20 844 $ et de 32 491 $ visées à l'élément D de cette formule et chacune des sommes exprimées en dollars visées par la partie I.2 relativement à l'impôt à payer en vertu de la présente partie ou de la partie I.2 pour une année d'imposition sont rajustées de façon que la somme applicable à l'année soit égale au total de la somme applicable — compte non tenu du paragraphe (3) — à l'année d'imposition précédente et du produit de cette dernière somme par le montant — rajusté de la manière prévue par règlement et arrêté à la troisième décimale, les résultats ayant au moins cinq en quatrième décimale étant arrondis à la troisième décimale supérieure — obtenu par la formule suivante :
(2)  Le paragraphe (1) s'applique aux années d'imposition 2019 et suivantes. Toutefois, le rajustement prévu au paragraphe 117.1(1) de la même loi, modifié par le paragraphe (1), ne s'applique pas à l'année d'imposition 2019 relativement aux sommes de 1 192 $, de 2 165 $, de 20 844 $ et de 32 491 $.
3  (1)  L'alinéa b) de l'élément B de la formule figurant à l'article 118.7 de la même loi est remplacé par ce qui suit :
b)  le total des sommes représentant chacune une somme à payer par le particulier pour l'année à titre de cotisation d'employé en application du paragraphe 8(1) du Régime de pensions du Canada ou à titre de semblable cotisation en application d'un régime provincial de pensions, au sens de l'article 3 de cette loi, jusqu'à concurrence du maximum à payer par lui à ce titre pour l'année en application du régime,
(2)  Le paragraphe (1) entre en vigueur le 1er janvier 2019.
4  (1)  Les éléments A et B de la formule figurant au paragraphe 122.7(2) de la même loi sont remplacés par ce qui suit :
A représente :
a)  si le particulier n'avait pas de conjoint admissible ni de personne à charge admissible pour l'année, 26 % de l'excédent, sur 3 000 $, de son revenu de travail pour l'année, jusqu'à concurrence de 1 192 $,
b)  si le particulier avait un conjoint admissible ou une personne à charge admissible pour l'année, 26 % de l'excédent, sur 3 000 $, du total des revenus de travail pour l'année du particulier et, le cas échéant, de son conjoint admissible, jusqu'à concurrence de 2 165 $;
B :
a)  si le particulier n'avait pas de conjoint admissible ni de personne à charge admissible pour l'année, 14 % de l'excédent, sur 10 500 $, de son revenu net rajusté pour l'année,
b)  si le particulier avait un conjoint admissible ou une personne à charge admissible pour l'année, 14 % de l'excédent, sur 14 500 $, du total des revenus nets rajustés pour l'année du particulier et, le cas échéant, de son conjoint admissible.
(2)  Les éléments C et D de la formule figurant au paragraphe 122.7(3) de la même loi sont remplacés par ce qui suit :
C représente 26 % de l'excédent, sur 1 150 $, de son revenu de travail pour l'année, jusqu'à concurrence de 462,50 $;
D :
a)  si le particulier n'avait pas de conjoint admissible ni de personne à charge admissible pour l'année, 14 % de l'excédent, sur 20 844 $, de son revenu net rajusté pour l'année,
b)  si le particulier avait un conjoint admissible pour l'année qui n'avait pas droit à la déduction prévue au paragraphe 118.3(1) pour l'année, ou s'il avait une personne à charge admissible pour l'année, 14 % de l'excédent, sur 32 491 $, du total des revenus nets rajustés pour l'année du particulier et, le cas échéant, de son conjoint admissible,
c)  si le particulier avait un conjoint admissible pour l'année qui avait droit à la déduction prévue au paragraphe 118.3(1) pour l'année, 7 % de l'excédent, sur 32 491 $, du total des revenus nets rajustés pour l'année du particulier et, le cas échéant, de son conjoint admissible.
(3)  Les paragraphes (1) et (2) entrent en vigueur le 1er janvier 2019.