Archived - Legislative Proposals Relating to the Excise Tax Act

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

1. (1) Section 1 of Part V.1 of Schedule V to the Excise Tax Act is amended by striking out "or" at the end of paragraph (m), by adding "or" at the end of paragraph (n) and by adding the following after paragraph (n):

(oa parking space if

(i) the supply is made for consideration by way of lease, licence or similar arrangement in the course of a business carried on by the charity,

(ii) at the time the supply is made, it is reasonable to expect that the specified parking area (as defined in section 1 of Part VI) in relation to the supply will be used, during the calendar year in which the supply is made, primarily by individuals who are accessing a property of, or a facility or establishment operated by, a particular person that is a municipality, a school authority, a hospital authority, a public college or a university, and

(iii) any of the following conditions is met:

(A) under the governing documents of the charity, the charity is expected to use a significant part of its income or assets for the benefit of one or more of the particular persons referred to in subparagraph (ii),

(B) the charity and any particular person referred to in subparagraph (ii) have entered into one or more agreements with each other or with other persons in respect of the use by the individuals referred to in subparagraph (ii) of parking spaces in the specified parking area (as defined in section 1 of Part VI) in relation to the supply, or

(C) any particular person referred to in subparagraph (ii) performs any function or activity in respect of supplies by the charity of parking spaces in the specified parking area (as defined in section 1 of Part VI) in relation to the supply.

(2) Subsection (1) applies to any supply made after March 21, 2013, except that a supply of a parking space made by a charity after that day and on or before Announcement Date is only included in paragraph (o) of section 1 of Part V.1 of Schedule V to the Act, as enacted by subsection (1), if it also meets the following conditions:

(athe parking space is situated at a particular property for which, at the time the supply is made, it is reasonable to expect that the parking spaces at the particular property will be used, during the calendar year in which the supply is made, primarily by individuals who are accessing a property of, or a facility or establishment operated by, a particular person that is a municipality, a school authority, a hospital authority, a public college or a university; and

(bany of the following conditions is met:

(i) under the governing documents of the charity, the charity is expected to use a significant part of its income or assets for the benefit of one or more of the particular persons referred to in paragraph (a),

(ii) the charity and any particular person referred to in paragraph (a) have entered into one or more agreements with each other or with other persons in respect of the use of the parking spaces at the particular property by the individuals referred to in that paragraph, or

(iii) any particular person referred to in paragraph (a) performs any function or activity in respect of the supplies by the charity of parking spaces at the particular property.

2. (1) Section 5 of Part V.1 of Schedule V to the Act is replaced by the following:

5. A supply made by a charity of any property or service if all or substantially all of the supplies of the property or service by the charity are made for no consideration, but not including a supply of

(a)  blood or blood derivatives; or

(ba parking space if the supply is made for consideration by way of lease, licence or similar arrangement in the course of a business carried on by the charity.

(2) Subsection (1) applies to any supply made after March 21, 2013.

3. (1) Part V.1 of Schedule V to the Act is amended by adding the following after section 6:

7. A supply (other than a supply by way of sale) of a parking space in a parking lot made by a charity if

(aat the time the supply is made, either

(i) all of the parking spaces in the specified parking area (as defined in section 1 of Part VI) in relation to the supply are reserved for use by individuals who are accessing a public hospital, or

(ii) it is reasonable to expect that the specified parking area (as defined in section 1 of Part VI) in relation to the supply will be used, during the calendar year in which the supply is made, primarily by individuals who are accessing a public hospital;

(bit is not the case that

(i) all or substantially all of the parking spaces in the specified parking area (as defined in section 1 of Part VI) in relation to the supply are reserved for use by persons other than individuals accessing a public hospital otherwise than in a professional capacity,

(ii) the supply or the amount of the consideration for the supply is conditional on the parking space being used by a person other than an individual accessing a public hospital otherwise than in a professional capacity, or

(iii) the agreement for the supply is entered into in advance and, under the terms of the agreement for the supply, use of a parking space in the specified parking area (as defined in section 1 of Part VI) in relation to the supply is made available for a total period of time that is more than twenty-four hours and the use is to be by a person other than an individual accessing a public hospital otherwise than in a professional capacity; and

(cno election made by the charity under section 211 of the Act is in effect, in respect of the property on which the parking space is situated, at the time tax would become payable under Part IX of the Act in respect of the supply if it were a taxable supply.

(2) Subsection (1) applies to any supply made after March 21, 2013.

(3) If a charity collected an amount as or on account of tax under Part IX of the Act in respect of a supply of a parking space made by the charity after March 21, 2013 and on or before Announcement Date and, by reason of the application of subsection (1), no tax was collectible by the charity in respect of the supply, then for the purpose of determining the net tax of the charity, the amount is deemed not to have been collected as or on account of tax under Part IX of the Act.

(4) If an amount is deemed not to have been collected by a person as or on account of tax under subsection (3) and that amount was taken into consideration in assessing the net tax of the person under section 296 of the Act for a reporting period of the person, the person is entitled until the day that is one year after the day on which this Act receives royal assent to request in writing that the Minister of National Revenue make an assessment, reassessment or additional assessment for the purpose of taking into account that the amount is deemed not to have been collected by the person as or on account of tax and, on receipt of the request, the Minister must with all due dispatch

(aconsider the request; and

(bunder section 296 of the Act assess, reassess or make an additional assessment of the net tax of the person for any reporting period of the person and of any interest, penalty or other obligation of the person, but only to the extent that the assessment, reassessment or additional assessment may reasonably be regarded as relating to the amount.

4. (1) Section 1 of Part VI of Schedule V to the Act is amended by adding the following in alphabetical order:

"specified parking area" in relation to a supply of a parking space means all of the parking spaces that could be chosen for use in parking under the agreement for the supply of the parking space if all of those parking spaces were vacant and none were reserved for specific users.

(2) Subsection (1) is deemed to have come into force on March 21, 2013.

5. (1) Part VI of Schedule V to the Act is amended by adding the following after section 25:

25.1 A supply (other than a supply by way of sale) of a parking space in a parking lot made by a public sector body if

(aat the time the supply is made, either

(i) all of the parking spaces in the specified parking area in relation to the supply are reserved for use by individuals who are accessing a public hospital, or

(ii) it is reasonable to expect that the specified parking area in relation to the supply will be used, during the calendar year in which the supply is made, primarily by individuals who are accessing a public hospital;

(bit is not the case that

(i) all or substantially all of the parking spaces in the specified parking area in relation to the supply are reserved for use by persons other than individuals accessing a public hospital otherwise than in a professional capacity,

(ii) the supply or the amount of the consideration for the supply is conditional on the parking space being used by a person other than an individual accessing a public hospital otherwise than in a professional capacity, or

(iii) the agreement for the supply is entered into in advance and, under the terms of the agreement for the supply, use of a parking space in the specified parking area in relation to the supply is made available for a total period of time that is more than twenty-four hours and the use is to be by a person other than an individual accessing a public hospital otherwise than in a professional capacity; and

(cno election made by the public sector body under section 211 of the Act is in effect, in respect of the property on which the parking space is situated, at the time tax would become payable under Part IX of the Act in respect of the supply if it were a taxable supply.

(2) Subsection (1) applies to any supply made after Announcement Date.

Archivé - Propositions législatives relatives à la Loi sur la taxe d'accise

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

1. (1) L'article 1 de la partie V.1 de l'annexe V de la Loi sur la taxe d'accise est modifié par adjonction, après l'alinéa n), de ce qui suit :

ola fourniture d'une aire de stationnement si, à la fois :

(i) la fourniture est effectuée pour une contrepartie par bail, licence ou accord semblable dans le cadre d'une entreprise exploitée par l'organisme de bienfaisance,

(ii) au moment où la fourniture est effectuée, il est raisonnable de s'attendre à ce que la zone de stationnement déterminée, au sens de l'article 1 de la partie VI, relative à la fourniture soit utilisée principalement, au cours de l'année civile dans laquelle la fourniture est effectuée, par des particuliers qui se rendent à un bien d'une personne donnée — municipalité, administration scolaire, administration hospitalière, collège public ou université — ou à un établissement exploité par cette personne,

(iii) au moins une des conditions ci-après est remplie :

(A) d'après les statuts régissant l'organisme de bienfaisance, celui-ci utilisera vraisemblablement une partie appréciable de son revenu ou de ses actifs au profit d'une ou de plusieurs des personnes données visées au sous-alinéa (ii),

(B) l'organisme de bienfaisance et une personne donnée visée au sous-alinéa (ii) ont conclu, entre eux ou avec d'autres personnes, un ou plusieurs accords relatifs à l'utilisation par les particuliers visés à ce sous-alinéa d'aires de stationnement situées dans la zone de stationnement déterminée, au sens de l'article 1 de la partie VI, relative à la fourniture,

(C) une personne donnée visée au sous-alinéa (ii) accomplit des fonctions, ou exerce des activités, relatives aux fournitures par l'organisme de bienfaisance d'aires de stationnement situées dans la zone de stationnement déterminée, au sens de l'article 1 de la partie VI, relative à la fourniture.

(2) Le paragraphe (1) s'applique aux fournitures effectuées après le 21 mars 2013. Toutefois, la fourniture d'une aire de stationnement effectuée par un organisme de bienfaisance après cette date et au plus tard à la date de publication n'est incluse à l'alinéa o) de l'article 1 de la partie V.1 de l'annexe V de la même loi, édicté par le paragraphe (1), que si elle remplit également les conditions suivantes :

al'aire de stationnement est située dans un bien donné à l'égard duquel il est raisonnable de s'attendre, au moment où la fourniture est effectuée, à ce que les aires de stationnement qui y sont situées soient utilisées principalement, au cours de l'année civile dans laquelle la fourniture est effectuée, par des particuliers qui se rendent à un bien d'une personne donnée — municipalité, administration scolaire, administration hospitalière, collège public ou université — ou à un établissement exploité par cette personne;

bau moins une des conditions ci-après est remplie :

(i) d'après les statuts régissant l'organisme de bienfaisance, celui-ci utilisera vraisemblablement une partie appréciable de son revenu ou de ses actifs au profit d'une ou de plusieurs des personnes données visées à l'alinéa a),

(ii) l'organisme de bienfaisance et une personne donnée visée à l'alinéa a) ont conclu, entre eux ou avec d'autres personnes, un ou plusieurs accords relatifs à l'utilisation des aires de stationnement situées dans le bien donné par les particuliers visés à cet alinéa,

(iii) une personne donnée visée à l'alinéa a) accomplit des fonctions, ou exerce des activités, relatives aux fournitures par l'organisme de bienfaisance d'aires de stationnement situées dans le bien donné.

2. (1) L'article 5 de la partie V.1 de l'annexe V de la même loi est remplacé par ce qui suit :

5. La fourniture par un organisme de bienfaisance de biens ou de services, si la totalité ou la presque totalité de ces fournitures sont effectuées sans contrepartie, à l'exclusion des fournitures suivantes  :

a)  les fournitures de sang ou de dérivés du sang;

bles fournitures d'aires de stationnement effectuées pour une contrepartie par bail, licence ou accord semblable dans le cadre d'une entreprise exploitée par l'organisme de bienfaisance.

(2) Le paragraphe (1) s'applique aux fournitures effectuées après le 21 mars 2013.

3. (1) La partie V.1 de l'annexe V de la même loi est modifiée par adjonction, après l'article 6, de ce qui suit :

7. La fourniture (sauf la fourniture par vente) d'une aire de stationnement située dans un parc de stationnement, effectuée par un organisme de bienfaisance si, à la fois :

aau moment où la fourniture est effectuée, l'un ou l'autre des énoncés ci-après se vérifie :

(i) l'ensemble des aires de stationnement situées dans la zone de stationnement déterminée, au sens de l'article 1 de la partie VI, relative à la fourniture sont réservées à l'usage de particuliers qui se rendent à un hôpital public,

(ii) il est raisonnable de s'attendre à ce que la zone de stationnement déterminée, au sens de l'article 1 de la partie VI, relative à la fourniture soit utilisée principalement, au cours de l'année civile dans laquelle la fourniture est effectuée, par des particuliers qui se rendent à un hôpital public;

bil ne s'avère pas :

(i) que la totalité ou la presque totalité des aires de stationnement situées dans la zone de stationnement déterminée, au sens de l'article 1 de la partie VI, relative à la fourniture sont réservées à l'usage de personnes autres que des particuliers qui se rendent à un hôpital public autrement qu'à titre professionnel,

(ii) que la fourniture ou le montant de la contrepartie de la fourniture est conditionnel à l'utilisation de l'aire de stationnement par une personne autre qu'un particulier qui se rend à un hôpital public autrement qu'à titre professionnel,

(iii) que la convention portant sur la fourniture est conclue à l'avance, que, selon les modalités de cette convention, l'utilisation d'une aire de stationnement située dans la zone de stationnement déterminée, au sens de l'article 1 de la partie VI, relative à la fourniture est permise pour une durée totale de plus de vingt-quatre heures et que cette utilisation doit être faite par une personne autre qu'un particulier qui se rend à un hôpital public autrement qu'à titre professionnel;

caucun choix fait par l'organisme de bienfaisance selon l'article 211 de la Loi n'est en vigueur, relativement au bien dans lequel l'aire de stationnement est située, au moment où la taxe prévue à la partie IX de la Loi deviendrait payable relativement à la fourniture si celle-ci était une fourniture taxable.

(2) Le paragraphe (1) s'applique aux fournitures effectuées après le 21 mars 2013.

(3) Si un montant au titre de la taxe prévue à la partie IX de la même loi a été perçu par un organisme de bienfaisance relativement à la fourniture d'une aire de stationnement qu'il a effectuée après le 21 mars 2013 et au plus tard à la date de publication alors qu'aucune taxe n'était percevable par lui relativement à la fourniture en raison de l'application du paragraphe (1), pour le calcul de la taxe nette de l'organisme, le montant est réputé ne pas avoir été perçu au titre de la taxe prévue à la partie IX de la même loi.

(4) Si un montant est réputé, en vertu du paragraphe (3), ne pas avoir été perçu par une personne au titre de la taxe et que ce montant a été pris en compte lors de l'établissement d'une cotisation concernant la taxe nette de la personne en vertu de l'article 296 de la même loi pour une de ses périodes de déclaration, la personne, au plus tard un an après la date de sanction de la présente loi, peut demander par écrit au ministre du Revenu national d'établir une cotisation, une nouvelle cotisation ou une cotisation supplémentaire pour tenir compte du fait que le montant est réputé ne pas avoir été perçu par elle au titre de la taxe. Sur réception de la demande, le ministre, avec diligence :

aexamine la demande;

bétablit, en vertu de l'article 296 de la Loi sur la taxe d'accise , une cotisation, une nouvelle cotisation ou une cotisation supplémentaire concernant la taxe nette de la personne pour toute période de déclaration de celle-ci, et les intérêts, pénalités ou autres obligations de la personne, mais seulement dans la mesure où il est raisonnable de considérer que la cotisation a trait au montant.

4. (1) L'article 1 de la partie VI de l'annexe V de la même loi est modifié par adjonction, selon l'ordre alphabétique, de ce qui suit :

« zone de stationnement déterminée » Relativement à la fourniture d'une aire de stationnement, l'ensemble des aires de stationnement qui pourraient être choisies pour le stationnement selon la convention portant sur la fourniture de l'aire de stationnement si l'ensemble de ces aires de stationnement étaient inoccupées et qu'aucune d'elles n'était réservée à des utilisateurs particuliers.

(2) Le paragraphe (1) est réputé être entré en vigueur le 21 mars 2013.

5. (1) La partie VI de l'annexe V de la même loi est modifiée par adjonction, après l'article 25, de ce qui suit :

25.1 La fourniture (sauf la fourniture par vente) d'une aire de stationnement située dans un parc de stationnement, effectuée par un organisme du secteur public si, à la fois :

aau moment où la fourniture est effectuée, l'un ou l'autre des énoncés ci-après se vérifie :

(i) l'ensemble des aires de stationnement situées dans la zone de stationnement déterminée relative à la fourniture sont réservées à l'usage de particuliers qui se rendent à un hôpital public,

(ii) il est raisonnable de s'attendre à ce que la zone de stationnement déterminée relative à la fourniture soit utilisée principalement, au cours de l'année civile dans laquelle la fourniture est effectuée, par des particuliers qui se rendent à un hôpital public;

bil ne s'avère pas :

(i) que la totalité ou la presque totalité des aires de stationnement situées dans la zone de stationnement déterminée relative à la fourniture sont réservées à l'usage de personnes autres que des particuliers qui se rendent à un hôpital public autrement qu'à titre professionnel,

(ii) que la fourniture ou le montant de la contrepartie de la fourniture est conditionnel à l'utilisation de l'aire de stationnement par une personne autre qu'un particulier qui se rend à un hôpital public autrement qu'à titre professionnel,

(iii) que la convention portant sur la fourniture est conclue à l'avance, que, selon les modalités de cette convention, l'utilisation d'une aire de stationnement située dans la zone de stationnement déterminée relative à la fourniture est permise pour une durée totale de plus de vingt-quatre heures et que cette utilisation doit être faite par une personne autre qu'un particulier qui se rend à un hôpital public autrement qu'à titre professionnel;

caucun choix fait par l'organisme du secteur public selon l'article 211 de la Loi n'est en vigueur, relativement au bien dans lequel l'aire de stationnement est située, au moment où la taxe prévue à la partie IX de la Loi deviendrait payable relativement à la fourniture si celle-ci était une fourniture taxable.

(2) Le paragraphe (1) s'applique aux fournitures effectuées après la date de publication.