Summary of Consultations on P&C Demutualization Framework

Budget 2011 announced the Government's plan to introduce a framework to allow federal mutual property and casualty (P&C) companies to demutualize, following the expressions of interest of some P&C companies to convert to share companies. On June 30, 2011, the Government launched a 30-day public consultation process to give all interested parties an opportunity to provide input on this important issue. More than 80 submissions were received from a wide range of stakeholders (federal mutual P&C companies, policyholders and employees, industry associations, insurance brokers, accountants, actuaries, the cooperative sector and many other interested individuals).

Summary of Responses to Consultation Questions

1) Policy objectives

The consultation paper sought views on the appropriate policy objectives for the demutualization of P&C companies, referencing the four objectives that support the life insurance company demutualization framework: a) providing fair and equitable treatment to policyholders; b) maintaining safety and soundness; c) fostering a competitive and efficient sector; and, d) establishing an orderly and transparent process. Stakeholders generally recommended the same objectives for a P&C framework, although differences arose in how the objectives should be reflected in the process for P&C demutualization.

2) Process for Demutualization

Views were sought on the appropriate process for demutualizing in the P&C context. Regulations are required under the Insurance Companies Act to set the terms and conditions of demutualization, including to establish which policyholders are eligible to vote on demutualization and to receive benefits, and the apportionment of benefits.

On the right to vote, each of the four dual policyholder companies—in which some policyholders are mutual policyholders (i.e., have insurance policies with voting rights attached) and others are not—recommended that only mutual policyholders be given a right to vote on demutualization. This view was generally shared by responding mutual policyholders from these companies. Other respondents recommended that the right to vote on demutualization be extended to all policyholders.

On the right to receive benefits, views were also divided, with two of the four dual policyholder companies and responding mutual policyholders in general recommending that benefits be distributed only to mutual policyholders. The other mutual companies and other stakeholders generally held the opposite view and recommended that all policyholders share in the benefits. Some stakeholders went further, recommending that benefits be distributed to the mutual sector or to charity.

On the apportionment of benefits, some stakeholders recommended that the framework give discretion in apportioning benefits to reflect the unique circumstances of each case, allowing companies to take into account factors such as premiums paid, contributions to surplus and the type of insurance policy. Others were concerned that stakeholders could challenge a company's method of allocation and recommended that the framework provide less flexibility and prescribe the manner of apportionment.

3) Impacts of Demutualization

The consultation paper sought views on the impacts that demutualization could have on the P&C sector, and whether these needed to be addressed and how. Some stakeholders felt that demutualization would increase competitiveness, such as by providing companies with access to equity to grow their businesses. Others regarded demutualization as being driven by the prospect of windfall gains rather than being in the company's or mutual sector's long-term interests. Concerns were expressed that demutualization could lead to consolidation, reduce competition, access to services, and weaken ties to the rural communities in which most mutual companies are based.

4) Number of Mutual Policyholders in Some Mutual Companies

Independent from the demutualization issue, views were sought on how companies with a dual policyholder structure can ensure that they continue to have an effective governance structure, and whether measures need to be taken to increase the number of mutual policyholders. This question solicited a range of views, principally from the mutual companies.

Some companies were of the view that a small mutual policyholder base did not impact the effective governance of their company. Other companies indicated that relatively few policyholders participate at annual meetings, and recommended that steps be taken to increase awareness of governance rights. Others recommended that dual policyholder companies be required to extend voting rights to policyholders who have been with the company for a five year period or to have a minimum percentage of mutual policyholders.

Résumé des consultations au sujet d'un cadre pour la démutualisation des sociétés d'assurances multirisques fédérales

Dans le budget de 2011, le gouvernement a annoncé son intention d'instaurer un cadre permettant aux sociétés mutuelles d'assurances multirisques sous réglementation fédérale de se démutualiser, après que certaines sociétés d'assurances multirisques eurent manifesté un intérêt pour se transformer en sociétés par actions. Le 30 juin 2011, le gouvernement a lancé un processus de consultation publique de 30 jours afin que toutes les parties intéressées puissent formuler des commentaires sur cette importante question. Plus de 80 observations ont été reçues de la part d'un vaste éventail d'intervenants (des sociétés mutuelles d'assurances multirisques sous réglementation fédérale, des souscripteurs et des employés, des associations industrielles, des courtiers d'assurance, des comptables, des actuaires, des représentants du secteur coopératif, ainsi que beaucoup d'autres personnes intéressées).

Résumé des réponses aux questions de consultation

1) Objectifs de politique publique

Le document de consultation a demandé des avis concernant la pertinence des objectifs de politique pour la démutualisation des sociétés d'assurances multirisques, en renvoyant aux quatre objectifs qui sous-tendent le cadre de la démutualisation des sociétés d'assurances-vie : a) garantir un traitement juste et équitable aux souscripteurs; b) maintenir la santé financière; c) renforcer l'efficience et la concurrence; d) instaurer un processus ordonné et transparent. Les intervenants ont généralement recommandé les mêmes objectifs pour le cadre visant les sociétés d'assurances multirisques, bien que des différences soient apparues dans la façon dont les objectifs devraient être pris en compte dans le processus de démutualisation des sociétés d'assurances multirisques.

2) Processus de démutualisation

On a demandé des avis au sujet du processus approprié de démutualisation dans le contexte des sociétés d'assurances multirisques. Des mesures règlementaires doivent être prises en vertu de la Loi sur les sociétés d'assurances pour établir les modalités de la démutualisation, notamment en ce qui concerne quels souscripteurs sont admissibles à voter sur le projet de démutualisation et à recevoir des avantages ainsi que l'attribution des avantages.

En ce qui a trait au droit de vote, les quatre sociétés à deux catégories de souscripteurs – dans lesquelles certains souscripteurs sont des souscripteurs de polices mutuelles d'assurance (c.-à-d., ont des polices d'assurance avec droits de vote) et d'autres ne le sont pas – ont recommandé que seuls les souscripteurs de polices mutuelles d'assurance se voient accorder le droit de voter sur le projet de démutualisation. Cet avis était généralement partagé par les répondants qui étaient des souscripteurs de polices mutuelles d'assurance de ces sociétés. D'autres répondants ont recommandé que le droit de voter sur le projet de démutualisation soit accordé à tous les souscripteurs.

En ce qui concerne le droit de recevoir des avantages, les avis divergeaient également, deux des quatre sociétés à deux catégories de souscripteurs et les souscripteurs de polices mutuelles d'assurance en général ayant recommandé que les avantages soient attribués aux souscripteurs de polices mutuelles d'assurance uniquement. Les autres sociétés à deux catégories de souscripteurs et les autres souscripteurs en général ont exprimé l'avis opposé et recommandé que tous les souscripteurs se partagent les avantages. Certains intervenants sont allés plus loin en recommandant que les avantages soient distribués au secteur des mutuelles ou à des organismes de bienfaisance.

En ce qui concerne l'attribution des avantages, certains intervenants ont recommandé que le cadre donne la liberté d'attribuer les avantages en tenant compte des circonstances particulières de chaque cas, en permettant aux sociétés de prendre en considération des facteurs tels que les primes versées, les contributions aux excédents et le type de police d'assurance. D'autres s'inquiétaient du fait que des intervenants puissent s'opposer à la méthode adoptée par une société pour attribuer les avantages, et ils ont recommandé que le cadre donne une moins grande liberté et prescrive la méthode d'attribution.

3) Répercussions de la démutualisation

Le document de consultation a demandé des avis concernant les répercussions que pourrait avoir la démutualisation sur le secteur des sociétés d'assurances multirisques, et s'il fallait adopter des mesures face à celles-ci, et lesquelles. Certains intervenants avaient l'impression que la démutualisation ferait en sorte d'améliorer la compétitivité, par exemple en permettant aux sociétés d'accéder à des fonds propres pour accroître leurs activités commerciales. D'autres ont plutôt estimé que la démutualisation était motivée par des possibilités de gains inattendus, au lieu d'être effectuée dans l'intérêt à long terme de la société ou du secteur des mutuelles. Certains intervenants s'inquiétaient du fait que la démutualisation puisse mener à une consolidation, réduirait la compétitivité et l'accès aux services et affaiblirait les liens avec les collectivités rurales, où se trouvent la plupart des sociétés mutuelles.

4) Nombre de souscripteurs de polices mutuelles d'assurance dans certaines sociétés mutuelles

Indépendamment de la question de la démutualisation, on a demandé des avis sur la façon dont les sociétés à deux catégories de souscripteurs peuvent s'assurer de maintenir une structure de gouvernance efficace et si se serait convenable de prendre des mesures pour augmenter le nombre de souscripteurs de polices mutuelles d'assurance. Cette question a donné lieu à un large éventail de points de vue, principalement de la part des sociétés mutuelles.

Certaines sociétés étaient d'avis qu'un petit nombre de souscripteurs de polices mutuelles d'assurance n'avait pas d'incidence sur la gouvernance efficace de l'entreprise. D'autres sociétés ont mentionné qu'un nombre relativement faible de souscripteurs participaient aux réunions annuelles et ont recommandé la prise de mesures pour accroître la sensibilisation à l'égard des droits de gouvernance. D'autres enfin ont recommandé que les sociétés mutuelles soient tenues d'allouer des droits de vote aux souscripteurs qui sont avec la société depuis cinq ans, ou d'avoir un pourcentage minimal de souscripteurs de polices mutuelles d'assurance.