Finance portfolio and partners


Minister of Finance has statutory responsibility


  • Canadian International Trade Tribunal (CITT)
  • Canadian Securities Regulation Regime Transition Office (CSTO)
  • Financial Consumer Agency of Canada (FCAC)
  • Financial Transactions and Reports Analysis Centre of Canada (FINTRAC)
  • Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions (OSFI)

Crown corporations

  • Bank of Canada
  • Canada Deposit Insurance Corporation (CDIC)
  • Canada Development Investment Corporation (CDEV)
  • Canada Pension Plan Investment Board (CPPIB)
  • Royal Canadian Mint

Minister of Finance has some statutory responsibility

Crown corporations

  • Business Development Bank of Canada (BDC)
  • Canada Infrastructure Bank (CIB)
  • Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation (CMHC)
  • Canadian Commercial Corporation (CCC)
  • Development Finance Institute Canada (FinDev Canada)
  • Export Development Canada (EDC)
  • Farm Credit Canada (FCC)

Other organizations

  • Office of the Auditor General of Canada (OAG)
  • Payments Canada

Other non-statutory obligations

  • Canada Foundation for Innovation (CFI)
  • Genome Canada
  • Green Municipal Fund (GMF)
  • Harbourfront Centre Funding Program (HCFP)
  • Toronto Waterfront Revitalization Initiative (TWRI)


Provincial and territorial finance departments

  • Alberta: Ministry of Treasury Board and Finance
  • British Columbia: Ministry of Finance
  • Manitoba: Department of Finance
  • New Brunswick: Department of Finance
  • Newfoundland and Labrador: Department of Finance
  • Northwest Territories: Department of Finance
  • Nova Scotia: Department of Finance and Treasury Board
  • Nunavut: Department of Finance
  • Ontario: Ministry of Finance
  • Prince Edward Island: Department of Finance
  • Quebec: ministère des Finances
  • Saskatchewan: Ministry of Finance
  • Yukon: Department of Finance

International groups and organizations


  • Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC)
  • Commonwealth Finance Ministers Meeting (CFMM)
  • Finance Ministers of the Americas and the Caribbean
  • La Francophonie Finance Ministers Meeting
  • Group of Twenty (G20)
  • Group of Seven (G7)


  • Asian Infrastructure Investment Bank (AIIB)
  • European Bank for Reconstruction and Development (EBRD)
  • Financial Action Task Force (FATF)
  • Financial Action Task Force-Style Regional Bodies (FSRBs)
  • Financial Stability Board (FSB)
  • Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD)
  • The Paris Club
  • International Monetary Fund (IMF)
  • World Bank Group (WBG)
  • World Trade Organization (WTO)