Measures for Steel and Aluminum Businesses

In response to the tariffs on Canadian steel and aluminum imposed by the United States, the Government of Canada stood up for our country's steel and aluminum workers, industries, and communities by imposing countermeasures (surtaxes) against imports of steel, aluminum, and other products from the United States, to encourage the full removal of the United States tariffs.

Canada stood firm and did not back down until the tariff removal was agreed on May 17, 2019. As part of that understanding, the United States and Canada removed their tariffs and countermeasures on May 20, 2019.

Relief from Surtaxes on Imports from the United States

Remission Order

On October 11, 2018, our Government put in place the United States Surtax Remission Order (Order) in order to address certain challenges for Canadian manufacturers that rely on steel and aluminum imported from the United States. The Order was amended on December 17, 2018 and April 15, 2019 to expand its scope of application.

Remission of surtaxes has been granted for certain steel and aluminum products imported from the United States that have been determined to be in short supply in Canada. The eligible products for remission of surtaxes based on short supply conditions are listed in Schedules 1 and 2 of the Order. Any importer of the eligible products can make a claim to the Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) for the refund the surtaxes. Information on making claims for remission is provided in Customs Notice 18-16 of the CBSA.

Information on relief provided on a company-specific basis, due to contractual obligations or exceptional circumstances, can be found in Schedule 3 of the Order.

Information on remission of surtaxes for imports of other goods can be found in Schedule 4 of the Order.

With the end of Canada's countermeasures as of May 20, 2019, the Government is no longer accepting requests from the remission of surtaxes. Requests for remission that were submitted prior to the repeal of Canada's countermeasures on May 20, 2019 will be assessed with a view to make further amendments to the Order, where applicable.

Contact information
1-800-461-9999 (CBSA Border Information Service)
Additional resources

Duty Drawback Program

Other than remission of surtaxes under the Order, refunds may be available under the existing duty drawback program administered by the CBSA.

  • The Drawback Program allows for the refund of surtaxes paid on imported goods from the United States if the goods are re-exported either in the same condition or after using, consuming or expending them to process other goods.
Contact information
Contact your local CBSA office

 

Safeguards on Certain Steel Imports

In October 2018, the Government imposed provisional safeguards for 200 days on imports of heavy plate, concrete reinforcing bar (rebar), energy tubular products, hot-rolled sheet, pre-painted steel, stainless steel wire and wire rod. Concurrently, the Government asked the Canadian International Trade Tribunal (CITT) to conduct an inquiry to determine if longer-term final safeguards are warranted and, if so, to recommend appropriate remedies to the Government.

The CITT issued its report on April 3, 2019, finding that final safeguards are warranted for imports of heavy plate and stainless steel wire.

End of Provisional Safeguards on Certain Steel Goods

In accordance with Canadian law, provisional safeguards on imports of rebar, energy tubular products, hot-rolled sheet, pre-painted steel and wire rod ceased to have effect 200 days after the Order in Council imposing the measure was made. Accordingly, provisional safeguard surtax will not be assessed on imports made on or after April 29, 2019 and importers are no longer required to obtain shipment-specific import permits from Global Affairs Canada (GAC).

The Government is refunding the provisional safeguard surtaxes paid on imports of rebar, energy tubular products, hot-rolled sheet, pre-painted steel and wire rod. As well, refunds will be provided of provisional safeguard surtaxes paid on imports of heavy plate and stainless steel wire originating in Colombia, Korea, Panama and Peru. Refunds of provisional safeguard surtaxes will be processed automatically by the CBSA.

Contact information
1-800-461-9999 (CBSA Border Information Service)
Additional resources

Final Safeguards on Heavy Plate and Stainless Steel Wire

On April 26, 2019, the Government of Canada announced its intention to impose final safeguards on imports of heavy plate and stainless steel wire.  These final safeguards came into force on May 13, 2019 and will remain in place until October 2021. The final safeguards are applied in the form of tariff-rate quotas (TRQ), whereby a surtax only applies to imports without a shipment-specific import permit or that exceed the TRQ. The applicable TRQ volumes and surtax rates in a given period of the final safeguards are set out in CBSA Customs Notice 19-08.

The surtax-free quota is administered by Global Affairs Canada (GAC) through shipment-specific import permits. For a shipment to be imported free of the safeguard surtax, importers must present a valid shipment-specific import permit to the CBSA at the time of final accounting. Information regarding GAC's administration of the final safeguards TRQ, including allocation and the procedures for obtaining shipment-specific import permits, can be found in Notice to Importers No. 945.

Contact information
343-203-6820 or steel-acier@international.gc.ca (GAC Steel Controls Unit)
Additional resources

The Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) is responsible for enforcing the final safeguards in accordance with Customs Notice 19-08.

Contact information
1-800-461-9999 (CBSA Border Information Service)
Additional resources

Canadian International Trade Tribunal (CITT) Exclusions Inquiries

At the request of the Government, the CITT will conduct inquiries regarding exclusion requests concerning certain heavy plate and stainless steel wire. If the CITT determines that there is no domestic source of supply or firm and commercially viable plan to produce goods for which an exclusion has been requested, the CITT may recommend to the Government that such goods be excluded from the final safeguards. These exclusions inquiries will be initiated at regular intervals for the duration of the final safeguards.

Contact information
613-993-3595 or citt-tcce@tribunal.gc.ca (CITT)
Additional Resources

 

Support for Businesses

Business Development Bank of Canada (BDC)

The Business Development Bank of Canada has made up to $800 million in commercial financing available over the next two years for eligible small and medium-sized businesses. This financing could help companies expand into new markets, increase operational and environmental efficiency, or purchase new technology and equipment.

Contact information
If you are already a BDC client, please contact your BDC representative.
If you are not yet a client and wish to discuss your financing or advisory needs, please contact BDC at 1-877-232-2269 or write to info@bdc.ca.
Additional Resources

Export Development Canada (EDC)

Export Development Canada has made up to $900 million available over the next two years in commercial financing and insurance to companies in the steel and aluminum sectors and related industries including SMEs. EDC solutions are available to companies looking for support to enable execution on established business plans, to free up working capital, or to insure payment.

Contact information
1-888-220-0047 or tradeadvisor-conseiller@edc.ca
Additional Resources

Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada (ISED)

The Government has made up to $250 million available in new funding for targeted assistance as part of the Strategic Innovation Fund managed by ISED. These funds will support companies that choose to make investments in innovation, and capital expenditures including: new equipment, production and process technologies; and workforce training and upskilling related to these new technologies and processes.

Contact information
Additional Resources

The Regional Economic Growth through Innovation Steel and Aluminum Initiative has made available $100 million in support to Canadian small- and medium-sized steel and aluminum manufacturers and users for investments in innovative projects that will enhance productivity and/or competitiveness. The regional development agencies are implementing this program.

Contact information
Atlantic Canada Opportunities Agency: ACOA.information.APECA@canada.ca
Canada Economic Development for Quebec Regions: dec.pme-sme.ced@canada.ca
Canadian Northern Economic Development Agency:
CanNor.InfoNorth.InfoNord.CanNor@canada.ca

FedDev Ontario: FDO.FedDevOntario.FDO@canada.ca
FedNor Ontatio: ic.fednoroutreach-sensibilisationcommunautairefednor.ic@canada.ca
Western Economic Diversification Canada: WD.contactus-contactez-nous.DEO@canada.ca
Additional Resources

Trade Commissioner Service at Global Affairs Canada

Global Affairs Canada stands ready to assist entrepreneurs in exploring new and longer-term market diversification opportunities. In addition, $50 million over five years in new support will be provided to help Canadian companies diversify their exports to take advantage of new trade agreements, such as CETA and CPTPP.

Contact information

 

Support for Workers

In order to help employers avoid layoffs and retain skilled workers, as a temporary measure, our Government has extended the maximum duration of Work-Sharing agreements from 38 to 76 weeks. The mandatory cooling off period has also been waived so that employers with a recently expired agreement may immediately apply for a new agreement, without waiting between applications.

Contact information
1-800-367-5693 (Service Canada)
Additional Resources

Mesures pour les entreprises de l'acier et de l'aluminium

En réponse aux tarifs imposés par les États-Unis sur l'acier et l'aluminium canadiens, le gouvernement du Canada a défendu les travailleurs, les industries et les collectivités de l'acier et de l'aluminium de notre pays en imposant des contre-mesures (surtaxes) à l'égard des importations d'acier, d'aluminium et d'autres produits en provenance des États-Unis, afin d'encourager la suppression complète des tarifs américains.

Le Canada est resté ferme et n'a pas reculé jusqu'à ce que l'élimination des tarifs soit convenue le 17 mai 2019. Dans le cadre de cette entente, les États-Unis et le Canada ont éliminé leurs tarifs et leurs contre-mesures le 20 mai 2019.

Allègement des surtaxes sur les importations provenant des États-Unis

Demande de remise

Le 11 octobre 2018, notre gouvernement a mis en place le Décret de remise de la surtaxe des États-Unis (Décret) pour répondre à certaines difficultés rencontrées par les fabricants canadiens qui dépendent de l'acier et de l'aluminium importés des États-Unis. Le Décret a été modifié le 17 décembre 2018 et le 15 avril 2019 afin d'élargir sa portée d'application.

Une remise des surtaxes est accordée pour certains produits d'acier et d'aluminium importés des États-Unis qui ont été jugés comme étant en pénurie au Canada. Les produits admissibles à la remise des surtaxes en raison de conditions de pénurie sont énumérés dans les annexes 1 et 2 du Décret. Tout importateur de produits admissibles peut faire une demande à l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC) pour le remboursement des surtaxes. Des renseignements sur le processus pour faire des demandes de remise auprès de l'ASFC sont fournis dans l'Avis des douanes 18-16 de l'ASFC.

Les renseignements concernant l'allègement accordé à des entreprises spécifiques en raison d'obligations contractuelles ou de circonstances exceptionnelles se trouvent dans l'annexe 3 du Décret.

Les renseignements concernant la remise de la surtaxe à l'égard d'importations d'autres marchandises se trouvent dans l'annexe 4 du Décret.

Avec la fin des contre-mesures du Canada en date du 20 mai 2019, le gouvernement n'accepte plus les demandes de remise des surtaxes. Les demandes de remise présentées avant l'élimination des contre-mesures du Canada le 20 mai 2019 seront évaluées en vue d'apporter d'autres modifications au Décret, le cas échéant.

Pour renseignements
1-800-461-9999 (Service d'information sur la frontière de l'ASFC)
Ressources

Programmes de drawback des droits

Outre la remise des surtaxes en vertu du Décret, les remboursements peuvent être disponibles en vertu du programme existant de drawback des droits gérés par l'ASFC.

  • Le Programme de drawback des droits permet le remboursement des surtaxes payées sur les marchandises importées des États-Unis, si les marchandises sont réexportées dans le même état ou après avoir été utilisées ou transformées pour le traitement d'autres produits.
Pour renseignements
Communiquez avec votre bureau local de l'ASFC

 

Mesures de sauvegarde canadiennes sur certaines importations d'acier

En octobre 2018, le gouvernement a imposé des mesures de sauvegarde provisoires pendant 200 jours sur les importations de tôles lourdes, de barres d'armature pour béton, de produits tubulaires pour le secteur de l'énergie, de tôles minces laminées à chaud, d'acier prépeint, de fils d'acier inoxydable et de fils machine. Parallèlement, le gouvernement a demandé au Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur (TCCE) de mener une enquête pour déterminer si des mesures de sauvegarde définitives à plus long terme sont justifiées et, le cas échéant, de recommander des mesures de redressement appropriées au gouvernement.

Le TCCE a publié son rapport le 3 avril 2019, dans lequel il a conclu que les mesures de sauvegarde définitives sont justifiées pour les importations de tôles lourdes et de fils d'acier inoxydable.

Fin des mesures de sauvegarde provisoires sur certains produits en acier

Conformément au droit canadien, les mesures de sauvegarde provisoires sur les importations de barres d'armature, de produits tubulaires pour le secteur de l'énergie, de tôles minces laminées à chaud, d'acier prépeint et de fils machine ont pris fin 200 jours après l'imposition du Décret. Par conséquent, la surtaxe liée aux mesures provisoires de sauvegarde ne sera pas imposée pour les importations faites le 29 avril 2019 ou après cette date, et les importateurs ne sont plus tenus d'obtenir des licences d'importation spécifiques à l'expédition émises par Affaires mondiales Canada (AMC).

Le gouvernement du Canada a entamé un processus de remboursement des surtaxes liées aux mesures provisoires qui ont été payées sur les importations de barres d'armature, de produits tubulaires pour le secteur de l'énergie, de tôles minces laminées à chaud, d'acier prépeint et de fils machine. De plus, des remboursements des surtaxes liées aux mesures provisoires qui ont été payées sur les importations de tôles lourdes et de fils en acier inoxydable originaires de la Colombie, de la Corée, du Panama et du Pérou seront accordés. Les remboursements des surtaxes liées aux mesures de sauvegarde provisoires seront traités automatiquement par l'ASFC.

Pour renseignements
1-800-461-9999 (Service d'information sur la frontière de l'ASFC)
Ressources

Mesures de sauvegarde définitives sur les tôles lourdes et les fils en acier inoxydable

Le 26 avril 2019, le gouvernement du Canada a annoncé son intention d'imposer des mesures de sauvegarde définitives sur les importations de tôles lourdes et de fils en acier inoxydable. Ces mesures de sauvegarde définitives sont entrées en vigueur le 13 mai 2019 et le demeureront jusqu'en octobre 2021. Les mesures de sauvegarde définitives sont appliquées sous la forme d'un contingent tarifaire en vertu duquel une surtaxe ne s'applique qu'aux importations sans licence  d'importation spécifique à l'expédition ou qui dépassent le contingent tarifaire. Les volumes et les taux de surtaxe applicables au contingent tarifaire au cours d'une période donnée relativement aux mesures de sauvegarde définitives sont énoncés dans l'Avis des douanes 19-08 de l'ASFC.

Affaires mondiales Canada (AMC) est responsable de l'administration des contingents de produits importés non assujettis à la surtaxe, au moyen de la délivrance de licences d'importation spécifiques à l'expédition. Pour qu'une expédition soit exempte de la surtaxe, les importateurs doivent présenter à l'ASFC une licence d'importation spécifique à l'expédition valide au moment de la déclaration en détail. Les renseignements concernant l'administration par AMC du contingent tarifaire appliqué dans le cadre des mesures de sauvegarde définitives, y compris l'allocation et les procédures d'obtention de licences d'importation spécifiques à l'expédition, se trouvent dans l'Avis aux importateurs no 945.

Pour renseignements
343-203-6820 ou steel-acier@international.gc.ca (Unité des contrôles sur l'acier d'AMC)
Ressources

L'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC) est responsable de la mise en application des mesures de sauvegarde définitives, conformément à l'Avis des douanes 19-08.

Pour renseignements
1-800-461-9999 (Service d'information sur la frontière de l'ASFC)
Ressources

Enquête du Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur (TCCE) sur les exclusions

À la demande du gouvernement, le TCCE mènera une enquête sur les demandes d'exclusion concernant certaines tôles lourdes et certains fils en acier inoxydable. Si le TCCE détermine qu'il n'y a pas de source nationale d'approvisionnement ou de plan ferme et commercialement viable pour produire des marchandises pour lesquelles une exclusion a été demandée, il pourra recommander au gouvernement que ces marchandises soient exclues des mesures de sauvegarde définitives. Ces enquêtes sur les exclusions seront entreprises à des intervalles réguliers pendant la durée des mesures de sauvegarde définitives.

Pour renseignements
613-993-3595 ou citt-tcce@tribunal.gc.ca (TCCE)
Ressources

 

Appui aux entreprises

Banque de développement du Canada (BDC)

La Banque de développement du Canada a mis à la disposition des petites et moyennes entreprises (PME) admissibles des secteurs de l'acier et de l'aluminium une enveloppe de financement commercial pouvant atteindre 800 millions de dollars sur deux ans. Ce soutien vise à aider les entreprises à prendre de l'expansion sur de nouveaux marchés, à accroître leur efficacité opérationnelle et environnementale ou à acheter de nouvelles technologies et de nouveaux équipements.

Pour renseignements
Si vous êtes déjà un client de BDC, veuillez joindre votre représentant(e).
Si vous n'êtes pas déjà un client de BDC, mais que vous souhaitez discuter de vos besoins en matière de financement ou de services-conseils, veuillez communiquer avec BDC au 1-877-232-2269 ou à info@bdc.ca.
Ressources

Exportation et développement Canada (EDC)

Exportation et développement Canada a mis à la disposition des entreprises des industries de l'acier et de l'aluminium et des industries connexes, y compris les PME, jusqu'à 900 millions de dollars en financement commercial et en assurances. Les solutions d'EDC sont offertes aux entreprises qui cherchent un soutien pour concrétiser les plans d'affaires établis, pour libérer des fonds de roulement ou pour effectuer des paiements.

Pour renseignements
1-888-220-0047 ou tradeadvisor-conseiller@edc.ca
Ressources

Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada (ISDE)

Le gouvernement a accordé jusqu'à 250 millions de dollars en fonds nouveaux pour la prestation d'une aide ciblée dans le cadre du Fonds stratégique pour l'innovation géré par ISDE. Ces fonds appuieront les entreprises qui choisissent d'investir dans l'innovation et les dépenses en immobilisations, ce qui comprend : de nouveaux équipements et de nouvelles technologies de production et de traitement; et la formation et le perfectionnement de la main-d'œuvre en lien avec ces nouvelles technologies et ces nouveaux processus.

Pour renseignements
Ressources

L'initiative de croissance économique régionale par l'innovation dans l'acier et l'aluminium fournira 100 millions de dollars en soutien aux PME canadiennes qui fabriquent ou utilisent de l'acier ou de l'aluminium. Ce soutien sera accordé pour des investissements dans des projets novateurs qui amélioreront la productivité et/ou la compétitivité des PME. Les agences de développement régional seront responsables de la mise en œuvre de ce programme.

Pour renseignements
Agence de promotion économique du Canada Atlantique : ACOA.information.APECA@canada.ca
Développement économique Canada pour les régions du Québec : dec.pme-sme.ced@canada.ca
Agence canadienne de développement économique du Nord : CanNor.InfoNorth.InfoNord.CanNor@canada.ca
FedDev Ontario : FDO.FedDevOntario.FDO@canada.ca
FedNor Ontario : ic.fednoroutreach-sensibilisationcommunautairefednor.ic@canada.ca
Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest du Canada : WD.contactus-contactez-nous.DEO@canada.ca
Ressources

Service des délégués commerciaux d'Affaires mondiales Canada

Affaires mondiales Canada est prêt à aider les entrepreneurs à examiner de nouvelles possibilités de diversification des marchés à long terme. De plus, un nouveau soutien de 50 millions de dollars sur cinq ans sera offert aux entreprises canadiennes pour les aider à diversifier leurs exportations afin qu'elles puissent tirer parti des nouveaux accords commerciaux comme l'AECG et le PTPGP.

Pour renseignements

 

Appui aux travailleurs

Afin d'aider les employeurs à éviter les mises à pied et à conserver les travailleurs qualifiés, notre gouvernement a prolongé la durée maximale des accords de travail partagé, qui passera de 38 à 76 semaines. La période d'attente obligatoire a également été éliminée, de sorte que les employeurs peuvent dorénavant demander immédiatement un nouvel accord lorsque l'accord précédent vient à échéance.

Pour renseignements
1-800-367-5693 (Service Canada)
Ressources