Memorandum of Understanding Between the Parliamentary Budget Officer and the Department of Finance

In relation to requests for departmental assistance in costing election campaign proposals during the 2019 general election period

In Consideration of the Following:

THAT the Parliamentary Budget Officer (PBO) is mandated by section 79.21 of the Parliament of Canada Act (the “Act”) to estimate the financial cost of election campaign proposals at the request of certain persons defined in the Act during the period before a federal election defined in subsection 79.21(2) of the Act (the “defined period”);

THAT, in accordance with subsection 79.21(5) of the Act, the PBO may make a request to the Minister of Finance (the “Minister”) for the assistance of the Department of Finance (the “Department”) in preparing these estimates;

THAT if the PBO makes a request for assistance and the Minister agrees, the Deputy Minister of Finance (the “Deputy Minister”) may, pursuant to subsection 79.21(7) of the Act, make such arrangements as the Deputy Minister considers necessary respecting the terms under which the Department’s assistance will be provided;

THAT, by virtue of subsection 79.4(1) of the Act, the PBO is entitled, by request made to the head of the Department, to free and timely access to any information under the control of the Department that is required for performance of the PBO’s mandate;

THAT the PBO may, in carrying out the work of the office of the PBO, enter into contracts, memoranda of understanding or other arrangements under subsection 79.11(2) of the Act;

AND THAT it is expedient to set out in a Memorandum of Understanding the arrangements and terms under which the assistance of the Department, if requested by the PBO and agreed by the Minister, will be provided to the PBO during the 2019 general election period;

THEREFORE the Deputy Minister and the PBO agree as follows:

Application

  1. This Memorandum of Understanding applies only to requests for the Department’s assistance made by the PBO under section 79.21 of the Act and requests for information made under subsection 79.4 of the Act during the defined period preceding the 43rd federal general election, which is required to take place on or before October 21, 2019.
    1. 1.1 This Memorandum of Understanding takes effect on the first day of the defined period provided that the Minister has agreed to a PBO request for the Department’s assistance under subsection 79.21(5) of the Act.

Requests for Assistance and Information

  1. The PBO will submit a request by e-mail to the Deputy Minister for the specific assistance required from the Department as described in clause 4.
  2. The PBO will not submit a request for assistance under clause 2 less than 10 business days before the date of the general election.
  3. The PBO may request the following assistance under clause 2:
    1. Preparation of an estimate: The PBO may ask the Department to use its own methods and models to prepare an estimate of the financial cost of a campaign proposal (or some part thereof) on the PBO’s behalf, even if doing so requires the use of information that the PBO is not entitled to access under section 79.4 of the Act. Where information that the PBO is not entitled to access under section 79.4 of the Act is used in the preparation of a cost estimate, the Department will ensure that such information is not disclosed to, or discoverable by, the PBO.
      Further, if the Department requires information held by another department in order to prepare an estimate on behalf of the PBO, the Department will obtain the information under subsection 79.21(10) of the Act if the PBO has confirmed that the minister who presides over the other department has also agreed to provide assistance under subsection 79.21(5); and
    2. Advice or review: The PBO may ask the Department to provide advice regarding the specification of a model developed by the PBO, including assumptions, or to review an estimate prepared by the PBO.
  4. If the PBO requires information under the control of the Department in order to prepare a cost estimate of a campaign proposal, the PBO will request access to the information in accordance with subsection 79.4 of the Act.
    1. 5.1 The PBO will address a request under clause 5 to the Deputy Minister if informed by the Department that the Minister has delegated his function under subsection 79.4(1) of the Act to the Deputy Minister for the defined period.
    2. 5.2 The Deputy Minister, in relation to a request under clause 5, will not inform the Minister that a request was made, the nature of the information requested by the PBO, the nature of the information provided by the Department in response to the request, or any written justification for refusing to provide access to information under section 79.41 of the Act.
    3. 5.3 The timelines set out in clauses 3 and 7 to 7.3 apply to information requests under clause 5.
  5. Where the PBO makes a request for assistance under clause 2, the PBO will provide the Department with the original wording of the description of the election campaign proposal for which an estimate has been requested, including relevant details and objectives, as well as any additional information subsequently provided by the person who requested the estimate.
    1. 6.1 The Department may request that the PBO obtain additional information from the person who requested the estimate if such information is necessary for the provision of the estimate, in which case the PBO will seek to obtain the additional information and provide it to the Department in the shortest time possible.
  6. Within 2 business days of receiving a request for assistance under clause 2, the Department will advise the PBO in writing as to whether, and within what timeframe, the Department can provide the requested assistance unless the assistance relates to a complex campaign proposal and the PBO has agreed to a longer period.
    1. 7.1 If the requested assistance cannot reasonably be provided, the Department will provide the PBO with a written statement of the reasons why the request cannot be completed.
    2. 7.2 If the Department is not the appropriate federal department to provide the specific assistance requested, it will so inform the PBO. The PBO will be responsible for identifying the appropriate alternative department from which to request the assistance.
    3. 7.3 The Department shall provide the requested assistance within 10 business days unless the assistance relates to a complex campaign proposal and the PBO has agreed to a longer period.
  7. If the PBO makes a request to the Department for the assistance described in clause 4(a), the PBO will not request the same assistance in respect of the same campaign proposal (or part thereof) from any other department unless the proposal would require the oversight of another department.
  8. If the PBO requests the assistance described in clause 4(b) from the Department as well as from one or more other departments in respect of the same campaign proposal (or part thereof), the PBO will be responsible for compiling the assistance obtained from departments.
  9. In providing its response to a request for assistance made under clause 2, the Department will inform the PBO of any knock-on effects and implementation considerations involved in the estimate.
  10. The Department will provide the PBO with assistance requested under clause 2 without charge, unless the PBO consents in advance to the Department incurring third-party costs in the provision of the assistance and the Department incurs such costs, in which case the third-party costs will be recovered from the PBO.
  11. The PBO will inform the Department on a timely basis if a request is withdrawn by the person who requested the estimate or if the PBO discontinues work on an estimate.

Dispute Resolution

  1. Officials of the PBO and the Department will attempt to resolve any disputes collaboratively and promptly. If they are unable to do so, the dispute will be referred to the PBO and the Deputy Minister for resolution.

Disclosure

  1. Where the PBO requests and receives assistance from the Department under clause 2, the PBO will not, during the defined period, disclose to any person the fact that assistance was requested from the Department or the nature of the assistance requested and provided.
    1. 14.1 Nothing in clause 14 shall be construed as preventing the PBO from making a notification under subsection 79.21(15) or a statement under subsection 79.21(16) of the Act.
  2. Where the PBO makes a request under clause 2 and the Department provides the requested assistance, the Deputy Minister will for the purposes of section 79.5 of the Act, inform the PBO in writing if he or she does not consent to disclosure of any information provided by the Department in its response to the request for assistance.
  3. The Department will not, whether within or after the defined period, disclose any information referred to in subsection 79.21(9) to any member of the Queen’s Privy Council for Canada or their staff.

Responsibility for Estimates:

  1. Any estimates of campaign proposals prepared by the Department at the request of the PBO or prepared by the PBO with the assistance of the Department under this Memorandum of Understanding that are included in a report provided to a person by the PBO under subsection 79.21(12) of the Act or made public under subsection 79.21(14) of the Act are the sole responsibility of the PBO and will be presented as the PBO’s estimates.

Amendment and Revocation

  1. This Memorandum of Understanding may be amended or revoked only by written agreement of the Deputy Minister and the PBO.

Protocole d'entente entre le directeur parlementaire du budget et le ministère des Finances du Canada

Concernant les demandes d’assistance d’un ministère pour établir le coût des mesures proposées dans le cadre de la campagne électorale au cours de la période d’élection générale de 2019.

Considérant :

QUE le directeur parlementaire du budget (DPB) a pour mandat en vertu de l’article 79.21 de la Loi sur le Parlement du Canada (la « Loi ») d’évaluer le coût financier des mesures proposées dans le cadre d’une campagne électorale à la demande de certaines personnes précisées dans la Loi durant la période qui précède une élection fédérale visée au paragraphe 79.21(2) de la Loi (la « période visée »);

QUE, conformément au paragraphe 79.21(5) de la Loi, le DPB peut présenter une demande au ministre des Finances (le « ministre ») pour obtenir l’assistance du ministère des Finances (le « Ministère ») dans la préparation de ces évaluations;

QUE si le DPB présente une demande d’assistance et que le ministre est d’accord, le sous–ministre des Finances (le « sous-ministre ») peut, aux termes du paragraphe 79.21(7) de la Loi, prendre les mesures qu’il estime nécessaires quant aux modalités selon lesquelles l’assistance du Ministère sera fournie;

QUE, selon le paragraphe 79.4(1) de la Loi, le DPB a le droit, sur demande faite à un responsable du Ministère, de prendre connaissance, gratuitement et en temps opportun, de tout renseignement qui relève du Ministère et qui est nécessaire à l’exercice du mandat du DPB;

QUE le DPB peut, dans le cadre des activités de son bureau, conclure des contrats, des ententes ou d’autres arrangements en vertu du paragraphe 79.11(2) de la Loi;

ET QU’il est urgent d’établir dans un protocole d’entente les ententes et les modalités en vertu desquelles l’assistance du Ministère, si le DPB le demande et si le ministre est d’accord, sera fournie au DPB durant la période de l’élection générale de 2019;

PAR CONSÉQUENT, le sous-ministre et le DPB conviennent de ce qui suit :

Champ d’application

  1. Le présent protocole d’entente s’applique uniquement aux demandes d’assistance du Ministère présentées par le DPB en vertu de l’article 79.21 de la Loi et aux demandes de renseignements présentées en vertu de l’article 79.4 de la Loi durant la période visée précédant la 43e élection générale fédérale, qui doit avoir lieu au plus tard le 21 octobre 2019.
    1. 1.1 Le présent protocole d’entente entre en vigueur le premier jour de la période visée pourvu que le ministre ait accepté de répondre à une demande du DPB pour obtenir l’assistance du Ministère en vertu du paragraphe 79.21(5) de la Loi.

Demandes d’assistance et de renseignements

  1. Le DPB présentera une demande au sous-ministre par courriel pour obtenir l’assistance particulière requise du Ministère conformément au paragraphe 4.
  2. Le DPB ne présentera pas de demande d’assistance en vertu du paragraphe 2 moins de 10 jours ouvrables avant la date de l’élection générale.
  3. Le DPB peut demander l’assistance suivante en vertu du paragraphe 2 :
    1. Préparation d’une évaluation : Le DPB peut demander au Ministère d’utiliser ses propres méthodes et modèles dans la préparation d’une évaluation du coût financier d’une mesure proposée dans le cadre de la campagne électorale (ou d’une partie de celle-ci) pour le compte du DPB, même si cette préparation exige l’utilisation de renseignements auxquels le DPB n’a pas droit en vertu du paragraphe 79.4 de la Loi. Lorsque des renseignements auxquels le DPB n’a pas droit en vertu du paragraphe 79.4 de la Loi sont utilisés dans la préparation d’une évaluation de coût, le Ministère veillera à ce que ces renseignements ne soient pas divulgués au DPB ou ne puissent être découverts par ce dernier.
      En outre, si le Ministère a besoin de renseignements détenus par un autre ministère dans la préparation d’une évaluation pour le compte du DPB, il obtiendra les renseignements conformément au paragraphe 79.21(10) de la Loi si le DPB a confirmé que le ministre qui dirige l’autre ministère accepte également de fournir l’assistance conformément au paragraphe 79.21(5);
    2. Conseils ou examen : Le DPB peut demander au Ministère de lui fournir des conseils concernant les spécifications d’un modèle élaboré par le DPB, y compris les hypothèses, ou d’examiner une évaluation préparée par le DPB.
  4. Si le DPB a besoin de renseignements qui relèvent du Ministère pour évaluer le coût d’une mesure proposée dans le cadre de la campagne, le DPB demandera l’accès aux renseignements en conformité avec l’article 79.4 de la Loi.
    1. 5.1 Le DPB présentera la demande en vertu du paragraphe 5 au sous-ministre si le Ministère l’informe que le ministre a délégué sa fonction aux termes du paragraphe 79.4(1) de la Loi au sous-ministre pour la période visée.
    2. 5.2 Relativement à une demande présentée en vertu du paragraphe 5, le sous-ministre n’informera pas le ministre qu’une demande a été présentée, de la nature des renseignements demandés par le DPB, de la nature des renseignements fournis par le Ministère en réponse à la demande, ou de toute justification écrite d’un refus de fournir l’accès aux renseignements en vertu de l’article 79.41 de la Loi.
    3. 5.3 Les délais établis aux paragraphes 3 et 7 à 7.3 s’appliquent aux demandes de renseignements présentées en vertu du paragraphe 5.
  5. Lorsque le DPB présentera une demande d’assistance en vertu du paragraphe 2, il fournira au Ministère le libellé original de la description de la mesure proposée dans le cadre de la campagne électorale pour laquelle une évaluation est demandée, y compris les détails et les objectifs pertinents et tout renseignement supplémentaire fourni par la suite par la personne qui a demandé l’évaluation.
    1. 6.1 Le Ministère peut demander au DPB d’obtenir des renseignements supplémentaires auprès de la personne qui a demandé l’évaluation si ces renseignements sont nécessaires à l’évaluation; dans ce cas, le DPB cherchera à obtenir les renseignements supplémentaires et les fournira au Ministère dans les plus brefs délais.
  6. Dans les 2 jours ouvrables après avoir reçu une demande d’assistance en vertu du paragraphe 2, le Ministère informera le DPB par écrit s’il est en mesure de fournir l’assistance demandée, et les délais pour ce faire, sauf si l’assistance se rapporte à une mesure à complexité élevée proposée dans le cadre de la campagne électorale et que le DPB a accepté un délai plus long.
    1. 7.1 Si l’assistance demandée ne peut être raisonnablement fournie, le Ministère fournira au DPB une déclaration écrite présentant les motifs pour lesquels l’évaluation ne peut pas être terminée.
    2. 7.2 Si le Ministère n’est pas le ministère fédéral approprié pour fournir l’assistance particulière demandée, il informera le DPB en conséquence. Le DPB sera responsable d’identifier l’autre ministère approprié à qui demander l’assistance.
    3. 7.3 Le Ministère doit fournir l’assistance demandée dans un délai de 10 jours ouvrables sauf si l’assistance se rapporte à une mesure à complexité élevée proposée dans le cadre de la campagne électorale et que le DPB a accepté un délai plus long.
  7. Si le DPB présente au Ministère une demande d’assistance visée au sous-paragraphe 4a), il ne demandera pas la même assistance relativement à la même mesure proposée dans le cadre de la campagne (ou à une partie de celle-ci) à un autre ministère sauf si la mesure proposée exigerait la supervision d’un autre ministère.
  8. Si le DPB demande l’assistance visée au sous-paragraphe 4b) au Ministère ainsi qu’à un ou plusieurs autres ministères relativement à la même mesure proposée dans le cadre de la campagne (ou une partie de celle-ci), le DPB sera chargé de dresser la liste des assistances qu’il a obtenues des ministères.
  9. Dans sa réponse à une demande d’assistance présentée en vertu du paragraphe 2, le Ministère informera le DPB de toute réaction en chaîne associée à l’évaluation de même que de tout facteur à considérer relatif à la mise en œuvre de celle-ci.
  10. Le Ministère fournira gratuitement au DPB l’assistance demandée en vertu du paragraphe 2, sauf si le DPB consent à l’avance à ce que le Ministère engage des coûts de tiers dans la prestation de l’assistance et que le Ministère engage de tels coûts, auquel cas, ces coûts seront récupérés du DPB.
  11. Le DPB informera le Ministère en temps opportun si la personne qui a demandé l’évaluation retire sa demande ou si le DPB met fin aux travaux concernant une évaluation.

Règlement des différends

  1. Les fonctionnaires du DPB et du Ministère tenteront de régler tout différend rapidement et en collaboration. S’ils n’y parviennent pas, le différend sera transmis au DPB et au sous–ministre pour être réglé.

Divulgation

  1. Lorsque le DPB demande et obtient l’assistance du Ministère en vertu du paragraphe 2, le DPB ne divulguera pas à qui que ce soit, au cours de la période visée, le fait que l’assistance du Ministère a été demandée ni la nature de l’assistance demandée et fournie.
    1. 14.1 Le paragraphe 14 n’a pas pour effet d’empêcher le DPB de présenter un avis en vertu du paragraphe 79.21(15) ou une déclaration en vertu du paragraphe 79.21(16) de la Loi.
  2. Lorsque le DPB présente une demande en vertu du paragraphe 2 et que le Ministère fournit l’assistance demandée, le sous-ministre doit, en application de l’article 79.5 de la Loi, informer le DPB par écrit s’il ne consent pas à la divulgation des renseignements fournis par le Ministère dans sa réponse à la demande d’assistance.
  3. Le Ministère ne communiquera, ni pendant ni après la période visée, aucun des renseignements auquel le paragraphe 79.21(9) fait référence à un membre du Conseil privé de la Reine pour le Canada ou à son personnel.

Responsabilité à l’égard des évaluations

  1. Le DPB est le seul responsable de toute évaluation de mesures proposées dans le cadre de la campagne électorale préparée par le Ministère à la demande du DPB ou préparée par le DPB avec l’assistance du Ministère en vertu du présent protocole d’entente et qui est incluse dans un rapport que le DPB fournit à une personne en vertu du paragraphe 79.21(12) de la Loi ou qui est rendue publique en vertu du paragraphe 79.21(14) de la Loi, et elle sera présentée comme l’évaluation du DPB.

Modification et révocation

  1. Le présent protocole d’entente ne peut être modifié ou révoqué que sur accord écrit du sous–ministre et du DPB.