The Asian Infrastructure Investment Bank

Established in January 2016 and based in Beijing, the Asian Infrastructure Investment Bank (AIIB) is a Multilateral Development Bank (MDB) focused on economic development through infrastructure financing in Asia. With total capital of US$100 billion and a priority focus on sustainable infrastructure, cross-country connectivity and the mobilization of private capital, the AIIB complements other development efforts in the region.

Operations of the AIIB

The AIIB has 87 member and prospective member countries as of November 2018, including 57 founding members such as Australia, China, France, Germany, India, Italy, South Korea and the UK. As of November 2018, it has approved financing of US$6.4 billion for 32 projects, and maintains a list of proposed projects. The AIIB received a AAA credit rating from S&P, Moody's and Fitch.

The AIIB positions itself as a 'lean, clean, green' institution. It upholds this vision through the projects it finances and its organizational structure, including a lean staffing commitment and a non-resident Board of Directors.

The AIIB has adopted the operating framework, governance structures and best practices of existing international financial institutions. For example, in March 2017 it adopted the MDB-wide list of sanctioned firms and individuals. The AIIB has also established a suite of policies and guidelines, including a robust Risk Management Framework and an Environmental and Social Framework to support environmentally and socially sustainable development outcomes.

Canada and the AIIB

Canada joined the AIIB on March19, 2018, with the Minister of Finance serving as Canada's Governor at the AIIB. Canada is also serving a two-year term as one of twelve Directors at the AIIB Board of Directors, beginning July 2018.

Canada's participation in the AIIB helps to promote inclusive global economic growth. Investing in quality infrastructure aids economic growth by enabling the movement of people, goods and services, which can have significant positive benefits. Joining the AIIB also helps to strengthen Canada's relations with the Asia-Pacific region and multilateral institutions. As well, it advances Canadian priorities on mobilizing private capital, gender equality and innovative financing.

To date, the AIIB has financed projects in sectors including transport, energy, and water and sanitation, among others. AIIB projects offer commercial opportunities for Canadian firms as well as employment for some Canadians. A list of job opportunities is maintained by the AIIB, including opportunities for young professionals and consultants.

Contact Us

Inquiries on the AIIB may be sent to fin.aiib.fin@canada.ca

La banque asiatique d'investissement dans les infrastructures

Créée en janvier 2016 et située à Beijing, la Banque asiatique d'investissement dans les infrastructures (BAII) est une banque multilatérale de développement (BMD) axée sur le développement économique au moyen de financement d'infrastructures en Asie. Dotée d'un capital totalisant 100 milliards de dollars américains et orientée principalement sur l'infrastructure durable, la connectivité transnationale et la mobilisation des capitaux privés, la BAII complète d'autres efforts en matière de développement dans la région.

Activités de la BAII

Depuis juillet 2018, la BAII compte 87 pays membres et membres potentiels, y compris 57 membres fondateurs dont l'Australie, la Chine, la France, l'Allemagne, l'Inde, l'Italie, la Corée du Sud et le Royaume-Uni. En novembre 2018, la BAII a approuvé un financement de 6,4 milliards de dollars pour 32 projets et tient à jour une liste des projets proposés. La BAII a reçu une cote de crédit AAA de S&P, de Moody's et de Fitch.

La BAII se place comme une institution « allégée, propre et verte ». Elle maintient cette vision dans le cadre des projets qu'elle finance et dans sa structure organisationnelle, y compris un engagement envers un modèle de dotation allégé et un conseil d'administration non résident.

La BAII a adopté le cadre de fonctionnement, les structures de gouvernance et les pratiques exemplaires des institutions financières internationales existantes. Par exemple, en mars 2017, la BAII a adopté la liste des personnes et des entreprises sanctionnées par l'ensemble des BMD. La BAII a également mis sur pied un ensemble de politiques et de lignes directrices rigoureuses, y compris un Cadre de gestion du risque et un Cadre environnemental et social afin d'appuyer l'atteinte des résultats sociaux et environnementaux de développement durable.

Le Canada et la BAII

Le Canada s'est joint à la BAII le 19 mars 2018, avec le ministre des Finances à titre de gouverneur du Canada à la BAII. Le Canada a également un mandat de deux (2) ans en tant que l'un des 12 administrateurs du conseil d'administration de la BAII, à compter de juillet 2018.

La participation du Canada à la BAII permet de promouvoir une croissance économique mondiale inclusive. L'investissement dans des infrastructures de qualité favorise la croissance économique en permettant la circulation des personnes, des biens et des services, ce qui peut produire d'importants avantages. En se joignant à la BAII, le Canada peut également renforcer ses relations avec la région de l'Asie-Pacifique et les institutions multilatérales. L'adhésion à la BAII permet au Canada de soutenir la croissance économique partagée en Asie et au-delà, tout en faisant progresser nos priorités sur la mobilisation de capitaux privés, l'égalité entre les sexes et des mécanismes de financement novateurs.

À ce jour, la BAII a financé des projets dans les secteurs des transports, de l'énergie, de l'eau et de l'assainissement, entre autres. Les projets de la BAII offrent des possibilités commerciales pour les entreprises canadiennes. Plusieurs Canadiens travaillent à la BAII. Une liste de possibilités d'emploi est maintenue par la BAII, y compris les possibilités pour les jeunes professionnels et consultants.

Contactez-nous

Les demandes de renseignements sur la BAII peuvent être envoyées à fin.aiib.fin@canada.ca