Advisory Committee on Money Laundering and Terrorist Financing (ACMLTF)

Members of ACMLTF

Organizations

Finance Canada (Co-Chair)
BMO Financial Group (Co-Chair)
Financial Transactions and Reports Analysis Centre of Canada
Public Safety Canada
Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions
Investment Industry Association of Canada
Jewellers Vigilance Canada
Canadian Bankers Association
Canadian Credit Union Association
Small Bank Forum
BC Lottery Corporation
The Society of Notaries Public of British Columbia
Canadian Real Estate Association
Canadian Jewellers Association
Canadian Home Builders’ Association
Canadian Life and Health Insurance Association
Canadian Money Service Business Association
Chartered Professional Accountants of Canada
Desjardins Group

Terms of Reference

Co-Chairs

Permanent Co-Chair: Associate Assistant Deputy Minister, Financial Sector Policy Branch, Department of Finance

Rotating Co-Chair: Representative of the private sector for a three-year term, with approval of the Department of Finance.

Mandate

The ACMLTF is a high-level discussion forum to address emerging issues and provide general advice for Canada’s overall anti-money laundering and anti-terrorist financing (AML/ATF) policy. Members will be able to advise on Canada’s AML/ATF Regime both within a domestic context, including its effectiveness and efficiency, and in support of international AML/ATF developments. As well, it will provide an opportunity for the Government to provide valuable feedback to the private sector on overall AML/ATF trends and efforts. It is anticipated that this committee will benefit all participants by fostering more effective results for the Regime writ large.

Committee Membership

The ACMLTF will consist of approximately 20-25 members. Members would be senior-level representatives of public and private sector stakeholder organizations.

Public sector participants will consist of representatives of the Department of Finance, the Financial Transactions and Reports Analysis Centre of Canada (FINTRAC), the Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions (OSFI) and Public Safety Canada. Invitations would be extended to other public sector representatives on an as-needed basis.

Private sector participants will consist of a mix of representatives of industry associations, institutions and organizations from sectors covered by the Proceeds of Crime (Money Laundering) and Terrorist Financing Act and other AML/ATF experts. Representation will be drawn from sectors including financial entities, life insurance companies, securities dealers, money service businesses, accountants, the notarial profession, the real estate sector, casinos, dealers in precious metals and stones, and home builders.

Private sector representatives will have membership in the ACMLTF for three year terms, subject to renewal. Final appointments will be at the discretion of the Department of Finance. No substitutes will be permitted on the ACMLTF to ensure continuity and consistency.

Frequency

The ACMLTF will meet twice per year or more frequently, if necessary.

Working Groups

The ACMLTF will form ad hoc working groups on specific topics as needed and report to the Committee as required. The Committee will assign working groups with mandates, including timing for completion of work and when and how to report back to the Committee. Working groups will be chaired or co-chaired by members of the public or private sector. Working groups will meet on an ad hoc or as needed basis in either Toronto or Ottawa or by conference call or videoconference as decided by the Co-Chairs of the working groups. Membership will consist of technical experts in the subject matter and public and private sector representatives with an interest in the topic. The proposed working groups will facilitate more focused interactions between private and public sector partners.

Proceedings

Summary notes of meetings will be taken and made available to all members. The proceedings of the ACMLTF could be subject to Access to Information requests.

Confidentiality

Members of the ACMLTF are expected to keep information discussed and documents shared within the ACMLTF and working groups confidential.

Related Information

Proceeds of Crime (Money Laundering) and Terrorist Financing Act (S.C. 2000, c. 17)

Canada Gazette, Part I, Volume 152, Number 23: Regulations Amending Certain Regulations Made Under the Proceeds of Crime (Money Laundering) and Terrorist Financing Act, 2018

Reviewing Canada's Anti-Money Laundering and Anti-Terrorist Financing Regime

Statutory Review of the Proceeds of Crime and Terrorist Financing Act

Comité consultatif sur le blanchiment d’argent et le financement des activités terroristes (CCBAFAT)

Membres du CCBAFAT

Organisations

Finance Canada (coprésident)
BMO groupe financier (coprésident)
Centre d’analyse des opérations et déclarations financières du Canada
Sécurité publique Canada
Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières
Association canadienne du commerce des valeurs mobilières
Jewellers Vigilance Canada
Association des banquiers canadiens
Association canadienne des cooperatives financières
Forum des petites banques
British Columbia Lottery Corporation
The Society of Notaries Public of British Columbia
Association canadienne de l’immeuble
Association canadienne des bijoutiers
Association des constructeurs de maisons canadiennes
Association canadienne des compagnies d'assurances de personnes
Association canadienne des entreprises de services monétaires
Comptables professionnels agréés du Canada
Mouvement des caisses Desjardins

Cadre de référence

Coprésidents

Coprésident permanent : sous-ministre adjoint déléguée, Direction de la politique du secteur financier, ministère des Finances Canada

Coprésident par rotation : représentant du secteur privé pour un mandat de trois ans, avec l’approbation du ministère des Finances Canada.

Mandat

Le CCBAFAT est une tribune de discussion stratégique à un niveau senior visant à se pencher sur des enjeux émergents et à fournir des conseils généraux à l’égard de la politique du Canada sur la lutte contre le recyclage des produits de la criminalité et le financement des activités terroristes (LRPC/LFAT). Les membres pourront prodiguer des conseils sur le régime canadien de LRPC/LFAT tant d’un point de vue  national, y compris concernant  l’efficacité et l’efficience du régime, que du point de vue de l’appui aux développements internationaux en matière de LRPC/LFAT. Il permettra en outre au gouvernement de fournir au secteur privé une rétroaction utile au sujet des grandes tendances et  efforts  en matière de LRPC/LFAT. On prévoit que tous les membres du Comité profiteront de ses travaux puisqu’il favorisera de meilleurs résultats pour l’ensemble du régime.

Composition du Comité

Le CCBAFAT sera composé d’environ 20 à 25 membres. Les membres seront des représentants de la haute direction d’organisations d’intervenants des secteurs public et privé.

Les participants du secteur public seront des représentants du ministère des Finances Canada, du Centre d’analyse des opérations et déclarations financières du Canada (CANAFE), du Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières (BSIF) et de Sécurité publique Canada. Des invitations seront envoyées à d’autres représentants du secteur public, au fur et à mesure qu’un besoin se fait sentir.

Les participants du secteur privé seront des représentants d’associations, d’institutions et d’organisations de l’industrie issus des secteurs visés par la Loi sur le recyclage des produits de la criminalité et le financement des activités terroristes (LRPCFAT) ainsi que d’autres experts en LRPC/LFAT. Les représentants viendront de différents secteurs, y compris des entités financières, des compagnies d’assurance-vie, des maisons de courtage de valeurs mobilières, des entreprises de transfert de fonds ou de vente de titres négociables, des comptables, de la profession de notariat, du secteur des biens immobiliers, des casinos, des négociants de métaux précieux et de pierres précieuses, ainsi que des constructeurs d’habitation.

Le mandat des représentants du secteur privé au CCBAFAT sera de trois ans et sera renouvelable. Les nominations définitives relèveront du pouvoir discrétionnaire du ministère des Finances Canada. L’utilisation de remplaçants aux membres représentants du comité ne sera pas autorisé au CCBAFAT afin d’assurer la continuité et l’uniformité.

Fréquence

Le CCBAFAT se réunira deux fois par année ou plus souvent, au besoin.

Groupes de travail

Le CCBAFAT mettra sur pied des groupes de travail ponctuels sur des sujets précis et au besoin, qui relèveront du Comité. Le Comité attribuera des mandats aux groupes de travail, incluant les délais d’achèvement des travaux ainsi que le moment et la façon de rendre compte au Comité. Les groupes de travail seront présidés ou coprésidés par des membres du secteur public ou privé. Les membres des groupes de travail se réuniront de façon ponctuelle ou au besoin, à Toronto, à Ottawa, par téléconférence ou vidéoconférence, selon la décision des coprésidents des groupes de travail. Les groupes de travail seront composés d’experts techniques en la matière et de représentants des secteurs public et privé qui s’intéressent au sujet. Des interactions plus ciblées entre les partenaires des secteurs privé et public seront facilitées dans le cadre des groupes de travail proposés.

Délibérations

Les notes récapitulatives des réunions seront prises et mises à la disposition de tous les membres. Les délibérations du CCBAFAT pourraient faire l’objet de demandes d’accès à l’information.

Confidentialité

Les membres du CCBAFAT doivent assurer la confidentialité des renseignements discutés et des documents échangés au sein du CCBAFAT et de ses groupes de travail.

Renseignements connexes

Loi sur le recyclage des produits de la criminalité et le financement des activités terroristes (L.C. 2000, ch. 17)

La Gazette du Canada, Partie I, volume 152, numéro 23 : Règlement modifiant certains règlements pris en vertu de la Loi sur le recyclage des produits de la criminalité et le financement des activités terroristes (2018)

Examen du Régime canadien de lutte contre le recyclage des produits de la criminalité et le financement des activités terroristes

Examen prévu par la loi de la loi sur le recyclage des produits de la criminalité et le financement des activités terroristes