Process for requesting remission of surtaxes that apply on certain goods from the U.S.

The Government of Canada is outlining a framework and process for how it will consider remission requests for the surtaxes on products that came into force on July 1, 2018. Under specific circumstances, remission allows for relief from the payment of surtaxes, or the refund of surtaxes already paid.

Remission represents an exception to the rules by providing for relief of otherwise applicable duties. As such, remission is only used to address exceptional and compelling circumstances that, from a public policy perspective, are found to outweigh the primary rationale behind the application of duties and, in the current case, surtaxes.

In relation to requests for remission of the surtaxes announced on June 29, 2018 that took effect on July 1, 2018, the Government will consider requests for remission of surtaxes only in the following instances:

  1. To address situations of short supply in the domestic market, either on a national or regional basis.
  2. Where there are contractual requirements, existing prior to May 31, 2018, for Canadian businesses to use U.S. steel or aluminum in their products or projects.
  3. To address, on a case-by-case basis, other exceptional circumstances that could have severe adverse impacts on the Canadian economy.

Any request for remission will be considered by a federal inter-departmental committee, which will be tasked with making recommendations. Any request for remission could be subject to consultation with other interested parties, including domestic producers. Recommendations will be made by the interdepartmental committee to the Minister of Finance. Under section 115 of the Customs Tariff, the Minister of Finance has the authority to recommend remission to the Governor in Council. To take effect, an Order in Council also needs to be approved by the Governor in Council.

In order to ensure that remission requests are properly substantiated and can be assessed in a timely manner, all requests that are within the confines of the instances outlined above must provide the information requested in the template below. Any information that is confidential must be marked as such, and will be protected by the Government of Canada. Sufficient non-confidential information must be provided to allow for engagement with domestic producers so that they may be consulted, as appropriate, on any short supply issues that are raised. Only companies registered in Canada are eligible to make requests for remission of the surtaxes imposed as of July 1, 2018.

Please submit any inquiries or remission requests to fin.remissions-remises.fin@canada.ca.

Template for submissions

Please provide the following information:

  1. A brief outline of your company’s operations: details of corporate structure, location (HQ and any other locations), what it does, number of employees.
  2. A detailed description of the goods on which remission is sought and the 8-digit tariff item or items under which they are classified. The 10-digit statistical level can be provided if applicable.
  3. The volume and value, exclusive of surtaxes, of importations of the goods, on an annual basis or for the specific period for which remission is requested. If goods have not been imported, indicate when imports will commence and the name of the foreign producer/exporter. If the goods have already been imported, provide the customs documentation (e.g., B3 forms) and relevant invoices of surtaxes paid.
  4. Evidence demonstrating inability to source the product, or substitutes, from Canadian or non-U.S. suppliers, including any request for proposal notice or the names of companies canvassed and, if possible, copies of replies from these companies. Any additional relevant information on the company’s sourcing model should also be provided.
  5. If the goods are used in a manufacturing operation, provide the cost of manufacturing one unit of the end product, broken down into:
    1. Cost (exclusive of surtaxes) of goods on which remission of duties is sought;
    2. Cost (exclusive of surtaxes) of other imported articles (please list);
    3. Cost of Canadian materials (please list);
    4. Labour;
    5. Overhead;
    6. Administrative and selling expenses.
  6. The unit selling price for the end product, and information on the effect of the remission of surtaxes on its cost and price.
  7. Information on the effect of remission on employment, volume of production, investment, or other relevant aspects of operations.
  8. Names and locations of Canadian competitors, with information on how the remission may affect those companies. If available, provide information on whether those companies import similar goods, or whether they obtain comparable or substitutable goods from Canadian or foreign production.
  9. Detailed comments on the reasons for requesting remission of surtaxes, clearly outlining the exceptional circumstances that merit consideration of the application, and making reference to the factual information provided in the submission.
  10. Consent to share non-confidential information with domestic producers to validate information (and any conditions attached to that consent).
  11. Any supportive or corroborative information, such as letters of support, independent studies, or market data.
  12. Any other information that may be significant in illustrating why the remission is necessary.

Processus de demande de remise des surtaxes applicables à certains biens provenant des États-Unis

Le gouvernement du Canada développe le cadre et le processus qui seront utilisés pour examiner les demandes de remise des surtaxes sur des produits entrées en vigueur le 1er juillet 2018. Dans certaines circonstances précises, une remise prévoit l’allègement du paiement des surtaxes ou le remboursement des surtaxes déjà payées.

Une remise représente une exception aux règles en prévoyant un allègement des droits autrement applicables. À ce titre, une remise est utilisée uniquement pour faire face à des circonstances exceptionnelles et impérieuses qui, d’un point de vue de politique publique, l’emportent sur la justification principale qui sous-tend l’application des droits ou, dans le cas actuel, des surtaxes.

En ce qui concerne les demandes de remise des surtaxes annoncées le 29 juin 2018 et entrées en vigueur le 1er juillet 2018, le gouvernement examinera les demandes de remise des surtaxes uniquement dans les circonstances suivantes :

  1. Pour répondre à des situations de pénurie sur le marché intérieur, à l’échelle nationale ou régionale.
  2. Où il y a des exigences contractuelles, antérieures au 31 mai 2018, en vertu desquelles les entreprises canadiennes doivent utiliser de l’acier ou de l’aluminium américain dans leurs produits ou projets.
  3. Pour répondre, au cas par cas, à d’autres circonstances exceptionnelles qui pourraient avoir des effets défavorables graves sur l’économie canadienne.

Toute demande de remise sera examinée par un comité interministériel fédéral qui sera chargé de formuler des recommandations. Toute demande de remise pourrait être l’objet d’une consultation auprès d’autres parties intéressées, y compris des producteurs nationaux. Les recommandations du comité interministériel seront transmises au ministre des Finances du Canada. En vertu de l’article 115 du Tarif douanier, le ministre des Finances a le pouvoir de recommander une remise au gouverneur en conseil. Pour entrer en vigueur, un décret en conseil doit aussi être approuvé par le gouverneur en conseil.

Afin de s’assurer que les demandes de remise soient adéquatement justifiées et puissent être évaluées rapidement, toutes les demandes qui correspondent aux circonstances susmentionnées doivent contenir les renseignements demandés dans le modèle ci–dessous. Tout renseignement confidentiel doit être indiqué comme tel et sera protégé par le gouvernement du Canada. Il est nécessaire de fournir suffisamment de renseignements non confidentiels afin de permettre, s’il y a lieu, des consultations auprès des producteurs nationaux au sujet des problèmes de pénurie soulevés. Seules les entreprises enregistrées au Canada ont le droit de présenter des demandes de remise des surtaxes imposées en date du 1er juillet 2018.

Veuillez envoyer toute demande de renseignements ou de remise à fin.remissions-remises.fin@canada.ca.

Modèle de dépôt d’une demande

Veuillez fournir les renseignements suivants :

  1. Une brève description des opérations de votre entreprise : renseignements sur la structure de l’entreprise, son emplacement (siège social et tout autre emplacement), ses activités, le nombre d’employés.
  2. Une description détaillée des produits visés par la demande de remise et le ou les numéros tarifaires à huit chiffres de ces produits. S’il y a lieu, le niveau statistique à 10 chiffres peut être fourni.
  3. Le volume et la valeur, hors surtaxes, des importations de ces produits, sur une base annuelle ou pour la période particulière pour laquelle la remise est demandée. Si les produits n’ont pas été importés, indiquez la date à laquelle les importations commenceront et le nom du producteur ou exportateur étranger. Si les produits ont déjà été importés, fournissez les documents douaniers (par exemple, les formulaires B3) et les factures pertinentes des surtaxes payées.
  4. Des preuves démontrant l’incapacité de se procurer le produit, ou des produits de substitution, auprès de fournisseurs canadiens ou autres qu’américains, y compris toute demande d’avis de proposition ou le nom des entreprises sollicitées et, si possible, une copie des réponses de ces entreprises. Tous renseignements supplémentaires pertinents sur le modèle d’approvisionnement de l’entreprise devraient aussi être fournis.
  5. Si les produits sont utilisés dans une opération de fabrication, indiquez le coût de fabrication d’une unité du produit final, ventilé de la manière suivante :
    1. le coût (hors surtaxes) des produits visés par la demande de remise des droits;
    2. le coût (hors surtaxes) d’autres articles importés (fournir une liste);
    3. le coût des matériaux canadiens (fournir une liste);
    4. la main d’œuvre;
    5. les coûts indirects;
    6. les dépenses liées à l’administration et à la vente.
  6. Le prix de vente unitaire du produit final, et des renseignements sur l’effet de la remise des surtaxes sur son coût et son prix.
  7. Des renseignements sur l’effet de la remise sur l’emploi, le volume de production, l’investissement ou tout autre aspect pertinent des opérations.
  8. Le nom et emplacement des concurrents canadiens, et des renseignements sur l’effet de la remise sur ces entreprises. Fournissez des renseignements, s’ils sont disponibles, démontrant que ces entreprises importent des produits semblables ou obtiennent des produits comparables ou des produits de substitution auprès d’un producteur canadien ou étranger.
  9. Des commentaires détaillés sur les raisons de la demande de remise des surtaxes, énonçant clairement les circonstances exceptionnelles justifiant l’examen de la demande et faisant référence aux renseignements factuels fournis dans la présentation.
  10. Le consentement au partage de renseignements non confidentiels à des producteurs nationaux, aux fins de validation de l’information (et toute condition liée à ce consentement).
  11. Tous renseignements justificatifs ou corroborants, comme des lettres d’appui, des études indépendantes ou des données sur le marché.
  12. Tout autre renseignement pouvant être important afin de démontrer le bien–fondé de la remise.