Agreement Concerning the Interpretation of Article 25 of the Convention between the Government of Canada and the Swiss Federal Council for the avoidance of double Taxation with respect to Taxes on Income and on Capital, done at Berne on 5 May 1997, As Amended by the Protocol Done at Berne on 22 October 2010


This electronic version is provided for ease of reference only and has no official sanction.


The Honorable John Baird
Minister of Foreign Affairs    
125 Sussex Drive       
Ottawa, ON K1A 0G2

Ottawa, 28 June 2012

Dear Minister,

I have the honour of referring to the Protocol amending the Convention between the Swiss Federal Council and the Government of Canada for the Avoidance of Double Taxation with respect to Taxes on Income and on Capital, done at Berne on 5 May 1997, done at Berne on 22 October 2010 (hereinafter “Amending Protocol”), and of proposing, on behalf of the Swiss Federal Council, the following clarification regarding its interpretation:

Subparagraph (b) of paragraph 2 of the Interpretative Protocol, added to the Convention between the Swiss Federal Council and the Government of Canada for the Avoidance of Double Taxation with respect to Taxes on Income and on Capital, done at Berne on 5 May 1997, (hereinafter “Convention”), by Article XII of the Amending Protocol, sets forth the information that the competent authority of the requesting State shall provide to the competent authority of the requested State when making a request for information under Article 25 of the Convention. Clause (i) of subparagraph (b) of paragraph 2 of the Interpretative Protocol requires that the requesting State provide the name and, to the extent known, other information, such as address, account number or date of birth, in order to identify the person(s) under examination or investigation.   Clause (v) of subparagraph (b) of paragraph 2 of the Interpretative Protocol requires that the requesting State provide the name and, to the extent known, the address of any person believed to be in possession of the requested information. Subparagraph (c) of paragraph 2 of the Interpretative Protocol clarifies that, while these are important procedural requirements that are intended to ensure that fishing expeditions do not occur, these requirements nevertheless are to be interpreted in order not to frustrate effective exchange of information.

Therefore, notwithstanding the provisions of clauses (i) and (v) of subparagraph (b) of paragraph 2 of the Interpretative Protocol to the Convention, a requested State shall comply with a request for administrative assistance if the requesting State, in addition to providing the information required by clauses (ii) to (iv) of subparagraph (b) of the above mentioned paragraph:

(a) identifies the person under examination or investigation (such identification may be provided by other means than by indicating the name and address of the person concerned); and

(b) indicates, to the extent known, the name and address of any person believed to be in possession of the requested information.

If the above proposal is acceptable to the Government of Canada, I further propose that this Letter and your Letter in reply, the English and French versions of each Letter being equally authentic, shall constitute an Agreement between our Governments on the interpretation of  Article 25 of the Convention, which shall enter into force on the date of the second note by which the Government of Canada and the Swiss Federal Council notify each other that they have completed their internal measures necessary for entry into force, and shall have effect from the date of entry into force of the Amending Protocol.

Please accept, Dear Minister, the assurances of my highest consideration.

The Ambassador of Switzerland
Ulrich Lehner


Ottawa, 23 July 2012

His Excellency Ulrich Lehner
Ambassador of Switzerland to Canada
Embassy of Switzerland
5 Marlborough Avenue
Ottawa, ON K1N 8E6

Excellency,

I have the honour of confirming the receipt of your letter of 28 June 2012, in the English and French languages, reading as follows:

“Dear Minister,

I have the honour of referring to the Protocol amending the Convention between the Swiss Federal Council and the Government of Canada for the Avoidance of Double Taxation with respect to Taxes on Income and on Capital, done at Berne on 5 May 1997, done at Berne on 22 October 2010 (hereinafter “Amending Protocol”), and of proposing, on behalf of the Swiss Federal Council, the following clarification regarding its interpretation:

Subparagraph (b) of paragraph 2 of the Interpretative Protocol, added to the Convention between the Swiss Federal Council and the Government of Canada for the Avoidance of Double Taxation with respect to Taxes on Income and on Capital, done at Berne on 5 May 1997, (hereinafter “Convention”), by Article XII of the Amending Protocol, sets forth the information that the competent authority of the requesting State shall provide to the competent authority of the requested State when making a request for information under Article 25 of the Convention. Clause (i) of subparagraph (b) of paragraph 2 of the Interpretative Protocol requires that the requesting State provide the name and, to the extent known, other information, such as address, account number or date of birth, in order to identify the person(s) under examination or investigation.   Clause (v) of subparagraph (b) of paragraph 2 of the Interpretative Protocol requires that the requesting State provide the name and, to the extent known, the address of any person believed to be in possession of the requested information. Subparagraph (c) of paragraph 2 of the Interpretative Protocol clarifies that, while these are important procedural requirements that are intended to ensure that fishing expeditions do not occur, these requirements nevertheless are to be interpreted in order not to frustrate effective exchange of information.

Therefore, notwithstanding the provisions of clauses (i) and (v) of subparagraph (b) of paragraph 2 of the Interpretative Protocol to the Convention, a requested State shall comply with a request for administrative assistance if the requesting State, in addition to providing the information required by clauses (ii) to (iv) of subparagraph (b) of the above mentioned paragraph:

(a) identifies the person under examination or investigation (such identification may be provided by other means than by indicating the name and address of the person concerned); and

(b) indicates, to the extent known, the name and address of any person believed to be in possession of the requested information.

If the above proposal is acceptable to the Government of Canada, I further propose that this Letter and your Letter in reply, the English and French versions of each Letter being equally authentic, shall constitute an Agreement between our Governments on the interpretation of  Article 25 of the Convention, which shall enter into force on the date of the second note by which the Government of Canada and the Swiss Federal Council notify each other that they have completed their internal measures necessary for entry into force, and shall have effect from the date of entry into force of the Amending Protocol.

Please accept, Dear Minister, the assurances of my highest consideration.”

I have the honour of confirming, on behalf of the Government of Canada, that the proposal in the above-mentioned letter is acceptable to the Government of Canada. Therefore, your Letter, together with this reply, the English and French versions of each Letter being equally authentic, shall constitute an Agreement between our Governments, and shall enter into force on the date of the second note by which the Government of Canada and the Swiss Federal Council notify each other that they have completed their internal measures necessary for entry into force, and shall have effect from the date of entry into force of the Amending Protocol.

Accept, Excellency, the renewed assurances of my highest consideration.

John Baird
Minister of Foreign Affairs

Accord relatif à l’interprétation de l’article 25 de la convention entre le Gouvernement du Canada et le conseil fédéral Suisse en vue d’éviter les doubles impositions en matière d’impôts sur le revenu et sur la fortune, faite à Berne le 5 mai 1997, et modifiée par le protocole fait à Berne le 22 octobre 2010


Cette version électronique n'est fournie qu'à titre de référence et n'a aucune valeur officielle.


L’Honorable John Baird
Ministre des Affaires Étrangères du Canada
125 Promenade Sussex
Ottawa, ON K1A 0G2

Ottawa, le 28 juin 2012

Monsieur le Ministre,

J’ai l’honneur de me référer au Protocole amendant la Convention entre le Conseil fédéral suisse et le Gouvernement du Canada en vue d’éviter les doubles impositions en matière d’impôts sur le revenu et sur la fortune, faite à Berne le 5 mai 1997, fait à Berne le 22 octobre 2010 (ci‑après le « Protocole d’amendement »), et de proposer, au nom du Conseil fédéral suisse, la clarification suivante en ce qui a trait à son interprétation :

L’alinéa b) du paragraphe 2 du Protocole interprétatif, qui par l’article XII du Protocole d’amendement a été ajouté à la Convention entre le Conseil fédéral suisse et le Gouvernement du Canada en vue d’éviter les doubles impositions en matière d’impôts sur le revenu et sur la fortune, faite à Berne le 5 mai 1997 (ci‑après la « Convention »), énonce les renseignements que l’autorité compétente de l’État requérant fournit à l’autorité compétente de l’État requis lorsqu’elle présente une demande de renseignements en application de l’article 25 de la Convention. Le sous-alinéa i) de l’alinéa b) du paragraphe 2 du Protocole interprétatif oblige l’État requérant à fournir le nom et, dans la mesure où ils sont connus, d’autres renseignements, comme l’adresse, le numéro de compte ou la date de naissance, permettant d’identifier la ou les personnes faisant l’objet d’un contrôle ou d’une enquête. Le sous‑alinéa v) de l’alinéa b) du paragraphe 2 du Protocole interprétatif oblige l’État requérant à fournir le nom et, dans la mesure où elle est connue, l’adresse de toute personne dont il y a lieu de penser qu’elle est en possession des renseignements demandés. L’alinéa c) du paragraphe 2 du Protocole interprétatif précise que, bien que ces dispositions contiennent d’importantes exigences de procédure qui ont pour but d’empêcher la pêche aux renseignements, ces exigences doivent néanmoins être interprétées de façon à ne pas nuire à l’échange effectif de renseignements.

Par conséquent, nonobstant les dispositions des sous-alinéas i) et v) de l’alinéa b) du paragraphe 2 du Protocole interprétatif de la Convention, l’État requis donne suite à toute demande d’assistance administrative si, en plus de fournir les renseignements prévus aux sous-alinéas ii) à iv) de l’alinéa b) du paragraphe mentionné ci-dessus, l’État requérant :

a) identifie la personne qui fait l’objet du contrôle ou de l’enquête (laquelle personne peut être identifiée autrement qu’au moyen de ses nom et adresse);

b) indique, dans la mesure où ils sont connus, les nom et adresse de toute personne dont il y a lieu de penser qu’elle est en possession des renseignements demandés.                     

Si la proposition qui précède agrée au gouvernement du Canada, je propose en outre que la présente lettre et votre lettre en réponse, dont les versions française et anglaise font également foi, constituent entre nos gouvernements un accord sur l’interprétation de l’article 25 de la Convention, qui entrera en vigueur à la date de la deuxième des notes par lesquelles le gouvernement du Canada et le Conseil fédéral suisse se seront notifié l’accomplissement des mesures internes d’entrée en vigueur propres à chacun d’eux, et qui prendra effet à compter de la date d’entrée en vigueur du Protocole d’amendement.

Veuillez agréer, Monsieur le Ministre, l’assurance de ma plus haute considération.

L’Ambassadeur de Suisse
Ulrich Lehner


Ottawa, le 23 juillet 2012

Son Excellence Monsieur Ulrich Lehner
Ambassadeur de Suisse au Canada
Ambassade de Suisse
5, avenue Malborough
Ottawa, ON K1N 8E6

Excellence,

J’ai l’honneur d’accuser réception de votre lettre du 28 juin 2012 dont le texte suit :

« Monsieur le Ministre,

J’ai l’honneur de me référer au Protocole amendant la Convention entre le Conseil fédéral suisse et le Gouvernement du Canada en vue d’éviter les doubles impositions en matière d’impôts sur le revenu et sur la fortune, faite à Berne le 5 mai 1997, fait à Berne le 22 octobre 2010 (ci‑après le « Protocole d’amendement »), et de proposer, au nom du Conseil fédéral suisse, la clarification suivante en ce qui a trait à son interprétation :

L’alinéa b) du paragraphe 2 du Protocole interprétatif, qui par l’article XII du Protocole d’amendement a été ajouté à la Convention entre le Conseil fédéral suisse et le Gouvernement du Canada en vue d’éviter les doubles impositions en matière d’impôts sur le revenu et sur la fortune, faite à Berne le 5 mai 1997 (ci‑après la « Convention »), énonce les renseignements que l’autorité compétente de l’État requérant fournit à l’autorité compétente de l’État requis lorsqu’elle présente une demande de renseignements en application de l’article 25 de la Convention. Le sous-alinéa i) de l’alinéa b) du paragraphe 2 du Protocole interprétatif oblige l’État requérant à fournir le nom et, dans la mesure où ils sont connus, d’autres renseignements, comme l’adresse, le numéro de compte ou la date de naissance, permettant d’identifier la ou les personnes faisant l’objet d’un contrôle ou d’une enquête. Le sous‑alinéa v) de l’alinéa b) du paragraphe 2 du Protocole interprétatif oblige l’État requérant à fournir le nom et, dans la mesure où elle est connue, l’adresse de toute personne dont il y a lieu de penser qu’elle est en possession des renseignements demandés. L’alinéa c) du paragraphe 2 du Protocole interprétatif précise que, bien que ces dispositions contiennent d’importantes exigences de procédure qui ont pour but d’empêcher la pêche aux renseignements, ces exigences doivent néanmoins être interprétées de façon à ne pas nuire à l’échange effectif de renseignements.

Par conséquent, nonobstant les dispositions des sous-alinéas i) et v) de l’alinéa b) du paragraphe 2 du Protocole interprétatif de la Convention, l’État requis donne suite à toute demande d’assistance administrative si, en plus de fournir les renseignements prévus aux sous-alinéas ii) à iv) de l’alinéa b) du paragraphe mentionné ci-dessus, l’État requérant :

a) identifie la personne qui fait l’objet du contrôle ou de l’enquête (laquelle personne peut être identifiée autrement qu’au moyen de ses nom et adresse);

b) indique, dans la mesure où ils sont connus, les nom et adresse de toute personne dont il y a lieu de penser qu’elle est en possession des renseignements demandés.

Si la proposition qui précède agrée au gouvernement du Canada, je propose en outre que la présente lettre et votre lettre en réponse, dont les versions française et anglaise font également foi, constituent entre nos gouvernements un accord sur l’interprétation de l’article 25 de la Convention, qui entrera en vigueur à la date de la deuxième des notes par lesquelles le gouvernement du Canada et le Conseil fédéral suisse se seront notifié l’accomplissement des mesures internes d’entrée en vigueur propres à chacun d’eux, et qui prendra effet à compter de la date d’entrée en vigueur du Protocole d’amendement.

Veuillez agréer, Monsieur le Ministre, l’assurance de ma plus haute considération.»

J’ai l’honneur de vous confirmer, au nom du gouvernement du Canada, que le gouvernement du Canada accepte la proposition contenue dans la lettre qui précède. Par conséquent, votre lettre ainsi que la présente réponse, dont les versions française et anglaise font également foi, constituent entre nos gouvernements un accord qui entrera en vigueur à la date de la deuxième des notes par lesquelles le gouvernement du Canada et le Conseil fédéral suisse se seront notifié l’accomplissement des mesures internes d’entrée en vigueur propres à chacun d’eux, et qui prendra effet à compter de la date d’entrée en vigueur du Protocole d’amendement.

Veuillez agréer, Excellence, l’assurance renouvelée de ma plus haute considération.

Le ministre des Affaires étrangères
John Baird