PROTOCOL AMENDING THE CONVENTION BETWEEN THE GOVERNMENT OF CANADA AND THE GOVERNMENT OF THE REPUBLIC OF SINGAPORE FOR THE AVOIDANCE OF DOUBLE TAXATION AND THE PREVENTION OF FISCAL EVASION WITH RESPECT TO TAXES ON INCOME, DONE IN SINGAPORE ON 6 MARCH 1976


This electronic version of the Protocol Amending the Canada-Singapore Tax Convention signed on November 29, 2011, is provided for convenience of reference only and has no official sanction.


THE GOVERNMENT OF CANADA AND THE GOVERNMENT OF THE REPUBLIC OF SINGAPORE,

DESIRING to amend the Convention between the Government of Canada and the Government of the Republic of Singapore for the Avoidance of Double Taxation and the Prevention of Fiscal Evasion with respect to Taxes on Income, done in Singapore on 6 March 1976 (“the Convention”),

HAVE AGREED as follows:

ARTICLE I

The text of Article 25 (Exchange of Information) of the Convention is deleted and replaced by the following:

“1. The competent authorities of the Contracting States shall exchange such information as is foreseeably relevant for carrying out the provisions of this Convention or to the administration or enforcement of the domestic laws concerning taxes of every kind and description imposed on behalf of the Contracting States, insofar as the taxation thereunder is not contrary to the Convention. The exchange of information is not restricted by Articles 1 and 2.

2. Any information received under paragraph 1 by a Contracting State shall be treated as secret in the same manner as information obtained under the domestic laws of that State and shall be disclosed only to persons or authorities (including courts and administrative bodies) concerned with the assessment or collection of, the enforcement in respect of, the determination of appeals in relation to taxes, or the oversight of the above. Such persons or authorities shall use the information only for such purposes. They may disclose the information in public court proceedings or in judicial decisions.

3. In no case shall the provisions of paragraphs 1 and 2 be construed so as to impose on a Contracting State the obligation:

(a) to carry out administrative measures at variance with the laws and administrative practice of that or of the other Contracting State;

(b) to supply information which is not obtainable under the laws or in the normal course of the administration of that or of the other Contracting State;

(c) to supply information which would disclose any trade, business, industrial, commercial or professional secret or trade process, or information, the disclosure of which would be contrary to public policy (ordre public).

4. If information is requested by a Contracting State in accordance with this Article, the other Contracting State shall use its information gathering measures to obtain the requested information, even though that other State may not need such information for its own tax purposes. The obligation contained in the preceding sentence is subject to the limitations of paragraph 3 but in no case shall such limitations be construed to permit a Contracting State to decline to supply information solely because it has no domestic interest in such information.

5. In no case shall the provisions of paragraph 3 be construed to permit a Contracting State to decline to supply information solely because the information is held by a bank, other financial institution, nominee or person acting in an agency or a fiduciary capacity or because it relates to ownership interests in a person.”

ARTICLE II

Each of the Contracting States shall notify the other through diplomatic channels of the completion of the procedures required by its law for the bringing into force of this Protocol. This Protocol shall enter into force 30 days after the date of the later of these notifications and its provisions shall have effect from the date of entry into force.

ARTICLE III

This Protocol, which shall form an integral part of the Convention, shall remain in force as long as the Convention remains in force and shall apply as long as the Convention itself is applicable.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, the undersigned, duly authorised thereto by their respective governments, have signed this Protocol.

DONE in duplicate at Singapore, this 29th day of November 2011, in the English and French languages, each version being equally authentic.

David Sevigny
________________________________
FOR THE GOVERNMENT OF CANADA

Moses Lee
______________________________
FOR THE GOVERNMENT
OF THE REPUBLIC OF SINGAPORE

PROTOCOLE AMENDANT LA CONVENTION ENTRE LE CANADA ET la République de Singapour, TENDANT À ÉVITER LES DOUBLES IMPOSITIONS ET À PRÉVENIR L’ÉVASION FISCALE EN MATIÈRE D’IMPÔTS SUR LE REVENU, FAITE À SINGAPOUR LE 6 MARS 1976


Cette version électronique du Protocole amendant la Convention fiscale entre le Canada et Singapour, signé le 29 novembre 2011, n'est fournie qu'à titre de référence et n'a aucune valeur officielle.


LE GOUVERNEMENT DU CANADA ET LE GOUVERNEMENT DE LA RÉPUBLIQUE DE SINGAPOUR,

DÉSIREUX d’amender la Convention entre le Canada et la République de Singapour, tendant à éviter les doubles impositions et à prévenir l’évasion fiscale en matière d’impôts sur le revenu, faite à Singapour le 6 mars 1976 (« la Convention »),

SONT CONVENUS des dispositions suivantes :

ARTICLE I

Le texte de l’article 25 (Échange de renseignements) de la Convention est supprimé et remplacé par ce qui suit :

« 1. Les autorités compétentes des États contractants échangent les renseignements vraisemblablement pertinents pour appliquer les dispositions de la présente Convention ou pour l’administration ou l’application de la législation interne relative aux impôts de toute nature ou dénomination perçus pour le compte des États contractants, dans la mesure où l’imposition qu’elle prévoit n’est pas contraire à la Convention. L’échange de renseignements n’est pas restreint par les articles 1 et 2.

2. Les renseignements reçus en vertu du paragraphe 1 par un État contractant sont tenus secrets de la même manière que les renseignements obtenus en application de la législation interne de cet État et ne sont communiqués qu’aux personnes ou autorités (y compris les tribunaux et organes administratifs) concernées par l’établissement ou le recouvrement des impôts, par les procédures concernant les impôts, par les décisions sur les recours relatifs aux impôts, ou par le contrôle de ce qui précède. Ces personnes ou autorités n’utilisent ces renseignements qu’à ces fins. Elles peuvent révéler ces renseignements au cours d’audiences publiques de tribunaux ou dans des jugements.

3. Les dispositions des paragraphes 1 et 2 ne peuvent en aucun cas être interprétées comme imposant à un État contractant l’obligation :

a) de prendre des mesures administratives dérogeant à sa législation et à sa pratique administrative ou à celles de l’autre État contractant;

b) de fournir des renseignements qui ne pourraient être obtenus sur la base de sa législation ou dans le cadre de sa pratique administrative normale ou de celles de l’autre État contractant;

c) de fournir des renseignements qui révéleraient un secret commercial, industriel, professionnel ou un procédé commercial ou des renseignements dont la communication serait contraire à l’ordre public.

4. Si des renseignements sont demandés par un État contractant conformément à cet article, l’autre État contractant utilise les pouvoirs dont il dispose pour obtenir les renseignements demandés, même s’il n’en a pas besoin à ses propres fins fiscales. L’obligation qui figure dans la phrase précédente est soumise aux limitations prévues au paragraphe 3 sauf si ces limitations sont susceptibles d’empêcher un État contractant de communiquer des renseignements uniquement parce que ceux-ci ne présentent pas d’intérêt pour lui dans le cadre national.

5. En aucun cas les dispositions du paragraphe 3 ne peuvent être interprétées comme permettant à un État contractant de refuser de communiquer des renseignements uniquement parce que ceux-ci sont détenus par une banque, un autre établissement financier, un mandataire ou une personne agissant en tant qu’agent ou fiduciaire ou parce que ces renseignements se rattachent aux droits de propriété dans une personne. »

ARTICLE II

Chacun des États contractants notifie à l’autre, par voie diplomatique, l’accomplissement des procédures requises par sa législation pour la mise en vigueur du présent Protocole. Le présent Protocole entre en vigueur 30 jours suivant la date de la dernière de ces notifications, et ses dispositions sont applicables à partir de la date d’entrée en vigueur.

ARTICLE III

Le présent Protocole, qui fait partie intégrante de la Convention, demeure en vigueur aussi longtemps que la Convention demeure en vigueur et s’applique aussi longtemps que la Convention elle-même est applicable.

EN FOI DE QUOI les soussignés, dûment autorisés à cet effet par leur gouvernement respectif, ont signé le présent Protocole.

FAIT en double exemplaire à Singapour, ce 29ième jour de novembre 2011, en langues française et anglaise, les deux versions faisant également foi.

POUR LE GOUVERNEMENT DU CANADA


David Sevigny

__________________________________

POUR LE GOUVERNEMENT
DE LA RÉPUBLIQUE DE SINGAPOUR

Moses Lee

____________________________________