Second Protocol To The Convention Between New Zealand And Canada For The Avoidance Of Double Taxation And The Prevention Of Fiscal Evasion With Respect To Taxes On Income

New Zealand and Canada

Having regard to the Convention between New Zealand and Canada for the Avoidance of Double Taxation and the Prevention of Fiscal Evasion with respect to Taxes on Income (the "Convention") done at Wellington on 3 May 2012.

Have agreed that the following provisions shall form an integral part of the Convention:

Article I

With reference to Article 17 of the Convention:

It is understood that pensions paid by, or out of funds created by, the Government of New Zealand, or a political subdivision thereof to any individual in respect of services rendered to the Government of New Zealand or subdivision thereof, shall be taxable only in New Zealand. This paragraph only applies to pensions paid under a Government Superannuation Fund scheme or a National Provident Fund scheme to individuals who became members of one of these schemes prior to 1996.

Article II

Each of the Contracting States shall notify the other Contracting State, through diplomatic channels, of the completion of the procedures necessary to give this Protocol the force of law in New Zealand and in Canada, as the case may be. This Protocol shall enter into force on the date of the later of these notifications and its provisions shall have effect from the date the Convention enters into force.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF the undersigned, duly authorized to that effect, have signed this Protocol.

DONE in duplicate at Wellington, this 12th day of September 2014, in the English and French languages, both texts being equally authentic. 

For New Zealand 
For Canada

Deuxième protocole à la convention entre la Nouvelle-Zélande et le Canada en vue d'éviter les doubles impositions et de prévenir l'évasion fiscale en matière d'impôts sur le revenu

La Nouvelle-Zélande et le Canada

Vu la Convention entre la Nouvelle-Zélande et le Canada en vue d'éviter les doubles impositions et de prévenir l'évasion fiscale en matière d'impôts sur le revenu (la « Convention »), faite à Wellington le 3 mai 2012 ;

Sont convenus des dispositions suivantes qui font partie intégrante de la Convention :

Article I

En ce qui concerne l'article 17 de la Convention :

Il est entendu que les pensions payées par le gouvernement de la Nouvelle-Zélande ou l'une de ses subdivisions politiques, soit directement ou par prélèvement sur des fonds qu'ils ont constitués, à une personne physique au titre de services rendus au gouvernement de la Nouvelle-Zélande ou à l'une de ses subdivisions ne sont imposables qu'en Nouvelle-Zélande. Le présent paragraphe ne s'applique qu'aux pensions payées dans le cadre d'un régime d'une caisse de retraite gouvernementale (Superannuation Fund) ou d'un régime d'une caisse nationale de prévoyance (National Provident Fund) à des personnes physiques qui ont commencé à participer à l'un de ces régimes avant 1996.

Article II

Chacun des États contractants notifie à l'autre État contractant, par la voie diplomatique, l'accomplissement des mesures nécessaires pour donner au présent protocole force de loi en Nouvelle-Zélande et au Canada, selon le cas. Le présent protocole entre en vigueur à la date de la dernière de ces notifications et ses dispositions ont effet à compter de la date d'entrée en vigueur de la Convention.

EN FOI DE QUOI les soussignés, dûment autorisés à cet effet, ont signé le présent protocole.

FAIT en double exemplaire à Wellington, ce 12ième jour de septembre 2014, en langues française et anglaise, chaque version faisant également foi.

Pour la Nouvelle-Zélande
Pour le Canada