Protocol Amending the Agreement Between Canada and Barbados for the Avoidance of Double Taxation and the Prevention of Fiscal Evasion with Respect to Taxes on Income and on Capital, Done at Bridgetown on 22 January 1980


This electronic version of the Protocol Amending the Canada-Barbados Tax Agreement signed on November 8, 2011, is provided for convenience of reference only and has no official sanction.


THE GOVERNMENT OF CANADA AND THE GOVERNMENT OF BARBADOS,

DESIRING to conclude a Protocol amending the Agreement between Canada and Barbados for the Avoidance of Double Taxation and the Prevention of Fiscal Evasion with respect to Taxes on Income and on Capital, done at Bridgetown on 22 January 1980 (hereinafter referred to as “the Agreement”),

HAVE AGREED as follows:

ARTICLE 1

1. Paragraph 1 of Article IV of the Agreement shall be deleted and replaced by the following:

“1. For the purposes of this Agreement, the term “resident of a Contracting State” means:

(a) any person who, under the laws of that State, is liable to tax therein by reason of that person’s domicile, residence, place of management or any other criterion of a similar nature, but does not include any person who is liable to tax in that State in respect only of income from sources in that State or capital situated therein; and

(b) that State or a political subdivision or local authority thereof or any agency or instrumentality of any government of such State, subdivision or authority.”

2. Paragraph 3 of Article IV of the Agreement shall be deleted and replaced by the following:

“3. Where a company is a national of a Contracting State and by reason of paragraph 1 a resident of both Contracting States then that company shall be deemed to be a resident only of the first-mentioned State.

4. Where by reason of the provisions of paragraph 1 a person other than an individual or a company described in paragraph 3 is a resident of both Contracting States, the competent authorities of the Contracting States shall by mutual agreement endeavour to settle the question and to determine the mode of application of this Agreement to such person. In the absence of such agreement, such person shall not be entitled to claim any relief or exemption from tax provided by this Agreement.”

ARTICLE 2

1. Paragraph 3 of Article XIV of the Agreement shall be deleted and replaced by the following:

“3. Income or gains derived by a resident of a Contracting State from the alienation of:

(a) shares, the value of which is derived principally from immovable property situated in the other State; or

(b) an interest in a partnership, trust or other entity, the value of which is derived principally from immovable property situated in that other State,

may be taxed in that other State.”

2. Paragraph 5 of Article XIV of the Agreement shall be deleted and replaced by the following:

“5. The provisions of paragraph 4 shall not affect the right of a Contracting State to levy, according to its law, a tax on gains from the alienation of any property, other than property to which the provisions of paragraph 6 apply, derived by an individual who is a resident of the other Contracting State and has been a resident of the first-mentioned State at any time during the six years immediately preceding the alienation of the property.

6. Where an individual who ceases to be a resident of a Contracting State, and immediately thereafter becomes a resident of the other Contracting State, is treated for the purposes of taxation in the first-mentioned State as having alienated a property (in this paragraph referred to as the “deemed alienation”) and is taxed in that State by reason thereof, the individual may elect to be treated for purposes of taxation in the other State as if the individual had, immediately before becoming a resident of that State, sold and repurchased the property for an amount equal to the lesser of its fair market value at the time of the deemed alienation and the amount the individual elects, at the time of the actual alienation of the property, to be the proceeds of disposition in the first-mentioned State in respect of the deemed alienation. However, this provision shall not apply to property any gain from which, arising immediately before the individual became a resident of that other State, may be taxed in that other State nor to immovable property situated in a third State.”

ARTICLE 3

1. Paragraph 1 of Article XXV of the Agreement shall be deleted and replaced by the following:

“1. In the case of Canada, double taxation shall be avoided as follows:

(a) subject to the existing provisions of the law of Canada regarding the deduction from tax payable in Canada of tax paid in a territory outside Canada and to any subsequent modification of those provisions - which shall not affect the general principle hereof - and unless a greater deduction or relief is provided under the laws of Canada, tax payable in Barbados on profits, income or gains arising in Barbados shall be deducted from any Canadian tax payable in respect of such profits, income or gains;

(b) subject to the existing provisions of the law of Canada regarding the allowance as a credit against Canadian tax of tax payable in a territory outside Canada and to any subsequent modification of those provisions - which shall not affect the general principle hereof - where a company which is a resident of Barbados pays a dividend to a company which is a resident of Canada and which controls directly or indirectly at least 10 per cent of the voting power in the first-mentioned company, the credit shall take into account the tax payable in Barbados by that first-mentioned company in respect of the profits out of which such dividend is paid;

(c) where, in accordance with any provision of this Agreement, income derived or capital owned by a resident of Canada is exempt from tax in Canada, Canada may nevertheless, in calculating the amount of tax on other income or capital, take into account the exempted income or capital.”

2. Paragraph 4 of Article XXV of the Agreement shall be deleted.

ARTICLE 4

Article XXVIII of the Agreement shall be deleted and replaced by the following:

“Article XXVIII
Exchange of Information

1. The competent authorities of the Contracting States shall exchange such information as is foreseeably relevant for carrying out the provisions of this Agreement or to the administration or enforcement of the domestic laws concerning taxes of every kind and description imposed on behalf of the Contracting States, insofar as the taxation thereunder is not contrary to this Agreement. The exchange of information is not restricted by Articles 1 and 2.

2. Any information received under paragraph 1 by a Contracting State shall be treated as secret in the same manner as information obtained under the domestic laws of that State and shall be disclosed only to persons or authorities (including courts and administrative bodies) concerned with the assessment or collection of, the enforcement or prosecution in respect of, the determination of appeals in relation to taxes, or the oversight of the above. Such persons or authorities shall use the information only for such purposes. They may disclose the information in public court proceedings or in judicial decisions.

3. In no case shall the provisions of paragraphs 1 and 2 be construed so as to impose on a Contracting State the obligation:

(a) to carry out administrative measures at variance with the laws and the administrative practice of that or of the other Contracting State;

(b) to supply information which is not obtainable under the laws or in the normal course of the administration of that or of the other Contracting State; or

(c) to supply information which would disclose any trade, business, industrial, commercial or professional secret or trade process, or information, the disclosure of which would be contrary to public policy (ordre public).

4. If information is requested by a Contracting State in accordance with this Article, the other Contracting State shall use its information gathering measures to obtain the requested information, even though that other State may not need such information for its own tax purposes. The obligation contained in the preceding sentence is subject to the limitations of paragraph 3 but in no case shall such limitations be construed to permit a Contracting State to decline to supply information solely because it has no domestic interest in such information.

5. In no case shall the provisions of paragraph 3 be construed to permit a Contracting State to decline to supply information solely because the information is held by a bank, other financial institution, nominee or person acting in an agency or a fiduciary capacity or because the information relates to ownership interests in a person.”

ARTICLE 5

1. Paragraph 2 of Article XXX of the Agreement shall be deleted and replaced by the following:

“2. Nothing in this Agreement shall be construed as preventing Canada from imposing a tax on amounts included in the income of a resident of Canada with respect to a company, partnership, trust, or other entity, in which that resident has an interest.”

2. Paragraph 3 of Article XXX of the Agreement shall be deleted and replaced by the following:

“3. The provisions of Articles VI to XXIV of this Agreement shall not apply to any person or other entity entitled to any special tax benefit:

(a) in Barbados, under the International Business Companies Act, the Exempt Insurance Act, the Insurance Act, the International Financial Services Act, the Society With Restricted Liability Act, or the International Trusts Act, or any substantially similar law subsequently enacted; or

(b) in either Contracting State, under a law of that State which has been identified in an Exchange of Notes between the Contracting States.”

3. The following new paragraph 5 shall be added to Article XXX of the Agreement:

“5. Where under any provision of this Agreement any income is relieved from tax in a Contracting State and, under the law in force in the other Contracting State a person, in respect of that income, is subject to tax by reference to the amount thereof that is remitted to or received in that other Contracting State and not by reference to the full amount thereof, then the relief to be allowed under this Agreement in the first-mentioned Contracting State shall apply only to so much of the income as is taxed in the other Contracting State.”

ARTICLE 6

1. Each of the Contracting States shall take all measures necessary to give this Protocol the force of law within its jurisdiction and each shall notify the other Contracting State once these measures are completed. This Protocol shall enter into force on the date of the later of these notifications and shall then have effect:

(a) in Canada:

(i) in respect of tax withheld at the source, on amounts paid or credited to non-residents on or after the first day of January in the calendar year next following that in which this Protocol enters into force; and

(ii) in respect of other Canadian tax, for taxation years beginning on or after the first day of January in the calendar year next following that in which this Protocol enters into force;

(b) in Barbados:

(i) in respect of tax withheld at the source, on amounts paid or credited to non-residents on or after the first day of January in the calendar year next following that in which this Protocol enters into force; and

(ii) in respect of other Barbados tax, for taxation years beginning on or after the first day of January in the calendar year next following that in which this Protocol enters into force.

2. Notwithstanding the provisions of this Article, the provisions of paragraph 1 of Article 2 of this Protocol shall have effect for taxation years beginning on or after the later of:

(a) the first day of January in the calendar year next following that in which this Protocol enters into force; and

(b) January 1, 2012.

3. Notwithstanding the provisions of this Article, the provisions of Article 4 of this Protocol (Exchange of Information) shall have effect from the date of entry into force of this Protocol, without regard to the taxation year to which a request for information relates.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF the undersigned, duly authorised thereto, have signed this Protocol.

DONE in duplicate at Bridgetown, this 8th day of November 2011, in the English and French languages, both texts being equally authentic.

Ruth Archibald
_______________________________
FOR CANADA

George Hutson
_______________________________
FOR BARBADOS

Protocole amendant l’accord entre le Canada et la Barbade tendant à éviter les doubles impositions et à prévenir l’évasion fiscale en matière d’impôts sur le revenu et sur la fortune, fait à bridgetown le 22 janvier 1980


Cette version électronique du Protocole amendant l’Accord fiscal entre le Canada et la Barbade, signé le 8 novembre 2011, n'est fournie qu'à titre de référence et n'a aucune valeur officielle.


LE GOUVERNEMENT DU CANADA ET LE GOUVERNEMENT DE LA BARBADE,

DÉSIREUX de conclure un Protocole amendant l’Accord entre le Canada et la Barbade tendant à éviter les doubles impositions et à prévenir l’évasion fiscale en matière d’impôts sur le revenu et sur la fortune, fait à Bridgetown le 22 janvier 1980 (ci-après dénommé « l’Accord »),

SONT CONVENUS des dispositions suivantes :

ARTICLE PREMIER

1. Le paragraphe 1 de l’article IV de l’Accord est supprimé et remplacé par ce qui suit :

« 1. Au sens du présent Accord, l’expression « résident d’un État contractant » désigne :

a) toute personne qui, en vertu de la législation de cet État, est assujettie à l’impôt dans cet État, en raison de son domicile, de sa résidence, de son siège de direction ou de tout autre critère analogue, à l’exclusion de toute personne qui n’est assujettie à l’impôt dans cet État que pour les revenus de sources situées dans cet État ou pour la fortune qui y est située;

b) cet État, chacune de ses subdivisions politiques ou collectivités locales, ou toute personne morale de droit public de tout gouvernement de cet État, subdivision ou collectivité. »

2. Le paragraphe 3 de l’Article IV de l’Accord est supprimé et remplacé par ce qui suit:

« 3. Lorsqu’une société est un national d’un État contractant et qu’en raison du paragraphe 1, elle est un résident des deux États contractants, elle est considérée comme un résident seulement de l’État mentionné en premier lieu.

4. Lorsque, selon les dispositions du paragraphe 1, une personne autre qu’une personne physique ou une société visée au paragraphe 3 est un résident des deux États contractants, les autorités compétentes des États contractants s’efforcent d’un commun accord de trancher la question et de déterminer les modalités d’application du présent Accord à cette personne. À défaut d’un tel accord, cette personne n’a pas le droit de réclamer les abattements ou exonérations d’impôts prévus par le présent Accord. »

ARTICLE 2

1. Le paragraphe 3 de l’article XIV de l’Accord est supprimé et remplacé par ce qui suit :

« 3. Les revenus ou les gains qu’un résident d’un État contractant tire de l’aliénation :

a) d’actions, dont la valeur est tirée principalement de biens immobiliers situés dans l’autre État; ou

b) d’une participation dans une société de personnes, fiducie ou autre entité, dont la valeur est tirée principalement de biens immobiliers situés dans l’autre État,

sont imposables dans cet autre État. »

2. Le paragraphe 5 de l’article XIV de l’Accord est supprimé et remplacé par ce qui suit :

« 5. Les dispositions du paragraphe 4 ne portent pas atteinte au droit d’un État contractant de percevoir, conformément à sa législation, un impôt sur les gains provenant de l’aliénation d’un bien, autre qu’un bien auquel s’appliquent les dispositions du paragraphe 6, et réalisés par une personne physique qui est un résident de l’autre État contractant et qui a été un résident du premier État à un moment quelconque au cours des six années précédant immédiatement l’aliénation du bien.

6. Lorsqu’une personne physique qui, immédiatement après avoir cessé d’être un résident d’un État contractant devient un résident de l’autre État contractant, est considérée aux fins d’imposition dans le premier État comme ayant aliéné un bien (ci-après appelée « aliénation réputée » au présent paragraphe), et qu’elle est imposée dans cet État en raison de cette aliénation, cette personne peut choisir, aux fins d’imposition dans l’autre État, d’être considérée comme ayant vendu et racheté le bien, immédiatement avant de devenir un résident de cet État, pour un montant égal au moins élevé du montant correspondant à la juste valeur marchande du bien au moment de l’aliénation réputée et du montant qu’elle choisit, au moment de l’aliénation réelle du bien, comme étant le produit de disposition dans le premier État relativement à l’aliénation réputée. Toutefois, la présente disposition ne s’applique ni aux biens qui donneraient lieu, immédiatement avant que la personne physique ne devienne un résident de cet autre État, à des gains imposables dans cet autre État, ni aux biens immobiliers situés dans un État tiers. »

ARTICLE 3

1. Le paragraphe 1 de l’article XXV de l’Accord est supprimé et remplacé par ce qui suit :

« 1. En ce qui concerne le Canada, la double imposition est évitée de la façon suivante :

a) sous réserve des dispositions existantes de la législation canadienne concernant l’imputation sur l’impôt canadien payable de l’impôt payé dans un territoire en dehors du Canada et de toute modification ultérieure de ces dispositions qui n’en affecterait pas le principe général, et sans préjudice d’une déduction ou d’un dégrèvement plus important prévu par la législation canadienne, l’impôt payable à la Barbade sur les bénéfices, revenus ou gains provenant de la Barbade est porté en déduction de tout impôt canadien payable au Canada sur ces bénéfices, revenus ou gains;

b) sous réserve des dispositions existantes de la législation canadienne concernant l’imputation sur l’impôt canadien de l’impôt payable dans un territoire en dehors du Canada et de toute modification ultérieure de ces dispositions qui n’en affecterait pas le principe général, lorsqu’une société qui est un résident de la Barbade paie un dividende à une société qui est un résident du Canada et qui contrôle directement ou indirectement au moins 10 p. 100 des droits de vote de la société mentionnée en premier lieu, il est tenu compte, dans le calcul de l’imputation, de l’impôt dû à la Barbade par la société mentionnée en premier lieu sur les bénéfices qui servent au paiement de ce dividende;

c) lorsque, conformément à une disposition quelconque du présent Accord, les revenus qu’un résident du Canada reçoit ou la fortune qu’il possède sont exemptés d’impôts au Canada, le Canada peut néanmoins, pour calculer le montant de l’impôt sur d’autres éléments du revenu ou de la fortune, tenir compte des revenus ou de la fortune exemptés. »

2. Le paragraphe 4 de l’article XXV de l’Accord est supprimé.

ARTICLE 4

L’article XXVIII de l’Accord est supprimé et remplacé par ce qui suit :

« Article XXVIII
Échange de renseignements

1. Les autorités compétentes des États contractants échangent les renseignements vraisemblablement pertinents pour appliquer les dispositions du présent Accord ou pour l’administration ou l’application de la législation interne des États contractants relative aux impôts de toute nature ou dénomination perçus pour le compte des États contractants, dans la mesure où l’imposition qu’elle prévoit n’est pas contraire au présent Accord. L’échange de renseignements n’est pas restreint par les articles 1 et 2.

2. Les renseignements reçus par un État contractant en vertu du paragraphe 1 sont tenus secrets de la même manière que les renseignements obtenus en application de la législation interne de cet État et ne sont communiqués qu’aux personnes ou autorités (y compris les tribunaux et organes administratifs) concernées par l’établissement ou le recouvrement d’impôts, par les procédures ou poursuites concernant ces impôts, par les décisions sur les recours relatifs à ces impôts ou par le contrôle de ce qui précède. Ces personnes ou autorités n’utilisent ces renseignements qu’à ces fins. Elles peuvent révéler ces renseignements au cours d’audiences publiques de tribunaux ou dans des jugements.

3. Les dispositions des paragraphes 1 et 2 ne peuvent en aucun cas être interprétées comme imposant à un État contractant l’obligation :

a) de prendre des mesures administratives dérogeant à sa législation et à sa pratique administrative ou à celles de l’autre État contractant;

b) de fournir des renseignements qui ne pourraient être obtenus sur la base de sa législation ou dans le cadre de sa pratique administrative normale ou de celles de l’autre État contractant;

c) de fournir des renseignements qui révéleraient un secret commercial, industriel, professionnel, ou un procédé commercial ou des renseignements, dont la communication serait contraire à l’ordre public.

4. Si des renseignements sont demandés par un État contractant conformément au présent article, l’autre État contractant utilise les pouvoirs dont il dispose pour obtenir les renseignements demandés, même s’il n’en a pas besoin à ses propres fins fiscales. L’obligation qui figure dans la phrase précédente est soumise aux limitations prévues au paragraphe 3 sauf si ces limitations sont susceptibles d’empêcher un État contractant de communiquer des renseignements uniquement parce que ceux-ci ne présentent pas d’intérêt pour lui dans le cadre national.

5. En aucun cas les dispositions du paragraphe 3 ne peuvent être interprétées comme permettant à un État contractant de refuser de communiquer des renseignements uniquement parce que ceux-ci sont détenus par une banque, un autre établissement financier, un mandataire ou une personne agissant en tant qu’agent ou fiduciaire ou parce que ces renseignements se rattachent au droit de propriété dans une personne. »

ARTICLE 5

1. Le paragraphe 2 de l’article XXX de l’Accord est supprimé et remplacé par ce qui suit :

« 2. Aucune disposition du présent Accord ne peut être interprétée comme empêchant le Canada de prélever un impôt sur les montants inclus dans le revenu d’un résident du Canada à l’égard d’une société, d’une société de personnes, d’une fiducie ou d’une autre entité dans laquelle ce résident possède une participation. »

2. Le paragraphe 3 de l’article XXX de l’Accord est supprimé et remplacé par ce qui suit :

« 3. Les dispositions des articles VI à XXIV du présent Accord ne s’appliquent pas aux personnes ou autres entités ayant droit à un avantage fiscal spécial :

a) à la Barbade, en vertu de la Loi sur les sociétés d’affaires internationales (International Business Companies Act), de la Loi sur les assurances exemptées (Exempt Insurance Act), de la Loi sur les assurances (Insurance Act), de la Loi sur les services financiers internationaux (International Financial Services Act), de la Loi sur la société à responsabilité restreinte (Society With Restricted Liability Act) ou de la Loi sur les fiducies internationales (International Trusts Act), ou de toute autre loi substantiellement analogue adoptée par la suite; ou

b) dans l’un ou l’autre État contractant, en vertu d’une loi de cet État qui a été identifiée dans un échange de notes entre les États contractants. »

3. Le nouveau paragraphe 5 suivant est ajouté à l’article XXX de l’Accord :

« 5. Lorsque, en vertu d’une disposition quelconque du présent Accord, un revenu bénéficie dans un État contractant d’un allégement d’impôt et que, en vertu de la législation en vigueur dans l’autre État contractant, une personne est, à l’égard de ce revenu, assujettie à l’impôt sur la base du montant de ce revenu qui est remis ou reçu dans cet autre État et non pas sur la base de son montant total, l’allégement qui doit être accordé en vertu du présent Accord dans l’État contractant mentionné en premier lieu ne s’applique qu’au montant du revenu qui est imposé dans l’autre État contractant. »

ARTICLE 6

1. Chacun des États contractants prend toutes les mesures nécessaires pour donner force de loi au présent Protocole dans sa juridiction, et il notifie à l’autre État contractant l’accomplissement de ces mesures. Le présent Protocole entre en vigueur à la date de la dernière de ces notifications et prend ainsi effet :

a) au Canada :

i)  à l’égard de l’impôt retenu à la source sur les montants payés à des non‑résidents, ou portés à leur crédit, le 1er janvier de l’année civile qui suit immédiatement celle de l’entrée en vigueur du présent Protocole, ou par la suite,

ii) à l’égard des autres impôts canadiens, pour toute année d’imposition commençant le 1er janvier de l’année civile qui suit immédiatement celle de l’entrée en vigueur du présent Protocole, ou par la suite;

b) à la Barbade :

i)  à l’égard de l’impôt retenu à la source sur les montants payés à des non‑résidents, ou portés à leur crédit, le 1er janvier de l’année civile qui suit immédiatement celle de l’entrée en vigueur du présent Protocole, ou par la suite,

ii) à l’égard des autres impôts de la Barbade, pour toute année d’imposition commençant le 1er janvier de l’année civile qui suit immédiatement celle de l’entrée en vigueur du présent Protocole, ou par la suite.

2. Nonobstant les dispositions du présent article, les dispositions du paragraphe 1 de l’article 2 du présent Protocole prennent effet pour les années d’imposition commençant à la plus tardive des deux dates suivantes, ou par la suite :

a) le 1er janvier de l’année civile qui suit immédiatement celle de l’entrée en vigueur du présent Protocole;

b) le 1er janvier 2012.

3. Nonobstant les dispositions du présent article, les dispositions de l’article 4 du présent Protocole (Échange de renseignements) prennent effet à partir de la date d’entrée en vigueur du présent Protocole, sans égard à l’année d’imposition concernée par la demande de renseignements.

EN FOI DE QUOI les soussignés, dûment autorisés à cet effet, ont signé le présent Protocole.

FAIT en double exemplaire à Bridgetown, ce 8ième jour de novembre 2011, en langues française et anglaise, chaque version faisant également foi.

POUR LE CANADA
Ruth Archibald
_______________________________

POUR LA BARBADE
George Hutson
_______________________________