Tax Information Exchange Agreement Signed Between Canada and Antigua and Barbuda

November 14, 2017

Full text of the Agreement


An Agreement between Canada and Antigua and Barbuda for the exchange of information on tax matters was signed on October 31, 2017 in St. John’s, Antigua and Barbuda. The Agreement shall enter into force on the date of the later notice by which each Contracting Party has notified the other of the completion of its necessary internal procedures for entry into force of the Agreement.

Negotiations for a tax information exchange agreement with Antigua and Barbuda commenced on November 26, 2010.

Consistent with Canada’s international efforts to promote transparency and effective exchange of tax information, the Agreement provides for the mutual exchange of tax information that is possessed by, or accessible to, the taxation authorities of either jurisdiction (in the case of Canada, the Canada Revenue Agency), in order to better administer and enforce taxation laws and to prevent international fiscal evasion. The Agreement is based on the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development’s internationally agreed standard on exchange of tax information upon request.

For further information contact:

Tax Legislation Division
Phone: (613) 369-3678

For information concerning the interpretation and application of Canada’s tax treaties, please contact the Canada Revenue Agency (CRA). Contact information is available on the CRA website. The CRA website has information concerning tax treaties and other information concerning international tax issues.

Signature d'un accord d'échange de renseignements fiscaux entre le Canada et Antigua-et-Barbuda

14 novembre 2017

Le texte intégral de l'Accord


Un Accord entre le Canada et Antigua-et-Barbuda sur l’échange de renseignements en matière fiscale a été signé le 31 octobre 2017 à St. John's, Antigua-et-Barbuda. L’Accord entrera en vigueur à la date de la dernière des notifications par lesquelles les parties contractantes se sont notifié l’accomplissement de leurs procédures internes régissant l’entrée en vigueur de l’Accord.

Les négociations pour un accord d’échange de renseignements fiscaux avec Antigua-et-Barbuda ont débuté le 26 novembre 2010.

Conformément aux efforts déployés par le Canada pour promouvoir la transparence et l’échange efficace de renseignements fiscaux à l’échelle internationale, l’Accord permet l’échange bilatéral de renseignements fiscaux qui sont en possession des autorités fiscales de l’une ou l’autre des juridictions (dans le cas du Canada, l’Agence du revenu du Canada), ou qui sont accessibles par elles, afin de mieux administrer et appliquer les lois fiscales et de prévenir l’évasion fiscale internationale. L’Accord est fondé sur la norme de l’Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques en matière d’échange de renseignements fiscaux sur demande admise à l’échelle internationale.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Division de la législation de l'impôt
613-369-3678

Pour de plus amples renseignements concernant l’interprétation et l’application des conventions fiscales canadiennes, veuillez contacter l’Agence du Revenu du Canada (ARC). Vous trouverez les coordonnées de l’ARC sur leur site web. Le site web de l’ARC contient des renseignements concernant les conventions fiscales et contient d’autres renseignements concernant la fiscalité internationale.