PROTOCOL AMENDING THE CONVENTION BETWEEN THE GOVERNMENT OF CANADA AND THE GOVERNMENT OF THE GRAND DUCHY OF LUXEMBOURG FOR THE AVOIDANCE OF DOUBLE TAXATION AND THE PREVENTION OF FISCAL EVASIONWITH RESPECT TO TAXES ON INCOME AND ON CAPITAL, DONE AT LUXEMBOURG ON 10 SEPTEMBER  1999


This electronic version of the Protocol Amending the Canada-Luxembourg Tax Convention signed on May 8, 2012, is provided for convenience of reference only and has no official sanction.


The government of CANADA and THE government of the GRAND DUCHY OF LUXEMBOURG,

DESIRING to amend the Convention between the Government of Canada and the Government of the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg for the Avoidance of Double Taxation and the Prevention of Fiscal Evasion with respect to Taxes on Income and on Capital, done at Luxembourg on 10 September 1999 (hereinafter referred to as the “Convention”),

HAVE AGREED as follows:

Article I

The text of Article 26 of the Convention is deleted and replaced by the following:

“1. The competent authorities of the Contracting States shall exchange such information as is foreseeably relevant for carrying out the provisions of this Convention or to the administration or enforcement of the domestic laws concerning taxes of every kind and description imposed by or on behalf of the Contracting States, insofar as the taxation thereunder is not contrary to this Convention. The exchange of information is not restricted by Articles 1 and 2.

2. Any information received under paragraph 1 by a Contracting State shall be treated as secret in the same manner as information obtained under the domestic laws of that State and shall be disclosed only to persons or authorities (including courts and administrative bodies) concerned with the assessment or collection of, the enforcement or prosecution in respect of, the determination of appeals in relation to taxes, or the oversight of the above. Such persons or authorities shall use the information only for such purposes. They may disclose the information in public court proceedings or in judicial decisions. Notwithstanding the foregoing, information received by a Contracting State may be used for other purposes when such information may be used for such other purposes under the laws of both States and the competent authority of the supplying State authorises such use.

3.  In no case shall the provisions of paragraphs 1 and 2 be construed so as to impose on a Contracting State the obligation:

(a)  to carry out administrative measures at variance with the laws and administrative practice of that or of the other Contracting State;

(b)  to supply information which is not obtainable under the laws or in the normal course of the administration of that or of the other Contracting State;

(c)  to supply information which would disclose any trade, business, industrial, commercial or professional secret or trade process, or information, the disclosure of which would be contrary to public policy (ordre public).

4. If information is requested by a Contracting State in accordance with this Article, the other Contracting State shall use its information gathering measures to obtain the requested information, even though that other State may not need such information for its own tax purposes. The obligation contained in the preceding sentence is subject to the limitations of paragraph 3 but in no case shall such limitations be construed to permit a Contracting State to decline to supply information solely because it has no domestic interest in such information.

5. In no case shall the provisions of paragraph 3 be construed to permit a Contracting State to decline to supply information solely because the information is held by a bank, other financial institution, trust, foundation, nominee or person acting in an agency or a fiduciary capacity or because it relates to ownership interests in a person.”

Article II

1. The Contracting States shall notify each other in writing, through diplomatic channels, of the completion of their respective procedures which are necessary for the entry into force of this Protocol.

2. This Protocol shall enter into force on the date of the later of the notifications referred to in paragraph 1. The provisions of this Protocol shall have effect for taxable periods beginning on or after 1 January of the calendar year next following the year of the entry into force of this Protocol, and, where there is no taxable period, for all charges to tax arising on or after 1 January of the calendar year next following the year of the entry into force of this Protocol.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, the undersigned, duly authorized thereto by their respective governments, have signed this Protocol.

DONE in duplicate at Montreal on this 8th day of May 2012, in the English and French languages, each version being equally authentic.

Ed Fast

FOR THE GOVERNMENT OF CANADA

Etienne Schneider

FOR THE GOVERNMENT OF THE GRAND DUCHY OF LUXEMBOURG

Aidez le gouvernement du Canada à organiser son site Web Canada.ca!
Remplissez un questionnaire anonyme de 5 minutes. Commencez maintenant.

AVENANT AMENDANT LA CONVENTION ENTRE LE GOUVERNEMENT DU CANADA ET LE GOUVERNEMENT DU GRAND‑DUCHE DE LUXEMBOURG EN VUE D’ÉVITER LES DOUBLES IMPOSITIONS ET DE PRÉVENIR LA FRAUDE FISCALE EN MATIÈRE D’IMPÔTS SUR LE REVENU ET SUR LA FORTUNE, FAITE À LUXEMBOURG LE 10 SEPTEMBRE 1999


Cette version électronique de l’Avenant amendant la Convention fiscale entre le Canada et le Luxembourg, signé le 8 mai 2012, n'est fournie qu'à titre de référence et n'a aucune valeur officielle.


LE GOUVERNEMENT DU CANADA ET LE GOUVERNEMENT DU GRAND‑DUCHÉ DE LUXEMBOURG,

DÉSIREUX d’amender la Convention entre le Gouvernement du Canada et le Gouvernement du Grand-Duché de Luxembourg en vue d’éviter les doubles impositions et de prévenir la fraude fiscale en matière d’impôts sur le revenu et sur la fortune, faite à Luxembourg le 10 septembre 1999 (ci-après dénommée la « Convention »),

SONT CONVENUS de ce qui suit :

ARTICLE I

Le texte de l’article 26 de la Convention est supprimé et remplacé par celui qui suit :

« 1. Les autorités compétentes des États contractants échangent les renseignements vraisemblablement pertinents pour appliquer les dispositions de la présente Convention ou pour l’administration ou l’application de la législation interne relative aux impôts de toute nature ou dénomination perçus par ou pour le compte des États contractants dans la mesure où l’imposition qu’elle prévoit n’est pas contraire à la présente Convention. L’échange de renseignements n’est pas restreint par les articles 1 et 2.

2. Les renseignements reçus en vertu du paragraphe 1 par un État contractant sont tenus secrets de la même manière que les renseignements obtenus en application de la législation interne de cet État et ne sont communiqués qu’aux personnes ou autorités (y compris les tribunaux et organes administratifs) concernées par l’établissement ou le recouvrement des impôts, par les procédures ou poursuites concernant ces impôts, par les décisions sur les recours relatifs à ces impôts, ou par le contrôle de ce qui précède. Ces personnes ou autorités n’utilisent ces renseignements qu’à ces fins. Elles peuvent révéler ces renseignements au cours d’audiences publiques de tribunaux ou dans des jugements. Nonobstant ce qui précède, les renseignements reçus par un État contractant peuvent être utilisés à d’autres fins lorsque cette possibilité résulte des lois des deux États et lorsque l’autorité compétente de l’État qui fournit les renseignements autorise cette utilisation.

3. Les dispositions des paragraphes 1 et 2 ne peuvent en aucun cas être interprétées comme imposant à un État contractant l’obligation :

a) de prendre des mesures administratives dérogeant à sa législation et à sa pratique administrative ou à celles de l’autre État contractant;

b) de fournir des renseignements qui ne pourraient être obtenus sur la base de sa législation ou dans le cadre de sa pratique administrative normale ou de celles de l’autre État contractant;

c) de fournir des renseignements qui révéleraient un secret commercial, industriel, professionnel ou un procédé commercial ou des renseignements dont la communication serait contraire à l’ordre public.

4. Si des renseignements sont demandés par un État contractant conformément à cet article, l’autre État contractant utilise les pouvoirs dont il dispose pour obtenir les renseignements demandés, même s’il n’en a pas besoin à ses propres fins fiscales. L’obligation qui figure dans la phrase précédente est soumise aux limitations prévues au paragraphe 3 sauf si ces limitations sont susceptibles d’empêcher un État contractant de communiquer des renseignements uniquement parce que ceux-ci ne présentent pas d’intérêt pour lui dans le cadre national.

5. En aucun cas les dispositions du paragraphe 3 ne peuvent être interprétées comme permettant à un État contractant de refuser de communiquer des renseignements uniquement parce que ceux-ci sont détenus par une banque, un autre établissement financier, une fiducie, une fondation, un mandataire ou une personne agissant en tant qu’agent ou fiduciaire ou parce que ces renseignements se rattachent aux droits de propriété dans une personne.»

ARTICLE II

1. Chacun des États contractants notifie par écrit à l’autre État contractant, par la voie diplomatique, l’accomplissement de ses procédures nécessaires pour l’entrée en vigueur du présent Avenant.

2. Le présent Avenant entre en vigueur à la date de la dernière des notifications visées au paragraphe 1. Les dispositions du présent Avenant sont applicables aux exercices fiscaux commençant le ou après le 1er janvier de l’année civile suivant immédiatement l’année de l’entrée en vigueur du présent Avenant et, à défaut d’exercice fiscal, à toutes les obligations fiscales prenant naissance le ou après le 1er janvier de l’année civile suivant immédiatement l’année de l’entrée en vigueur du présent Avenant.

EN FOI DE QUOI, les soussignés, dûment autorisés à cet effet par leur Gouvernement respectif, ont signé le présent Avenant.

FAIT en double exemplaire, à Montréal, ce 8ième jour de mai 2012, en langues française et anglaise, chaque version faisant également foi.

Ed Fast

POUR LE GOUVERNEMENT DU CANADA

Etienne Schneider

POUR LE GOUVERNEMENT DU GRAND-DUCHÉ DE LUXEMBOURG