PROTOCOL AMENDING THE CONVENTION BETWEEN THE GOVERNMENT OF CANADA AND THE GOVERNMENT OF THE FRENCH REPUBLIC FOR THE AVOIDANCE OF DOUBLE TAXATION AND THE PREVENTION OF FISCAL EVASION WITH RESPECT TO TAXES ON INCOME AND ON CAPITAL SIGNED ON MAY 2, 1975, AS AMENDED BY THE PROTOCOL SIGNED ON JANUARY 16, 1987 AND AS FURTHER AMENDED BY THE PROTOCOL SIGNED NOVEMBER 30, 1995


This electronic version of the Protocol Amending the Canada-France Tax Convention signed on February 2, 2010, is provided for convenience of reference only and has no official sanction.


THE GOVERNMENT OF CANADA

and

THE GOVERNMENT OF THE FRENCH REPUBLIC,

DESIRING to conclude a Protocol to amend further the Convention between the Government of Canada and the Government of the French Republic for the avoidance of double taxation and the prevention of fiscal evasion with respect to taxes on income and on capital, signed on May 2, 1975 as amended by the Protocol signed on January 16, 1987 and as further amended by the Protocol signed November 30, 1995 (hereinafter referred to as "the Convention"),

HAVE AGREED as follows:

ARTICLE I

1. Paragraphs 1 and 2 of Article 26 of the Convention shall be deleted and replaced by the following:

"1. The competent authorities of the Contracting States shall exchange such information as is foreseeably relevant for carrying out the provisions of this Convention or to the administration or enforcement of the domestic laws concerning taxes of every kind and description imposed on behalf of the Contracting States, insofar as the taxation thereunder is not contrary to the Convention. The exchange of information is not restricted by Articles 1 and 2.

2. Any information received under paragraph 1 by a Contracting State shall be treated as secret in the same manner as information obtained under the domestic laws of that State and shall be disclosed only to persons or authorities (including courts and administrative bodies) concerned with the assessment or collection of, the enforcement or the prosecution in respect of, the determination of appeals in relation to taxes, or the oversight of the above. Such persons or authorities shall use the information only for such purposes. They may disclose the information in public court proceedings or in judicial decisions.

3. In no case shall the provisions of paragraphs 1 and 2 be construed so as to impose on a Contracting State the obligation:

a) to carry out administrative measures at variance with the laws and the administrative practice of that or of the other Contracting State;

b) to supply information that is not obtainable under the laws or in the normal course of the administration of that or of the other Contracting State; or

c) to supply information that would disclose any trade, business, industrial, commercial or professional secret or trade process, or information, the disclosure of which would be contrary to public policy (ordre public).

4. If information is requested by a Contracting State in accordance with this Article, the other Contracting State shall use its information gathering measures to obtain the requested information, even though the other State may not need such information for its own tax purposes. The obligation contained in the preceding sentence is subject to the limitations of paragraph 3 but in no case shall such limitations be construed to permit a Contracting State to decline to supply information solely because it has no domestic interest in such information.

5. In no case shall the provisions of paragraph 3 be construed to permit a Contracting State to decline to supply information solely because the information is held by a bank, other financial institution, nominee or person acting in an agency or fiduciary capacity or because the information relates to ownership interests in a person."

ARTICLE II

Paragraphs 1 and 2 of Article 28 of the Convention shall be deleted and replaced by the following:

"1. This Convention shall apply, with respect to France, to the European and Overseas Departments (Guadeloupe, Guyane, Martinique and Réunion) of the French Republic, to the Territorial Authority of Saint-Pierre-et-Miquelon as well as to New Caledonia.

2. This Convention may be extended, either in its entirety or with any necessary modifications, to any other Overseas Territory of the French Republic which imposes taxes substantially similar in character to those to which the Convention applies. Any such extension shall take effect from such date and subject to such modifications and conditions, including conditions as to termination, as may be specified and agreed between the Contracting States in notes to be exchanged through diplomatic channels or in any other manner in accordance with their constitutional procedures."

ARTICLE III

1. Each Contracting State shall notify to the other, through diplomatic channel, of the completion of the procedures required for the bringing into force of this Protocol. The Protocol shall enter into force on the day on which the later of these notifications is received and its provisions shall apply:

a) in Canada:

(i) in respect of tax withheld at source, for amounts paid or credited to non-residents on or after the first day of January in the calendar year following that in which the Protocol enters into force; and

(ii) in respect of other taxes, for any taxation year beginning on or after the first day of January in the calendar year  following that in which the Protocol enters into force;

b) in France:

(i) in respect of the withholding taxes, for any amount paid on or after the first day of January in the calendar year  following that in which the Protocol enters into force;

(ii) in respect of taxes on income which are not levied by way of withholding tax, to income relating to any calendar year or relating to any accounting period beginning on or after the first day of January in the calendar year following that in which the Protocol enters into force; and

(iii) in respect of other taxes, to taxable events occurring on or after the first day of January in the calendar year following that in which the Protocol enters into force.

ARTICLE IV

1. This Protocol shall remain in force as long as the Convention remains in force.

2. The Contracting States shall be empowered, after the entry into force of the Protocol, to publish the text of the Convention as amended by the Protocols of January 16, 1987 and November 30, 1995 and by this Protocol.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF the undersigned, duly authorised thereto by their respective governments, have signed this Protocol.

DONE in duplicate at Paris, this 2nd day of February 2010, in the English and French languages, both texts being equally authoritative.

Marc Lortie
Canadian Ambassador to France

FOR THE GOVERNMENT OF CANADA

Philippe Gomes
President of the Government of New Caledonia

FOR THE GOVERNMENT OF THE FRENCH REPUBLIC

AVENANT À LA CONVENTION ENTRE LE GOUVERNEMENT DU CANADA ET LE GOUVERNEMENT DE LA RÉPUBLIQUE FRANÇAISE TENDANT À ÉVITER LES DOUBLES IMPOSITIONS ET À PRÉVENIR L'ÉVASION FISCALE EN MATIÈRE D'IMPÔTS SUR LE REVENU ET LA FORTUNE, SIGNÉE LE 2 MAI 1975 ET MODIFIÉE PAR L'AVENANT DU 16 JANVIER 1987 PUIS PAR L'AVENANT DU 30 NOVEMBRE 1995


Cette version électronique de l’Avenant modifiant la convention fiscale entre le Canada et la France, signé le 2 février 2010, n'est fournie qu'à titre de référence et n'a aucune valeur officielle.


LE GOUVERNEMENT DU CANADA

et

LE GOUVERNEMENT DE LA RÉPUBLIQUE FRANÇAISE,

DÉSIREUX de conclure un avenant modifiant de nouveau la Convention entre le Gouvernement du Canada et le Gouvernement de la République française tendant à éviter les doubles impositions et à prévenir l'évasion fiscale en matière d'impôts sur le revenu et sur la fortune, signée à Paris le 2 mai 1975 et modifiée par l'avenant signé le 16 janvier 1987 puis par l'avenant signé le 30 novembre 1995 (ci-après dénommée « la Convention »),

SONT CONVENUS des dispositions suivantes :

ARTICLE PREMIER

1. Les paragraphes 1 et 2 de l’article 26 de la Convention sont supprimés et remplacés par ce qui suit :

« 1. Les autorités compétentes des États contractants échangent les renseignements vraisemblablement pertinents pour appliquer les dispositions de la présente Convention ou pour l’administration ou l’application de la législation interne relative aux impôts de toute nature ou dénomination perçus pour le compte des États contractants dans la mesure où l’imposition qu’elles prévoient n’est pas contraire à la Convention. L'échange de renseignements n'est pas restreint par les articles 1 et 2.

2. Les renseignements reçus en vertu du paragraphe 1 par un État contractant sont tenus secrets de la même manière que les renseignements obtenus en application de la législation interne de cet État et ne sont communiqués qu'aux personnes ou autorités (y compris les tribunaux et organes administratifs) concernées par l'établissement ou le recouvrement des impôts, par les procédures ou poursuites concernant les impôts, par les décisions sur les recours relatifs aux impôts, ou par le contrôle de ce qui précède. Ces personnes ou autorités n'utilisent ces renseignements qu'à ces fins.  Elles peuvent faire état de ces renseignements au cours d'audiences publiques de tribunaux ou dans des jugements.

3. Les dispositions des paragraphes 1 et 2 ne peuvent en aucun cas être interprétées comme imposant à un État contractant l'obligation :

a) de prendre des mesures administratives dérogeant à sa législation et à sa pratique administrative ou à celles de l'autre État contractant ;

b) de fournir des renseignements qui ne pourraient être obtenus sur la base de sa législation ou dans le cadre de sa pratique administrative normale ou de celles de l'autre État contractant ;

c) de fournir des renseignements qui révéleraient un secret commercial, industriel, professionnel ou un procédé commercial ou des renseignements dont la communication serait contraire à l'ordre public.

4. Si des renseignements sont demandés par un État contractant conformément à cet article, l'autre État contractant utilise les pouvoirs dont il dispose pour obtenir les renseignements demandés, même s‘il n’en a pas besoin à ses propres fins fiscales. L’obligation qui figure dans la phrase précédente est soumise aux limitations prévues au paragraphe 3 sauf si ces limitations sont susceptibles d’empêcher un État contractant de communiquer des renseignements uniquement parce que ceux-ci ne présentent pas d’intérêt pour lui dans le cadre national.

5. En aucun cas, les dispositions du paragraphe 3 ne peuvent être interprétées comme permettant à un État contractant de refuser de communiquer des renseignements uniquement parce que ceux-ci sont détenus par une banque, un autre établissement financier, un mandataire ou une personne agissant en tant qu’agent ou fiduciaire ou parce que ces renseignements se rattachent aux droits de propriété dans une personne. »

ARTICLE II

Les paragraphes 1 et 2 de l’article 28 de la Convention sont supprimés et remplacés par ce qui suit :

« 1. La présente Convention s’applique, en ce qui concerne la France, aux départements européens et aux départements d’outre-mer (Guadeloupe, Guyane, Martinique et Réunion) de la République française, à la collectivité territoriale de Saint-Pierre-et-Miquelon ainsi qu’à la Nouvelle-Calédonie.

2. La présente Convention peut être étendue, telle quelle ou avec les modifications nécessaires, à tout autre territoire d’outre-mer de la République française qui perçoit des impôts de caractère analogue à ceux auxquels s’applique la Convention. Une telle extension prend effet à partir de la date, avec les modifications et dans les conditions y compris les conditions relatives à la cessation d’application, qui sont fixées d’un commun accord entre les États contractants par échanges de notes diplomatiques ou selon toute autre procédure conforme à leurs dispositions constitutionnelles. »

ARTICLE III

1. Chacun des États contractants notifiera à l'autre, par voie diplomatique, l'accomplissement des procédures requises en ce qui le concerne pour l'entrée en vigueur du présent Avenant, qui prend effet à la date de la réception de la dernière de ces notifications. Ses dispositions seront applicables :

a) au Canada :

(i) en ce qui concerne l'impôt retenu à la source, pour les montants payés à des non-résidents, ou portés à leur crédit, le 1er janvier de l’année civile suivant celle de l’entrée en vigueur de l’Avenant ou après cette date ; et

(ii) en ce qui concerne les autres impôts, pour toute année d'imposition commençant le 1er janvier de l’année civile suivant celle de l’entrée en vigueur de l’Avenant ou après cette date ;

b) en France :

(i) en ce qui concerne les impôts perçus par voie de retenue à la source, à toute somme payée le 1er janvier de l’année civile suivant celle de l’entrée en vigueur de l’Avenant ou après cette date ;

(ii) en ce qui concerne les impôts sur le revenu qui ne sont pas perçus par voie de retenue à la source, aux revenus afférents à toute année civile ou à tout exercice comptable commençant le 1er janvier de l’année civile suivant celle de l’entrée en vigueur de l’Avenant ou après cette date ; et

(iii) en ce qui concerne les autres impôts, aux impositions dont le fait générateur interviendra le 1er janvier de l’année civile suivant celle de l’entrée en vigueur de l’Avenant ou après cette date.

ARTICLE IV

1. Le présent Avenant demeure en vigueur aussi longtemps que la Convention demeure en vigueur.

2. Les États contractants sont habilités, après l'entrée en vigueur de l'Avenant, à publier le texte de la Convention tel que modifié par les Avenants du 16 janvier 1987 et du 30 novembre 1995 et par le présent Avenant.

EN FOI DE QUOI les soussignés, dûment autorisés à cette fin par leurs gouvernements respectifs, ont signé le présent Avenant.

FAIT en double exemplaire à Paris, le 2ème jour de février 2010, en langues française et anglaise, les deux versions faisant également foi.

Marc Lortie
Ambassadeur du Canada en France

POUR LE GOUVERNEMENT DU CANADA

Philippe Gomes
Président du gouvernement de la Nouvelle-Calédonie

POUR LE GOUVERNEMENT DE LA RÉPUBLIQUE FRANÇAISE