Second Protocol Amending the Convention Between Canada and the Republic of Austria

for the Avoidance of Double Taxation and the Prevention of Fiscal Evasion with Respect to Taxes on Income and on Capital, done at Vienna on 9 December 1976, as Amended by the Protocol done at Vienna on 15 June 1999


This electronic version of the Second Protocol Amending the Canada-Austria Tax Convention signed on March 9, 2012, is provided for convenience of reference only and has no official sanction.


CANADA AND THE REPUBLIC OF AUSTRIA;

DESIRING to amend the Convention between Canada and the Republic of Austria for the Avoidance of Double Taxation and the Prevention of Fiscal Evasion with respect to Taxes on Income and on Capital, done at Vienna on 9 December 1976, as amended by the Protocol done at Vienna on 15 June 1999 (“the Convention”),

HAVE AGREED as follows:

Article 1

Paragraphs 1, 2 and 3 of Article 26 of the Convention shall be deleted and replaced by the following paragraphs 1, 2, 3, 4 and 5 and paragraphs 4 and 5 shall be renumbered 6 and 7 respectively:

“1. The competent authorities of the Contracting States shall exchange such information as is foreseeably relevant for carrying out the provisions of this Convention or to the administration or enforcement of the domestic laws concerning taxes of every kind and description imposed on behalf of the Contracting States, insofar as the taxation thereunder is not contrary to the Convention. The exchange of information is not restricted by Articles 1 and 2.

2. Any information received under paragraph 1 by a Contracting State shall be treated as secret in the same manner as information obtained under the domestic laws of that State and shall be disclosed only to persons or authorities (including courts and administrative bodies) concerned with the assessment or collection of, the enforcement or prosecution in respect of, the determination of appeals in relation to taxes, or the oversight of the above. Such persons or authorities shall use the information only for such purposes. They may disclose the information in public court proceedings or in judicial decisions.

3. In no case shall the provisions of paragraphs 1 and 2 be construed so as to impose on a Contracting State the obligation:

(a) to carry out administrative measures at variance with the laws and the administrative practice of that or of the other Contracting State;

(b) to supply information that is not obtainable under the laws or in the normal course of the administration of that or of the other Contracting State; or

(c) to supply information that would disclose any trade, business, industrial, commercial or professional secret or trade process, or information, the disclosure of which would be contrary to public policy (ordre public).

4. If information is requested by a Contracting State in accordance with this Article, the other Contracting State shall use its information gathering measures to obtain the requested information, even though that other State may not need such information for its own tax purposes. The obligation contained in the preceding sentence is subject to the limitations of paragraph 3 but in no case shall such limitations be construed to permit a Contracting State to decline to supply information solely because it has no domestic interest in such information.

5. In no case shall the provisions of paragraph 3 be construed to permit a Contracting State to decline to supply information solely because the information is held by a bank, other financial institution, nominee or person acting in an agency or a fiduciary capacity or because it relates to ownership interests in a person.”

Article 2

The Contracting States shall notify one another through diplomatic channels that all legal procedures for the entry into force of this Protocol have been completed. The Protocol shall enter into force on the first day of the third month following the date of the receipt of the later of the notifications. The provisions of this Protocol shall have effect with regard to taxable periods beginning on or after 1 January of the calendar year following the year of the entry into force of this Protocol. If there is no taxable period, the provisions shall have effect with regard to all charges to tax arising on or after 1 January of the calendar year following the year of the entry into force of this Protocol.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF the undersigned, duly authorised thereto, by their respective Governments, have signed this Protocol.

DONE in duplicate at Vienna, this 9th day of March 2012, in the English, French and German languages, each version being equally authentic.

FOR CANADA

John Barrett

FOR THE REPUBLIC OF AUSTRIA

Andreas Schieder

 

 

 


INTERPRETATIVE PROTOCOL

At the time of signing of the Second Protocol amending the Convention between Canada and the Republic of Austria for the Avoidance of Double Taxation and the Prevention of Fiscal Evasion with respect to Taxes on Income and on Capital, done at Vienna on 9 December 1976, as amended by the Protocol done at Vienna on 15 June 1999, the undersigned have agreed upon the following provisions which shall be an integral part of the aforementioned Convention.

1. It is understood that the competent authority of the Contracting State requesting information (the “applicant State”) shall provide the following information to the competent authority of the Contracting State requested to provide information (the “requested State”) when making a request for information under the Convention to demonstrate the foreseeable relevance of the information to the request:

(a) the identity of the person under examination or investigation;

(b) a statement of the information sought including its nature and the form in which the applicant State wishes to receive the information from the requested State;

(c) the tax purpose for which the information is sought;

(d) grounds for believing that the information requested is held in the requested State or is in the possession or control of a person within the jurisdiction of the requested State;

(e) to the extent known, the name and address of any person believed to be in possession of the requested information; and

(f) a statement that the applicant State has pursued all means available in its own territory to obtain the information, except those that would give rise to disproportionate difficulties.

2. It is understood that the standard of “foreseeable relevance” is intended to provide for exchange of information in tax matters to the widest possible extent and, at the same time, to clarify that Contracting States are not at liberty to engage in “fishing expeditions” or to request information that is unlikely to be relevant to the tax affairs of a given taxpayer. While paragraph 1 of this Protocol contains important procedural requirements that are intended to ensure that fishing expeditions do not occur, subparagraphs (a) through (f) of paragraph 1 nevertheless need to be interpreted liberally in order not to frustrate effective exchange of information.

3. It is understood that paragraph 5 of Article 26 of the Convention does not require the Contracting States to exchange information on a spontaneous or automatic basis.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF the undersigned, duly authorised thereto by their respective Governments, have signed this Interpretative Protocol.

DONE in duplicate at Vienna, this 9th day of March 2012, in the English, French and German languages, each version being equally authentic.

FOR CANADA

John Barrett

FOR THE REPUBLIC OF AUSTRIA

Andreas Schieder

Deuxième Protocole modifiant la Convention entre le Canada et la République d'Autriche

tendant à éviter les doubles impositions et à prévenir l'évasion fiscale en matière d'impôts sur le revenu et sur la fortune, faite à Vienne le 9 décembre 1976 et modifiée par le Protocole fait à Vienne le 15 juin 1999


Cette version électronique du Deuxième Protocole modifiant la Convention fiscale entre le Canada et la République d'Autriche, signé le 9 mars 2012, n'est fournie qu'à titre de référence et n'a aucune valeur officielle.


LE CANADA ET LA RÉPUBLIQUE D'AUTRICHE,

DÉSIREUX de modifier la Convention entre le Canada et la République d'Autriche tendant à éviter les doubles impositions et à prévenir l'évasion fiscale en matière d'impôts sur le revenu et sur la fortune, faite à Vienne le 9 décembre 1976 et modifiée par le Protocole fait à Vienne le 15 juin 1999 (« la Convention »),

SONT CONVENUS des dispositions suivantes :

Article 1

Les paragraphes 1, 2 et 3 de l'article 26 de la Convention sont supprimés et remplacés par les paragraphes 1, 2, 3, 4 et 5 suivants, et les paragraphes 4 et 5 deviennent respectivement les paragraphes 6 et 7 :

« 1. Les autorités compétentes des États contractants échangent les renseignements vraisemblablement pertinents pour appliquer les dispositions de la présente Convention ou pour l'administration ou l'application de la législation interne relative aux impôts de toute nature ou dénomination perçus pour le compte des États contractants, dans la mesure où l'imposition qu'elle prévoit n'est pas contraire à la Convention. L'échange de renseignements n'est pas restreint par les articles 1 et 2.

2. Les renseignements reçus en vertu du paragraphe 1 par un État contractant sont tenus secrets de la même manière que les renseignements obtenus en application de la législation interne de cet État et ne sont communiqués qu'aux personnes ou autorités (y compris les tribunaux et organes administratifs) concernées par l'établissement ou le recouvrement des impôts, par les procédures ou poursuites concernant ces impôts, par les décisions sur les recours relatifs à ces impôts ou par le contrôle de ce qui précède. Ces personnes ou autorités n'utilisent ces renseignements qu'à ces fins. Elles peuvent révéler ces renseignements au cours d'audiences publiques de tribunaux ou dans des jugements.

3. Les dispositions des paragraphes 1 et 2 ne peuvent en aucun cas être interprétées comme imposant à un État contractant l'obligation :

a) de prendre des mesures administratives dérogeant à sa législation et à sa pratique administrative ou à celles de l'autre État contractant;

b) de fournir des renseignements qui ne pourraient être obtenus sur la base de sa législation ou dans le cadre de sa pratique administrative normale ou de celles de l'autre État contractant;

c) de fournir des renseignements qui révéleraient un secret commercial, industriel ou professionnel ou un procédé commercial ou des renseignements dont la communication serait contraire à l'ordre public.

4. Si des renseignements sont demandés par un État contractant conformément au présent article, l'autre État contractant utilise les pouvoirs dont il dispose pour obtenir les renseignements demandés, même s'il n'en a pas besoin à ses propres fins fiscales. L'obligation qui figure dans la phrase précédente est soumise aux limitations prévues au paragraphe 3 sauf si ces limitations sont susceptibles d'empêcher un État contractant de communiquer des renseignements uniquement parce que ceux-ci ne présentent pas d'intérêt pour lui dans le cadre national.

5. En aucun cas les dispositions du paragraphe 3 ne peuvent être interprétées comme permettant à un État contractant de refuser de communiquer des renseignements uniquement parce que ceux-ci sont détenus par une banque, un autre établissement financier, un mandataire ou une personne agissant en tant qu'agent ou fiduciaire ou parce que ces renseignements se rattachent aux droits de propriété dans une personne. »

Article 2

Les États contractants se notifient l'un à l'autre, par la voie diplomatique, l'accomplissement des procédures juridiques requises pour l'entrée en vigueur du présent Protocole. Le Protocole entre en vigueur le premier jour du troisième mois suivant la date de réception de la dernière de ces notifications. Les dispositions du présent Protocole sont applicables à l'égard des exercices fiscaux commençant le ou après le 1er janvier de l'année civile suivant celle de l'entrée en vigueur du présent Protocole. À défaut d'exercice fiscal, ces dispositions sont applicables à l'égard des toutes les obligations fiscales prenant naissance le ou après le 1er janvier de l'année civile suivant celle de l'entrée en vigueur du présent Protocole.

EN FOI DE QUOI les soussignés, dûment autorisés à cet effet par leur gouvernement respectif, ont signé le présent Protocole.

FAIT en double exemplaire à Vienne, ce 9ième jour de mars 2012, en langues française, anglaise et allemande, chaque version faisant également foi.

POUR LE CANADA

John Barrett

POUR LA RÉPUBLIQUE D'AUTRICHE

Andreas Schieder

 

 

 


PROTOCOLE INTERPRÉTATIF

Au moment de procéder à la signature du Deuxième protocole modifiant la Convention entre le Canada et la République d'Autriche tendant à éviter les doubles impositions et à prévenir l'évasion fiscale en matière d'impôts sur le revenu et sur la fortune, faite à Vienne le 9 décembre 1976 et modifiée par le Protocole fait à Vienne le 15 juin 1999, les soussignés sont convenus des dispositions suivantes qui font partie intégrante de la Convention susmentionnée :

1. Il est entendu que l'autorité compétente de l'État contractant qui demande les renseignements (l'« État requérant ») fournit les renseignements suivants à l'autorité compétente de l'État contractant auquel les renseignements sont demandés (l'« État requis ») lorsqu'elle présente une demande de renseignements en vertu de la Convention, afin de démontrer la pertinence vraisemblable des renseignements demandés :

a) l'identité de la personne faisant l'objet d'un contrôle ou d'une enquête;

b) les indications concernant les renseignements recherchés, notamment leur nature et la forme sous laquelle l'État requérant souhaite recevoir les renseignements de l'État requis;

c) le but fiscal dans lequel les renseignements sont demandés;

d) les raisons qui donnent à penser que les renseignements demandés sont détenus sur le territoire de l'État requis ou sont en la possession ou sous le contrôle d'une personne relevant de la compétence de l'État requis;

e) dans la mesure où ils sont connus, les nom et adresse de toute personne dont il y a lieu de penser qu'elle est en possession des renseignements demandés; et

f) une déclaration précisant que l'État requérant a utilisé pour obtenir les renseignements tous les moyens disponibles sur son propre territoire, hormis ceux qui susciteraient des difficultés disproportionnées.

2. Il est entendu que la norme de « pertinence vraisemblable » a pour but d'assurer un échange de renseignements en matière fiscale qui soit le plus large possible tout en indiquant clairement qu'il n'est pas loisible aux États contractants « d'aller à la pêche aux renseignements » ou de demander des renseignements dont il est peu probable qu'ils soient pertinents pour élucider les affaires fiscales d'un contribuable déterminé. Bien que le paragraphe 1 du présent Protocole contienne d'importantes exigences de procédure qui ont pour but d'empêcher la « pêche aux renseignements », les alinéas a) à f) du paragraphe 1 doivent néanmoins être interprétés libéralement de façon à ne pas nuire à l'échange effectif de renseignements.

3. Il est entendu que le paragraphe 5 de l'article 26 de la Convention n'oblige pas les États contractants à procéder à un échange de renseignements de manière spontanée ou automatique.

EN FOI DE QUOI les soussignés, dûment autorisés à cet effet par leur gouvernement respectif, ont signé le présent Protocole Interprétatif.

FAIT en double exemplaire à Vienne, ce 9ième jour de mars 2012, en langues française, anglaise et allemande, chaque version faisant également foi.

POUR LE CANADA

John Barrett

POUR LA RÉPUBLIQUE D'AUTRICHE

Andreas Schieder