Archived - Neutral Assessment of Finance Canada's Evaluation Function

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Presented to the
Audit and Evaluation Committee
December 9, 2013

Table of Content

Executive Summary

Validation / Neutral Assessment Report

Executive Summary

Finance Canada engaged Public Accountability Consulting Inc. to validate a self-assessment of the evaluation function at Finance Canada in order to meet the Treasury Board (TB) Policy on Evaluation requirement for a neutral assessment.

We reviewed the self-assessment, reviewed documents and evaluation studies, conducted interviews and a focus group with departmental evaluators. We rated the department with regard to the requirements of the TB Policy on Evaluation.

We concur with the conclusions in the self-assessment report and are of the view that: The Department of Finance and the evaluation function is in general conformance with the requirements of the TB Policy on Evaluation, and associated directives and standards.

We have made two recommendations for improvement.

Report

Objective

Finance Canada engaged Public Accountability Consulting Inc. (PAC) to validate a self-assessment of the evaluation function at Finance Canada in order to meet the requirement for a neutral assessment. This document presents our results.

Background

The Treasury Board (TB) Policy on Evaluation requires deputy heads to establish a robust, neutral evaluation function and to ensure that their department adheres to the Policy on Evaluation and its supporting directive and standard. As part of monitoring compliance to this policy, a neutral assessment of the evaluation function must occur at a minimum every five years. This was the first neutral assessment conducted by Finance Canada and it had to be finalized by March 14, 2014.

The purpose of the validation / neutral assessment was to:

  1. Assess conformity/compliance of Finance Canada's evaluation activities against the TB Policy on Evaluation, associated directives and standards; and
  2. In addition to assessing compliance, assess management practices and identify opportunities and provide recommendations for improvement.

Methodology for the Conduct of the Neutral Assessment

PAC was engaged to validate a self-assessment that was prepared by the evaluation function at Finance Canada. To complete this validation, we designed a customized approach and templates to conduct this assignment. To preserve the independence of this validation, the Project Authority for this assignment was the Senior Director, Corporate Planning at Finance Canada.

PAC held initial meetings with the Project Authority and the Head of Evaluation during August 2013, to discuss the timing and approach of this project and to discuss the tests that would be used.

At that time there was no published Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat (TBS) guidance for the conduct of neutral assessments. Draft guidance was in preparation and this neutral assessment is fully consistent with the draft TBS guidance that had been issued. Since the work of the evaluation function aims to implement the TB Policy on Evaluation and the more detailed elements of the associated directives and standards, the validation of the self-assessment was conducted using the areas of responsibility for deputy heads that are set out in the Policy on Evaluation; i.e. governance, quality of evaluations, use of evaluations, and coverage of the evaluation universe. These are the same areas that are used by TBS in conducting its assessments of the evaluation area of management of the Management Accountability Framework (MAF).

During August and September 2013, the PAC neutral assessment team reviewed the detailed self-assessment completed by the evaluation function, gathered additional background information, reviewed the evaluation studies published to the Finance Canada website as well as key documents such as the 5-year evaluation plan. The PAC team selected senior executives to be interviewed and finalized planning and administrative arrangements. During the field-work phase, we assessed documents, TBS MAF reports, evaluation planning processes, and the evaluation tools and methodologies in use at Finance Canada. We reviewed evaluation engagement and staff management processes and evaluation files. Interviews were conducted with the three Audit and Evaluation Committee external members, the Deputy Minister, the Associate Deputy Minister, senior executives of two branches that were recently evaluated, and the Head of Evaluation. A focus group was conducted with evaluation staff. The PAC team examined two recent evaluations in more depth (Evaluation of the Tax Policy Branch; and Evaluation of Communications and Consultations Branch), including a review of the working papers, and client surveys prepared at the completion of these two evaluations.

All statements in the self-assessment were reviewed and challenged against the evidence that was collected. We rated the department using summary tables with regard to the requirements of the TB Policy on Evaluation. Once our analysis was complete, we prepared our independent validator statement and completed our neutral assessment report.

Independent Validator Statement

(Neutral Assessment of the Evaluation Function)

The Validator was engaged to conduct an independent validation of the Department of Finance Canada's self-assessment of the evaluation function. The objective of the validation was to verify the assertions made in the self-assessment report concerning:

The Department of Finance Canada and the evaluation function's conformity to the requirements of the Treasury Board Policy on Evaluation, and associated directives and standards.

In addition, the validation assessed management practices to identify opportunities and provide recommendations for improvement.

In acting as Validator, we are fully independent of the organization and have the necessary knowledge and skills to undertake this engagement. The validation, conducted from August to October 2013, consisted primarily of a review and testing of the contents, procedures and results of the self-assessment, as well as a rating of the department against the TB Policy on Evaluation requirements.

In addition, interviews were conducted with the Deputy Minister, Associate Deputy Minister, the Chair and External members of the departmental Audit and Evaluation Committee, selected senior executives, and the Head of Evaluation. A focus group was conducted with evaluation managers and staff.

We concur with the conclusions in the self-assessment report and are of the view that:

The Department of Finance and the evaluation function is in general conformance* with the requirements of the Treasury Board Policy on Evaluation, and associated directives and standards.

 

Original signed by
__________________________________
David Rattray, FCGA, FCIS, CIA, CMC
Independent Validator
Co-Neutral Assessment Leader
Original signed by
__________________________________
Alan Winberg, PHD, CE
Independent Validator
Co-Neutral Assessment Leader

 

*Conformance to the TB Policy on Evaluation requirements is evaluated using the following scale:

"Generally Conforms" means there is no material deficiency, although there may be some minor deficiencies.

"Partially Conforms" means there is one material deficiency, and there may be minor deficiencies.

"Does Not Conform" means that there is more than one major deficiency in practice and these deficiencies are judged to be so significant as to seriously impair or preclude the evaluation function from performing adequately in all or in significant areas of its responsibilities.

Validators' Observations and Recommendations

Evaluation Strengths and Best Practices

The evaluation function is highly-regarded by departmental executives for its credible, timely, neutral, and well-documented work. The staff is experienced and knowledgeable regarding the programs and policies of the department and there is relatively low turnover, which allows for continuity in the conduct of projects and a relatively high productivity of the group.

The evaluation function has displayed a significant degree of innovation in the practices it has adopted.

The function has adapted the standard evaluation methods to allow practical and pragmatic assessment of a policy department that delivers very few traditional government "programs".

The function has recently taken steps that aim to complete assignments in a 6-month timeframe.

Evaluation reports are generally relatively short and to-the-point and this is most appreciated by departmental managers.

There is a rigorous follow-up system in place to ensure that management action plans are implemented in a timely manner.

The timing of data collections aims to minimize the time required from Finance management during the most intense period of budget consultations and budget preparation.

Observations and Recommendations

While the overall conclusion of this neutral assessment is that the evaluation function is in general conformance with the requirements of the TB Policy on Evaluation, the neutral assessment team has made a number of best practices observations and recommendations that are intended to build on this solid foundation.

The observations that follow cover the following subjects:

Governance: The existing Audit and Evaluation Committee format is working well. The pre-meeting format is a productive innovation. Strong Deputy Minister support has helped the function become established. One committee that provides advice on both evaluation and internal audit has facilitated planning and coordination of the work of these functions. The neutrality of the Head of Evaluation is enhanced due to the direct reporting relationship to the Deputy Minister.

Quality of evaluations: Standard techniques have been well adapted to the evaluation of a policy department. Staff is professional and studies have met high quality standards.

Use of evaluations: The evaluation work to date has been useful for departmental management. Careful planning and consultations with the branch at the start of each study are a worthwhile investment. Brevity and a focus on shorter reports with less text about the non-controversial issues (such as the continued relevance of the work of the branches), are highly-valued. Continuous follow-up to track implementation of management action plans is highly-effective.

Coverage of the evaluation universe: The 5-year plan aims for 100% coverage and this is in full compliance with the TB Policy on Evaluation. In the second round of studies, a more focused approach may provide higher value. A focus on highest risk issues and priorities is likely to be beneficial.

The first round of evaluations provided coverage of the core TB evaluation issues related to both relevance and performance; this is in full compliance with the TB Policy on Evaluation. The core issues related to relevance include the continued need for the program; alignment with government priorities; and alignment with federal roles and responsibilities. As these issues were assessed during the first round of the Finance evaluations, and since the relevance of Finance's policy advice functions has been demonstrated, unless there has been a significant change from what was examined, the level of effort to examine these issues a second time can be reduced. This is consistent with the flexibility provided in the TB Directive on the Evaluation Function with respect to the coverage of core issues. This is expected to enable the Finance evaluation function to focus on the key performance issues and produce evaluations that are of maximum use to senior managers, given the importance and fundamental requirements in the department for policy advice.

The internal self-assessment by officials of the Finance evaluation function considers the capacity to supply evaluation information, including: appropriateness of structure and resourcing of the evaluation function; the management of the evaluation function; evaluation planning and coverage; evaluation processes and activities; evaluation planning and design; evaluation project management; and evaluation reporting. The self-assessment then considers the capacity to demand and use evaluation information, including: evaluation utilization at the agency level and at the level of individual evaluations; and meeting Deputy Minister needs. The final section of the self-assessment considers the enabling environment to support evaluation (its conduct and use) at Finance, including the existence of a senior level committee (the Audit and Evaluation Committee) to provide the necessary support and oversight of the evaluation function; access to information required for evaluation; and responsibilities of program managers.

We confirm that:

  • we have reviewed the standards and ratings and the comments made in the self-assessment;
  • the self-assessment covers the full set of requirements set by the TB Policy on Evaluation, and associated directives and standards;
  • we concur with the ratings noted in the self-assessment and that the comments provide adequate evidence to support the ratings; and,
  • the comments noted in the self-assessment were consistent with our independent findings based on the review of documentation, review of reports posted to the Finance website, in depth review of two recent evaluation reports, and the interviews and focus group we conducted.

Recommendations:

As the evaluation function is operating in full conformance with the TB Policy on Evaluation, these recommendations are provided for the consideration of management of the function as a potential improvement to what is already working well.

Recommendation 1: For the second round of its evaluations, we recommend that Finance look at preparing shorter reports, targeted to the issues of highest risk, priority and interest regarding the subject matter of the report.

Recommendation 2: We recommend that the Finance evaluation function continue to take advantage of the flexibility available for departments under the TB Policy on Evaluation to reduce the level of effort during evaluation projects related to the core issues of relevance.

Management response to recommendations 1 and 2: The Head of Evaluation agrees and both recommendations are currently being implemented. The two recommendations are expected to be fully implemented by March 31, 2015.

Concluding Remarks

The neutral assessment team wishes to express its appreciation for the cooperation and assistance afforded by the Deputy Minister, Associate Deputy Minister, Audit and Evaluation Committee members, Finance Canada senior management, and the Head of Evaluation and evaluation staff.

Archivé - Validation de l’autoévaluation de la fonction d’évaluation

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Présenté au comité
de vérification et d’évaluation
le 9 décembre, 2013

Table des matières

Résumé

Validation/Rapport d’évaluation impartiale

Résumé

Le ministère des Finances a retenu les services de Public Accountability Consulting Inc. pour valider une auto-évaluation de la fonction d’évaluation afin de répondre aux exigences de la Politique sur l’évaluation du Conseil du Trésor concernant une évaluation impartiale.

Nous avons examiné l’autoévaluation, les documents et les études d’évaluation, réalisé des entrevues et mené un groupe de discussion auprès d’évaluateurs ministériels. Nous avons attribué des notes au Ministère en ce qui concerne les exigences de la Politique du CT.

Nous sommes d’accord avec les conclusions du rapport d’auto-évaluation et sommes d’avis que : le ministère des Finances et la fonction d’évaluation font preuve de conformité générale aux exigences de la Politique sur l’évaluation du Conseil du Trésor ainsi que les directives et les normes connexes.

Nous avons formulé deux recommandations relatives à l’amélioration.

Validation / Rapport d’évaluation impartiale

Objectif

Le ministère des Finances a retenu les services de Public Accountability Consulting Inc. pour valider une auto-évaluation de la fonction d’évaluation afin de répondre aux exigences de la Politique sur l’évaluation du Conseil du Trésor concernant une évaluation impartiale.

Ce document présente nos résultats.

Contexte

La Politique sur l’évaluation du Conseil du Trésor confère aux administrateurs généraux la responsabilité d’instaurer une « fonction d’évaluation impartiale et solide dans leur ministère » et de veiller « à ce que leur ministère respecte la présente politique ainsi que la directive et les normes connexes ». Dans le cadre de la surveillance de la conformité à la présente politique, une évaluation impartiale de la fonction d’évaluation doit avoir lieu au moins tous les cinq ans. Il s’agit de la première évaluation impartiale effectuée par le ministère des Finances et elle devait être finalisée au plus tard le 14 mars 2014.

La validation / l’évaluation impartiale a pour objet :

  1. d’évaluer la conformité / le respect des activités d’évaluation du ministère des Finances par rapport à la Politique sur l’évaluation du Conseil du Trésor, aux directives et aux normes connexes;
  2. En plus d'évaluer la conformité, évaluer les pratiques de gestion, identifier les opportunités et fournir des recommandations pour l'amélioration.

Méthodologie pour effectuer une évaluation impartiale

On a retenu les services de PAC afin de valider une autoévaluation qui avait été préparée par la fonction d’évaluation au ministère des Finances. Afin d’effectuer cette validation, nous avons conçu une approche et des modèles adaptés pour pouvoir mener à bien ce projet. En vue de conserver la nature impartiale de cette validation, le Directeur principal, Planification ministérielle au ministère des Finances a assumé la responsabilité pour ce projet.   

PAC a tenu des réunions initiales avec le responsable du projet et le Chef de l’évaluation en août 2013, afin de discuter du moment opportun et de l’approche concernant ce projet et aussi de discuter des essais qui seraient utilisés.

A ce moment-là, il n’y avait aucune directive publiée par le Conseil du Trésor concernant la conduite d’évaluations impartiales. Des lignes directrices sont à l’état d’ébauche et la présente évaluation impartiale est entièrement conforme à l’ébauche des directives du SCT qui a été diffusée. Puisque les travaux de la fonction d’évaluation ont pour objet de mettre en application la Politique sur l’évaluation du CT, ainsi que les éléments plus détaillés de la Politique sur l’évaluation, la validation de l’autoévaluation a été effectuée à l’aide des secteurs de responsabilité des administrateurs généraux qui sont énoncés dans la Politique sur l’évaluation : gouvernance, qualité des évaluations, utilisation des évaluations et la couverture de l’univers d’évaluation. Il s’agit des mêmes catégories utilisées par le SCT lors de ses évaluations de la composante de gestion « Évaluation » du Cadre de responsabilisation de gestion. 

En août et en septembre 2013, l’équipe d’évaluation impartiale de PAC Inc. a examiné l’autoévaluation détaillée effectuée par la fonction d’évaluation, a réuni d’autres renseignements de base, examiné les études d’évaluation publiées sur le site Web du ministère des Finances ainsi que des documents clés, par exemple le plan d’évaluation quinquennal. L’équipe de PAC a choisi des cadres à interviewer et a finalisé la planification et les dispositions administratives. Au cours de la phase de travaux sur le terrain, nous avons évalué des documents, des rapports de CRG du SCT, des processus de planification d’évaluation et les outils et méthodologies d’évaluation utilisés au ministère des Finances. Nous avons examiné les processus de mission d’évaluation et de gestion du personnel et les dossiers d’évaluation. Nous avons mené des entrevues auprès des trois membres externes du Comité de vérification et d’évaluation, du Sous-ministre, du Sous-ministre adjoint, des membres de la haute direction des deux directions qui ont récemment fait l’objet d’une évaluation et du Chef de l’évaluation. On a mené un groupe de discussion auprès de membres du personnel de l’évaluation. L’équipe de PAC a examiné deux évaluations récentes plus en profondeur (Évaluation de la Direction de la politique de l’impôt et Évaluation de la Direction des communications et des consultations), y compris un examen des documents d’étude et des sondages auprès des clients préparés au terme de ces deux évaluations.

Tous les énoncés contenus dans l’autoévaluation ont été examinés et comparés aux éléments de preuve réunis. Nous avons attribué des notes au Ministère en ce qui a trait aux exigences de la Politique sur l'évaluation du CT, et nous les avons consignées dans des tableaux sommaires. Une fois notre analyse terminée, nous avons préparé notre énoncé de responsable de la validation de tiers et préparé notre rapport d’évaluation impartiale.

Énoncé du responsable de la validation de tiers

(Évaluation impartiale de la fonction d’évaluation)

On a retenu les services du responsable de la validation afin d’effectuer une validation impartiale de l’autoévaluation de la fonction d’évaluation du ministère des Finances. L’objectif de la validation était de vérifier les affirmations contenues dans le rapport d’autoévaluation concernant :

Le ministère des Finances Canada et la conformité de la fonction d'évaluation pour les exigences de la Politique du Conseil du Trésor sur l'évaluation, les directives et les normes connexes.

En outre, la validation évalue les pratiques de gestion pour identifier les opportunités et fournir des recommandations pour l'amélioration.

Dans l’exercice de nos fonctions de responsables de la validation, nous sommes entièrement autonomes par rapport à l’organisation visée, et nous possédons les connaissances et les compétences requises pour mener à bien cette mission. La validation, effectuée d’août à octobre 2013, visait principalement l'examen et la mise à l'essai des procédures et des résultats de l'autoévaluation ainsi qu’une notation du Ministère par rapport aux exigences de la Politique sur l'évaluation du CT.

En outre, on a effectué des entrevues auprès du Sous-ministre, du Sous-ministre adjoint, du Président et des membres externes du Comité de vérification et d’évaluation, certains cadres supérieurs et le Chef de l’évaluation. Un groupe de discussion a également été mené auprès de gestionnaires et du personnel de l’évaluation.

Nous sommes d’accord avec les conclusions du rapport d’autoévaluation et avec le point de vue suivant :

Le ministère des Finances et la fonction d'évaluation est en conformité générale * avec les exigences de la Politique du Conseil du Trésor sur l'évaluation, les directives et les normes connexes.

Original signé par
__________________________________
David Rattray, FCGA, FCIS, CIA, CMC
Responsable de la validation de tiers
Responsable adjoint de l’évaluation impartiale

Original signé par
__________________________
Alan Winberg, PHD, CE
Responsable de la validation de tiers
Responsable adjoint de l’évaluation impartiale

 

*Le respect des exigences de la Politique sur l’évaluation est évalué à l’aide de l’échelle suivante :

« Conformité générale » signifie qu’il n’y a aucune lacune substantielle, bien qu’il puisse y avoir certaines lacunes mineures.

« Conformité partielle » signifie qu’il y a une lacune substantielle et qu’il peut y avoir quelques lacunes mineures. 

« Non-conformité » signifie qu’il y a plus d’une lacune majeure dans la pratique qui sont jugées comme étant si importantes qu’elles porteront une grave atteinte à la fonction d’évaluation ou l’empêcheront d’assumer adéquatement la totalité de ses responsabilités ou des volets importants de celles-ci.

Observations et recommandations des responsables de la validation

Points forts de l’évaluation et pratiques exemplaires

La fonction d’évaluation est tenue en haute estime par les cadres ministériels en raison de ses travaux crédibles, opportuns, impartiaux et bien documentés. Le personnel est chevronné et bien renseigné concernant les programmes et les politiques du Ministère et il y a un taux relativement faible de roulement, ce qui permet la continuité dans l’exécution des projets et un niveau de productivité relativement élevé du groupe. 

La fonction d’évaluation a fait preuve d’un degré très important d’innovation en ce qui a trait aux pratiques qu’elle a adoptées. 

La fonction a adapté les méthodes d’évaluation uniformisées afin de permettre une évaluation pratique et pragmatique d’un ministère axé sur les politiques qui met en œuvre très peu de « programmes » gouvernementaux traditionnels.

Récemment, la fonction a entrepris des démarches qui visent à mener à bien les projets dans un délai de six mois.

Les rapports d’évaluation sont, en général, relativement brefs et concis; ce fait est grandement apprécié par les gestionnaires ministériels.

Il existe un système de suivi rigoureux qui fait en sorte que les plans d’action de la direction soient mis en œuvre de façon opportune.

Le calendrier prévu pour les collectes de données vise à minimiser le temps requis de la part de la direction, au sein du ministère des Finances, durant la période la plus intense des consultations budgétaires et de la préparation du budget.

Observations et recommandations

La conclusion générale de la présente validation et évaluation impartiale est que la fonction d’évaluation est en conformité générale avec les exigences de la Politique sur l'évaluation du Conseil du Trésor, mais l’équipe d’évaluation impartiale a formulé plusieurs observations et recommandations concernant les pratiques exemplaires qui ont pour objet de tirer profit de ce fondement solide.

Les observations ci-dessous portent sur les sujets qui suivent :

Gouvernance : le format actuel du comité de vérification et d'évaluation fonctionne bien. Le format pré-réunion est une innovation productive. L’appui solide du sous-ministre (SM) a permis à la fonction de s’établir. Un comité qui dispense des conseils à la fois sur l’évaluation et la vérification interne a facilité la planification et la coordination des travaux de ces fonctions. L’impartialité du responsable de l’évaluation est rehaussée en raison de la relation hiérarchique directe avec le SM.

Qualité des évaluations : les techniques uniformisées ont été bien adaptées à l’évaluation d’un ministère axé sur les politiques. Le personnel est professionnel et les études ont répondu aux normes de qualité élevées.

Utilisation des évaluations : les travaux d’évaluation effectués jusqu’à ce jour se sont avérés utiles pour la gestion ministérielle. Une planification et des consultations judicieuses effectuées auprès de la direction au début de chaque étude constituent un investissement valable. La concision, la focalisation et le volume réduit des rapports, qui contiennent moins de texte au sujet des questions non controversées (par exemple, la pertinence continue des travaux d’évaluation effectués par les directions) sont des éléments très précieux. Un suivi continu effectué en vue de surveiller la mise en œuvre des plans d’action de la direction est très efficace.

Couverture de l’univers de l’évaluation : le plan quinquennal vise une couverture à 100 % et ceci est en pleine conformité avec la Politique. Lors de la deuxième ronde d’études, une approche davantage focalisée pourrait représenter une valeur plus élevée. Il est probable qu’une concentration sur les questions et priorités à risque plus élevé soit avantageuse. 

La première ronde d’évaluations a permis une application des questions de base d’évaluation du CT liées à la fois à la pertinence et au rendement; ceci est en pleine conformité avec la Politique. Les questions de base sur la pertinence comprennent le besoin continu du programme ainsi que la conformité de celui-ci avec les priorités gouvernementales et avec les rôles et responsabilités du gouvernement fédéral. Étant donné que ces questions ont été évaluées lors de la première ronde des évaluations du ministère des Finances, et puisque la pertinence des fonctions de conseils stratégiques a été démontrée, sauf s’il se produit un changement important relativement à la matière examinée lors de la première ronde, le niveau d’effort requis pour examiner ces questions une deuxième fois peut être réduit. Ceci est conforme à la souplesse fournie dans la Directive sur la fonction d'évaluation en ce qui concerne l’application des questions de base. Il est prévu que cela permette à la fonction d’évaluation de cibler les questions principales de rendement et de produire des évaluations qui sont d’une utilité maximale pour les cadres supérieurs, étant donné l’importance des conseils stratégiques ministériels et les exigences fondamentales qui y sont associées.

L’autoévaluation interne effectuée par des responsables de la fonction d’évaluation du ministère des Finances tient compte de la capacité de fournir des renseignements sur l’évaluation, notamment : le caractère approprié de la structure et du ressourcement de la fonction d’évaluation; la planification et le champ d’application de l’évaluation; les processus et les activités de l’évaluation; la planification et la conception de l’évaluation; la gestion de projets d’évaluation; l’établissement de rapports sur l’évaluation.  L’autoévaluation tient ensuite compte de la capacité de demander et d’utiliser les renseignements sur l’évaluation, y compris : l’utilisation de l’évaluation au niveau des organisations et au niveau individuel et la satisfaction des besoins des administrateurs généraux. La section finale de l’autoévaluation tient compte de l’environnement habilitant à l’appui de l’évaluation (sa conduite et son utilisation) au ministère des Finances, y compris l’existence d’un comité de niveau supérieur (CVE) pour fournir l’appui et la surveillance nécessaires de la fonction d’évaluation; accéder aux renseignements requis pour l’évaluation et les responsabilités des gestionnaires de projets.

Nous confirmons que :  

  • nous avons examiné les normes et les notations ainsi que les commentaires formulés dans l’autoévaluation;
  • l'auto-évaluation couvre l'ensemble des exigences prévues par la Politique sur l'évaluation, les directives et les normes connexes; 
  • nous sommes d’accord avec les notations qui figurent dans l’autoévaluation et avec le fait que les commentaires fournissent une preuve adéquate pour appuyer ces dernières;
  • les commentaires qui figurent dans l’autoévaluation étaient conformes à nos observations autonomes fondées sur l’examen de la documentation, l’examen des rapports affichés sur le site Web du ministère des Finances, l’examen approfondi de deux rapports récents d’évaluation, les entrevues et les groupes de discussion que nous avons menés.

Recommandations :

Étant donné que la fonction d’évaluation opère en pleine conformité avec la Politique sur l’évaluation, ces recommandations sont fournies à des fins d’examen de la gestion de la fonction en vue d’améliorer, potentiellement, ce qui fonctionne déjà bien.

Recommandation 1 : pour la deuxième ronde de ses évaluations, nous recommandons que le ministère des Finances envisage de préparer des rapports moins volumineux, qui ciblent les questions de risque, de priorité et d’intérêt les plus élevés concernant l’objet du rapport. 

Recommandation 2 : nous recommandons que la fonction d’évaluation du ministère des Finances continue de tirer profit de la souplesse accordée aux ministères en vertu de la Politique sur l’évaluation du CT afin de réduire le niveau d’effort requis au cours des projets d’évaluation liés aux questions fondamentales de pertinence. 

Réponse de la direction aux recommandations 1 et 2: Le chef de l'évaluation est d'accord et les deux recommandations sont actuellement mis en œuvre. Les deux recommandations devraient être pleinement mis en œuvre d'ici le 31 Mars 2015.

Observations de la fin

L’équipe d’évaluation impartiale souhaite exprimer son appréciation pour la collaboration et l’aide fournies par le Sous-ministre, le Sous-ministre adjoint, les membres du Comité de la vérification et de l’évaluation, la haute direction du ministère des Finances et le Chef de l’évaluation et le personnel de l’évaluation.