Archived - Follow-up Audit of the Toronto Waterfront Revitalization Initiative

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

PDF Version - [433 KB]

To access a Portable Document Format (PDF) file you must have a PDF reader installed. If you do not already have such a reader, there are numerous PDF readers available for free download or for purchase on the Internet.

Executive Summary

The Toronto Waterfront Revitalization Initiative (TWRI) began in 2000, as part of a joint effort by the Government of Canada, the Province of Ontario and the City of Toronto to revitalize the Toronto waterfront through investments in infrastructure and recreational projects. Each level of government has committed $500 million to support this initiative. The Government of Canada's participation is manifest through a contribution program with the designated recipient being the Toronto Waterfront Revitalization Corporation (TWRC).

The TWRI was initially led by Transport Canada (TC). Since its inception, however, the TWRI has been subsequently transferred between five other departments. While at Human Resources and Social Development Canada (HRSDC), an audit was initiated by their internal audit group in 2005. The objective of that audit was to provide assurance that the TWRC was in compliance with the terms and conditions of its Priority Project Contribution Agreement with the federal government. The HRSDC audit resulted in twelve recommendations and related management action plan.

The objective of the follow-up audit is to provide the Department of Finance, which is currently responsible for the TWRI, with an update on the status of the management action plan that was to be implemented to address recommendations from the HRSDC audit in 2005.

Our follow-up audit concluded that the federal TWRI Secretariat, which is responsible for policy development, program management, and monitoring of the TWRI on behalf of the federal government, has appropriately addressed all twelve of the recommendations from the 2005 HRSDC TWRI audit.

Archivé - Vérification de suivi de l'Initiative de revitalisation du secteur riverain de Toronto

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Version PDF - [503 ko]

Pour consulter un fichier PDF (format de document portable), votre ordinateur doit avoir un lecteur PDF. Si vous n'en avez pas déjà un, il existe de nombreux lecteurs PDF que vous pouvez télécharger gratuitement ou acheter dans Internet.

Sommaire

L'Initiative de revitalisation du secteur riverain de Toronto (IRSRT) a débuté en 2000 dans le cadre d'un effort concerté du gouvernement du Canada, de la province de l'Ontario et de la ville de Toronto visant à revitaliser le secteur riverain de Toronto au moyen d'investissements dans l'infrastructure et dans les projets récréatifs. Chaque ordre d'administration publique s'est engagé à verser 500 millions de dollars à l'appui de cette initiative. La participation du gouvernement du Canada se traduit par un programme de contribution dont le bénéficiaire désigné est la Société de revitalisation du secteur riverain de Toronto (SRSRT).

Initialement, le IRSRT a été dirigé par Transports Canada (TC). Depuis sa création toutefois, l'IRSRT a ensuite été transférée entre cinq autres ministères. Quand Ressources humaines et Développement social Canada (RHDSC) en avait la responsabilité, une vérification a été lancée par le groupe de vérification interne de ce ministère en 2005. Cette vérification visait à fournir l'assurance que la SRSRT se conformait aux modalités et aux conditions de son accord de contribution à des projets prioritaires conclu avec le gouvernement fédéral. La vérification de RHDSC a entraîné la présentation de douze recommandations et d'un plan d'action de la direction.

La vérification de suivi vise à fournir au ministère des Finances, qui est actuellement responsable de l'IRSRT, un compte rendu de l'état du plan d'action de la direction qui devait être mis en oeuvre afin de donner suite aux recommandations issues de la vérification de RHDSC menée en 2005.

Notre vérification de suivi a permis de conclure que le secrétariat fédéral de l'IRSRT, qui est responsable de l'élaboration des politiques, de la gestion des programmes, et de la surveillance de l'IRSRT au nom du gouvernement fédéral, a donné suite comme il se doit aux douze recommandations issues de la vérification de l'IRSRT menée en 2005 par RHDSC.