Archived - Audit of Pay and Related Benefits

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

PDF Version - [247 KB]

To access a Portable Document Format (PDF) file you must have a PDF reader installed. If you do not already have such a reader, there are numerous PDF readers available for free download or for purchase on the Internet.

Assurance Statement

The Internal Audit and Evaluation (IAE) of the Department of Finance Canada (the Department) has completed the Audit of Pay and Related Benefits*within the Department.  The objective of the audit was to provide assurance on the adequacy and effectiveness of the control framework in place and used for the administration of pay and related benefits to ensure the accuracy and compliance of the processed pay and related benefits transactions with relevant legislation, regulations, terms and conditions of employment, collective agreements, Treasury Board policies and directives.  The audit approach and methodology followed the International Standards for the Professional Practice of Internal Auditing as defined by the Institute of Internal Auditors and the Internal Auditing Standards for the Government of Canada as required under Treasury Board's Policy on Internal Audit.

The examination was conducted during the period of June through November 2008, and covered the transactions processed and controls in place during the fiscal year ending March 31, 2008. 

The audit consisted of the following: a review of applicable authorities; an assessment of the existing control framework for pay and related benefits against criteria, process walkthroughs; an examination of certain key controls to validate their existence and effectiveness; and an examination of pay transactions selected using a statistical random sampling methodology to verify accuracy and compliance with relevant authorities.  The audit evidence gathered is sufficient to provide senior management with reasonable (high) assurance concerning the results derived from this audit.

IAE concludes with a high level of assurance that with the exceptions identified below, the overall control framework for the administration of pay and related benefits in place and used within the Department during the fiscal year ending March 31, 2008 was adequate and effective to ensure the accuracy and compliance of the pay transactions processed with relevant authorities.  Control weaknesses were found relating to interdepartmental recoveries and reimbursements of pay and to the verification of user/employee access rights to the Regional Pay System.  Please refer to the body of this report for further details regarding the audit findings.

In the professional judgment of the Chief Audit Executive, sufficient and appropriate audit procedures have been conducted and evidence has been gathered to support the accuracy of the opinion provided in this report.  This opinion is based on a comparison of the conditions, as they existed at the time of the audit, against pre-established audit criteria.  The opinion is only applicable to the entity examined and for the scope and time period covered by the audit.

Executive Summary

Background

The audit of Pay and Related Benefits is an assurance engagement that was part of the approved Department of Finance Canada Three-Year Risk Based Audit Plan (Fiscal Years 2007-2008 to 2009-2010).  The Internal Audit and Evaluation (IAE) of the Department conducted the audit engagement.

Pay is an amount of money given to an entitled employee, for services rendered during a specific period in accordance with the relevant terms and conditions of employment, applicable rate of pay determined in a collective agreement or approved by Treasury Board for the group and level of the employee's classification.  Benefits relate to the various health, dental, disability, long-term disability and life insurance plans available to and sometimes compulsory for an employee during his or her employment in the public service, for which the employer (and sometimes the employee) pays a premium.  A public servant is also entitled to receive pension benefits after retirement which the individual and the employer will have contributed to throughout the period of employment in the public service.  Such benefit and pension plans are not covered in the scope of this audit.

Pay related benefits are those that are manifested in pay transactions and result in a payment issued to an entitled employee such as maternity or parental allowance, bilingual bonus, and severance pay. This audit report deals only with pay and pay related benefits.

The administration of pay and related benefits within the federal public service is complex and is governed by several authorities, the main ones being the Public Service Employment Act and the Financial Administration Act (FAA), and related regulations, terms and conditions of employment, collective agreements, and Treasury Board policies and directives which must be complied with in order to pay an employee the compensation he/she is entitled to receive.  The Policy Framework for the Management of Compensation sets out broad administrative principles for the government overall. The Comptrollership Policy on Pay Administration and Circulars 1977-37 & 1979-35 set the overall responsibilities of a department with regards to the administration of pay and related benefits for its employees.

According to the Department's Integrated Human Resources Plan 2008-11 as of December 31, 2007, the Department had approximately 1,052 full-time equivalent employees in 14 occupational groups represented by eight different collective agreements.  The departmental unaudited financial statements for fiscal year ending March 31, 2008 reported a total of $83,980,000 for Pay and Benefits Expenses.

Objective and Scope

The objective of the audit was to give assurance on the adequacy and effectiveness of the control framework in place and used within the Department for the administration of pay and related benefits to ensure the accuracy and compliance of the processed pay transactions with relevant legislation, regulations, terms and conditions of employment, collective agreements and Treasury Board policies and directives.

The scope of the audit consisted of an assessment of the existing control framework for the administration of most types of pay transactions such as regular pay, acting pay, and performance pay, and related benefits, which result in a payment issued to an employee such as for maternity or parental allowance, bilingual bonus, and severance pay.  The audit did not examine the controls nor did it test the pay transactions relating to leave (with pay) and overtime, as these had been the subject of a separate audit conducted by IAE.  The report for the other audit was finalized in December 2008.

The audit covered the fiscal year ending March 31, 2008 and the examination phase was conducted between June and November 2008.

As previously mentioned, only employee benefits which manifest themselves in a pay transaction and result in a payment issued to an employee such as maternity or parental allowance, bilingual bonus, and severance pay were under the scope of the audit.  The audit did not cover the administration of employee benefits and related transactions; expenses related to the employer's contribution to employee pension plans; and premiums paid for employee health care and other insurance.  These transactions were not included in the scope, as they are managed centrally for the entire federal public service by the Pension and Benefits sector of the Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat (the Secretariat).

The audit did not include a validation of internal controls within the related business applications in Human Resources System and in the Salary Forecasting System (replaced as of April 1, 2008 by the Salary Forecasting Tool).  Only the internal controls of the Regional Pay System (RPS) under the direct responsibilities of Human Resources Division and Financial Management Directorate were subject to the audit as the overall management of the RPS is the responsibility of the Compensation Sector of Public Works and Government Services Canada.

Overall Results and Key Findings

IAE concludes with a high level of assurance that with the exceptions identified below, the overall control framework for the administration of pay and related benefits in place and used within the Department for the period examined was adequate and effective to ensure the accuracy and compliance of the pay transactions processed with relevant authorities.  Control weaknesses were found relating to interdepartmental recoveries and reimbursements of pay and to the verification of user/employee access rights to RPS.

At the time of this audit, a transfer of specific corporate services, including those relating to pay and benefits, from the Department to the Secretariat was planned.  As a result, IAE directs specific recommendations addressing the findings contained in the body of the report to the Corporate Services Sector of the Secretariat(Refer to Appendix 3 for details on the Recommendations).


* For the purposes of this report, related benefits are those that are manifested in pay transactions and result in a payment issued to an entitled employee such as maternity or parental allowance, bilingual bonus, and severance pay.

Archivé - Vérification de la paye et des avantages sociaux connexes

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Version PDF - [276 ko]

Pour consulter un fichier PDF (format de document portable), votre ordinateur doit avoir un lecteur PDF. Si vous n’en avez pas déjà un, il existe de nombreux lecteurs PDF que vous pouvez télécharger gratuitement ou acheter dans Internet.

Énoncé d'assurance

La Vérification interne et évaluation (VIE) du Ministère des Finances Canada (ci-après « le Ministère ») a mené une vérification de la paye et des avantages sociaux connexes *au sein du Ministère. L'objectif de la vérification visait à fournir une assurance quant à la fiabilité et à l'efficacité du cadre de contrôle en place et utilisé servant à l'administration de la paye et des avantages sociaux connexes afin d'assurer l'exactitude du traitement des transactions liées à la paye et aux avantages sociaux connexes et leur conformité aux lois, règlements, conditions d'emploi, conventions collectives, politiques et directives pertinentes du Conseil du Trésor. L'approche et la méthodologie suivies lors de cette vérification sont conformes aux Normes internationales pour la pratique professionnelle de l'audit interne tel que définies par l'Institut des vérificateurs internes et aux Normes relatives à la vérification interne au sein du gouvernement du Canada tel que l'exige la Politique sur la vérification interne du Conseil du Trésor.

La vérification a été effectuée entre juin et novembre 2008 et a porté sur les transactions de paye traitées et les contrôles internes existants durant l'exercice financier terminé le 31 mars 2008.

La vérification a consisté notamment en: un examen des autorisations applicables; une évaluation du cadre de contrôle en place à l'égard de l'administration de la paye et des avantages sociaux connexes en le comparant à des critères de vérification préétablis; l'exécution de cheminements-témoin des processus; l'exécution de procédés de vérification de certains contrôles internes clés afin de valider leur existence et leur efficacité; et en l'exécution de procédés de vérification de transactions de paye choisies au hasard en utilisant une méthode statistique d'échantillonnage afin de vérifier leur exactitude et leur conformité aux autorisations. Les éléments probants recueillis sont suffisants pour fournir à la haute direction une assurance raisonnable (élevée) à l'égard des résultats découlant de cette vérification.

La VIE conclut, avec un degré élevé d'assurance, qu'exception faite des éléments mentionnés ci-après, que dans l'ensemble, le cadre de contrôle en place et utilisé servant à l'administration de la paye et des avantages sociaux connexes au sein du Ministère au cours de l'exercice financier terminé le 31 mars 2008 était approprié et efficace pour assurer l'exactitude du traitement des transactions de paye et leur conformité aux autorisations. Des faiblesses de contrôle ont été décelées en ce qui concerne les recouvrements et les remboursements de paye entre les ministères et la vérification des droits d'accès des utilisateurs/employés au Système régional de paye. On trouvera des détails sur ces constatations dans la partie principale du présent rapport.

Selon le jugement professionnel du dirigeant principal de la vérification, des procédés de vérification suffisants et appropriés ont été effectués et des preuves probantes ont été recueillies pour étayer l'exactitude de l'opinion fournie dans le présent rapport. Cette opinion est fondée sur une comparaison des conditions qui prévalaient au moment de la vérification par rapport à des critères de vérification préétablis. Cette opinion ne s'applique qu'à l'entité vérifiée pour l'étendue et la période couverte par la vérification.

Sommaire

Contexte

La vérification de la paye et des avantages sociaux connexes est une mission d'assurance, qui faisait partie du Plan triennal de vérification fondé sur les risques du Ministère des Finances Canada (exercices financiers 2007-2008 à 2009-2010) tel qu'approuvé. La Vérification interne et évaluation (VIE) du Ministère a effectué la mission de vérification.

La paye est un montant d'argent versé à un employé admissible, pour des services rendus au cours d'une période précise, conformément aux conditions d'emploi et au taux de rémunération applicable tels que définis dans le cadre d'une convention collective ou approuvés par le Conseil du Trésor pour le groupe et le niveau de classification de l'employé. Les avantages sociaux se rapportent aux différents régimes de soins de santé, de soins dentaires, d'assurance-invalidité, d'assurance-invalidité de longue durée et d'assurance-vie auxquels les employés peuvent adhérer, ou sont parfois obligés d'adhérer durant leur emploi dans la fonction publique, et pour lesquels l'employeur (et parfois l'employé) paie une prime. Après son départ à la retraite, un fonctionnaire a également le droit de recevoir des prestations de pension d'un régime auquel son employeur et lui auront contribué tout au long de son emploi au sein de la fonction publique. Ces avantages sociaux ne font pas partie de l'étendue de cette vérification.

Les avantages sociaux connexes, sont ceux qui se manifestent dans une transaction de paye et qui résultent dans un paiement émis à un employé qui est en droit de le recevoir tels qu'une prestation de maternité ou de paternité, une prime au bilinguisme ou une indemnité de départ. Ce rapport de vérification ne concerne que la paye et les avantages sociaux connexes.

L'administration de la paye et des avantages sociaux connexes au sein de la fonction publique fédérale est complexe et soumise à plusieurs dispositions légales dont les principales sont la Loi sur l'emploi dans la fonction publique et la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques (LGFP) et les règlements qui en découlent, les conditions d'emploi, les conventions collectives et les politiques et directives du Conseil du Trésor auxquelles il faut se conformer avant de pouvoir verser à un employé la rémunération qu'il ou elle est en droit de recevoir. Le Cadre des politiques de gestion de la rémunération établit des principes d'ordre général pour gérer la rémunération dans l'ensemble du gouvernement. La Fonction de contrôleur – Politique sur l'administration de la paye et les Circulaires 1977-37 et 1979-35 établissent l'ensemble des responsabilités d'un ministère en matière d'administration de la paye et des avantages sociaux connexes de ses employés.

Le Plan intégré des ressources humaines 2008-2011 du Ministère indique qu'au 31 décembre 2007, le Ministère comptait environ 1 052 employés équivalents temps plein dans 14 groupes occupationnels représentés par huit conventions collectives distinctes. Les états financiers non vérifiés du Ministère pour l'exercice financier terminé le 31 mars 2008 affichaient une dépense totale annuelle de 83 980 000 $ au titre de la paye et des avantages sociaux.

Objectif et portée

L'objectif de la vérification visait à fournir une assurance quant à la fiabilité et à l'efficacité du cadre de contrôle en place et utilisé au sein du Ministère servant à l'administration de la paye et des avantages sociaux connexes afin d'assurer l'exactitude du traitement des transactions de la paye et leur conformité aux lois, règlements, conditions d'emploi, conventions collectives, politiques et directives pertinentes du Conseil du Trésor.

La vérification a porté sur une évaluation du cadre de contrôle en place à l'égard de l'administration de la plupart des types de transactions liées à la paye telles que la rémunération de base, la prime au rendement et la rémunération d'intérim et aux avantages sociaux connexes qui résultent dans un paiement émis à un employé qui est en droit de le recevoir tels qu'une prestation de maternité ou de paternité, une prime au bilinguisme et une indemnité de départ.  La vérification n'a pas porté sur les contrôles ayant trait aux congés (payés) et aux heures supplémentaires ainsi que sur les transactions de paye connexes puisqu'ils ont fait l'objet d'une autre vérification par la VIE. Le rapport de cette vérification a été achevé en décembre 2008.

La vérification a porté sur l'exercice financier terminé le 31 mars 2008, et les travaux d'examen ont eu lieu entre juin et novembre 2008.

Comme il a été mentionné précédemment, seuls les avantages sociaux qui se manifestent dans une transaction de paye et qui résultent dans un paiement émis à un employé qui est en droit de le recevoir tels qu'une prestation de maternité ou de paternité, une prime au bilinguisme ou une indemnité de départ faisaient partie de l'étendue de la vérification. La vérification n'a pas porté sur l'administration des avantages sociaux des employés et des transactions connexes, ni sur les dépenses relatives aux cotisations de l'employeur aux régimes de pension des employés, ni sur les primes versées aux régimes de soins de santé et aux autres régimes d'assurance des employés. Ces transactions n'ont pas été incluses dans les paramètres de cette vérification puisqu'elles sont gérées de manière centralisée, pour l'ensemble de la fonction publique fédérale, par le Secteur des pensions et avantages sociaux du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada (le Secrétariat).

La vérification ne comportait pas la validation des contrôles internes faisant partie des applications d'entreprise connexes au système des ressources humaines et du système des prévisions salariales (remplacé le 1er avril 2008 par l'Outil de prévisions salariales). Seuls les contrôles internes du Système régional de la paye (SRP) sous la responsabilité directe de la Division des ressources humaines et du Directorat de la gestion financière ont été vérifiés puisque la gestion globale du SRP relève de Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada.

Résultats généraux et principales constatations

La VIE conclut, avec un degré élevé d'assurance, qu'exception faite des éléments mentionnés ci-après, que dans l'ensemble le cadre de contrôle en place et utilisé servant à l'administration de la paye et des avantages sociaux connexes au sein du Ministère au cours de la période vérifiée était approprié et efficace pour assurer l'exactitude du traitement des transactions de paye et leur conformité aux autorisations. Des faiblesses de contrôle ont été décelées concernant les recouvrements et les remboursements de payes entre les ministères et la vérification des droits d'accès des utilisateurs/employés au SRP.

Lors de la présente vérification, on prévoyait le transfert de certains services ministériels, notamment les services relatifs à la rémunération et aux avantages sociaux du Ministère au Secrétariat. Ainsi, la VIE adresse les recommandations particulières au sujet des constatations présentées dans la partie principale du présent rapport, au Secteur des services ministériels du Secrétariat (voir l'annexe 3 pour plus de détails sur les recommandations).


*Aux fins de ce rapport, les avantages sociaux connexes sont ceux qui se manifestent dans une transaction de paye et qui résultent dans un paiement émis à un employé qui est en droit de le recevoir tels qu'une prestation de maternité ou de paternité, une prime au bilinguisme ou une indemnité de départ.