Archived - Audit of Circulating Coins
Final Report

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Prepared by Internal Audit & Evaluation for the:
Audit and Evaluation Committee meeting of December 7, 2010
Finance Canada

Table of Contents

Executive Summary
Background
Audit Objective and Scope
Approach, Assurance Statement and Auditing Standards Employed
Conclusion
Findings by Audit Criteria
Recommendations and Management Action Plan

Appendices

Executive Summary 

The Department and the Royal Canadian Mint (RCM) have a formal agreement in place to clarify their respective responsibilities regarding the circulation of Canadian coins. This Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) is in accordance with the roles and responsibilities of both entities specified in the Royal Canadian Mint Act.  The Financial Markets Division (FMD), within the Department’s Financial Sector Policy Branch (FSPB), provides analysis and policy advice on a variety of subject areas, including the circulation of Canadian coins. 

The objective of the Audit of Circulating Coins is to assess the management control framework and related processes in place that oversees the supply of circulating coins.

Our audit concluded that overall, the Department’s controls and processes related to the management of the supply of circulating coins contribute to the effective management of this function. The Department adequately monitors adherence to its formal agreement with the RCM and processes financial transactions in accordance with relevant authorities in a timely manner. An opportunity for improvement was identified with regards to the regular monitoring of inventory against negotiated maximums specified in the MOU.  During the course of the audit, management began taking action to strengthen this area.

Background 

The Audit of the Circulating Coins, was approved as part of the Department of Finance’s (the Department) three-year risk based audit plan (RBAP), tabled at the Departmental Audit and Evaluation Committee (DAEC) meeting on December 8, 2009.

The Department and the Royal Canadian Mint (RCM) have a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU), in accordance with their roles and responsibilities specified in the Royal Canadian Mint Act (the Act).  In summary, the RCM is responsible to produce Canadian coins, and the Department is responsible to pay for the production of Canadian coins, as per sections 4(1)(c)(i) and 7(3) of the Act, respectively.

The MOU has been renegotiated and updated on a regular basis, as required, since the first version which was effective as of January 1, 2000.  The most recent MOU was signed on December 22, 2009 and was updated on June 17, 2010.  This MOU is effective for the period from January 1, 2009 to December 31, 2011.

The MOU has not been subject to an audit, since its inception in 2000; however, it was the subject of a Cost Review Report, conducted by Consulting and Audit Canada (CAC), in July 2005, on behalf of internal audit.  At the time, the CAC report had identified an over-payment by the Department, mostly related to fixed expenses, and provided the Department with suggested improvements to the MOU to reduce similar discrepancies in the future.  The suggested improvements have since been implemented and no over-payment has been noted during this audit.

In the Department, the Financial Sector Policy Branch is responsible for providing policy analysis on Canada's financial sector and on the regulation of federally chartered financial institutions. In line with these responsibilities, the Financial Markets Division (FMD), within the FSPB, provides analysis and policy advice on a variety of subject areas, including the circulation of Canadian coins. 

Audit Objective and Scope 

Objective

The objective of the Audit of Circulating Coins is to assess the adequacy of the management control framework and related processes in place that oversees the supply of circulating coins.

Scope

The audit scope includes activities under the responsibilities of the Department related to circulating coins. The audit work includes assessing the adequacy of key aspects of the MOU, obligations of both parties under the MOU and adherence to the MOU. The audit focused on:

  • The most recent MOU between the Department and the RCM effective January 1, 2009
  • The production and distribution costs (including fixed costs and management fees) relating to the production of Canadian circulating coins invoiced by the RCM to the Department for the year-ending December 31, 2009
  • Financial information and reporting mechanisms in place between the Department, the Receiver General and the RCM

The scope did not include:

  • An assessment of the RCM’s financial statements and related controls
  • Appropriateness of the negotiated amounts for general circulation coin standard costs
  • Appropriateness of the negotiated amounts for inventory levels

Approach, Assurance Statement and Auditing Standards Employed

The audit was conducted in accordance with the Internal Audit Standards of the Government of Canada and the International Standards for the Professional Practices of Internal Auditing*. These standards require that the audit be planned and performed in such a way as to obtain reasonable assurance that the audit objective was achieved. During the audit, appropriate procedures were followed and sufficient evidence was obtained to support the accuracy of findings and conclusions presented in this report. Audit procedures included, but were not limited to, interviews, observations, review of supporting documentation, and analytical reviews. The audit criteria used to develop the required audit tests were based on: (1) good management practices; and (2) applicable authorities policies and regulations; (3) and relevant elements of the Office of the Comptroller General’s Core Management Controls.

*This audit was conducted in accordance with the International Standards for the Professional Practices of Internal Auditing.  However, the internal audit function has not undergone an external assessment at least once in the past five years or been subject to ongoing monitoring or to periodic internal assessments of its internal audit activity that would confirm its compliance with these standards.

In total, 7 individuals were interviewed including personnel from the Department’s Financial Sector Policy Branch (FSPB), Corporate Services Branch, as well as a Director from the RCM.  The complete list of interviews is provided in Appendix A.  The audit team also conducted a review and analysis of applicable authorities, policies, as well as financial and non-financial documents from various relevant sources (list of key documents consulted is provided in Appendix B).  In addition, audit tests were also conducted focusing on financial transactions.

The audit approach allowed for the audit results to be communicated in such a manner as to enable management to review and provide feedback on the findings and conclusions before they were finalized.

Conclusion 

The audit concluded that overall, the Department’s management control framework and related processes are adequate to oversee the supply of circulating coins.  In particular, the following key positive aspects are worth noting:

  • In general, the Department adequately monitors adherence to its formal agreement with the RCM regarding circulating coins, with the exception of inventory.
  • Financial record-keeping relating to Circulating Coins is processed in accordance with relevant authorities and in a timely manner.

An opportunity for improvement was identified with regards to the regular monitoring of inventory against negotiated maximums specified in the MOU. During the course of the audit, management began taking action to strengthen this area.

Findings by Audit Criteria 

The following table presents the assessment of the level of risk exposure identified in the audit. Levels of risk exposure are categorized by audit criteria. 

High exposure
Medium exposure
Low exposure

The risk ranking is based on the level of risk exposure. A high, medium or low ranking corresponds to the potential risk exposure auditors believe may have an impact on the achievement of Department objectives, and is indicative of the priority management should give to address, if applicable, the related recommendations.

The assessment summarizes the audit observations based on the factual evidence gathered and analyzed during the audit. Based on these assessments, issues/themes along with potential causes, impacts, management initiatives and recommendations are summarized in the “Recommendations and Management Responses” section.

Findings by Audit Criteria
Criteria Risk Exposure Assessment
The Department adequately monitors adherence to formal agreements regarding Circulating Coins. Low The Department adequately monitors adherence to formal agreements regarding Circulating Coins, with the exception of inventory. The audit examined how the Department monitored adherence to the most recent MOU for the fiscal year ending December 31, 2009.  The audit analyzed and tested over 90% of the expenses incurred in 2009, which included the costs associated with the production of all coins, fixed expenses and management fees, and determined that:
  •  Effective controls were in place to monitor expenses
  •  All amounts tested had been invoiced and paid in accordance with the relevant terms in the MOU.
Although the Department records General Circulation Coinage inventory as part of the year-end reconciliation process, FSPB does not regularly monitor inventory levels throughout the fiscal year.  Without regular monitoring of inventory, there is an increased risk of over-payment, and FSPB’s ability to effectively manage inventory-related costs is reduced.  It should be noted that management is in the process of addressing this issue.
Financial record-keeping relating to circulating coins is processed in accordance with relevant authorities in a timely manner. Low The Department’s financial record-keeping relating to circulating coins is processed in accordance with relevant authorities in a timely manner. The audit team examined how the Department monitored adherence to Sections 32, 33 and 34 of the Financial Administration Act (FAA) by analyzing all of the expense transactions related to the fiscal year ending December 31, 2009 and determined that effective controls existed regarding:
  •  Initiating invoices against an authorized expenditure, by the appropriate authority as per FAA, Section 32.
  •  Adequate segregation of duties (Section 33 and Section 34) exist between the persons exercising authority.
  •  Coinage receipt of goods and payment are properly authorized by the appropriate authority and are properly processed in accordance with authorities the FAA (Section 34).
Furthermore, the audit confirmed that adequate controls are in place to record revenues effectively and to ensure that they are processed in a comprehensive, accurate and timely manner.

Recommendations and Management Action Plan 

The following section presents the key opportunity for improvement stemming from the audit findings. The impact and recommendation is also stated. Where applicable, the relevant management initiatives already underway are included. For the recommendation, management has provided:

  • An action plan, which addresses the recommendation;
  • The position responsible for implementing the action plan; and,
  • The target date for completion.

1. Establish and implement regular controls to monitor inventory

Summary of the Audit Finding and its Impact

As part of its role relating to the management of circulating Canadian coins, the Department has a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) with the RCM, specifying the responsibilities of each organization, the agreed upon costs related to the production of coins, and the inventory maximums for each denomination.

Although the Department records General Circulation Coinage inventory as part of the year-end reconciliation process, FSPB does not regularly monitor inventory levels throughout the fiscal year.  Without regular monitoring of inventory, there is an increased risk of over-payment, and FSPB’s ability to effectively manage inventory-related costs is reduced.

Regular monitoring of the General Circulation Coinage inventory will mitigate the aforementioned risks and will improve the Department’s ability to manage the circulation of Canadian coins.  It is important to note that during the course of the audit, management began taking action to strengthen this area, after they were informed about this issue by the audit team.

Recommendation

It is recommended that the ADM, Financial Sector Policy Branch put in place controls to ensure that the General Circulation Coinage inventory is regularly monitored.












Management Response

We agree with this audit finding and the recommendation.  Corporate Accounting & Public Debt of the Corporate Services Branch identified this issue during the 2009/10 annual reconciliation.

We are pleased to report that the Financial Sector Policy Branch (FSPB), in consultation with the Royal Canadian Mint (RCM), has developed and implemented a remedial action plan.   Effective September 17, 2010, the RCM is reporting current General Circulation Coinage inventory levels against approved levels (as contained in the MOU with the RCM), as part of the biweekly invoice submitted to FSPB.  These levels are verified for compliance with the MOU prior to approving payment.

Appendix A – List of Personnel Interviewed 

Department of Finance Personnel

Director, Financial Markets Division, Financial Sector Policy Branch

Chief, Government Financing, Financial Markets Division, Financial Sector Policy Branch

Senior Economist, Government Financing, Financial Markets Division, Financial Sector Policy Branch

Chief Financial Officer and Executive Director, Corporate Services Branch

Director, Corporate Accounting & Public Debt, Corporate Services Branch 

Manager – Corporate Accounting & Public Debt, Corporate Services Branch

Royal Canadian Mint Personnel

Director of Financial and Economic Analysis, Royal Canadian Mint

Appendix B – List of Key Documents consulted 

Legislation

  • Royal Canadian Mint Act
  • Currency Act
  • Financial Administration Act

Policies (TB)

  • Treasury Board Policy on Internal Control
  • Finance and Treasury Board Accounting Policy

Documents Specific to the Department

  • Department of Finance’s Financial Statements (various years)
  • Integrated Business Plan (2009-2010)
  • Corporate Risk Profile (June 2009)
  • Department of Finance’s Accounting Policy – Coinage Inventory
  • MOU (July 6, 2001) between the Department and the RCM
  • MOU (December 22, 2005) between the Department and the RCM
  • MOU (November 2, 2007) between the Department and the RCM
  • MOU (December 22, 2009) between the Department and the RCM

Other Documents

  • RCM Annual Reports (various years)
  • Consulting and Audit Canada Cost Review Report and Management Letter (July 19, 2005)
  • Deloitte Special Review & Assessment
  • The RCM Special Examination Report by OAG (2005)

Appendix C – Audit Team 

The members of the audit team are:

  • Ziad Shadid, B.Comm. CGA, Audit Manager
  • Rim Ben Saad, B.A, B.Comm, Senior Financial Auditor
  • Christian Kratchanov, MBA, CIA, Chief Audit Executive

Archivé - Vérification des pièces de monnaie de circulation
rapport final

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Préparé par Vérification interne et évaluation en vue de la réunion
du Comité de vérification et d’évaluation du 7 décembre 2010
Finances Canada

Table des matières

Sommaire exécutif
Contexte
Objectif et portée de la vérification
Approche, énoncé d’assurance et normes de vérification
Conclusion
Observations par critère de vérification
Recommandations et Plan d’action de la gestion

Annexes

Sommaire exécutif 

Le Ministère et la Monnaie royale canadienne (MRC) ont conclu une entente officielle pour apporter des précisions sur leurs responsabilités respectives concernant la circulation des pièces de monnaie canadiennes. Le protocole d’entente (PE) conclu est conforme aux rôles et aux responsabilités des deux entités, énoncés dans la Loi sur la Monnaie royale canadienne. La Division des marchés financiers (DMF), qui fait partie de la Direction de la politique du secteur financier (DPSF) du Ministère, fournit des analyses et des conseils stratégiques sur un éventail de domaines, dont la circulation des pièces de monnaie canadiennes. 

La vérification de pièces de monnaie de circulation avait pour objectif d’évaluer le cadre de contrôle de la gestion et les processus connexes en place pour surveiller l’approvisionnement en pièces de monnaie de circulation.

Notre vérification est arrivée à la conclusion que dans l’ensemble, les mécanismes de contrôle et les processus du Ministère concernant la gestion de l’approvisionnement en pièces de monnaie de circulation contribuent à la gestion efficace de cette fonction. Le Ministère veille adéquatement  au respect de son entente officielle avec la MRC et traite les opérations financières conformément aux pouvoirs pertinents, et en temps opportun. Une possibilité d’amélioration a été décelée en ce qui touche la surveillance régulière de l’inventaire par rapport aux maximums négociés et indiqués dans le PE. Durant la conduite de la vérification, la direction a commencé à prendre des mesures pour renforcer ce domaine.

Contexte 

La vérification des pièces de monnaie de circulation a été approuvée dans le cadre du plan de vérification triennal axé sur le risque (PVTR) du ministère des Finances (le Ministère), déposé à la réunion du 8 décembre 2009 du Comité de vérification et d’évaluation du Ministère (CVEM).

Le Ministère et la Monnaie royale canadienne (MRC) ont conclu un protocole d’entente (PE), en accord avec leurs rôles et responsabilités énoncés dans la Loi sur la Monnaie royale canadienne. En bref, la MRC est responsable de la production des pièces de monnaie canadiennes, et le Ministère est responsable du paiement de la production de pièces canadiennes, conformément à l’alinéa 4(1)c)(i) et au paragraphe 7(3) de la Loi respectivement.

Le PE a été renégocié et mis à jour régulièrement, comme prévu, depuis la première version qui est entrée en vigueur le 1er janvier 2000. Le PE le plus récent a été signé le 22 décembre 2009 et mis à jour le 17 juin 2010. Il est en vigueur pour la période du 1er janvier 2009 au 31 décembre 2011.

Le PE n’a fait l’objet d’aucune vérification depuis son début en 2000; toutefois, il a été l’objet d’un rapport d’examen des coûts, préparé par Conseils et Vérification Canada (CVC), en juillet 2005, pour le compte de la vérification interne. À ce moment-là, CVC a signalé un versement excédentaire du ministère des Finances dans son rapport, qui se rapportait essentiellement à des coûts fixes, et a présenté au ministère des Finances des propositions d’améliorations au PE pour réduire de telles anomalies à l’avenir. Depuis, les améliorations proposées ont été apportées et la vérification n’a révélé aucun versement excédentaire.

Au Ministère, la Direction de la politique du secteur financier (DPSF) est chargée de fournir des analyses stratégiques sur le secteur financier du canada et sur la réglementation des institutions financières à charte fédérale. En accord avec ses responsabilités, la Division des marchés financiers (DMF), qui fait partie de la DPSF, fournit des analyses et des conseils stratégiques sur une diversité de domaines, dont la circulation des pièces de monnaie canadiennes.  

Objectif et portée de la vérification 

Objectif

La vérification des pièces de monnaie de circulation avait pour objectif d’évaluer la pertinence du cadre de contrôle de la gestion et des processus connexes en place pour contrôler l’approvisionnement en pièces de monnaie de circulation.

Portée

La vérification a porté sur les activités relevant de la compétence du Ministère au sujet des pièces de monnaie de circulation. Elle a consisté à évaluer la pertinence d’aspects clés du PE, des obligations des deux parties signataires du PE et le respect du PE. La vérification était axée sur :

  • le PE le plus récent conclu entre le Ministère et la MRC, en vigueur depuis le 1er janvier 2009;
  • les coûts de production et de distribution (y compris les coûts fixes et les frais de gestion) associés à la production de pièces de circulation canadiennes, que la MRC a facturés au Ministère pour l’année qui a pris fin le 31 décembre 2009;
  • l’information financière et les mécanismes de communication en place entre le Ministère, le receveur général et la MRC.

N’ont pas été visées par la vérification :

  • une évaluation des états financiers et des contrôles connexes de la MRC;
  • la justesse des montants négociés pour les coûts standards généraux des pièces de circulation;
  • la justesse des montants négociés pour les niveaux de l’inventaire.

Approche, énoncé d’assurance et normes de vérification 

La vérification a été effectuée conformément aux Normes de vérification interne du gouvernement du Canada et aux Normes internationales pour la pratique professionnelle de l’audit interne*. Ces normes exigent que la vérification soit planifiée et menée de manière à obtenir l’assurance raisonnable que l’objectif de la vérification a été atteint. Pendant la vérification, un processus convenable a été suivi et suffisamment d’éléments de preuve ont été obtenus pour soutenir l’exactitude des constatations et des conclusions présentés dans le rapport. Le processus de vérification comprenait entre autres choses des entrevues, des observations, l’examen des documents à l’appui et des examens analytiques. Les critères de vérification utilisés pour élaborer les procédés de vérification requis étaient fondés sur : (1) de bonnes pratiques de gestion; (2) des pouvoirs, politiques et règlements applicables; (3) des éléments pertinents des contrôles de gestion de base du Bureau du contrôleur général.

* La vérification a été menée conformément aux Normes internationales pour la pratique professionnelle de l’audit interne. Cependant, la fonction de vérification interne n’a pas été assujettie à une évaluation externe au moins une fois au cours des cinq dernières années ni à une surveillance permanente ou à des évaluations internes périodiques de l’activité de vérification interne, qui pourraient confirmer sa conformité à ces normes.

En tout, 7 personnes ont été interrogées, y compris des membres du personnel de la Direction de la politique du secteur financier (DPSF) et de la Direction des services ministériels du Ministère, et un directeur de la MRC. La liste complète des entrevues figure à l’annexe A. L’équipe de vérification a aussi mené un examen et une analyse des pouvoirs et politiques applicables ainsi que des documents financiers et non financiers provenant de diverses sources pertinentes (la liste des principaux documents consultés figure à l’annexe B). En outre, des contrôles par sondages ont été menés précisément sur des opérations financières.

La stratégie de vérification a fait en sorte que les résultats de la vérification soient communiqués d’une manière qui a permis à la direction de prendre connaissance des observations et des conclusions avant leur mise au point finale et de faire part de ce qu’elle en pense.

Conclusion 

La vérification est arrivée à la conclusion que dans l’ensemble, le cadre de contrôle de la gestion et les processus connexes du Ministère pour surveiller l’approvisionnement en pièces de monnaie de circulation sont convenables. Plus précisément, il convient de noter les principaux aspects positifs suivants :

  • De façon générale, le Ministère veille convenablement au respect de son entente officielle avec la MRC au sujet des pièces de monnaie de circulation, à l’exception de l’inventaire.
  • La tenue des dossiers financiers relatifs aux pièces de monnaie de circulation est effectuée conformément aux pouvoirs pertinents et en temps opportun.

Une possibilité d’amélioration a été décelée à l’égard du contrôle régulier de l’inventaire par rapport aux maximums négociés et inscrits dans le PE. Durant la conduite de la vérification, la direction a commencé à prendre des mesures pour renforcer ce domaine.

Observations par critère de vérification 

Le tableau qui suit présente l’évaluation du niveau d’exposition à un risque établi par la vérification. Les niveaux d’exposition à un risque sont établis par critère de vérification. 

Niveau d’exposition élevé
Niveau d’exposition moyen
Niveau d’exposition faible

Le classement du risque est fondé sur le niveau d’exposition à un risque. Un classement élevé, moyen ou faible correspond au niveau d’exposition éventuel à un risque qui, selon les vérificateurs, pourrait avoir des répercussions sur l’atteinte des objectifs du Ministère, et il donne une indication de la priorité que la direction devrait lui accorder pour donner suite, le cas échéant, aux recommandations connexes.

L’évaluation résume les observations de vérification fondées sur les preuves factuelles recueillies et analysées pendant la vérification. Selon ces évaluations, les enjeux/thèmes et les causes éventuelles, les répercussions, les initiatives de la direction et les recommandations sont résumés dans la partie « Recommandation et réponses de la direction ».

Observations par critère de vérification
Critère Niveau d’exposition à un risque Évaluation
Le Ministère veille convenablement au respect des ententes officielles conclues au sujet des pièces de monnaie de circulation. faible Le Ministère veille convenablement au respect des ententes officielles conclues au sujet des pièces de monnaie de circulation, à l’exception de l’inventaire. La vérification a consisté à examiner la façon dont le Ministère veille au respect du PE le plus récent pour l’exercice qui a pris fin le 31 décembre 2009. Des analyses et des contrôles par sondages ont porté sur plus de 90 % des dépenses engagées en 2009, qui comprenaient les coûts associés à la production de toutes les pièces, les coûts fixes et les frais de gestion, et la vérification est arrivée à la conclusion suivante :
  •  des contrôles efficaces sont en place pour surveiller les dépenses;
  •  tous les montants contrôlés ont été facturés et payés conformément aux conditions pertinentes du PE.
Bien que le Ministère constate l’inventaire de pièces de monnaie de circulation générale dans le cadre du processus de réconciliation de fin d’année, la DPSF ne contrôle pas régulièrement les niveaux d’inventaire tout au long de l’exercice. Sans contrôle régulière de l’inventaire, le risque de versements excédentaires est accru, et la capacité de la DPSF à gérer efficacement les coûts reliés à l’inventaire est réduite. Il convient de noter que la direction est en train d’adresser la question.
La tenue des dossiers financiers relatifs aux pièces de circulation est effectuée conformément aux pouvoirs pertinents et en temps opportun. faible La tenue des dossiers financiers relatifs aux pièces de circulation du Ministère est effectuée conformément aux pouvoirs pertinents et en temps opportun. L’équipe de vérification a examiné la façon dont le Ministère veillait au respect des articles 32, 33 et 34 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques (LGFP) en analysant toutes les opérations liées aux dépenses pour l’exercice ayant pris fin le 31 décembre 2009 et a établi que des contrôles efficaces étaient en place pour :
  •  l’établissement des factures par rapport aux dépenses autorisées, par l’autorité compétente selon la LGFP, article 32; 
  •  une séparation adéquate des fonctions (article 33 et article 34) existe entre les personnes exerçant un pouvoir;
  •  la réception des biens et le paiement sont convenablement autorisés par l’autorité compétente et convenablement traités conformément aux pouvoirs énoncés dans la LGFP (article 34).
Qui plus est, la vérification a confirmé que des contrôles valables sont en place pour comptabiliser les revenus efficacement et s’assurer qu’ils sont traités de façon exhaustive et exacte, et en temps opportun.

Recommandations et Plan d’action de la gestion 

La partie suivante présente la possibilité d’amélioration que nous avons identifié à la suite de nos observations relatives à la vérification. On y énonce aussi les répercussions et la recommandation. Le cas échéant, les initiatives de gestion pertinentes déjà en cours sont indiquées. Au sujet de la recommandation, la direction a fourni :

  • un plan d’action, qui donne suite à la recommandation;
  • le poste dont le titulaire est chargé de mettre en œuvre le plan d’action;
  • la date cible d’achèvement.

1. Établir et appliquer des contrôles réguliers pour surveiller l’inventaire

Résumé des observations de la vérification et de leur incidence

Pour remplir son rôle concernant la gestion des pièces de circulation canadiennes, le Ministère a conclu un protocole d’entente (PE) avec la MRC, qui précise les responsabilités de chaque organisation, les coûts convenus pour la production des pièces et les niveaux maximums d’inventaire pour chaque coupure.

Bien que le Ministère constate l’inventaire de pièces de monnaie de circulation générale dans le cadre du processus de rapprochement de fin d’année, la DPSF ne surveille pas régulièrement les niveaux de stock tout au long de l’exercice. Sans une surveillance régulière de l’inventaire, le risque de versement excédentaire est accru, et la capacité de la DPSF à gérer efficacement les coûts associés à l’inventaire est réduite.

La surveillance régulière de l’inventaire de pièces de monnaie de circulation générale atténuera les risques susmentionnés et améliorera la capacité du Ministère à gérer la circulation des pièces de monnaie canadiennes. Il convient de noter que pendant la conduite de l’évaluation, la direction a commencé à prendre des mesures pour renforcer ce domaine, après avoir été informée de la question par l’équipe de vérification.

Recommandation

Il est recommandé que le SMA, Direction de la politique du secteur financier, mette en place des mécanismes de contrôle pour s’assurer que l’inventaire de pièces de monnaie de circulation générale fasse l’objet d’une surveillance régulière.















Réponse de la direction

Nous sommes d'accord avec cette observation de la vérification et la recommandation. Le service de Rapports sur la dette publique et la dette ministérielle de la Direction des services ministériels ont identifié cette question au cours de la réconciliation annuelle 2009/10.

Nous sommes heureux d'annoncer que la Direction de la politique du secteur financier (DPSF), en consultation avec la Monnaie royale canadienne (MRC), a élaboré et mis en œuvre des mesures correctives. Effective depuis le 17 septembre 2010, la MRC présente un rapport général des niveaux de  l’inventaire de la Monnaie de circulation par rapport aux niveaux approuvés (tels qu'ils figurent dans le protocole d'entente avec la MRC),à chaque date de facturation toutes les deux semaines, soumis à DPSF. Ces niveaux sont vérifiées pour assurer une conformité avec le protocole d'entente avant d'approuver le paiement.

Annexe A – Liste des employés du ministère des Finances interviewés

Personnel du ministère des Finances

Directeur, Division des marchés financiers, Direction de la politique du secteur financier

Chef, Financement du gouvernement, Division des marchés financiers, Direction de la politique du secteur financier

Économiste principal, Financement du gouvernement, Division des marchés financiers, Direction de la politique du secteur financier

Directrice financière et directrice exécutive, Direction des services ministériels

Directeur, Comptabilité ministérielle et dette publique, Direction des services ministériels

Gestionnaire – Comptabilité ministérielle et dette publique, Direction des services ministériels

Personnel de la Monnaie royale canadienne

Directeur, Analyse financière et économique, Monnaie royale canadienne

Annexe B – Liste des principaux documents consultés 

Lois

  • Loi sur la Monnaie royale canadienne
  • Loi sur la monnaie
  • Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques

Politiques (CT)

  • Politique sur le contrôle interne du Conseil du Trésor
  • Politique comptable du ministère des Finances et du Conseil du trésor

Documents propres au Ministère

  • États financiers du ministère des Finances (diverses années)
  • Plan d’activités intégré (2009-2010)
  • Profil de risque organisationnel (juin 2009)
  • Politique comptable du ministère des Finances – Stocks de pièces de monnaie
  • PE (6 juillet 2001) entre le Ministère et la MRC
  • PE (22 décembre 2005) entre le Ministère et la MRC
  • PE (2 novembre 2007) entre le ministère et la MRC
  • PE (22 décembre 2009) entre le ministère et la MRC

Autres documents

  • Rapports annuels de la MRC (diverses années)
  • Rapport d’examen des coûts et lettre de recommandations, Conseils et Vérification Canada (19 juillet 2005)
  • Examen spécial et évaluation, Deloitte
  • Rapport d’examen spécial du BVG (2005) sur la MRC

Annexe C – Équipe de verification 

Membres de l’équipe de vérification :

  • Ziad Shadid, B.Com. CGA, gestionnaire de la vérification
  • Rim Ben Saad, B.A, B.Com, vérificatrice financière principale
  • Christian Kratchanov, MBA, CIA, dirigeant principal de la vérification