Archived - Audit of the Security of Information

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

PDF Version - [1.76 MB]

To access a Portable Document Format (PDF) file you must have a PDF reader installed. If you do not already have such a reader, there are numerous PDF readers available for free download or for purchase on the Internet.

Executive Summary

Effective security of information contributes to the achievement of the Department of Finance Canada's (the Department) strategic goals by adequately protecting the business information of the Department, thus ensuring its confidentiality, integrity and availability. The security of information in both paper and electronic form, requires a comprehensive departmental strategy to establish the appropriate levels of awareness, training, processes and monitoring. The audit provides the Department with an opportunity to identify improvement opportunities.

The audit was approved and planned in 2007 and conducted in 2008. It concludes that overall, the Department generally follows good management practices in managing sensitive information. Four areas stood out as having documented processes and area-specific training in place:

  • The Budget and Fiscal Update processes;
  • Law Branch;
  • The ATIP group within Law Branch; and
  • The mailroom.

The audit also concluded that opportunities for improvement exist. These relate to the establishment of a structured framework to solidify current practices of Department employees. The key opportunities for improvement are:

  • Develop and implement an organization-wide training program;
  • Monitor the management of sensitive information and hold employees accountable; and
  • Facilitate access to guidelines and tools on how to manage sensitive information.

Archivé - Vérification de la sécurité de l'information

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Version PDF - [1.78 mo]

Pour consulter un fichier PDF (format de document portable), votre ordinateur doit avoir un lecteur PDF. Si vous n'en avez pas déjà un, il existe de nombreux lecteurs PDF que vous pouvez télécharger gratuitement ou acheter dans Internet.

Sommaire

La sécurité de l'information, lorsqu'elle est efficace, aide le ministère des Finances Canada (le Ministère) à réaliser ses objectifs stratégiques puisqu'elle assure la protection des renseignements opérationnels du Ministère et, par conséquent, la confidentialité, l'intégrité et la disponibilité de ceux-ci. La sécurité de l'information conservée sur support papier ou électronique suppose une stratégie ministérielle globale qui définit les processus et établit les niveaux appropriés de sensibilisation, de formation et de surveillance. La vérification permet au Ministère d'identifier des possibilités d'amélioration de processus.

La vérification a été approuvée et planifiée en 2007, puis effectuée en 2008. Elle conclut que, globalement, le Ministère applique généralement de bonnes pratiques de gestion de l'information sensible. Quatre secteurs se sont distingués, leurs processus étant consignés par écrit et leur formation adaptée à leurs besoins :

  • l'unité responsable des processus du Budget et de la mise à jour financière;
  • la Direction juridique;
  • la Division de l'AIPRP de la Direction juridique; et
  • la salle du courrier.

Des possibilités d'amélioration ont aussi été identifiées. Elles concernent la mise en place d'un cadre structuré afin de consolider les pratiques actuelles des employés du Ministère. Les principales possibilités d'amélioration sont les suivantes :

  • Élaborer et mettre en oeuvre un programme de formation à l'échelle du Ministère;
  • Surveiller la gestion de l'information sensible et tenir les employés responsables; et
  • Faciliter l'accès aux lignes directrices et aux outils expliquant la façon de gérer l'information sensible.