Archived - Audit of Risk Management

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

PDF Version - [440 KB]

To access a Portable Document Format (PDF) file you must have a PDF reader installed. If you do not already have such a reader, there are numerous PDF readers available for free download or for purchase on the Internet.

Executive Summary

As part of the Government of Canada’s commitment to strengthening risk management practices in the public service, the Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat (TBS) developed the Integrated Risk Management Framework (IRMF) in 2001. The IRMF defines integrated risk management as a continuous, proactive and systematic process to understand, manage and communicate risk from an organization-wide perspective. It is about making strategic decisions that contribute to the achievement of an organization's overall corporate objectives.

The objective of the Audit of Risk Management is to provide the Department of Finance (the Department) with reasonable assurance that the corporate risk management framework and processes it has in place effectively identify, assess and manage corporate risks.

Our audit concluded that overall, the Department has developed an adequate Corporate Risk Profile (CRP) and has established an Integrated Risk Management (IRM) function, in line with good management practices and the TBS guidelines on IRMF. The Department has implemented the elements of an effective risk management framework; however, some elements of the communication strategy presented in the Corporate Risk Profile (CRP) have not been fully implemented.

Archivé - Vérification de la gestion du risque

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Version PDF - [443 ko]

Pour consulter un fichier PDF (format de document portable), votre ordinateur doit avoir un lecteur PDF. Si vous n'en avez pas déjà un, il existe de nombreux lecteurs PDF que vous pouvez télécharger gratuitement ou acheter dans Internet.

Sommaire

Dans la foulée de l'engagement du gouvernement du Canada de renforcer les pratiques de gestion du risque dans la fonction publique, le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada a adopté en 2001 le Cadre de gestion intégrée du risque selon lequel la gestion intégrée du risque est un processus systématique, proactif et continu pour comprendre, gérer et communiquer le risque du point de vue de l'ensemble de l'organisation, autrement dit: prendre des décisions stratégiques qui faciliteront la réalisation des objectifs globaux d'une organisation.

L'objectif de la vérification de la gestion du risque est d'apporter au ministère des Finances une assurance raisonnable que le cadre de gestion intégrée du risque et les processus en place permettent de définir, d'évaluer et de gérer efficacement les facteurs de risque ministériels.

Au terme de la vérification, nous avons conclu que, dans l'ensemble, le ministère avait un profil de risque de l'organisation adéquat et qu'il avait instauré une fonction de gestion intégrée du risque conforme à de bonnes pratiques de gestion et avec les lignes directrices du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor sur le Cadre de gestion intégrée du risque. Le ministère a mis en place les éléments d'un cadre efficace de gestion intégrée du risque; cependant, certains éléments de la stratégie de communication présentée dans son profil de risque ne sont pas entièrement mis en œuvre.