Archived - Audit of the Department of Finance's Economic Action Plan: Governance, Risk management and Control Framework

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

PDF Version - [369 KB]

To access a Portable Document Format (PDF) file you must have a PDF reader installed. If you do not already have such a reader, there are numerous PDF readers available for free download or for purchase on the Internet.

Executive Summary

On January 27, 2009 the Government of Canada introduced the Economic Action Plan (EAP) to jumpstart growth and sustain recovery over a two-year period, as a result of extraordinary global financial and economic circumstances. The EAP covers total federal stimulus measures for an amount of about $47 billion over the next two years (approximately $28 billion for 2009-10 and over $19 billion for 2010-11) and an investment into the Canadian economy by improving access to financing, through the Extraordinary Financing Framework, for an amount up to $200 billion.

The audit objective is to assess the auditable elements of the EAP which fall under the responsibility of the Department of Finance (the Department). These are: (1) the Extraordinary Financing Framework (EFF); and (2) the Enactment and implementation of tax relief measures announced in the plan.

Our audit concluded that the responsibilities of the Department’s Tax Policy (TP) and Financial Sector Policy (FSP) branches, relating to the EAP, have been clearly established and the EAP related actions of both branches are consistent with and adhere to relevant authorities.

Archivé - Vérification du Plan d'action économique au sein du ministère des Finances: gouvernance, gestion des risques, cadre de contrôle

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Version PDF - [373 ko]

Pour consulter un fichier PDF (format de document portable), votre ordinateur doit avoir un lecteur PDF. Si vous n'en avez pas déjà un, il existe de nombreux lecteurs PDF que vous pouvez télécharger gratuitement ou acheter dans Internet.

Sommaire exécutif

Le 27 janvier 2009, le gouvernement du Canada annonçait le Plan d'action économique (PAE) afin de relancer la croissance et de soutenir la reprise pendant deux ans en raison des circonstances financières et économiques exceptionnelles qui existaient à l'échelle mondiale. Le PAE vise l’ensemble des mesures fédérales de stimulation dont la valeur s’établit à environ 47 milliards de dollars pour les deux prochaines années (environ 28 milliards en 2009-2010 et plus de 19 milliards en 2010-2011) et l’injection d’une somme pouvant atteindre 200 milliards de dollars dans l’économie canadienne grâce à l’amélioration de l’accès au financement par l’entremise du Cadre de financement exceptionnel.

L’objectif de la vérification consiste à évaluer les éléments vérifiables du PAE qui relèvent de la responsabilité du ministère des Finances (le Ministère). Ces éléments sont : (1) le Cadre de financement exceptionnel (CFE) et (2) l’adoption et l’application des mesures d’allégement fiscal énoncées dans le plan.

La vérification nous a permis de conclure que les responsabilités de la Direction de la politique de l'impôt et de la Direction de la politique du secteur financier du Ministère se rapportant au PAE ont été établies clairement et que les mesures liées au PAE prises par les deux directions sont conformes aux pouvoirs pertinents et les respectent.