- Previous version - All Financial Sector Fact Sheets -

Canada’s Financial Services Sector

Canada's Banks

Updated Version (August 2002)


Overview

Introduction

In 1817 Canada’s first bank was opened by a small group of local merchants in Montréal. Since then the banking industry has become a major contributor to economic development and job creation, and plays a key role in supporting the growth of the new economy through significant investments in technology, innovation and the financing of new economy companies.

Up to the middle of the 20th century, the primary function of a bank was to accept deposits and grant commercial loans. In recent years the banking industry has undergone a dramatic transformation. Growth in business and changing customer needs, along with the rapid expansion of international trade, led to the introduction of more automation and new products and services. At the same time, banks started to face increased competition from other financial institutions, and revisions to Canada’s Bank Act in 1954 and 1967 enabled banks to offer new services such as mortgages and consumer loans. Subsequent changes to financial institutions legislation in 1987 and major revisions to the Bank Act in 1992 also increased competition by permitting banks to operate trust and securities subsidiaries.

The Canadian banking system today is mature, sophisticated and highly competitive. Canadian banks derive stability from their broad diversification in Canada and the U.S. and a strong consumer credit culture. They have also developed a dominant wealth management business, and have a world-leading infrastructure with a high degree of automation and strong management control systems.

Structure of the Canadian Industry

As of July 2002 there were 14 domestic banks, 33 foreign bank subsidiaries and 20 foreign bank branches operating in Canada. In total, these institutions had over $1.7 trillion in assets, which accounted for over 70 per cent of the total assets within the Canadian financial services sector. The six largest domestic banks accounted for the bulk of the activity, holding over 90 per cent of banking assets.

Banks are among Canada’s leading employers. In 2000 the industry employed over 235,000 Canadians and had a Canadian payroll of approximately $16.1 billion. In addition, in 2001 the six major domestic banks paid $4.8 billion in taxes to all levels of government.

Canada’s banks operate through an extensive network that includes over 8,000 branches and close to 18,000 automated banking machines (ABMs) across the country. Canada has the highest number of ABMs per capita in the world and benefits from the highest penetration levels of electronic channels such as debit cards, Internet banking and telephone banking. In 2001 Canadians conducted 2.2 billion debit card transactions from over 328,000 merchants, ranking Canada first in the world in ABM use. Between 1997 and 2000 the number of Internet banking customers registered with the six major banks increased by 262 per cent, to over 5.8 million customers. Telephone banking, which permits customers to make account inquiries, transfers and bill payments over the telephone 24 hours a day, is also an increasingly popular delivery channel for Canada’s six major banks, with over 9.7 million customers using the service in 2000.

The International Dimension

The six major domestic banks have significant international operations, which vary among the individual institutions both geographically and in strategic direction. They have been seeking growth opportunities in the United States, where they are focusing their business activities on wealth management, corporate investment banking and electronic banking. At the same time, the major domestic banks have made investments in select markets in Latin America, Asia, the Caribbean and other countries around the world. In 2001 their international operations accounted for approximately 33 per cent of gross revenues.

As of July 2002, 20 foreign bank branches were operating in Canada. The recent increase in the number of foreign bank branches stems directly from new legislation passed in 1999 allowing foreign banks to establish operations in Canada without having to set up Canadian-incorporated subsidiaries.

Recent Performance

In recent years Canada’s banks have demonstrated consistent performance. In 2001 the six largest Canadian banks reported earnings of $9.7 billion, compared to $9.6 billion in 2000, $9.1 billion in 1999 and $7.1 billion in 1998. Also, the total assets of all six banks have increased over the past two years (see Chart 1).

Chart 1 - Total assets, loans and deposits of the six major domestic banks - (8,856 bytes)

The profitability of the major Canadian banks was down in 2001, as their average rate of return on common equity (ROE) fell to 15.2 per cent from 16.8 per cent in 2000 (see Chart 2). Although it was the lowest ROE reported since 1998, it was higher than the returns in the early 1990s, with the average ROE falling to 5.4 per cent in 1992.

Chart 2 - Rate of return on common equity (ROE) and average return on assets (ROA) of the sis major domestic banks - (13,337 bytes)

Net interest income has historically been the banks’ major source of revenue. However, the contribution of non-interest income to revenue has been increasing over the past 10 years. Although this trend eased in 2001, non-interest income, at $31.4 billion, still accounted for over 50 per cent of gross revenue (see Chart 3). Non-interest income includes fees for services such as mutual fund and wealth management, securities underwriting, derivatives trading, asset securization, brokerage transactions, cheque processing, ABM transactions, credit card transactions, foreign exchange, and payment and deposit services.

Chart 3 - net interest and other income of the six major domestic banks - (7,845 bytes)

The growth of net interest income in 2001 was caused by an increase in loan volumes (due to a decline in interest rates) in conjunction with higher net interest margins (from increased low-cost deposits). Interest income is derived mainly from lending activities to businesses and individuals and interest earned from banks’ own investments.

The decline in interest rates in 2001 created a positive environment for homebuyers. A refinancing boom also took place as borrowers replaced their higher interest rate debt with lower-cost debt, therefore reducing their overall debt-servicing costs.

Canadian interest rate spreads, which had been on a downward track over the last few years, stood at 1.6 per cent in 2000. While this is up slightly from 1.53 per cent in 1999, spreads remain among some of the lowest in the industrialized world (see Chart 4).

Chart 4 - International interst rate spreads - (12,516 bytes)

Service fee pricing practices differ significantly among countries, with most Canadian banks offering "flat-fee" banking packages that are tailored to individual needs and present considerable cost savings. According to Industry Canada’s 2001 annual report on financial services charges, electronic banking is the least costly method of banking in Canada.

Regulation and Supervision

The Financial Sector Stability Assessment undertaken by the International Monetary Fund (IMF) in 2000 indicated that "the regulatory and supervisory structure in Canada is well developed, complies with the major international principles and standards, and is a source of international best practice in a number of areas." The IMF further noted that "Canada’s emphasis on a consolidated, risk-centered approach to supervision has put the supervisory and regulatory authorities in a good position to address the challenges faced in recent years with financial institutions embarking on new and highly complex activities."

The World Economic Forum’s Global Competitiveness Report for 2001-2002 ranked Canadian banks among the soundest financial institutions in the world (see Chart 5). The soundness of the Canadian banking industry has been demonstrated many times over the past several years. Canadian banks weathered the debt difficulties of the less developed countries in the early 1980s, the decline in real estate values a decade later, and the Asian crisis in the late 1990s without experiencing any systemic problems.

Chart 5 - Soundness of banks, 2001-2002 - (8,670 bytes)

Under the Bank Act, the federal government is responsible for the regulation of the banking industry in Canada. However, given the hybrid nature of the banks’ activities, some of their subsidiary activities such as trustee services and securities dealing are provincially regulated.

The Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions (OSFI) is the federal agency principally responsible for supervising all federally regulated financial institutions and pension plans. OSFI’s role is to safeguard policyholders, depositors and pension plan members from undue loss, and to advance and administer a regulatory framework that contributes to public confidence in a competitive financial system.

The regulatory capital ratios of Canadian banks, which are defined by OSFI under the framework of risk-based capital standards developed by the Bank for International Settlements, are above the minimum requirements. The risk-based capital targets that were established by OSFI in 1999 are a Tier 1 capital ratio of at least 7 per cent and a total capital ratio of at least 10 per cent. The six largest domestic banks all surpassed these requirements in 2001 (see Chart 6).

Chart 6 - Capital ratios of the six major domestic banks: Tier 1 and total capital - (10,022 bytes)

The safety and soundness of the financial system are also enhanced by an early intervention system for troubled financial institutions, which was introduced in 1996. In addition, OSFI introduced a new risk-based supervisory framework in August 1999, which will be fine-tuned over time to ensure that supervisory practices remain effective and efficient in a rapidly changing financial marketplace.

The Large Value Transfer System (LVTS), which began operations in 1999, provides settlement certainty for payments. LVTS participants are required to pledge collateral to the Bank of Canada, which ensures settlement for the participants even if one of them were to default. The Bank of Canada guarantees settlement in the extremely unlikely event that more than one LVTS participant were to fail on the same business day and the sum of the exposures of failed institutions were to exceed the collateral pledged to support such positions.

The Canada Deposit Insurance Corporation protects depositors by providing deposit insurance. To encourage well-managed member institutions, it also promotes standards of sound business and financial practices.

In addition to ensuring that the regulatory environment responds to the evolution of the financial sector, the federal government has taken an active interest in enhancing protection for consumers of financial services. The Financial Consumer Agency of Canada was established in October 2001 to enforce the consumer-oriented provisions of the federal financial institution statutes, to monitor the industry’s self-regulatory initiatives designed to protect the interests of consumers and small businesses, to promote consumer awareness and to respond to general consumer inquiries.

Looking Ahead

Today’s financial world is rapidly changing. Technology and global competition are significantly altering the structure of the Canadian banking industry. Canadian banks are facing increased competition from other established financial service providers and new foreign entrants. New technology and the Internet are also enabling competitors to enter the market without having to invest in branches, which presents further challenges to Canada’s banking industry.

To address these challenges, the major domestic banks have made significant investments in technology in order to provide products and services that are innovative, meet consumer demands and enhance their competitiveness. They have integrated and restructured their business activities in order to be more cost-efficient and have entered into alliances with high-technology firms to control information technology and data-processing costs. They have also expanded their customer base through online banking and e-commerce, both in-house and through technology-based ventures and acquisitions, and targeted growth areas such as wealth management and corporate and investment banking. Further expansion in selected markets outside Canada remains a key strategy for a number of the large domestic banks, whose portion of earnings from international operations continues to grow.

The legislation governing Canada’s federally regulated financial institutions is subject to review every five years. The last scheduled review was completed in 2001, and amendments to the relevant financial statutes became law in October of that year. The legislated five-year review provision ensures that the regulatory framework remains current and that the financial services sector has the flexibility it needs to react to changing times.


Annex 1


Banks registered to do business in Canada (July 2002)

Domestic Banks

1. Amicus Bank
2. Bank of Montreal
3. The Bank of Nova Scotia
4. Canadian Imperial Bank of Commerce
5. Canadian Western Bank
6. Citizens Bank of Canada
7. CS Alterna Bank
8. First Nations Bank of Canada
9. Laurentian Bank of Canada
10. Manulife Bank of Canada
11. National Bank of Canada
12. President’s Choice Bank
13. Royal Bank of Canada
14. The Toronto-Dominion Bank


Foreign Bank Subsidiaries

1. ABN AMRO Bank Canada
2. Amex Bank of Canada
3. Bank of America Canada
4. Bank of China
5. Bank of East Asia
6. Bank of Tokyo-Mitsubishi
7. Bank One Canada
8. BNP Paribas
9. Citibank Canada
10. Comerica Bank - Canada
11. Credit Suisse First Boston Canada
12. CTC Bank of Canada
13. Deutsche Bank Canada
14. Dresdner Bank Canada
15. Habib Canadian Bank
16. HSBC Bank Canada
17. ING Bank of Canada
18. International Commercial Bank of Cathay
19. IntesaBci Canada
20. J.P. Morgan Bank Canada
21. J.P. Morgan Canada
22. Korea Exchange Bank of Canada
23. MBNA Canada Bank
24. Mizuho Corporate Bank
25. National Bank of Greece
26. Rabobank Canada
27. Société Générale
28. Sottomayor Bank Canada
29. State Bank of India
30. Sumitomo Mitsui Banking Corporation of Canada
31. UBS Bank
32. UFJ Bank Canada
33. United Overseas Bank


Foreign Bank Branches – Full Service

1. ABN AMRO Bank N.V.
2. Bank of America, National Association
3. Bank One, NA
4. Bayerische Landesbank Girozentrale
5. Capital One Bank
6. Citibank, N.A.
7. Comerica Bank
8. Deutsche Bank AG
9. First Commercial Bank
10. HSBC Bank USA
11. JPMorgan Chase Bank
12. Maple Bank
13. Mellon Bank, N.A.
14. Rabobank Nederland
15. State Street
16. U.S. Bank National Association
17. United Overseas Bank Limited


Foreign Bank Branches – Lending

1. Credit Suisse First Boston Toronto Branch
2. National City
3. Union Bank of California, N.A.


Source: OSFI Web site (http://www.osfi-bsif.gc.ca/).

 


Annex 2

The six largest banks by assets (October 2001)


Bank

Assets


($ billions)

Royal Bank of Canada

360

TD Bank Financial Group

288

Canadian Imperial Bank of Commerce

287

The Bank of Nova Scotia

284

Bank of Montreal

239

National Bank of Canada

76


Source: Canadian Bankers Association.

Further information on legislation to reform the financial services sector can be obtained from the Department of Finance at http://www.fin.gc.ca/. Additional information on the banking industry is available from the Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions at http://www.osfi-bsif.gc.ca/ and from the Canadian Bankers Association at http://www.cba.ca/.

- Versions précédentes - Tous les feuillets d'information sur le secteur financier canadien -

Le secteur des services financiers canadien

Les banques du Canada

Mise à jour (août 2002)


Aperçu

Introduction

La première banque du Canada a été fondée à Montréal en 1817 par un petit groupe de marchands locaux. Depuis, le secteur bancaire est devenu l’un des principaux facteurs de développement économique et de création d’emplois, et il appuie de façon très importante la croissance de la nouvelle économie grâce à des placements stratégiques dans la technologie, l’innovation et le financement des sociétés de la nouvelle économie.

Jusqu’au milieu du XXe siècle, les banques avaient pour principale fonction d’accepter les dépôts et de consentir des prêts commerciaux. Ces dernières années, le secteur bancaire a toutefois connu une transformation radicale. La croissance des entreprises et l’évolution des besoins des consommateurs, de même que l’expansion rapide du commerce international, ont entraîné l’intensification de l’automatisation et la mise au point de nouveaux produits et services. Par ailleurs, les banques ont été confrontées pour la première fois à une concurrence plus soutenue de la part d’autres institutions financières, et la révision de la Loi sur les banques en 1954 et en 1967 leur a permis d’offrir de nouveaux services, notamment des prêts hypothécaires et des prêts à la consommation. D’autres modifications apportées à la législation sur les institutions financières en 1987 et d’importantes révisions à la Loi sur les banques en 1992 ont également avivé la concurrence en permettant aux banques d’exploiter des filiales de fiducie et de valeurs mobilières.

Le système bancaire canadien d’aujourd’hui a beaucoup évolué et est devenu complexe et très concurrentiel. Les banques canadiennes tirent leur stabilité de leur grande diversification au Canada et aux États-Unis et de la forte popularité du crédit à la consommation. Les banques canadiennes se sont également implantées avec autorité sur le marché de la gestion du patrimoine, et elles disposent d’une infrastructure parmi les meilleures au monde, notamment au plan de l’automatisation et des systèmes de contrôle de la gestion.

Structure du secteur canadien

En juillet 2002, on comptait 14 banques canadiennes, 33 filiales de banques étrangères et 20 succursales de banques étrangères actives au Canada. Ensemble, ces institutions géraient des actifs dont la valeur dépassait 1,7 billion de dollars. Le secteur bancaire comptait plus de 70 % de l’actif du secteur des services financiers canadien. Les six grandes banques canadiennes exerçaient la majeure partie de l’activité et possédaient plus de 90 % de l’actif total des banques.

Les banques sont parmi les principaux employeurs du Canada. En 2000, elles comptaient plus de 235 000 employés canadiens dont la masse salariale s’élevait à environ 16,1 milliards de dollars. En outre, en 2001, les six grandes banques canadiennes ont versé 4,8 milliards de dollars en taxes et impôts aux divers ordres de gouvernement.

Les banques canadiennes exercent leurs activités par l’entremise d’un vaste réseau de plus de 8 000 succursales et de près de 18 000 guichets automatiques dans toutes les régions du pays. Le Canada compte le plus grand nombre de guichets bancaires par habitant au monde et le plus fort taux de pénétration des services électroniques, notamment les cartes de débit et les services bancaires par Internet et par téléphone. En 2001, les Canadiens ont effectué 2,2 milliards d’opérations par cartes de débit auprès de plus de 328 000 marchands, ce qui place le Canada au premier rang dans le monde au chapitre de l’utilisation des guichets automatiques bancaires. Entre 1997 et 2000, le nombre de clients Internet inscrits auprès des six grandes banques canadiennes a augmenté de 262 %, totalisant plus de 5,8 millions de personnes. Les services bancaires par téléphone, qui permettent aux clients de demander des renseignements sur leurs comptes et de faire des virements et des paiements de facture à toute heure du jour, gagnent en popularité auprès des clients des six grandes banques canadiennes; en effet, plus de 9,7 millions de clients utilisaient ces services en 2000.

La perspective internationale

Les six grandes banques canadiennes sont très actives sur les marchés internationaux et leurs activités varient de l’une à l’autre tant aux plans géographique que stratégique. Elles cherchent des débouchés aux États-Unis, où elles concentrent leurs activités commerciales sur la gestion du patrimoine, les services bancaires de placements des sociétés et les services bancaires électroniques. Par ailleurs, les grandes banques canadiennes ont effectué des placements dans certains marchés en Amérique latine, en Asie, aux Antilles et ailleurs dans le monde; en 2001, leurs activités à l’échelle internationale ont généré près de 33 % de leurs bénéfices bruts.

En juillet 2002, 20 banques étrangères étaient établies au Canada. L’augmentation récente du nombre de succursales de banques étrangères est directement attribuable aux mesures législatives adoptées en 1999, qui permettent aux banques étrangères d’effectuer des activités au Canada sans devoir constituer des filiales sous le régime des lois canadiennes.

Rendement récent

Au cours des dernières années, les banques canadiennes ont affiché un rendement constant. En 2001, les six grandes banques canadiennes ont déclaré des bénéfices de 9,7 milliards de dollars, comparativement à 9,6 milliards en 2000, à 9,1 milliards en 1999 et à 7,1 milliards en 1998. L’actif total des six grandes banques a aussi augmenté au cours des deux dernières années (graphique 1).

Graphique 1 - Actif total, prêts et dépôts des six grandes banques canadiennes - (9 082 octets)

La rentabilité des grandes banques canadiennes a marqué un recul en 2001, le taux de rendement moyen des capitaux propres étant de 15,2 %, comparativement à 16,8 % en 2000 (graphique 2). Bien qu’il s’agisse du rendement des capitaux propres le plus faible depuis 1998, il est plus élevé qu’au début des années 1990 où le taux de rendement moyen des capitaux est tombé à 5,4 % (1992).

Graphique 2 - Taux de rendement des capitaux propres et de l'acif moyen des six grandes banques canadiennes - (14 150 octets)

Bien que le revenu d’intérêt net constitue habituellement la principale source de recettes des banques, le revenu non lié à l’intérêt a progressé au cours des 10 dernières années, et même si cette tendance a quelque peu ralenti en 2001 (31,4 milliards), le revenu non lié à l’intérêt représente tout de même plus de 50 % des recettes brutes (graphique 3). Ce revenu englobe les frais de service liés aux fonds communs de placement et à la gestion du patrimoine, à la souscription de valeurs mobilières, au commerce de fonds en produits dérivés, à la titrisation de l’actif, aux opérations de courtage, au traitement de chèques, aux opérations de guichets automatiques, aux opérations de cartes de crédit, aux opérations de change et aux services de paiement et de dépôt.

Graphique 3 - Revenu d'intérêt net et autres revenus des six grandes banques canadiennes - (8 657 octets)

La croissance du revenu d’intérêt net en 2001 est attribuable à l’augmentation du volume des prêts (en raison d’une baisse des taux d’intérêt), de concert avec un relèvement des marges sur les intérêts nets (attribuable à l’augmentation des dépôts à faible coût). Le revenu d’intérêt provient principalement d’activités de prêts aux entreprises et aux particuliers, et de l’intérêt cumulé sur les placements des banques.

La baisse des taux d’intérêt en 2001 a engendré un climat positif pour les acheteurs de maisons. Le marché du refinancement a également connu une période d’essor lorsque les emprunteurs ont remplacé leur dette à taux d’intérêt plus élevé par des créances à taux plus faible, ce qui a réduit leurs coûts globaux du service de la dette.

Les marges de taux d’intérêt au Canada, qui étaient à la baisse au cours des dernières années, se sont fixées à 1,6 % en 2000. Bien qu’il s’agisse d’une légère augmentation par rapport à 1999, soit 1,53 %, les marges sont demeurées parmi les plus faibles des pays industrialisés (graphique 4).

Graphique 4 - Marges des taux d'intérêt à l'échelle internationale - (12 394 octets)

Les méthodes d’établissement des frais de service diffèrent sensiblement d’un pays à l’autre; la plupart des banques canadiennes proposent des programmes de services bancaires à « frais fixe » conçus pour satisfaire les besoins de chacun tout en offrant d’importantes économies. Selon le rapport annuel de 2001 d’Industrie Canada sur les frais de service, les services bancaires électroniques représentent le mode d’opération bancaire le moins coûteux au Canada.

Réglementation et surveillance

L’Évaluation de la stabilité du secteur financier effectuée par le Fonds monétaire international (FMI) en 2000 a révélé qu’au Canada, la structure de réglementation et de surveillance était bien établie, qu’elle était conforme aux normes et aux grands principes internationaux, et qu’elle étayait des pratiques exemplaires à l’échelle internationale à plusieurs égards. Le FMI précisait en outre que le Canada préconisait une méthode de surveillance consolidée et axée sur le risque, qui permettait aux autorités chargées de la réglementation et de la surveillance de relever les défis posés ces dernières années lorsque les institutions financières se sont engagées dans de nouvelles activités très complexes.

Le Global Competitiveness Report de 2001-2002 du Forum économique mondial a révélé que les banques canadiennes étaient parmi les institutions financières les plus stables du monde (graphique 5). La stabilité du secteur bancaire canadien a été démontrée à maintes reprises ces dernières années. Les banques canadiennes ont survécu aux problèmes liés à l’endettement des pays moins développés au début des années 1980; elles ont encaissé la chute de la valeur des biens immobiliers 10 ans plus tard, puis la crise asiatique à la fin des années 1990, sans éprouver de problème systémique.

Graphique 5 - Stabilité des banques, 2001-2002 - (9 359 octets)

En vertu de la Loi sur les banques, le gouvernement fédéral est chargé de réglementer le secteur bancaire au Canada. Cependant, compte tenu de la nature hybride des activités des banques, certaines activités de leurs filiales, notamment les services de fiducie et les opérations sur valeurs mobilières, sont réglementées à l’échelle provinciale.

Le Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières (BSIF) est l’organisme fédéral chargé principalement de surveiller toutes les institutions financières et tous les régimes de retraite de responsabilité fédérale. Son rôle consiste à protéger les souscripteurs, les déposants et les participants aux régimes de retraite contre les pertes indues, ainsi qu’à gérer et à faire progresser un cadre de réglementation permettant au public d’avoir confiance en un système financier concurrentiel.

Les ratios de fonds propres réglementaires des banques canadiennes, qui sont établis par le BSIF en vertu des normes régissant les fonds propres à risque élaborées par la Banque des règlements internationaux, sont supérieurs aux exigences de base. Les objectifs de fonds propres à risque établis par le BSIF en 1999 consistent en un ratio de fonds propres de catégorie 1 d’au moins 7 % et un ratio de fonds propres totaux d’au moins 10 %. Les six grandes banques canadiennes ont toutes dépassé ces exigences en  2001 (graphique 6).

Graphique 6 - Ratio de fonds propres des six grandes banques canadiennes : Fonds propres des catégorie 1 et fond propres totaux - (11 322 octets)

La sûreté et la stabilité du système financier sont également accrues par un système d’intervention rapide auprès des institutions financières en difficulté qui a été mis en place en 1996. En outre, le BSIF a établi en août 1999 un nouveau cadre de surveillance fondé sur les risques, qui sera amélioré au fil des ans pour veiller à ce que les méthodes de surveillance demeurent efficaces à l’intérieur d’un marché financier en évolution rapide.

Le Système de transfert de paiements de grande valeur (STPGV), mis en place en 1999, garantit les paiements. Les participants au STPGV doivent verser un nantissement à la Banque du Canada, ce qui garantit le règlement des paiements même si un participant devait manquer à ses obligations. La Banque du Canada garantit le règlement dans le cas très peu probable où plus d’un participant au STPGV fasse faillite le même jour ouvrable et que la somme des risques des institutions en faillite dépasse la valeur du nantissement exigé.

La Société d’assurance-dépôts du Canada a pour mandat de protéger les déposants en offrant une assurance-dépôts. Elle encourage la saine gestion chez les institutions membres en appliquant un code de bonnes pratiques commerciales et financières.

Outre qu’il veille à ce que le contexte de la réglementation suive l’évolution du secteur financier, le gouvernement fédéral participe activement au renforcement de la protection des consommateurs de services financiers. L’Agence de la consommation en matière financière du Canada a été créée en octobre 2001 pour appliquer les dispositions des lois sur les institutions fédérales touchant les consommateurs, surveiller les initiatives d’autoréglementation du secteur visant à protéger les droits des consommateurs et des petites entreprises, mieux informer les consommateurs et répondre à leurs demandes de renseignements généraux.

Perspectives

De nos jours, le milieu financier évolue rapidement. La technologie et la concurrence à l’échelle mondiale modifient sensiblement la structure du secteur bancaire canadien. Les banques canadiennes sont confrontées à une concurrence accrue de la part d’autres fournisseurs de services financiers établis et de nouveaux fournisseurs étrangers. La nouvelle technologie et Internet facilitent également l’accès des concurrents au marché canadien sans qu’ils aient à investir dans des succursales, ce qui accroît les défis que devra relever le secteur bancaire canadien.

Pour relever ces défis, les grandes banques canadiennes ont effectué des investissements importants dans la technologie pour offrir des produits et services novateurs qui satisfont les exigences des consommateurs et accroissent leur compétitivité. Elles ont intégré et restructuré leurs activités commerciales pour augmenter leur rentabilité et ont conclu des alliances avec des entreprises de haute technologie afin de contrôler les coûts liés à la technologie de l’information et au traitement des données. Elles ont également élargi leur clientèle grâce à des services bancaires en ligne et au commerce électronique, tant à l’interne que par l’établissement de coentreprises technologiques et l’acquisition d’entreprises, et elles se sont concentrées sur les secteurs de croissance tels la gestion du patrimoine et les services bancaires aux entreprises et aux investisseurs. Une expansion accrue sur certains marchés étrangers demeure une stratégie fondamentale pour certaines des grandes banques canadiennes, dont la part des bénéfices provenant des activités internationales continue d’augmenter.

La législation régissant les institutions financières canadiennes sous réglementation fédérale est revue aux cinq ans. Le dernier examen a été achevé en 2001, et des modifications aux lois financières pertinentes ont été promulguées en octobre de la même année. L’examen quinquennal de la législation fait en sorte que le cadre réglementaire soit à jour et que le secteur des services financiers bénéficie de toute la souplesse nécessaire pour réagir aux changements.


Annexe 1


Banques autorisées à exercer leurs activités au Canada (juillet 2002)


Banques canadiennes

1. Banque Amicus
2. Banque de Montréal
3. La Banque de Nouvelle-Écosse
4. Banque Canadienne Impériale de Commerce
5. Banque Canadienne de l’Ouest
6. Banque Citizens du Canada
7. Banque CS Alterna
8. Banque des Premières Nations du Canada
9. Banque Laurentienne du Canada
10. Banque Manuvie du Canada
11. Banque Nationale du Canada
12. Banque le Choix du Président
13. Banque Royale du Canada
14. Banque Toronto-Dominion


Filiales de banques étrangères

1. Banque ABN AMRO du Canada
2. Banque Amex du Canada
3. Banque d’Amérique du Canada
4. Banque de Chine (Canada)
5. Banque d’Asie de l’Est (Canada)
6. Banque de Tokyo-Mitsubishi (Canada)
7. Banque Un Canada
8. BNP Paribas
9. Citibanque Canada
10. Banque Comerica - Canada
11. Credit Suisse First Boston Canada
12. Banque CTC du Canada
13. Deutsche Bank (Canada)
14. Banque Dresdner Canada
15. Banque Habib Canadienne
16. Banque HSBC Canada
17. Banque ING du Canada
18. Banque Internationale de Commerce de Cathay (Canada)
19. IntesaBci Canada
20. Banque J.P. Morgan Canada
21. J.P. Morgan Canada
22. Banque Korea Exchange du Canada
23. Banque MBNA Canada
24. Banque Commerciale Mizuho (Canada)
25. Banque Nationale de Grèce (Canada)
26. Rabobank Canada
27. Société Générale (Canada)
28. Banque Sottomayor Canada
29. Banque Nationale de l’Inde (Canada)
30. Banque Sumitomo Mitsui du Canada
31. Banque UBS (Canada)
32. Banque UFJ du Canada
33. Bank United Overseas (Canada)


Succursales de banques étrangères – Services complets

1. ABN AMRO Bank N.V.
2. Bank of America, National Association
3. Bank One, NA
4. Bayerische Landesbank Girozentrale
5. Capital One Bank (Canada)
6. Citibank, N.A.
7. Comerica Bank
8. Deutsche Bank AG
9. First Commercial Bank
10. HSBC Bank USA
11. JPMorgan Chase Bank
12. Maple Bank
13. Mellon Bank, N.A.
14. Rabobank Nederland
15. State Street
16. U.S. Bank National Association
17. United Overseas Bank Limited


Succursales de banques étrangères – Prêts

1. Credit Suisse First Boston, succursale de Toronto
2. National City
3. Union Bank of California, N.A.


Source : Site Web du BSIF (http://www.osfi-bsif.gc.ca/)

 


Annexe 2

Les six grandes banques, selon l’actif (octobre 2001)


Banque

Actif


(milliards $)

Banque Royale du Canada

360

Groupe financier Banque TD

288

Banque Canadienne Impériale de Commerce

287

La Banque de Nouvelle-Écosse

284

Banque de Montréal

239

Banque Nationale du Canada

76


Source : Association des banquiers canadiens

 

Des renseignements sur la législation concernant la réforme du secteur des services financiers sont disponibles au ministère des Finances, à http://www.fin.gc.ca/. On peut obtenir plus de détails sur le secteur bancaire au Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières, à http://www.osfi-bsif.gc.ca/, et à l’Association des banquiers canadiens, à http://www.cba.ca/.