Archived - Where Your Tax Dollar Goes

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

In the fiscal year ended March 31, 2005, Canada's federal government collected $198.4 billion in taxes and other revenues. That represents a bit over 15 per cent of our country's $1.3-trillion economy. This fanfold provides a quick overview of where that money went—and how it was raised.

About These Numbers

The federal government calculates its finances over a 12-month "fiscal year" that ends every March 31. This presentation is based on the Annual Financial Report of the Government of Canada for the most recent completed fiscal year, 2004–05. Where Your Tax Dollar Goes is updated annually, after the Government's final financial results become available. Please note that numbers may not total 100 per cent due to rounding.

1. Interest Payments

The largest single federal spending item in 2004–05 was interest payments on Canada's public debt (that is, money borrowed by the central government over the years, which has not yet been repaid to the lenders). These payments—to institutions and people who hold federal bonds, treasury bills and other forms of the debt—cost $34.1 billion. That's just over 17 cents of every tax dollar

2. Transfer Payments

Cash payments that go directly to individuals, to provincial and territorial governments, and to other organizations are called "transfers." There are three major categories of transfers. Combined, they made up more than half of all federal spending—just over 55 cents of each tax dollar ($109.6 billion).

Transfers to Persons

The biggest transfer category was Major Transfers to Persons. These direct payments to people cost about 211â„2 cents of every tax dollar ($42.6 billion).

  • This included payments to eligible elderly Canadians through Old Age Security payments, the Guaranteed Income Supplement and the Allowance for spouses. After interest on the federal debt, this support for seniors was the second largest spending item in the federal budget—14 cents of your tax dollar ($27.9 billion).
  • The other major transfer to people was employment insurance (EI) benefits to eligible unemployed workers (including for periods of unemployment due to sickness, pregnancy, parental leave and caring for gravely ill or dying family members). And funding also went to programs that assist people to prepare for, find and maintain jobs. Altogether, EI payments cost about 71â„2 cents of every tax dollar ($14.7 billion).

Support for Families and Children

In 2004–05, the federal government also provided nearly $12 billion in direct cash payments to help low- and modest-income families—especially those with children—through the Canada Child Tax Benefit ($8.7 billion) and the goods and services tax (GST) credit ($3 billion). Since these payments are subtracted from ("netted against") personal income tax and GST revenues, they are not included in the spending calculations presented to Parliament in each year's federal budget.

Funding for Provinces

The federal government also funds several Major Transfers to Other Levels of Government. These payments—totalling almost $42 billion in 2004–05—help provinces and territories pay for health care, post-secondary education and other social services.

Since 1996, much of this support came through a single program, the Canada Health and Social Transfer. However, to improve transparency and accountability, the federal, provincial and territorial First Ministers agreed to divide this funding into two separate programs starting in 2004.

  • The Canada Health Transfer in 2004–05 provided provinces and territories with cash support for health programs equal to more than 71â„2 cents of each tax dollar ($15.2 billion).
  • The Canada Social Transfer—to support post-secondary education, social assistance and other social programs—gave provinces and territories cash funding representing 4 cents of each federal tax dollar ($7.9 billion).

Further major transfers included the equalization and Territorial Formula Financing programs, which together equal more than 61â„2 cents of every tax dollar ($13.3 billion). These are payments from Ottawa to less-affluent provinces, and to the three territories, to help them provide public services reasonably comparable to those that wealthier provinces can deliver.

There were also a variety of other federal transfers, such as funding to reduce medical wait times, for early learning and child care, and under an agreement with Newfoundland and Labrador and Nova Scotia about offshore resource revenues. Together, these helped boost transfer funding by almost 3 cents of each tax dollar ($5.5 billion).

Support for Health Care

Federal support for health care goes beyond cash payments under the Canada Health Transfer, the equalization program, and initiatives such as the $4.2-billion Wait Times Reduction Fund.

For example, in 1977 the federal government agreed to let the provinces take over a share of its taxes to supplement direct cash transfers. In 2004–05, these "tax points" added some $16 billion to provincial finances for programs such as health care.

There is also direct health-related spending by the federal government itself, which contributed some $6 billion last year. This included funding for First Nations health services; health care for veterans; and programs for health protection, disease prevention, health information and health-related research.

For more information, consult Total Federal Support for Health, Post-Secondary Education, and Social Assistance and Social Services (2004–05) on the Department of Finance Canada website at www.fin.gc.ca.

Other Grants and Contributions

Other transfer programs by various federal departments provide funds to individuals, governments and other organizations and groups for specific public policy purposes.

In 2004–05, spending on these federal grants, contributions and subsidies added up to $25 billion, or just over 121â„2 cents of each tax dollar. This included:

  • Over $6 billion in transfers for First Nations and Aboriginal peoples (bringing total federal spending in this area to some $9 billion).
  • Some $2.8 billion in assistance to farmers and other food producers.
  • About $3.6 billion in foreign aid and other international assistance.
  • Over $3.6 billion in support for research and development, infrastructure, regional development and assistance to businesses.

Further funding went to student assistance programs, health research and promotion, the arts, amateur sports, and multiculturalism and bilingualism.

3. Other Program Expenses

After transfers, the bulk of federal tax dollars went to cover the operating costs of government itself: the more than 130 departments, agencies, Crown corporations and other federal bodies that provide programs and services for Canadians.

In 2004–05, these operating costs (such as salaries and benefits, facilities and equipment, and supplies and travel) made up a bit under 27 cents of each tax dollar ($53.1 billion).

But a large share of this spending—close to 111â„2 cents of each tax dollar—went to just three organizations.

Federal Government's Budgetary Expenditures

Defence

First, spending by the Department of National Defence on Canada's military forces last year made up 7 cents of each taxpayer dollar ($13.9 billion).

Public Safety

Next, operating costs of the Department of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness were just over 21â„2 cents of your tax dollar ($5 billion). This includes funding for the Royal Canadian Mounted Police, the federal prison system, and border traffic and security operations.

Canada Revenue Agency

And third, there was funding for the Canada Revenue Agency, which administers the federal tax system (and also collects personal income taxes for all provinces except Quebec). Its operations cost about 2 cents of each tax dollar ($3.7 billion).

Other Operations

A further $23.1 billion—just over 111â„2 cents of each tax dollar—was spent on the operations of the other federal departments and agencies.

These included major departments such as: Environment; Fisheries and Oceans; Health; Human Resources Development; Industry; Justice; Natural Resources; Public Works; Transport; and Veterans Affairs.

As well, funding went to federal agencies such as the Canadian Food Inspection Agency, Parks Canada and the Canadian International Development Agency.

Paying for Parliament

One of the smallest slices of federal operating spending goes to Parliament itself—the House of Commons, the Senate and the Library of Parliament.

In 2004–05, the combination of salaries and benefits for Members of Parliament, Senators and parliamentary staff, and spending on facilities and services, totalled about $468 million. That's about one-quarter of a cent of every tax dollar.

Crown Corporations

The last portion of Other Program Expenses in 2004–05 went to Crown corporations (organizations owned directly or indirectly by the Government). This cost $7.4 billion, or a bit over 3.7 cents of your tax dollar. But the bulk of this funding went to just three organizations:

  • The Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation, which helps support home ownership and affordable housing, received $2.1 billion.
  • The Canadian Broadcasting Corporation—our national television and radio networks—received $1 billion.
  • Atomic Energy of Canada Limited recorded a $2.3-billion expense last year for environmental liabilities.

Funding was also provided to cultural organizations (including the National Gallery of Canada, the Canadian Museum of Civilization and the Canada Council for the Arts), to enterprises like VIA Rail, and to the Canadian Tourism Commission. 

4. Budgetary Surplus
(Debt Reduction)

The remaining 0.8 cents of the 2004–05 tax dollar was the budgetary surplus—how much money was left after paying for all federal programs, operations and interest on the debt ($1.6 billion).

This surplus was not money available for future spending. Government accounting principles mean that any surplus at year-end automatically goes to help reduce the federal debt.

Together with other surpluses recorded in recent years, this has helped cut the federal debt by $63 billion. And lower debt means the Government and taxpayers are saving $3 billion a year in interest costs.

Where the Money Comes From

The federal government's budgetary revenues came from a variety of taxes and other sources.

  • Personal income tax is the biggest revenue source. In 2004–05, it provided $89.8 billion in federal funding. That's more than 45 per cent of all federal revenues.
  • Revenues from the goods and services tax provided $29.8 billion, or 15 per cent of total federal funds.
  • Corporate income tax raised about $30 billion, just over 15 per cent of federal finances.
  • A number of other taxes—such as non-resident taxes, customs import duties, energy taxes and excise taxes on alcohol and tobacco—made up $16.7 billion, or nearly 81â„2 per cent of revenues.
  • As well, employment insurance premiums, which are treated as part of general revenues, contributed $17.3 billion to federal finances, or 8.7 per cent of the total.
  • And other revenues—such as earnings by Crown corporations and the sale of goods and services—provided the remaining $14.9 billion, or 71â„2 per cent of total revenues. This included a one-time $2.6-billion net gain from the sale of the federal government's remaining shares in Petro-Canada.

Federal Government's Budgetary Revenues

How Can I Get More Information?

A multimedia version of this document—which also includes direct links to other online material on federal finances—is available on the Internet at www.fin.gc.ca.

General information on the Government of Canada and its operations is available by phoning:

1 800 O-Canada (1 800 622-6232)
1 800 926-9105
(TTY for the speech and hearing impaired)

Archivé - À quoi servent vos impôts

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Au cours de l'exercice qui s'est terminé le 31 mars 2005, le gouvernement du Canada a perçu environ 198,4 milliards de dollars en taxes, impôts et autres revenus. Cela représente un peu plus de 15 % de la valeur de notre économie, qui s'élève à  1,3 billion de dollars. Ce dépliant offre un aperçu de l'utilisation qui a été faite de ces revenus et de la manière dont ils ont été perçus.

À propos de ces chiffres

Le gouvernement fédéral calcule ses besoins financiers selon un « exercice » de 12 mois qui se termine le 31 mars de chaque année. Ce dépliant est fondé sur le Rapport financier annuel du gouvernement du Canada pour le dernier exercice complet, soit 2004-2005. Il est mis à  jour chaque année, une fois que les résultats financiers définitifs du gouvernement sont connus. Veuillez noter que, les chiffres ayant été arrondis, leur somme peut ne pas correspondre à  100 %.

1. Frais d'intérêt

Le plus important poste des dépenses fédérales en 2004-2005 a été le paiement de l'intérêt sur la dette publique du Canada, soit les sommes empruntées au fil des ans par le gouvernement fédéral qui n'ont pas encore été remboursées. Ces paiements – aux institutions et aux particuliers qui détiennent des obligations fédérales, des bons du Trésor et d'autres titres d'emprunt – s'élèvent à  34,1 milliards de dollars. Cela représente un peu plus de 17 cents de chaque dollar de revenus fiscaux.

2. Paiements de transfert

Les paiements en espèces acheminés directement aux particuliers, aux administrations provinciales et territoriales et à  d'autres organisations sont appelés des « transferts ». Il y a trois grandes catégories de transferts. Ensemble, elles représentent plus de la moitié de toutes les dépenses fédérales, soit un peu plus de 55 cents de chaque dollar de revenus fiscaux (109,6 milliards de dollars).

Transferts aux particuliers

Les principaux transferts aux particuliers constituent la catégorie la plus importante de transferts. Ces paiements directs ont coûté environ 21,5 cents de chaque dollar de revenus fiscaux (42,6 milliards de dollars).

  • Ces transferts comprennent notamment les paiements de la pension de la Sécurité de la vieillesse, du Supplément de revenu garanti et de l'Allocation de conjoint qui sont versés aux aînés canadiens admissibles. Cette aide aux personnes âgées représente, après le service de la dette fédérale, le deuxième poste en importance du budget fédéral et compte pour 14 cents de chaque dollar de revenus fiscaux (27,9 milliards de dollars).
  • Les prestations d'assurance-emploi représentent l'autre principal transfert aux particuliers. Elles sont versées aux chômeurs admissibles, y compris les personnes en congé de maternité ou en congé parental et celles qui s'absentent du travail pour cause de maladie ou pour prendre soin de membres de leur famille gravement malades ou mourants. Des fonds sont aussi attribués aux programmes qui aident les gens à  se préparer à  l'emploi, à  trouver un emploi et à  le conserver. Ensemble, les prestations d'assurance-emploi représentent environ 7,5 cents de chaque dollar de revenus fiscaux (14,7 milliards de dollars).

Aide aux familles et aux enfants

En 2004-2005, le gouvernement fédéral a également versé près de 12 milliards de dollars en paiements en espèces directs aux familles à  revenu faible et modeste – surtout celles ayant des enfants – par l'entremise de la Prestation fiscale canadienne pour enfants (8,7 milliards) et du crédit pour la taxe sur les produits et services (TPS) (3 milliards). Puisque ces paiements sont soustraits des revenus provenant de l'impôt sur le revenu des particuliers et de la TPS, ils ne sont pas inclus dans le calcul des dépenses qui est présenté chaque année au Parlement dans le budget fédéral.

Fonds versés aux provinces

Le gouvernement fédéral finance aussi plusieurs transferts principaux aux autres administrations. Ces paiements – qui totalisaient près de 42 milliards de dollars en 2004-2005 – aident les provinces et les territoires à  financer les soins de santé, l'enseignement postsecondaire et d'autres services sociaux.

Depuis 1996, la plus grande partie de cette aide était versée au moyen d'un seul programme, le Transfert canadien en matière de santé et de programmes sociaux. Toutefois, afin d'améliorer la transparence et la reddition de comptes, les premiers ministres fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux ont convenu de répartir ce financement en deux programmes distincts à  compter de 2004.

  • En 2004-2005, le Transfert canadien en matière de santé a fourni aux provinces et aux territoires une aide en espèces pour les programmes de santé équivalant à  plus de 7,5 cents de chaque dollar de revenus fiscaux (15,2 milliards de dollars).
  • Le Transfert canadien en matière de programmes sociaux – à  l'appui de l'enseignement postsecondaire, de l'aide sociale et d'autres programmes sociaux – a fourni aux provinces et aux territoires une aide en espèces représentant 4 cents de chaque dollar de revenus fiscaux (7,9 milliards de dollars).

Les autres principaux transferts incluent le Programme de péréquation et la formule de financement des territoires qui, ensemble, représentent plus de 6,5 cents de chaque dollar de revenus fiscaux (13,3 milliards de dollars). Ottawa verse ces paiements aux provinces moins nanties et aux trois territoires pour les aider à  fournir des services publics raisonnablement comparables à  ceux offerts par les provinces plus prospères.

Il y a aussi divers autres transferts fédéraux, comme les fonds versés pour la réduction des temps d'attente dans le domaine médical, pour l'apprentissage et la garde des jeunes enfants, et en vertu d'une entente avec Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador et la Nouvelle-Écosse concernant les revenus tirés de l'exploitation des ressources extracôtières. Ensemble, ces mesures représentent près de 3 cents de chaque dollar de revenus fiscaux (5,5 milliards de dollars).

Aide en matière de soins de santé

L'aide fédérale en matière de soins de santé représente bien plus que les paiements en espèces versés en vertu du Transfert canadien en matière de santé, du Programme de péréquation et d'initiatives comme le Fonds pour la réduction des temps d'attente, d'une valeur de 4,2 milliards de dollars.

Par exemple, en 1977, le gouvernement fédéral a accepté de céder aux provinces une partie de ses impôts pour compléter ses transferts directs en espèces. En 2004-2005, ces « points d'impôt » ont ajouté près de 16 milliards de dollars dans les coffres des provinces aux fins de programmes comme les soins de santé.

Le gouvernement fédéral a aussi des dépenses directes liées à  la santé, qui se sont élevées à  6 milliards de dollars l'an dernier. Il s'agit notamment des fonds consentis aux services de santé des Premières nations, aux soins de santé des anciens combattants et aux programmes de protection de la santé, de prévention de la maladie, de renseignements sur la santé et de recherche dans ce domaine.

Pour en savoir plus, consultez le document intitulé Appui fédéral total à  la santé, à  l'éducation postsecondaire, à  l'aide sociale et aux services sociaux (2004-2005) sur le site Web du ministère des Finances Canada à  l'adresse www.fin.gc.ca.

Autres subventions et contributions

D'autres programmes de transfert offerts par divers ministères fédéraux procurent des fonds à  des particuliers, des administrations et d'autres organisations et groupes, à  des fins précises de politique publique.

En 2004-2005, les dépenses liées aux subventions et contributions fédérales ont totalisé 25 milliards de dollars, ou un peu plus de 12,5 cents de chaque dollar de revenus fiscaux. Ces dépenses comprennent :

  • plus de 6 milliards de dollars en transferts pour les Premières nations et les peuples autochtones (ce qui porte le total des dépenses fédérales dans ce secteur à  quelque 9 milliards);
  • environ 2,8 milliards de dollars pour aider les agriculteurs et les autres producteurs d'aliments;
  • environ 3,6 milliards de dollars pour l'aide étrangère et d'autres formes d'aide internationale;
  • plus de 3,6 milliards de dollars pour l'aide à  la recherche-développement, les travaux d'infrastructure, le développement régional et l'aide aux entreprises.

En outre, des fonds ont été consacrés à  des programmes d'aide aux étudiants, à  la recherche sur la santé et à  la promotion de la santé ainsi qu'aux arts, au sport amateur, au multiculturalisme et au bilinguisme.

3. Autres charges de programmes

Après les transferts, le gros des revenus fiscaux fédéraux a été consacré aux coûts de fonctionnement du gouvernement lui-même, soit ceux de plus de 130 ministères, organismes, sociétés d'État et autres institutions fédérales qui fournissent des programmes et des services aux Canadiennes et aux Canadiens.

En 2004-2005, ces coûts de fonctionnement (comme les salaires et avantages sociaux, les installations et le matériel, les fournitures et les déplacements) ont compté pour un peu moins de 27 cents de chaque dollar de revenus fiscaux (53,1 milliards de dollars).

Mais une grande partie de ces dépenses – près de 11,5 cents de chaque dollar de revenus fiscaux – ont été effectuées par trois organisations seulement.

Dà©penses budgà©taires du gouvernement fà©dà©ral

Défense

Les sommes que le ministère de la Défense nationale a consacrées aux forces militaires du Canada l'an dernier ont représenté 7 cents de chaque dollar de revenus fiscaux (13,9 milliards de dollars).

Sécurité publique

Les frais de fonctionnement du ministère de la Sécurité publique et de la Protection civile ont représenté un peu plus 2,5 cents de chaque dollar de revenus fiscaux (5 milliards de dollars). Ces sommes comprennent les fonds versés à  la Gendarmerie royale du Canada, au système pénitentiaire fédéral et aux opérations de contrôle du passage et de sécurité à  la frontière.

Agence du revenu du Canada

Des fonds ont été versés à  l'Agence du revenu du Canada, qui administre le régime fiscal fédéral (et perçoit l'impôt sur le revenu des particuliers pour toutes les provinces sauf le Québec). Ses coûts de fonctionnement ont représenté environ 2 cents de chaque dollar de revenus fiscaux (3,7 milliards de dollars).

Autres opérations

Un montant supplémentaire de 23,1 milliards de dollars, ou un peu plus de 11,5 cents de chaque dollar de revenus fiscaux, a servi au fonctionnement de tous les autres ministères et organismes fédéraux.

Il s'agit notamment de grands ministères comme ceux des Anciens Combattants, du Développement des ressources humaines, de l'Environnement, de l'Industrie, de la Justice, des Pêches et des Océans, des Ressources naturelles, de la Santé, des Transports et des Travaux publics.

De plus, des fonds ont été consentis à  des organismes fédéraux comme l'Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments, Parcs Canada et l'Agence canadienne de développement international.

Coûts du Parlement

L'une des parts les moins importantes des dépenses fédérales est consacrée au fonctionnement du Parlement lui-même, c'est-à -dire la Chambre des communes, le Sénat et la Bibliothèque du Parlement.

En 2004-2005, les salaires et avantages sociaux des députés, sénateurs et membres du personnel parlementaire ainsi que les montants consacrés aux installations et aux services ont totalisé environ 468 millions de dollars, soit environ un quart d'un cent de chaque dollar de revenus fiscaux.

Sociétés d'État

Le reste des autres charges de programmes est attribuable aux sociétés d'État, qui sont des organisations appartenant directement ou indirectement au gouvernement. En 2004-2005, cela représentait 7,4 milliards de dollars, ou un peu plus de 3,7 cents de chaque dollar de revenus fiscaux. La plus grande partie de cette somme a été versée à  trois organisations seulement :

  • la Société canadienne d'hypothèques et de logement, qui aide à  soutenir l'accession à  la propriété et le logement abordable, a reçu 2,1 milliards de dollars;
  • la Société Radio-Canada – notre réseau national de télévision et de radiodiffusion – a reçu 1 milliard de dollars;
  • Énergie atomique du Canada Limitée a passé en charges 2,3 milliards de dollars l'an dernier pour des passifs environnementaux.

Des fonds ont aussi été remis à  des organismes culturels comme le Musée des Beaux-Arts du Canada, le Musée canadien des civilisations et le Conseil des Arts du Canada, à  des entreprises comme VIA Rail et à  la Commission canadienne du tourisme.

4. Excédent budgétaire
(réduction de la dette)

Le 0,8 cent de chaque dollar de revenus fiscaux qui restait à  la fin de 2004-2005 est l'excédent budgétaire, c'est-à -dire ce qui reste une fois payées toutes les dépenses relatives aux opérations et aux programmes fédéraux ainsi que l'intérêt sur la dette (1,6 milliard de dollars).

Cet excédent n'est pas de l'argent qu'on peut dépenser dans l'avenir. Les principes comptables du gouvernement prévoient que les excédents en fin d'exercice sont automatiquement utilisés pour réduire la dette fédérale.

Avec les autres excédents enregistrés ces dernières années, cet excédent a permis de réduire la dette fédérale de 63 milliards de dollars, ce qui signifie que le gouvernement et les contribuables économisent 3 milliards de dollars par année en frais d'intérêt.

D'où proviennent les revenus

Le gouvernement fédéral tire ses revenus budgétaires de diverses sources, fiscales et autres.

  • L'impôt sur le revenu des particuliers représente la plus grande source de revenus. En 2004-2005, il a fourni 89,8 milliards de dollars au gouvernement fédéral, ce qui représente plus de 45 % de l'ensemble des revenus fédéraux.
  • Les revenus tirés de la taxe sur les produits et services se sont élevés à  29,8 milliards de dollars, soit 15 % de l'ensemble des revenus fédéraux.
  • L'impôt sur le revenu des sociétés a représenté environ 30 milliards de dollars, soit un peu plus de 15 % des revenus fédéraux.
  • Un certain nombre d'autres taxes et impôts – comme l'impôt des non-résidents, les droits de douane à  l'importation, les taxes sur l'énergie et les taxes d'accise sur l'alcool et le tabac – ont compté pour 16,7 milliards de dollars ou près de 8,5 % des revenus.
  • De plus, les cotisations d'assurance-emploi, qui sont considérées comme faisant partie des revenus généraux, ont généré 17,3 milliards de dollars de revenus fédéraux, ou 8,7 % du total.
  • Enfin, d'autres revenus – comme les bénéfices des sociétés d'État et le produit de la vente de biens et de services – ont fourni les 14,9 milliards de dollars restants, ou 7,5 % de l'ensemble des revenus. Ce montant comprenait un gain net ponctuel de 2,6 milliards provenant de la vente des actions de Petro-Canada que détenait encore le gouvernement fédéral.

Revenues budgà©taires du gouvernement fà©dà©ral

Comment puis-je obtenir d'autres renseignements?

Une version multimédia de ce dépliant – qui inclut des liens directs à  d'autres documents en ligne sur les finances fédérales – se trouve sur Internet à  l'adresse www.fin.gc.ca.

Vous pouvez obtenir des renseignements généraux sur le gouvernement du Canada et ses opérations en appelant au :

1 800 O-Canada (1 800 622-6232)
1 800 926-9105
(téléimprimeur, pour les personnes ayant une déficience auditive ou un trouble de la parole)