Help the Government of Canada organize its website Canada.ca!
Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now.

University Recruitment

What We Offer

Finance Canada is looking to recruit talented, creative and motivated people to join its team of economists, policy analysts, researchers and tax legislation officers in Ottawa. Finance Canada offers:

Challenging Work that Counts

At Finance Canada we provide leadership in helping the Government of Canada develop the economic and social policies that will improve the standard of living and quality of life of Canadians, their families and their communities. Our six policy branches provide unparalleled opportunities to work on issues like economic and fiscal forecasting, the federal budget, G-20 and G-7 meetings, federal transfers to the provinces and territories, tax policy, and financial sector regulation. We work on challenging policy issues, and you will have access to decision makers and be able to influence important public policy decisions.

A Collegial, Team-Oriented Work Environment

We are a dynamic organization that includes about 350 economists and policy analysts. Recruits work closely with colleagues within their teams, but also interact with others across the Department by working on crosscutting policy issues or by attending one of the numerous workshops, retreats and informal gatherings that take place throughout the year.

Career Advancement

Finance Canada offers performance-based job progression which allows new recruits to progress in their career without going through a formal competition. Once at Finance Canada, recruits are members of the Public Service of Canada with access to a broad range of government-wide possibilities.

Competitive Compensation

Recruits receive a competitive starting salary, extensive health and dental coverage, as well as generous parental leave and pension benefits. Recruits also start with three weeks of paid vacation per year.

Continuous Learning Opportunities

Finance Canada offers a bilingual workplace with the opportunity for language training. We encourage recruits to take advantage of learning opportunities such as conferences, workshops and courses inside and outside Finance Canada. We also offer mentoring and coaching to assist career development.

Diversity and Respect

We believe that diverse backgrounds, perspectives and approaches are essential to the development of the best public policies. As such, we encourage applications from Aboriginal people, women, persons with disabilities, and members of visible minorities.

Living in the National Capital Region

The National Capital Region is a bilingual and culturally rich metropolitan area quite different from most urban centres. The National Capital Region stretches out on both sides of the Ottawa River to include parts of two provinces - Ontario (to the south) and Quebec (to the north) and the cities of Ottawa and Gatineau.

With a population of about 1 million, the National Capital Region strikes a balance between the feel of a big city and small town. It offers a full range of urban amenities along with plenty of green space. With nearly half a million people speaking both English and French, the National Capital Region is also one of Canada's most bilingual communities.

New recruits often live within walking distance or a short bus ride from work. The Rideau Canal, Parliament, the Byward Market, Rideau Centre mall, parks, national museums, English and French theatre, galleries and great restaurants are all within a 10-minute walk from work. The region also offers graceful architecture, six post-secondary institutions (three universities and three colleges), good shopping and easy access to biking, hiking and skiing.

The National Capital Region plays host to a number of annual festivals such as the International Film Festival, the Ottawa Blues Festival, the Ottawa International Jazz Festival, the Tulip Festival, Les Fêtes Gourmandes, Le Festival de montgolfières de Gatineau, Les Grands Feux du Casino, Le Festival franco-ontarien and Winterlude, to name a few.

Gatineau Park, with its extensive network of hiking, mountain biking, and cross-country ski trails, can be seen from the Department of Finance and is only a short bike ride away. Many employees bike to work from early spring to late fall and some even skate to the office on the Rideau Canal in the winter.

The National Capital Region is also home to other federal government departments, embassies, consulates, national research institutes and national associations, providing all the right ingredients for an intellectually stimulating environment.

For more information on the National Capital Region, see:

Who we are

A young and diverse team – from all regions of Canada.

What we do

Provide economic and financial advice to the Minister of Finance and the Government of Canada.

What we offer

The opportunity to apply the tax, economic and policy analysis skills developed in school.

Application Overview

Before you apply be sure to familiarize yourself with our three application streams to determine which area you are best suited to. All the positions are located in Ottawa.

Recrutement universitaire

Ce que nous offrons

Le ministère des Finances du Canada désire recruter des gens talentueux, créatifs et motivés voulant se joindre à son équipe d'économistes, d'analystes de politiques, de chercheurs et de fiscalistes. Le Ministère offre :

Un travail stimulant qui compte

Le ministère des Finances du Canada exerce un leadership à l'appui du gouvernement du Canada dans l'élaboration des politiques économiques et sociales qui amélioreront le niveau et la qualité de vie des Canadiennes et des Canadiens ainsi que ceux de leurs familles et de leurs collectivités. Nos six directions responsables des politiques offrent des occasions inégalées de travailler sur des dossiers tels que les prévisions économiques et financières, le budget fédéral, les réunions du G-20 et du G-7, les transferts fédéraux aux provinces et aux territoires, la politique de l'impôt et la réglementation du secteur financier. Nous travaillons sur des questions stratégiques stimulantes, et les employés recrutés auront accès aux décideurs et auront la possibilité d'influencer la prise de décisions importantes en matière de politique publique.

Un milieu de travail axé sur le travail d'équipe et la collégialité

Nous sommes une organisation dynamique qui compte environ 350 économistes et analystes de politiques. Les recrues travaillent étroitement avec les membres de leur équipe. Elles côtoient également les employés de différents groupes du Ministère relativement aux questions de politique touchant plus d'un secteur et en participant à de nombreux ateliers, séances de réflexion et rencontres officieuses qui ont lieu tout au long de l'année.

Avancement professionnel

Au ministère des Finances, nous offrons un programme d'avancement axé sur le rendement, lequel programme permet aux recrues de progresser dans leur carrière sans avoir à prendre part à des concours officiels. Les nouveaux employés recrutés par le Ministère deviennent membres de la fonction publique du Canada, ce qui leur donne accès à de futures possibilités d'emploi dans toutes les sphères de l'administration fédérale.

Rémunération concurrentielle

à leur embauche, les nouveaux employés bénéficient d'un salaire concurrentiel, d'une couverture étendue de soins de santé et de soins dentaires, ainsi que de généreux congés parentaux et de généreuses prestations de retraite. Dès leur entrée en fonction, ils ont droit à trois semaines de vacances rémunérées par année.

Possibilités d'apprentissage permanent

Au ministère des Finances, nous offrons un milieu de travail bilingue et des possibilités de formation linguistique. Nous encourageons les nouvelles recrues à se prévaloir d'occasions d'apprentissage telles que les conférences, les ateliers et les cours préparés à l'interne et à l'externe. Nous offrons également des services de mentorat et d'accompagnement de carrière pour favoriser le développement professionnel.

Diversité et respect

Nous sommes d'avis que la diversité des expériences antérieures, des perspectives et des approches est essentielle à l'élaboration des meilleures politiques publiques qui soient. Nous encourageons donc les candidatures d'Autochtones, de femmes, de personnes handicapées et de membres des minorités visibles.

La vie dans la région de la capitale nationale

Région métropolitaine bilingue et riche sur le plan culturel, la région de la capitale nationale est très différente de la plupart des grands centres urbains. Cette région s'étend sur les deux rives de la rivière des Outaouais et comprend ainsi une partie de deux provinces – le Québec (au nord) et l'Ontario (au sud) et les villes de Gatineau et d'Ottawa.

Avec une population d'environ 1 million d'habitants, la région de la capitale nationale est à mi-chemin entre ville et métropole. Elle offre toute la gamme des services urbains et plein d'espaces verts. Près de la moitié des habitants parlent le français et l'anglais, et la région est donc l'une des plus bilingues du Canada.

Les recrues habitent souvent à distance de marche ou à quelques minutes d'autobus de leur lieu de travail. Le canal Rideau, le Parlement, le marché By, le centre commercial Rideau, les parcs, les musées nationaux, les salles de cinéma français et anglais, les galeries d'art et les bons restaurants ne sont qu'à 10 minutes à pied des bureaux. La région offre en outre une architecture harmonieuse, six établissements d'enseignement postsecondaires (trois universités et trois collèges), des magasins et centres commerciaux intéressants ainsi qu'une multitude de pistes cyclables et de secteurs de randonnée pédestre et de ski, tous d'accès facile.

La région de la capitale nationale accueille de nombreux festivals annuels dont le Festival international du film, le festival de musique blues d'Ottawa, le Festival international de jazz d'Ottawa, le Festival des tulipes, les Fêtes gourmandes, le Festival de montgolfières de Gatineau, les Grands Feux du Casino, le Festival franco-ontarien et Bal de neige, pour en nommer quelques-uns.

Des bureaux du ministère des Finances, on peut voir le parc de la Gatineau, sillonné de pistes de randonnée pédestre, de vélo de montagne et de ski de fond. Il ne suffit que de quelques coups de pédale pour s'y rendre. Nombre d'employés viennent travailler en vélo du début du printemps jusqu'à la fin de l'automne; l'hiver, certains viennent en patins par le canal Rideau.

La région de la capitale nationale est également le siège d'autres ministères fédéraux, d'ambassades, de consulats, d'instituts de recherche nationaux et d'associations nationales; elle rassemble donc tous les ingrédients d'un milieu intellectuel stimulant.

Pour en savoir plus au sujet de la région de la capitale nationale, consultez :

Qui nous sommes

Une équipe jeune et diversifiée, provenant de toutes les régions du Canada.

Pour en savoir plus

Ce que nous faisons

Nous offrons des conseils de nature économique et financière au ministre des Finances et au gouvernement du Canada.

Pour en savoir plus

Ce que nous offrons

L'occasion de mettre en pratique les compétences acquises dans vos études en fiscalité, en économie et en analyse de politiques.

Pour en savoir plus

Aperçu

Avant de postuler assurez-vous de bien connaître nos trois groupes de candidats recherchés pour déterminer lequel pourrait vous convenir. Tous les postes sont situés à Ottawa.