Backgrounder: Regulations to Implement the Bank Recapitalization (Bail-in) Regime

The Canadian financial system is one of the safest and soundest in the world. In fact, Canadian banks were able to maintain their access to debt and equity markets through the 2008 global financial crisis while banks from many other nations were frozen out. Nine years later, Canadian banks continue to benefit from an effective and modern regulatory and supervisory regime.

The 2008 financial crisis highlighted the fact that some banks are "systemically important"— so important to the functioning of either the global financial system or to a domestic economy that their failure would impose unacceptable costs on the economy and financial system and, potentially, taxpayers. A central goal of the global financial reform agenda has been to ensure taxpayers are not on the hook to cover future losses by banks.

In response, Canada designated six "domestic systemically important banks" (D-SIBs):

  • Bank of Montreal;
  • Bank of Nova Scotia;
  • Canadian Imperial Bank of Commerce;
  • National Bank of Canada;
  • Royal Bank of Canada; and
  • Toronto-Dominion Bank.

In line with international standards, Canada has put into place measures to reduce the likelihood of failure for these banks and measures to reduce the potential impact of any failure on taxpayers. Canada's bank recapitalization regime will allow authorities to quickly convert some of a failing bank's debt into common shares in order to recapitalize the bank and help restore it to viability. This gives authorities an additional tool to deal with the unlikely failure of a major bank in a way that allows the bank to remain open and operating, while protecting financial stability and taxpayers. This regime also gives bank creditors and shareholders incentives to monitor banks' risks.

Legislation introducing the Bank Recapitalization (Bail-in) Regime received Royal Assent on June 22, 2016. The regulations pre-published today in the Canada Gazette, and guidance being released later today by the Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions on total loss absorbing capacity (TLAC), are important steps in implementing the bail-in regime.

The regulations set out key features of the regime, including that the rules would only apply to debt and shares issued by D-SIBs that are unsecured, tradable, transferable, and have original terms to maturity of at least 400 days. Such debt is held primarily by foreign and domestic institutional (fixed-income) investors, including asset and fund managers and large corporations, typically as a small portion of these investors' overall portfolios.

Canadians' deposits (including chequing accounts, savings accounts and term deposits such as Guaranteed Investment Certificates) are not subject to losses under the regime.

Through the 30-day public consultation that begins today and ends July 17, 2017, stakeholders will have the opportunity to comment on key elements of the regime. This includes: the scope of liabilities that would be subject to the bank recapitalization regime; the process and considerations that will be followed when carrying out a conversion; the disclosure requirements applicable to debt and shares subject to conversion; and the process to compensate investors who are made worse off as a result of recapitalization and accompanying resolution actions, relative to liquidation of the bank.

After stakeholder comments have been analyzed and considered, a final version of the regulations will be published. This is currently expected to be during the fall of 2017.

The Government maintains a broad suite of tools to manage a failing bank, whether systemically important or not. The new regime is intended to complement these tools by giving authorities an additional tool for use in the unlikely, extreme scenario of a D-SIB's failure.

The regime is consistent with international standards developed by the international Financial Stability Board and endorsed by the G20 in response to the global financial crisis. Many other jurisdictions have already taken similar steps to enhance their bank resolution toolkits, including the United States and all European Union member states (including the United Kingdom). As in other jurisdictions, the Canadian regime will also require systemically important banks to maintain sufficient TLAC (i.e. capital plus debt convertible into equity under the recapitalization regime) in line with internationally established TLAC standards.

Document d'information : Règlement de mise en œuvre du régime de recapitalisation interne des banques

Le système financier canadien est l'un des plus sûrs et des plus solides au monde. En fait, les banques canadiennes ont été en mesure de conserver leur accès aux marchés des titres d'emprunt et des actions tout au long de la crise financière mondiale de 2008 alors que des banques de nombreux autres pays étaient paralysées. Neuf ans plus tard, les banques canadiennes continuent de profiter d'un régime de réglementation et de surveillance efficace et moderne.

La crise financière de 2008 a mis en évidence le fait que certaines banques ont une « importance systémique » – elles jouent un rôle si important dans le fonctionnement du système financier mondial ou de l'économie nationale que leur échec imposerait des coûts inacceptables pour l'économie et le système financier et, possiblement, pour les contribuables. Un objectif clé du programme de réforme financière mondiale a été de s'assurer que les contribuables ne sont pas tenus de couvrir les pertes futures des banques.

En réaction à cette situation, le Canada a désigné six « banques d'importance systémique nationale » (BISN) :

  • la Banque de Montréal;
  • la Banque de la Nouvelle-Écosse;
  • la Banque Canadienne Impériale de Commerce;
  • la Banque Nationale du Canada;
  • la Banque Royale du Canada;
  • la Banque Toronto-Dominion.

Conformément aux normes internationales, le Canada a mis en place des mesures visant à réduire le risque de défaillance de ces banques, ainsi que des mesures visant à réduire l'incidence possible de toute faillite sur les contribuables. Le régime de recapitalisation des banques du Canada permettra aux autorités de convertir rapidement une partie de la dette d'une banque en situation de défaillance en capitaux propres afin de recapitaliser la banque et de l'aider à rétablir sa viabilité. La conversion offrira aux autorités un outil supplémentaire pour composer avec l'improbable éventualité de la défaillance d'une grande banque d'une façon qui permet à la banque de demeurer ouverte et de poursuivre ses opérations, tout en protégeant la stabilité financière et les contribuables. Ce régime donne aussi des incitatifs aux créanciers et aux actionnaires d'une banque afin qu'ils surveillent les risques de celle-ci.

Les mesures législatives qui prévoient le régime de recapitalisation interne des banques ont reçu la sanction royale le 22 juin 2016. Le règlement faisant aujourd'hui l'objet d'une publication préalable dans la Gazette du Canada, et l'orientation qui sera communiquée plus tard aujourd'hui par le Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières sur la capacité totale d'absorption des pertes (CTAP) constituent des étapes importantes de la mise en œuvre du régime de recapitalisation interne.

Le règlement énonce les principales caractéristiques du régime, y compris les règles qui s'appliqueraient uniquement aux créances et aux actions émises par les BISN qui sont non garanties, échangeables et transférables, et dont le terme à courir est au départ d'au moins 400 jours. Une telle dette est principalement détenue par des investisseurs institutionnels étrangers et canadiens (revenu fixe), y compris des gestionnaires d'actifs et de fonds, ainsi que de grandes sociétés, généralement en tant que petite partie de l'ensemble du portefeuille de ces investisseurs.

Les dépôts des Canadiennes et des Canadiens (y compris au moyen de comptes de chèque, de comptes d'épargne et de dépôts à terme comme les certificats de placement garantis) ne sont pas visés par les dispositions sur les pertes dans le cadre du régime.

Par l'entremise de la consultation publique de 30 jours qui commence aujourd'hui et qui prendra fin le 17 juillet 2017, les intervenants auront l'occasion de formuler des commentaires sur les éléments clés du régime. Cela comprend la portée des éléments du passif qui serait assujettie au régime de recapitalisation des banques; le processus et les considérations qui seront suivis au moment d'exécuter une conversion; les exigences liées à la divulgation applicables aux créances et aux actions assujetties à la conversion; et le processus pour dédommager les investisseurs qui sont désavantagés en raison de la recapitalisation et des mesures de résolution qui l'accompagnent, par rapport à la liquidation de la banque.

Une fois que les commentaires des intervenants auront été analysés et étudiés, une version définitive du règlement sera publiée. La publication est prévue pour l'automne 2017.

Le gouvernement maintient un vaste ensemble d'outils servant à gérer une banque en difficulté, qu'elle soit d'importance systémique ou non. Le nouveau régime vise à compléter ces outils en donnant aux autorités un outil supplémentaire qu'elles pourront utiliser dans le scénario peu probable et extrême de la faillite d'une BISN.

Le régime est conforme aux normes internationales élaborées par le Conseil de stabilité financière international et approuvées par le G20 en réaction à la crise financière mondiale. Bon nombre d'autres administrations ont déjà pris des mesures similaires afin d'optimiser leurs trousses d'outils en matière de résolution bancaire, y compris les États-Unis et tous les États membres de l'Union européenne (dont le Royaume-Uni). Comme c'est le cas dans les autres administrations, le régime canadien exigera aussi des banques d'importance systémique qu'elles maintiennent une CTAP (c'est-à-dire, le capital plus la créance pouvant être convertis en capitaux propres dans le cadre du régime de recapitalisation) qui est suffisante, et ce, conformément aux normes de CTAP établies à l'échelle internationale.