Finance Minister Announces Appointments to Bank of Canada Board of Directors

December 20, 2017 – Ottawa, Ontario – Department of Finance Canada

The Government of Canada has put in place a more rigorous approach to Governor in Council appointments in which open, transparent and merit-based selection processes result in highly qualified candidates that serve the interests of Canadians.

In keeping with this commitment, Finance Minister Bill Morneau today announced the appointment of Peter Dhillon and the reappointment of Monique Jérôme-Forget to the Board of Directors of the Bank of Canada.

Mr. Dhillon currently serves as Chairman on the Ocean Spray Board of Directors and the President and CEO of the Richberry Group of Companies. Mr. Dhillon has played an active role on many organizations and boards, including Director of Vancouver Airport Authority, Board of Governors of Simon Fraser University, audit committee of the Vancouver 2010 Organizing Committee, Canadian Olympic Committee, Board member of the Vancouver Hospital and UBC Hospital Foundation, Director and vice chairman of B.C. Ferries, Director of Canada Customs and Revenue Agency and Director of Atomic Energy of Canada Ltd. He was chair of the Vancouver Branch of the Right to Play, an international humanitarian organization for children in communities affected by war, poverty and disease. In 2009 Mr. Dhillon was honoured with the Order of British Columbia, and in 2012 he was awarded The Queen's Diamond Jubilee Medal.

Ms. Jérôme-Forget is a Special Advisor in the Montréal office of the business law firm of Osler, Hoskin & Harcourt LLP. She was a Member of the Quebec National Assembly from 1998 until April 2009 and served as Minister of Finance, Minister of Government Services and President of the Treasury Board. In addition, Ms. Jérôme-Forget has been active with a number of community, cultural, medical and educational organizations, namely the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development as the founder and first President of the Social Policy Committee, the Montreal Symphony Orchestra, the World Health Organization, the Québec Foundation for the Environment, International Commission for Workers Compensation, the Queen's University Institute for Intergovernmental Relations, McGill University Institute for Canadian studies and the Canadian Medical Council, and has also been President of the Institute for Research on Public Policy. She has been a columnist for The Financial Post and Les Affaires. In 2013 Ms. Forget was named an Officière of the Ordre national du Québec, and in 2015 she became a Member of the Order of Canada.

Quote

"Both appointees have notable track records in their respective fields. I offer them my congratulations and wish them great success in their role at the Bank of Canada."

- Bill Morneau, Minister of Finance

Quick Facts

  • The Bank of Canada is a Crown corporation and the nation's central bank.
  • The Bank of Canada's principal role is to promote the economic and financial welfare of Canada.

Associated Link

Media may contact:

Chloé Luciani-Girouard
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
chloe.luciani-girouard@canada.ca
613-462-5469

Media Relations
Department of Finance Canada
fin.media-media.fin@canada.ca
613-369-4000

General Enquiries

Phone: 613-369-3710
Facsimile: 613-369-4065
TTY: 613-369-3230
E-mail: fin.financepublic-financepublique.fin@canada.ca

Stay Connected

Le ministre des Finances annonce des nominations au conseil d'administration de la Banque du Canada

Le 20 décembre 2017 – Ottawa (Ontario) – Ministère des Finances Canada

Le gouvernement du Canada a mis en place un processus plus rigoureux en ce qui concerne les nominations par le gouverneur en conseil. Ce processus de sélection, qui est ouvert, transparent et fondé sur le mérite, se traduit par la nomination de candidates et de candidats hautement qualifiés qui servent les intérêts des Canadiennes et des Canadiens.

Conformément à cet engagement, le ministre des Finances, Bill Morneau, a annoncé aujourd'hui la nomination de M. Peter Dhillon et la reconduction du mandat de Mme Monique Jérôme-Forget au conseil d'administration de la Banque du Canada.

M. Dhillon est actuellement président du conseil d'administration d'Ocean Spray ainsi que président et chef de la direction du Richberry Group of Companies. Il a œuvré au sein de nombreux organismes et conseils d'administration, notamment dans les fonctions suivantes : administrateur de l'Administration de l'aéroport de Vancouver, membre du conseil des gouverneurs de l'Université Simon Fraser, membre du comité de vérification du comité organisateur des Jeux de Vancouver de 2010, Comité olympique canadien, membre des conseils du Vancouver Hospital et de la UBC Hospital Foundation, administrateur et vice-président de BC Ferries, administrateur de l'Agence des douanes et du revenu du Canada et administrateur d'Énergie atomique du Canada limitée. Il a présidé la section de Vancouver de Right to Play, un organisme humanitaire international qui vient en aide aux enfants de collectivités touchées par la guerre, la pauvreté et la maladie. M. Dhillon a été admis à l'Ordre de la Colombie-Britannique en 2009 et a reçu la Médaille du jubilé de diamant de la reine Elizabeth II en 2012.

Mme Jérôme-Forget est conseillère spéciale au bureau de Montréal du cabinet de droit commercial Osler, Hoskin & Harcourt, S.E.N.C.R.L/s.r.l. Elle a siégé à l'Assemblée nationale du Québec de 1998 jusqu'en avril 2009 et a occupé les postes de ministre des Finances, de ministre des Services gouvernementaux et de présidente du Conseil du Trésor du Québec. Elle a également œuvré au sein de nombreuses organisations communautaires, culturelles, médicales et éducatives, notamment : le comité des politiques sociales de l'Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques à titre de fondatrice et première présidente, l'Orchestre symphonique de Montréal, l'Organisation mondiale de la santé, la Fondation québécoise en environnement, la Commission internationale des accidents du travail, l'Institute for Intergovernmental Relations de l'Université Queen's, l'Institut d'études canadiennes de l'Université McGill, le Conseil médical du Canada, et l'Institut de recherche en politiques publiques à titre de présidente. Elle a été rédactrice de chroniques pour les publications Financial Post et Les Affaires. Mme Jérome-Forget a été nommée officière de l'Ordre national du Québec en 2013 et membre de l'Ordre du Canada en 2015.

Citation

« Les deux personnes que nous avons nommées se sont distinguées dans leurs domaines respectifs. Je les félicite de leur nomination et leur souhaite le plus grand succès dans leurs fonctions à la Banque du Canada. »

- Bill Morneau, ministre des Finances

Les faits en bref

  • La Banque du Canada, une société d'État, est la banque centrale du pays.
  • Le rôle principal de la Banque du Canada consiste à favoriser la prospérité économique et financière du Canada.

Lien connexe

Les médias peuvent s'adresser à :

Chloé Luciani-Girouard
Attachée de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
chloe.luciani-girouard@canada.ca
613-462-5469

Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances Canada
fin.media-media.fin@canada.ca
613-369-4000

Demandes de renseignements généraux

Téléphone : 613-369-3710
Télécopieur : 613-369-4065
Téléimprimeur : 613-369-3230
Courriel : fin.financepublic-financepublique.fin@canada.ca

Restez branchés