Government Strengthens Canada's International Foreign Reserves by Issuing Global Bond

November 7, 2017 – Ottawa, Ontario – Department of Finance Canada

The long-term financial security of Canadians is a cornerstone of the Government of Canada's efforts to help protect the middle class and those working hard to join it. Today, the Government of Canada successfully issued a US$3 billion global bond.

Issuing a global bond provides funds to supplement and diversify Canada's foreign exchange reserves for the benefit of Canada's financial system. Foreign exchange reserves provide a general source of prudential liquidity and support the promotion of orderly conditions for the Canadian dollar in foreign exchange markets.

This is the Government's first US-dollar bond issue since its US$3.5 billion bond issued in March 2015. The investor base for the 5-year bond issue includes a wide range of central banks, other official institutions and foreign-based investment funds across a diverse geographical area.

The issuance of a global bond is in line with the commitment that the Government made in Budget 2017 to maintain liquid foreign reserves at or above 3 per cent of nominal gross domestic product.

Quick Facts

  • Today, the Government issued a US$3 billion global bond that matures on November 15, 2022.
  • The issuance received strong demand from investors in North America, Europe and Asia. The deal was met by high investor demand as indicated by an order book that was in excess of US$6 billion. The demand enabled Canada to achieve best-in-class pricing relative to US Treasury securities.
  • This reflects Canada's strong economic and sound fiscal management, which supports the country's triple-A credit rating.
  • The bond transaction achieved all of the Government's objectives, including the provision of cost-effective and diversified funding for the foreign exchange reserves held in the Exchange Fund Account. 

Associated Links

Media may contact:

Chloé Luciani-Girouard
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
chloe.luciani-girouard@canada.ca
613-462-5469

Media Relations
Department of Finance Canada
fin.media-media.fin@canada.ca
613-369-4000

General enquiries

Phone: 613-369-3710
Facsimile: 613-369-4065
TTY: 613-369-3230
E-mail: fin.financepublic-financepublique.fin@canada.ca

Stay Connected

Le gouvernement renforce les réserves de change du Canada en émettant une obligation multimarché

Le 7 novembre 2017 – Ottawa (Ontario) – Ministère des Finances Canada

Assurer la sécurité financière à long terme des Canadiennes et des Canadiens se trouve au cœur des efforts du gouvernement du Canada visant à aider à protéger la classe moyenne et ceux qui travaillent fort pour en faire partie. Aujourd'hui, le gouvernement du Canada a effectué une émission obligataire multimarché de 3 milliards de dollars américains.

L'émission d'une obligation multimarché permet au Canada de regarnir et de diversifier ses réserves de change, ce dont bénéficiera le système financier du pays. Les réserves de change constituent une source générale de liquidités prudentielles et favorisent un comportement ordonné du dollar canadien sur le marché des changes.

Il s'agit de la première émission d'une obligation du gouvernement libellée en dollars américains depuis l'émission d'une valeur de 3,5 milliards de dollars américains effectuée en mars 2015. Le bassin d'investisseurs pour cette obligation à 5 ans comprend un large éventail de banques centrales, d'institutions officielles et de fonds d'investissement étrangers répartis dans diverses régions.

L'émission d'une obligation multimarché est conforme à l'engagement que le gouvernement a pris dans le budget de 2017 de maintenir les réserves de change liquides à un niveau égal ou supérieur à 3 % du produit intérieur brut nominal.

Les faits en bref

  • Aujourd'hui, le gouvernement a émis pour 3 milliards de dollars américains d'obligations multimarchés qui arrivent à échéance le 15 novembre 2022.
  • L'émission a fait l'objet d'une forte demande auprès des investisseurs en Amérique du Nord, en Europe et en Asie. Le marché a fait l'objet d'une demande élevée de la part des investisseurs, comme l'indique le carnet de commandes dont la valeur dépassait 6 milliards de dollars américains. La demande a permis au Canada d'obtenir un prix se situant parmi les meilleurs de sa catégorie par rapport à celui des titres du Trésor américain.
  • Les résultats reflètent la solide gestion économique et la saine gestion budgétaire du Canada, qui valent au pays la cote de crédit AAA.
  • L'émission obligataire a atteint tous les objectifs du gouvernement, notamment celui d'assurer un financement rentable et diversifié des réserves de change détenues dans le Compte du fonds des changes.

Liens connexes

Les médias peuvent s'adresser à :

Chloé Luciani-Girouard
Attachée de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
chloe.luciani-girouard@canada.ca
613-462-5469

Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances Canada
fin.media-media.fin@canada.ca
613-369-4000

Demandes de renseignements généraux

Téléphone : 613-369-3710
Télécopieur : 613-369-4065
Téléimprimeur : 613-369-3230
Courriel : fin.financepublic-financepublique.fin@canada.ca

Restez branchés