Finance Minister Announces Appointments to Royal Canadian Mint Board of Directors

November 3, 2017 – Ottawa, Ontario – Department of Finance Canada

The Government of Canada is committed to an open, transparent and merit-based selection process for Governor in Council appointments that serve the interests of Canadians.

In keeping with this commitment, Finance Minister Bill Morneau today announced the appointments of four directors to the Board of Directors of the Royal Canadian Mint including Serge Falardeau; Cybele A. Negris; Deborah S. Trudeau; and Victor L. Young, O.C.

Serge Falardeau has several years of experience as Chief Executive Officer for various manufacturing and service companies with national and international business operations. Mr. Falardeau is a Certified Corporate Director and also holds a Bachelor's degree in Business Administration from Laval University and is a Chartered Professional Accountant (CPA, CA). Mr. Falardeau has also been a board member of PH Tech Inc., Texel Inc., ADS Composite Materials Group and Bocenor BF Group Inc. Mr. Falardeau's appointment is for a term of four years.

Cybele Negris is CEO and Co-Founder of Webnames.ca Inc., an Internet solutions company. Ms. Negris serves on the BC Premier's Technology Council, is vice-chair of the Small Business Roundtable of BC, and on the Chair's council for Science World. She has been the recipient of Canada's Top 100 Most Powerful Women 2011, 2012, 2014, and in 2015 was inducted into its Hall of Fame. Ms. Negris' appointment is for a term of four years.

Deborah Shannon Trudeau has worked at Trudeau Corporation for over 30 years where she is Vice-President of International Business and Licensing. Ms. Trudeau is the Vice President of the Board of the Foundation of Greater Montreal, and sits on the board of St. Mary's Hospital Foundation, the Board of Governors of Les Grands Ballets Canadiens de Montréal, and the International Women's Forum where she is the Chair of the Development Committee. Ms. Trudeau's appointment is for a term of four years.

Victor L. Young has an extensive career in both government and the private sector, including as Director of several public and privately owned corporations. Mr. Young has an honourary degree from Memorial University, is an Officer of the Order of Canada, member of the Newfoundland and Labrador Business Hall of Fame, a recipient of the Paul Harris (Rotary) Lifetime Achievement Award, as well as of other honours. Mr. Young's appointment is for a term of three years.

Quick Facts

  • The Royal Canadian Mint is a Crown corporation responsible for the minting and distribution of Canada's circulation coins.
  • The Royal Canadian Mint is recognized as one of the largest and most versatile mints in the world, offering a wide range of specialized, high quality coinage products and related services on an international scale.

Quote

"All four of our appointees have impressive track records in their respective fields. I am certain that they will be successful in their role at the Royal Canadian Mint and offer them my congratulations."

- Bill Morneau, Minister of Finance

Associated Links

Media may contact:

Chloé Luciani-Girouard
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
chloe.luciani-girouard@canada.ca
613-462-5469

Media Relations
Department of Finance Canada
fin.media-media.fin@canada.ca
613-369-4000

General enquiries

Phone: 613-369-3710
Facsimile: 613-369-4065
TTY: 613-369-3230
E-mail: fin.financepublic-financepublique.fin@canada.ca

Stay Connected

Le ministre des Finances annonce des nominations au conseil d'administration de la Monnaie royale canadienne

Le 3 novembre 2017 – Ottawa (Ontario) – Ministère des Finances Canada

Le gouvernement du Canada s'est engagé à utiliser un processus de sélection ouvert, transparent et fondé sur le mérite pour les nominations par le gouverneur en conseil afin de servir les intérêts des Canadiennes et des Canadiens.

Conformément à cet engagement, le ministre des Finances, Bill Morneau, a annoncé aujourd'hui la nomination de quatre membres au conseil d'administration de la Monnaie royale canadienne, soit M. Serge Falardeau, MmeCybele A. Negris, MmeDeborah S. Trudeau et M. Victor L. Young.

Serge Falardeau compte plusieurs années d'expérience à titre de directeur général de diverses entreprises manufacturières et de services actives à l'échelle nationale et internationale. Il est un administrateur de société certifié. M. Falardeau a aussi été membre des conseils d'administration de PH Tech Inc., de Texel Inc., de l'ADS Composite Materials Group et du Groupe Bocenor BF Inc. La nomination de M. Falardeau est assortie d'un mandat de quatre ans.

Cybele Negris est présidente-directrice générale et cofondatrice de Webnames.ca Inc., une entreprise de solutions Internet. Mme Negris siège au Technology Council du premier ministre de la Colombie-Britannique, est vice-présidente de la Small Business Roundtable de la Colombie-Britannique et siège au conseil du président de Science World. Elle a été lauréate d'un prix Top 100 : Les Canadiennes les plus influentes en 2011, en 2012 et en 2014; en 2015, elle a été intronisée au temple de la renommée de l'organisme responsable de ces prix. La nomination de Mme Negris est assortie d'un mandat de quatre ans.

Deborah Shannon Trudeau travaille à la Trudeau Corporation depuis plus de 30 ans. Elle y est actuellement vice-présidente aux affaires internationales et licences. Mme Trudeau est vice-présidente du conseil de la Fondation du Grand Montréal et membre du conseil de la Fondation de l'hôpital St. Mary, du conseil des gouverneurs des Grands Ballets Canadiens de Montréal et du conseil du Forum international des femmes, dont elle est présidente du comité du développement. La nomination de MmeTrudeau est assortie d'un mandat de quatre ans.

Victor L. Young possède une vaste expérience des secteurs gouvernemental et privé, notamment à titre d'administrateur de nombreuses entreprises publiques et privées. M. Young détient un baccalauréat honorifique de l'Université Memorial, en plus, notamment, d'être officier de l'Ordre du Canada, membre du temple de la renommée de l'entreprise de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, récipiendaire du prix d'excellence Paul Harris pour l'ensemble des réalisations (Rotary) et récipiendaire de la Médaille du jubilé de diamant de la reine Elizabeth II. La nomination de M. Young est assortie d'un mandat de trois ans.

Les faits en bref

  • La Monnaie royale canadienne est la société d'État responsable de la production et de la distribution des pièces de monnaie de circulation canadiennes.
  • La Monnaie royale canadienne est reconnue comme l'un des établissements de monnayage les plus importants et les plus polyvalents au monde. Elle propose toute une gamme de produits spécialisés de grande qualité et des services connexes à l'échelle internationale.

Citation

« Les quatre personnes que nous avons nommées possèdent une feuille de route impressionnante dans leurs domaines respectifs. Je suis certain qu'elles rempliront avec succès leur rôle à la Monnaie royale canadienne, et je les félicite. »

- Bill Morneau, ministre des Finances

Lien connexe

Les médias peuvent s'adresser à :

Chloé Luciani-Girouard
Attachée de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
chloe.luciani-girouard@canada.ca
613-462-5469

Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances Canada
fin.media-media.fin@canada.ca
613-369-4000

Demandes de renseignements généraux

Téléphone : 613-369-3710
Télécopieur : 613-369-4065
Téléimprimeur : 613-369-3230
Courriel : fin.financepublic-financepublique.fin@canada.ca

Restez branchés