Targeted Tax Fairness Measures Will Protect Small Business Owners Including Farmers and Fishers

October 19, 2017 – Erinsville, Ontario – Department of Finance Canada

When you have an economy that works for the middle class, you have a country that works for everyone. As the Government of Canada lowers the federal small business tax rate to 9 per cent, it is committed to ensuring that Canada's competitive corporate income tax rates are not being used by high-income individuals to gain a personal tax advantage.

Finance Minister Bill Morneau and the Minister of Agriculture and Agri-Food, Lawrence MacAulay today announced the next steps in the Government's plan to move forward on changes to the tax system that will ensure that Canadian-controlled private corporation (CCPC) status is not used to reduce personal income tax obligations for high-income earners rather than supporting small businesses.

Minister Morneau announced today that the Government will not be moving forward with measures relating to the conversion of income into capital gains. During the consultation period, the Government heard from business owners, including many farmers and fishers that the measures could result in several unintended consequences, such as in respect of taxation upon death and potential challenges with intergenerational transfers of businesses. The Government will work with family businesses, including farming and fishing businesses, to make it more efficient, or less difficult, to hand down their businesses to the next generation.

In the coming year, the Government will continue its outreach to farmers, fishers and other business owners to develop proposals to better accommodate intergenerational transfers of businesses while protecting the fairness of the tax system.

Since the launch of consultations on July 18, Canadians have engaged in an important discussion on proposed measures to address tax planning using private corporations. Through town halls and roundtables held from Vancouver to St. John's, Ministers and Members of Parliament heard and carefully considered the views and perspectives of small business owners, farmers, fishers, professionals and experts. This week, the Government is announcing further steps towards fairness for the middle class that will take into account feedback received from Canadians during the consultation period. The Government's approach will ensure the measures are focused on a small number of high-income individuals who get the biggest advantage from existing rules.

Quote

"Our government is committed to Canada's farmers and fishers. In our last budget, we recognized the agri-food sector as one of the most important for Canada's economy, setting an ambitious goal to increase agri-food exports to $75 billion by 2025. We want to see farm and fishery families succeed. As we move forward with creating a fairer tax system for the middle class, we will work to protect family farms and fisheries, and the ability of all family-run business owners to pass down the results of their hard work to the next generation."

- Bill Morneau, Minister of Finance

Quick Facts

  • The Lifetime Capital Gains Exemption (LCGE) provides a tax exemption for capital gains realized by an individual on the disposition of qualified small business shares up to a lifetime limit of $835,716 in 2017, indexed to inflation.
  • The lifetime limit in respect of capital gains from the disposition of qualified farm or fishing property is $1 million. A farmer or fisher can claim an LCGE of up to $1,000,000 on the disposition of eligible property, including on the transfer of such property to a child. 
  • CCPCs with taxable passive income above the $50,000 threshold in 2015 represented 3 per cent of the CCPC population, but earned more than 88 per cent of total taxable passive income.  The vast majority of businesses will not be affected by the tax changes.
  • In Canada, 80 per cent of passive investment income is earned by 2 per cent of all CCPCs.
  • More than 80 per cent of passive investment income is earned by CCPC owners making more than $250,000 per year.
  • An increasing number of Canadians—often high-income individuals—are using private corporations in ways that allow them to reduce their personal taxes. In some cases, someone earning $300,000 with a spouse and two adult children can use a private corporation to get tax savings that amount to roughly what the average Canadian earns in a year.
  • Only an estimated 50,000 family-owned private businesses are sprinkling income. This represents only a small fraction – around 3 per cent – of CCPCs. 
  • All corporations, including CCPCs, benefit from a combined general corporate tax rate that is 12 percentage points lower than Canada's largest trading partner, the United States.
  • The Government intends to provide support to small businesses in Canada through a further reduction of the federal small business tax rate to 9 per cent.
  • As a result, the combined federal-provincial-territorial average tax rate for small business would be lowered to 12.9 per cent from 14.4 per cent, by far the lowest in the G7 and fourth lowest among Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development countries. Small businesses can retain more of their earnings to reinvest, supporting the growth of their business and job creation.
  • In the course of the consultations, over 21,000 written submissions were received by the Department of Finance Canada.
  • The Government will base its next steps on the following key principles. We will:
    • Support small businesses and their contributions to our communities and our economy.
    • Keep taxes low for small businesses, and support owners to actively invest in their growth, create jobs, strengthen entrepreneurship and grow our economy.
    • Avoid creating unnecessary red tape for hard-working small businesses.
    • Recognize the importance of maintaining family farms, and work with Canadians to ensure we don't affect the transfer of a family business to the next generation.
    • Conduct a gender-based analysis on finalized proposals, to ensure any changes to the tax system promote gender equity.

Related Product

Associated Links

Media may contact:

Chloé Luciani-Girouard
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
chloe.luciani-girouard@canada.ca
613-369-5699 / 613-462-5469

Media Relations
Department of Finance Canada
fin.media-media.fin@canada.ca
613-369-4000

General enquiries

Phone: 613-369-3710
Facsimile: 613-369-4065
TTY: 613-369-3230
E-mail: fin.financepublic-financepublique.fin@canada.ca

Stay Connected

Des mesures d'équité fiscale ciblées protégeront les propriétaires de petites entreprises, dont les agriculteurs et les pêcheurs

Le 19 octobre 2017 – Erinsville (Ontario) – Ministère des Finances Canada

Lorsque l'économie fonctionne pour la classe moyenne, le pays fonctionne pour tout le monde. Alors qu'il procède à la réduction du taux fédéral d'imposition des petites entreprises à 9 %, le gouvernement compte s'assurer que les taux d'imposition concurrentiels du revenu des sociétés au Canada ne sont pas utilisés par des particuliers à revenu élevé pour en tirer un avantage fiscal personnel.

Le ministre des Finances, Bill Morneau, et le ministre de l'Agriculture et de l'Agroalimentaire, Lawrence MacAulay, ont annoncé aujourd'hui les prochaines étapes du plan du gouvernement prévoyant des changements au régime de l'impôt pour éviter que le statut de société privée sous contrôle canadien (SPCC) serve à réduire les obligations fiscales individuelles des particuliers à revenu élevé, plutôt qu'à soutenir les petites entreprises.

Le ministre Morneau a annoncé aujourd'hui que le gouvernement ne procéderait pas à la mise en place de mesures relatives à la conversion de revenus en gains en capital. Au cours de la période de consultation, des propriétaires d'entreprises, dont de nombreux agriculteurs et pêcheurs, ont déclaré au gouvernement que ces mesures pourraient entraîner plusieurs conséquences inattendues, notamment en ce qui concerne l'imposition au décès, de même que des problèmes potentiels relativement aux transferts intergénérationnels d'entreprises. Le gouvernement travaillera avec les entreprises familiales, notamment les entreprises agricoles et de pêche, afin de rendre plus efficient et moins difficile le transfert d'entreprises à la prochaine génération.

Au cours de l'année à venir, le gouvernement poursuivra ses communications avec les agriculteurs, les pêcheurs et les propriétaires d'autres entreprises en vue d'élaborer des propositions visant à mieux prendre en compte les transferts intergénérationnels d'entreprises tout en préservant l'équité du système fiscal.

Depuis le lancement des consultations publiques, le 18 juillet dernier, les Canadiens se sont impliqués dans une discussion importante portant sur des propositions de mesures destinées à régler la question de la planification fiscale au moyen de sociétés privées. Lors de séances de discussion ouverte et de tables rondes tenues de Vancouver à St. John's, les ministres et les députés ont recueilli et étudié soigneusement les opinions et les points de vue de propriétaires de petites entreprises, d'agriculteurs, de pêcheurs, de professionnels et d'experts. Cette semaine, le gouvernement annonce d'autres mesures visant à assurer l'équité du régime fiscal pour la classe moyenne, lesquelles tiennent compte de la rétroaction reçue des Canadiennes et des Canadiens au cours de la période de consultation. En raison de la démarche adoptée par le gouvernement, les mesures cibleront un nombre relativement minime de particuliers à revenu élevé qui tirent le plus grand avantage des règles existantes.

Citation

« Notre gouvernement est résolu à appuyer les agriculteurs et les pêcheurs canadiens. Dans notre plus récent budget, nous avons reconnu que le secteur agroalimentaire est l'un des plus importants pour l'économie du Canada, et nous avons établi un objectif ambitieux de hausser les exportations de ce secteur à 75 milliards de dollars par année d'ici 2025. Nous voulons que les familles d'agriculteurs et de pêcheurs réussissent. Au moment de prendre des mesures visant à rendre le régime fiscal plus équitable pour la classe moyenne, nous nous efforcerons de protéger les fermes et les pêcheries familiales ainsi que la capacité de tous les propriétaires d'entreprises familiales à transmettre les résultats de leur dur labeur à la prochaine génération. »

- Bill Morneau, ministre des Finances

Les faits en bref

  • L'exonération cumulative des gains en capital (ECGC) est une exonération de l'impôt sur les gains en capital qu'un particulier réalise lors de la disposition d'actions d'une petite entreprise admissible. Le plafond des gains exonérés au cours de la vie du contribuable, qui est indexé à l'inflation, s'élève à 835 716 $ en 2017.    
  • Le plafond cumulatif de l'exonération d'impôt des gains en capital réalisés à la disposition de biens agricoles ou de pêche admissibles s'élève à 1 million de dollars. Un agriculteur ou un pêcheur peut demander une ECGC pouvant atteindre 1 000 000 $ relativement à la disposition de biens admissibles, y compris le transfert de biens à un enfant. 
  • Les SPCC ayant déclaré des revenus passifs imposables qui se situaient au-dessus du seuil de 50 000 $ en 2015 représentaient 3 % de l'ensemble des SPCC, mais elles ont gagné plus de 88 % du revenu passif imposable total. La majorité des entreprises ne seront pas touchées par les modifications fiscales.
  • Au Canada, 2 % des SPCC totalisent 80 % des revenus de placement passifs.
  • Les propriétaires de SPCC dont le revenu est supérieur à 250 000 $ gagnent plus de 80 % des revenus de placement passifs.
  • Un nombre croissant de Canadiens – souvent des particuliers à revenu élevé – utilisent les sociétés privées de manière à réduire leur impôt sur le revenu des particuliers. Dans certains cas, un particulier qui gagne 300 000 $ par année et qui a un époux et deux enfants adultes peut recourir à une société privée afin de réaliser des économies d'impôt qui représentent environ ce que le Canadien moyen gagne en une année.
  • On estime à 50 000 seulement le nombre d'entreprises privées familiales qui ont recours à la répartition du revenu. Elles ne représentent qu'une faible proportion – 3 % environ – des SPCC. 
  • Toutes les sociétés, dont les SPCC, bénéficient d'un taux général combiné d'imposition du revenu des sociétés qui est de 12 points de pourcentage inférieur à celui du partenaire commercial le plus important du Canada, soit les États-Unis.
  • Le gouvernement entend apporter un soutien aux petites entreprises canadiennes en réduisant de nouveau le taux d'imposition des petites entreprises pour le faire passer à 9 %.
  • Avec l'adoption de ces mesures, le taux d'imposition fédéral, provincial et territorial combiné pour les petites entreprises au Canada passerait de 14,4 % à 12,9 %, soit le taux le plus faible du G7 – et de loin – et le quatrième plus faible parmi les pays de l'Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques. Les petites entreprises pourront conserver davantage de leurs gains pour les réinvestir, ce qui favorisera leur essor et la création d'emplois.
  • Au cours des consultations, le ministère des Finances du Canada a reçu plus de 21 000 propositions écrites.
  • Le gouvernement arrêtera ses mesures en respectant les principes suivants :
    • Soutenir les petites entreprises et leur apport aux communautés et à l'économie du pays.
    • Maintenir de faibles niveaux d'imposition des petites entreprises, et appuyer leurs propriétaires afin qu'ils investissent activement dans leur croissance, qu'ils créent des emplois, qu'ils renforcent l'entrepreneuriat et qu'ils stimulent la croissance de notre économie.
    • Éviter la création de paperasserie inutile à l'intention des propriétaires de petites entreprises qui travaillent fort.
    • Reconnaître l'importance de préserver les exploitations agricoles familiales, et collaborer avec les Canadiens afin de s'assurer de ne pas nuire aux transferts d'entreprises familiales à la prochaine génération.
    • Réaliser une analyse comparative entre les sexes des propositions définitives, afin que tout changement apporté au régime fiscal favorise l'équité entre les hommes et les femmes.

Produit connexe

Liens connexes

Les médias peuvent s'adresser à :

Chloé Luciani-Girouard
Attachée de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
chloe.luciani-girouard@canada.ca
613-369-5699 / 613-462-5469

Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances Canada
fin.media-media.fin@canada.ca
613-369-4000

Demandes de renseignements généraux

Téléphone : 613-369-3710
Télécopieur : 613-369-4065
Téléimprimeur : 613-369-3230
Courriel : fin.financepublic-financepublique.fin@canada.ca

Restez branchés