Minister Morneau in Washington to Promote International Collaboration for Middle Class Growth

October 11, 2017 – Washington, D.C. – Department of Finance Canada

The Government of Canada is building an economy that works for the middle class and those working hard to join it. Canada has emerged as the fastest-growing economy of the G7, and the Government remains steadfast in the belief that by working together, international partners can foster better living conditions, job creation and stronger economic growth.

This week, Finance Minister Bill Morneau will attend the 2017 Annual Meetings of the International Monetary Fund (IMF) and World Bank Group in Washington, D.C., where he will underscore the importance of a growing economy.

While in Washington, the Minister will also speak at a symposium on collaboration across multilateral development banks at the Center for Strategic and International Studies. Tomorrow, he will participate in an international panel discussion on CNN entitled How to Strengthen the Global Economy. The annual debate, moderated by CNN's Richard Quest, has become a marquee panel at the IMF Meetings.

Quote

"The best way to strengthen the economy is to make sure the benefits of economic growth are available to the middle class. An economy that helps the middle class, that empowers women, and that has a stable and widely accessible financial system is a strong economy. I am proud that Canada's approach continues to be recognized around the world, and I look forward to continuing our good work with our global partners."

- Bill Morneau, Minister of Finance

Associated Link

Media may contact:

Chloé Luciani-Girouard
Press Secratary
Office of the Minister of Finance
chloe.luciani-girouard@canada.ca
613-369-5699

Media Relations
Department of Finance Canada
fin.media-media.fin@canada.ca
613-369-4000

General enquiries

Phone: 613-369-3710
Facsimile: 613-369-4065
TTY: 613-369-3230
E-mail: fin.financepublic-financepublique.fin@canada.ca

Stay Connected

Le ministre Morneau fera la promotion à Washington de la collaboration internationale pour assurer la croissance de la classe moyenne

Le 11 octobre 2017 – Washington, États-Unis – Ministère des Finances Canada

Le gouvernement du Canada met en place une économie qui fonctionne pour la classe moyenne et ceux qui travaillent fort pour en faire partie. Le Canada s'est démarqué comme l'économie du G7 dont la croissance est la plus rapide, et le gouvernement maintient fermement qu'en collaborant, les partenaires internationaux peuvent favoriser l'amélioration des conditions de vie, la création d'emplois et le renforcement de la croissance économique.

Le ministre des Finances, Bill Morneau, participera cette semaine aux assemblées annuelles de 2017 du Fonds monétaire international (FMI) et du Groupe de la Banque mondiale à Washington, où il soulignera à quel point il est important d'avoir une économie en progression.

Pendant son passage à Washington, le ministre prendra aussi la parole à l'occasion d'un colloque sur la collaboration entre les banques multilatérales de développement au Center for Strategic and International Studies. Demain, il participera à une discussion entre experts internationaux sur le réseau CNN au sujet des moyens de renforcer l'économie mondiale. Ce débat annuel, animé par le présentateur Richard Quest de CNN, est devenu un groupe de discussion phare aux réunions du FMI.

Citation

« La meilleure manière de renforcer l'économie consiste à s'assurer que les gains de la croissance économique bénéficient à la classe moyenne. Une économie qui aide la classe moyenne, qui donne les moyens d'agir aux femmes et dont le système financier est stable et largement accessible est une économie forte. Je suis fier que l'approche du Canada continue d'être reconnue partout dans le monde, et j'ai hâte de poursuivre notre bon travail avec nos partenaires mondiaux. »

- Bill Morneau, ministre des Finances

Lien connexe

Les médias peuvent s'adresser à :

Chloé Luciani-Girouard
Attachée de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
chloe.luciani-girouard@canada.ca
613-369-5699

Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances Canada
fin.media-media.fin@canada.ca
613-369-4000

Demandes de renseignements généraux

Téléphone : 613-369-3710
Télécopieur : 613-369-4065
Téléimprimeur : 613-369-3230
Courriel : fin.financepublic-financepublique.fin@canada.ca

Restez branchés